Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
The Infinite Staircase $9.95
Average Rating:4.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
14 10
0 0
1 1
2 0
2 2
The Infinite Staircase
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
The Infinite Staircase
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Karen A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/15/2021 02:58:38

$10 for roll tables pretty much. Going by the desription, no one could fault you for expecting actual pages of lore, information or something else. The PDF itself doesn't even have basic bookmark or hyperlinks. Frankly, I wish I could refund this.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Infinite Staircase
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matthew W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/25/2021 21:44:41

When reading through the other Planes of Existence as they're presented in the DMG, they rarely provide enough detail to confidently build stories in those locations or confidently describe what the PCs are experiencing. The Infinite Staircase remedies this with the style and level of detail indicative of Oliver's work. The Planes Landings, their varying themes, and the plethora of tables Oliver provides hit that sweet spot of enough structure to outline a story while giving DMs the freedom to effortlessly incorporate these alien lands into any campaign.

If you're serious about including planar travel in your campaigns, do yourself a huge favor and pick up The Infinite Staircase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Infinite Staircase
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jarosław G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2021 09:32:14

This is completely different than I expected, a brief description of the planes and random tablets are the content of all material. Two hours was enough to read the entire material. Fraction of inspiration. Description of the planes is richer in other sources, here it's like 2-3 sentence and 4 random tables, 90% of the material is kept in this spirit.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Infinite Staircase
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Zachary H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/28/2021 20:47:08

At this point, if Oliver's name is on it, I buy it. It's always worth the money, and this is no different. I'm a planescape junkie, so this is right up my avenue.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Infinite Staircase
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jonas G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/28/2021 13:53:05

It's not what I expected. It's not bad, and I will certainly use the materials, but I'm going to be honest, I was expecting a bunch of writeups about Planar Lore, not what primarily amounts to a bunch of roll-tables to create encounters.

Again, it's not bad, and since I seem to be alone in this, maybe I just have poor reading comprehension in what is described. But I do not feel it was worth the money I paid currently, but again, it's great content, no criticism there, it's just very different content than I was expecting.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the input, this is actually pretty useful criticism. I'll think about rejigging the product page when I have time, I don't want anyone feeling like they were misled. Apologies for the misunderstanding. O
The Infinite Staircase
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brail M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2021 16:07:47

This has provided a perfect way to put all of my many unrelated ideas into one campaign that can provide long term story instead of resorting to one offs of things that felt too important for me to want to just make them be one offs



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Infinite Staircase
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mitchell Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2021 21:19:01

Curses to you Darkshire! There I was innocently reading about the planes, seeking new and exciting ways to stress out my players. When suddenly, your not-so-little (seriously, it's over 90 pages) manual of the planes forces me to experience genuine emotional introspection.

Here I am, just trying to plan some communal storytelling, but the section on "Arcadian Harmony" has me wondering if maybe I am too focused on outward and professional perfection at the expense of personal expression. What's worse, all the hooks in that chapter are perfect for my party and easy to run!

And it gets even more troubling. This book is hilarious - enough to make me wonder which devil you bargained with to earn your surname.

The Infinite Staircase is that incredibly rare DM resource that actually fun to read. Not just "easy to run" or with a "good layout" (although those are both true), but it's purely enjoyable whether or not you even know much about D&D.

Pick this up. Your players and you will have a great time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Infinite Staircase
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adam W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/20/2021 18:28:48

Oliver Darkshire is an excellent supplement writer and this is another fine example of creating content that can inspire DMs to take their campaigns in unexpected directions. Love the infinite staircase concept as described here, and can't wait to drag my party off to be lost on a seemingly endless trail of landings and staircases full of weird and wonderful encounters.

Buy it. It's very good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Infinite Staircase
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Alan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/20/2021 03:20:31

Want to run an adventure that covers across the planes? Why not take the Infinite Staircase. This book isn't going to hold your hand through each and every plane, but it sure as heck is gonna give you a quick and easy to use framework for getting your players from where they are to where they need to go. The Infinite Staircase will give you a series of themes, motifs as well as the mechanical side of travel, to help you build your own adventure. I found reading this to be wildly inspirational, and I highly recommend it, and I cannot wait to plan something with it when my current campaign (RoFM) is concluded.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Infinite Staircase
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tahina A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2021 15:22:45

On hearing that Oliver created his planar travel handbook, I clicked faster than you can say "planeshopping" - that's planes-hopping btw, but with this book you can mix and match the journey so well, it might as well be plane-shopping ;D

This is perfect for what I had in mind/needed for my campaigns <3 it already sparked many additional ideas and I can't wait to use it - aaand the artwork is also chef kiss



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Infinite Staircase
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jonathan M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2021 16:14:26

Not only does The Infinite Staircase fill in a distinct gap within official 5e materials by fleshing out planes outside of the Material, it does so thoughtfully and profoundly, using these locations to prompt character growth and healing. On top of this inventive take on the planes, the art (including battlemaps, what a treat!) is simply gorgeous, the random tables and optional NPCs tell stories of their own, and it is delightfully, cathartically gay. I could not recommend this supplement more highly, and I cannot wait to get to use it in my own games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Infinite Staircase
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jordan C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2021 13:42:11

Really enjoyed this, it's a great supplement for those who want to introduce inter-planer travel into their campaigns or just as an improvement for those who already do so.

The concept of the landings is fantastic and a really interesting take on how the planes can become linked and interact with one another and how their affects can bleed into the aether.

I will certainly be using this in the future and genuinely think that the Infinite Stair should become a standard feature in D&D Lore, it just fits in with the style and mythic lore so well.

The writing is humorous and entertaining, in a few instances this can be a little over the top but over-all a great read and I expect will introduce some very light-hearted moments into a campaign.

With all that said there is at least one improvement I would like to see. There are fantastic maps included in the pdf but only in the pdf, I would love to see these as a separate map pack to make them easier to use.

5/5, definitely recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Infinite Staircase
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2021 07:39:35

This is a fantastic book - the gorgeous layout seen in the graphics on the shop-front page are carried throughout - these are not best-of, these are representative. Beautiful design.

But the design is just one of the great things - what this book is, is a turbo-charger for planar campaigns. This is not a book of sites and locations like other planar guides, this is the book that tells you why your planar campaign is happening at all. It is a slug of energy into your planar campaign, kicking off with a 'splinter in the mind' style driver that can launch characters to the planes in the first place and then giving a fantastic new frame for planar games in the 'what does this particular plane challenge about you?'

This is gold; we get an overview of every plane of the Great Wheel cosmology, and a set of environment and guardians for where the Infinite Staircase intersects each plane that gives a good sense of what each plane is like, who lives there and what you are likely to find them doing. Beautiful art and battle-maps by Cze & Peku round out the section for each plane.

The staircase itself is slightly tweaked from the 2e version, fully compatible with the 3e version and a wonderful thread that runs across the inner and outer planes to allow you to both mix it up as a DM but also to give players a useable (but not safe) map for their adventures.

This is a fantastic planar handbook, covering an aspect of planar campaigns that is not really found in other campaigns - the why are you out there and what impact will the glory and majesty of the planes have on you. Perhaps I missed a whole section of the conversation on planar campaigning but this strikes me as a key innovation on how to frame up and run planar campaigns.

Even if you have a shelf-full of Planescape, PF Planar Adventures and other guides from the past 20 years - you want to add this book to your collection. Everything else gives you the what and the where, sometimes you get a how, this is the book that gives you the why.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items