Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Mutant Future: Revised Edition (no-art version) $0.00
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
29 9
23 1
11 0
3 0
0 0
Mutant Future: Revised Edition (no-art version)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Mutant Future: Revised Edition (no-art version)
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by William M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/15/2013 13:45:15

This is by far one of the best products to come out of the OSR movement. The game is itself not truly a retro-clone, yet its close enough in spirit to a certain old school game that it captures a healthy dose of nostalgia. However, don't let that fool you! The nostalgia is quickly rooted in a very well done and solid game that honestly stands on its own two or three or however many feet it may have. The book is well layout and very easily digested. I will be grabbing the art included version in the near future and may even buy a deadtree edition. This is a very good game.

The only real criticism I have is that while random table are a blast for some games, it would have been nice to a a side note or two about cherry picking mutations for those gamemasters that may want them. This isn't a game breaker though, it is easily house ruled. In fact, much like all the OSR entries, it is by its nature very easy to house rule and modify to your hearts desire!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutant Future: Revised Edition (no-art version)
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/19/2012 16:34:43

Mutant Future is not really a Retro-clone, near clone or anything like that. The closest game game it is like is Gamma World. Set in a post apocalyptic world, Gamma World has it roots in the dawn of the RPG age and D&D in particular. Filled with mutant animals, plants and humans of all sorts. Gamma World was fun but it was not a game I played much. One of the reasons was it was close enough to D&D but far enough removed that my teenage self dismissed it as a lesser product. Stupid I know.

Mutant Future not only doesn't have that issue (it is the exact same rules as Labyrinth Lord) but I don't have the same issues. So Mutant Future then is a new game that feels like an old game that never really existed.

Mutant Future does have some differences from LL. The game is set in a post apocalyptic Earth like Gamma World. Characters can be an Android, synthetic, mutant animals, mutant plant, mutant human or the rare pure human (which is what I always played. I know...), also like Gamma World. Abilities can go as high as 21 and there are a different set of saving throws, but the basic rules are the same.

The book is easy to read with clear layout. The game itself is fun, fast paced and easy to learn.

I did have an issue with the monetary system (gold pieces??) but I would change it to barter anyway.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutant Future: Revised Edition (no-art version)
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/02/2011 13:45:18

Mutant Future is, in my opinion, one of the great outcomes from the "retroclone" wave of RPGs. It combines OGL rules from older editions of D&D with post-apocalyptic influences from Gamma World and Metamorphosis Alpha. The result is different from any of those considered separately, and a working game system for "old school" post-apocalyptic adventures. I was lucky enough to grab the first free edition, which included pictures, and if the art remains anything like that, I'd recommend the paid version to anyone who feels like playing it, as it matches the style and theme of the book very well (especially the monsters, like the spidergoat or the xenocattle) and is very inspiring.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mutant Future: Revised Edition (no-art version)
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by David C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/02/2010 14:07:18

So far I have had a great deal of fun with Mutant Future. It's character design process enables you to make pretty much any kind of mutant to explore a future laden with danger and ancient treasures. Who doesn't want to play a telekenetic wolf man who has to stop in the middle of battle to eat a slain enemy because his metabolism is so high? Who doesn't want to play a game that invented a monster as memorable as the spidergoat? Who doesn't want to descend into an ancient ruins to discover riches such as an energy gun or a case of instant soup? If you want fantasy adventure in a post apocalyptic world with radiation and mutants I highly suggest you give this a try.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutant Future: Revised Edition (no-art version)
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2009 22:08:23

GAMMA WORLD "grey box" edition is back and cooler than ever!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutant Future: Revised Edition (no-art version)
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by Kyrinn S E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2008 19:00:33

Ha-Ha! If you LOVED 1st Edition GAMMA WORLD, but lost your copy of it somewhere along the way, you will in all likelihood, LOVE Mutant Future. While it does take a more 'tongue-in-cheek' view of that game, there are some worthy additions to make your nostalgia-trip well worth the effort. If nothing else, the new mutant creatures are an interesting addition to your 1st or 2nd edition GW game. Really, Mutant Future is so much like 1st edition GW, that it speaks for itself.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutant Future: Revised Edition (no-art version)
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by andrew t. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2008 08:26:34

It looks much like original box set D&D crashing headfirst into Metamorphosis Alpha, maybe with a touch of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles thrown in for good measure (leaning more toward the 2 Gygaxian contributions). It's a futuristic / post apocalyptic RPG with SpiderGoats. (Look for T-shirts, I think on Zazzle, but I don't remember for sure). Looks like a great game without a ton of crunchy to it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutant Future: Revised Edition (no-art version)
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by Nicholas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2008 10:36:12

Awesome work from Goblinoid to take the structure of Labyrinth Lord and apply it to a Gamma World-esque post-apocalypse adventure game, circa 1980. It's not 100% Gamma World as we all knew it, but you can definitely run some cool games with this book.I'll be snagging the POD edition soon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutant Future: Revised Edition (no-art version)
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by Steve A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/09/2008 13:55:35

For anyone wanting to play 1st edition Gamma Worlds, but you don't have it, this is what you want! It's simple, easy to play, expandable if you feel the need, and just plain fun. My group ranges in age from 12 to 45. Everyone of them loved to play this - novelty for the younger and nostalgia for the older. It brings back the feel and quirkiness of the late 70's and early 80's games, and leaves out the complexities of D20 and most of the "modern" games. While the rules are laid out in a logical manner, easy to read and understand, the game does NOT have to make "logical" sense or even "balance" to have fun! I highly recommend it to any who want to experience (or relive?) the early days of gaming and the "original" PA game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutant Future: Revised Edition (no-art version)
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by James J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/04/2008 11:46:07

Mutant Future is a great old-school inspired title.

I had the pleasure of playtesting these rules with my family and friends on a number of occasions and it is a joy to see the finished product. I've played it with players as young as 10 years old with no RPG experience to speak of and 50 year olds with decades of experience and it went over well.

The rules work very well for post-apocalptic adventures full of mutant oddities wether on the ruins of earth or so far flung world. Character creation is simple and fun with character choices being Human, mutnat human, mutant animal, android and mutnat plant. Mutant powers and ability scores are randomly determined. Not all characters are perfectly balanced against each other and sometimes it is possible to get a rather odd character that is a challenge to play; I simply love that sort of thing. Mutant animals are kept simple, no long lists of different base critters that generally go ignored with players simply picking from the 2 or 3 best options all mutnat animals are really defined by the mutatiosn rolled up with the occasional natural attack thrown in. There is a fair amount given to playing andriods and replicants that needs a little more work from the GM to fully implemen t(imho) but the starting point is sold and well defined. Mutant plants are a truely bizzare but playable character option.

The ruels assume a quasi-mideaval socitey in a area that once maintained an advanced technological society as the baseline starting point for campaigns and the equipment list reflects this. With a little work it woudl be easy to have campaigns with different starting points as there is a lot of stuff covered in this book.

I was initially surprised to find a lawful/neutral/chaotic style alignment system but the simple breakdown of those brief but broad descriptions work and fit.

There are a host of mutant/monsters included in this book from medusoids to spider goats. There are so many one could easily keep the game going for s good long time without even needing to tap the bulit in monster generator that the Pc creation system is.

There is a wide range of technological artifacts for one discover from dehydrated noodles to x-ray lasers.

The art varies from simple to amazing and includes soem clipart pieces, all in all it is evocative and does a good job in illustratign the game.

I've really just scratched the surface in thise write-up. The rules are simple and old-school: Ability scores, armor class, hit points and saving throws. Good stuff. Easy to get to the fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items