Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Trouble in Wealdham Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
7 14
0 1
1 0
0 0
0 0
Trouble in Wealdham
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Trouble in Wealdham
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Josh K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2023 09:34:18

Full disclosure: I haven't actually run this adventure...HOWEVER, after reading it through, I think this is a really nice little adventure for starting a campaign that is well-written and set up to be extremely easy for a DM to run. It is particularly designed to be friendly for new DMs (WOTC should really be thankful that folks like this author and others, such as Matt Collville, help ease new DMs into the job...these content creators provide a very important service to our hobby).

Some very nice features:

  • It is written as a fully contained, short adventure that could perhaps be the starting session for your new campaign. It could ALSO be inserted into your existing low-level campaign. For new DMs with new players, it can act as a great starting adventure to get you comfortable with running and playing DND.

  • Pre-generated character backgrounds are included to help new DMs and players who are a bit overwhelmed with how to start.

  • It includes a nice starting village (Wealdham) with interesting NPCs that are well-fleshed out. As a fan of Matt Collville's YouTube channel, Wealdham is reminiscent of the various starting villages he uses to provide options for players to visit in his "sandbox" style campaigns (he often refers to villages like Orlane, Hommlet, etc. from old DND adventures). Wealdham provides a great similar option, and can be used in conjunction with something like Phandelver from Lost Mines of Phandalin to serve the same purpose.

  • The product provides DMs with a Big Bad (the necromancer Faurius Besk), who the players do not fight in this adventure, but could be the recurring villian in your homebrew campaign.

  • Faurius Besk has ties to Waterdeep, and is interested in the factions within Waterdeep, so you could probably use this adventure (or at least the character of Faurius Besk) to supplement as an early adventure in the Waterdeep: Dragon Heist campaign. The author further provides ideas for how to transition from this adventure into Lost Mines of Phandelver or Storm King's Thunder.

  • There is a clearly laid-out flow for how the adventure should proceed.

  • The adventure is VERY easy to read and well organized. It would not be hard for a new (or seasoned) DM to throw this adventure in with little prep.....For new DMs, just make sure to find the monster stat blocks from the various sources where they are published (which are handily listed in the adventure and mostly in the Monster Manual) and have them ready to go in advance. Very easy.

  • It includes alot of information about difficulty and what level your party should be to tackle this. It further includes information along the way about how to scale the adventure to suit your needs. It seems approrpiately scaled for low level parties (most of the antagonists for combat are lower CR undead, and fitting for the Necromancer's nefarious plans).

  • It comes with a very nice battle map for the primary encounter in the crypt.

In general, I highly recommend this (especially for new DMs looking for a place to start). A job well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thanks for your in-depth review, I appreciate it!
pixel_trans.gif
Trouble in Wealdham
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Carl v. D. d. H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2021 14:00:26

Well rounded adventure, surprising breadth to the village and it's inhabitants in an approachable package. Allows you to introduce players to all the aspects of Dungeons and Dragons with some actual role-playing. Overall, a balanced adventure that you can play in one sitting even with people who are notoriously unrushed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Trouble in Wealdham
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Maurits B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/21/2021 16:41:44

This story is a nice one-shot game. The story has a nice build-up, and some unexpected twists, turns, and developments, which makes it unpredictable and surprising to play. Well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Trouble in Wealdham
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Stef v. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2021 09:03:22

An amazing adventure about a small town where the players are asked to investigate some strange occurences and to eventually solve their problems. The adventure is great for new players and it helps DMs by including great maps and an adventure flow diagram to get you started quickly!

We ran the adventure as a one-shot for four players and it quite nicely fitted in one session of about four hours.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Trouble in Wealdham
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Nico E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2021 05:03:55

As a pro D&D player, I did not expect this many dungeons, dragons and masters. No other game has done this before. "Rated 5/5 dwarfs" as they would say in Wealdham (this is an inside joke, go download the game if you want to understand it or email the creator, haha).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Trouble in Wealdham
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Arnoud B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/19/2021 10:35:34

The story is well thought out and comes with a very detailed DM guide. For both expericenced as new players this story is a guarenteed night of fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Trouble in Wealdham
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by philip v. d. h. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/19/2021 04:03:52

This story is great as an one shot when you want to try out DnD with friend who haven't played before. The story progresses quite naturally and leaves enough room for players to mess around a little.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Trouble in Wealdham
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Yoran S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/18/2021 17:11:21

As someone who hasn't played a lot of DND before but really wanted to get more into it, this felt like a really solid adventure to play through. The storyline was well thought out and there were plenty of decisions to make. I'm the type of guy who tries a lot of gimmicky stuff before getting into fights and it certainly felt like the writer was prepared for these shenanigans. Would certainly recommend for new players!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Trouble in Wealdham
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bart v. W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/18/2021 15:01:06

We played this with four players and one DM. One that was new to DnD, this adventure was a great introduction. For the others it was fun too, thanks to the different story lines in Wealdham. I liked the balance between fights and story.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Trouble in Wealdham
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Julia W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/18/2021 12:04:48

I really loved this adventure! The story is very well written, time flew by while residing in and wandering around the lovely village of Wealdham.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Trouble in Wealdham
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Luc V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/18/2021 11:01:43

The adventure was really nice as one shot! It has monsters AND puzzles. The artwork also looks very cool and DM guide is very clear.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Trouble in Wealdham
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jasper S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/18/2021 10:26:55

This was my first D&D adventure and this mission allowed me to get familiar with the game in without a lot of effort. It was a great first experience!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Trouble in Wealdham
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/18/2021 10:05:22

I played the adventure with some of my friends who were new to the game, we had a blast! This adventure has everything you need to get started some exploring, some fights, and great assets so you won't have to create stuff yourself. It also has enough storylines to build on if you want your campaign to continue to even higher levels :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Trouble in Wealdham
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Zakaria M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/18/2021 10:01:39

For a first timer, I enjoyed this adventure alot. I really got to dive in the adventure together with my fellow travellers. The story was created so well that I felt like I really accomplished something at the end of the adventure. Looking forward to more stories & adventures!

P.S do not create a rogue, they suck.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Trouble in Wealdham
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by shams m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/18/2021 09:09:19

So I've never played D&D before in my life and always wanted to try it out. Luckily I have found this adventure which has opened the world of DND for a noob like myself. Really looking forward to leveling my character throughout a bigger lifetime and maybe pick something else than Barbarian. This adventure was not as time consuming either, since I work most of the time and can't really grind out 8hr adventures at times. I would advise this adventure to all new players and just be as silly as possible. Great job!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items