Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
Puzzle Master $5.95
Average Rating:5.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
5 8
0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
Puzzle Master
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Puzzle Master
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jane A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2021 17:51:51

Best six dollars I have ever spent. This is a superb resource if you simply need to add a puzzle or two to your existing game, and it also works tremendously well as a standalone one-shot. The variety in the puzzles is great! Even a puzzle-hater is sure to find something in here to enjoy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Puzzle Master
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Alex G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2021 10:57:10

Great addition for adventures. I love to put 1-2 puzzles in almost every session we play to add some variation and take a moment to breath. What I love most about it are the handouts!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Puzzle Master
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2020 16:27:42

As a GM you can NEVER have too many puzzles! This supplement comes with all 100% top tier puzzles and is worth every single penny! Your players will love getting to a puzzle with a handout (I know mine do!) and these have a wide variety of puzzle types.

I ran the iron golem puzzle (the last one in the pack) for my podcast and it was so much fun watching my players scratch their heads to solve it!

Link to the puzzle (starts at about 35:20): https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/first-day-of-school/id1459273902?i=1000500931738



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Puzzle Master
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Karthik N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2020 15:27:25

This is a really well put together collection of puzzles that can be easily dropped into any adventure, they feel challenging but also entertaining. The handouts are really well made and make it very easy to communicate the basic concepts of the puzzles with the players. Looking forward to more puzzles from this wonderful creator!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Puzzle Master
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/24/2020 21:35:23

A delightful resource for any DM. Well illustrated and thought out puzzles presented in a very palatable fashion. Presented together with convenient plot hooks or easily extracted for placement in whatever world or dungeon your players are pillaging. Highly recommended to anyone who needs some inspiration or wants to add some wrinkles to their playgroups brains.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Puzzle Master
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by JB L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/24/2020 17:24:56

The truth is, I do not like puzzles. I often find them tiring, hard to navigate, and unrewarding. Any time a riddle or a puzzle comes up in the game, I completely check out mentally and wait for someone else to figure it out. I'm happy to say, despite who I am as a person, this PDF has a lot for you. Here's why:

It's got a hook. The puzzle dungeon is not only a title, it's a PLACE. A physical (or metaphysical) place that your party can be picked up and dropped into for fun. Actual FUN, can you imagine? There's a story behind why Aenigma wants adventurers to partake and the party is graded based on their performance to offer more complex prizes - from some gold to a huge amount of gold and a magic item. The whole book is self contained and presented as an adventure - the puzzles themselves are in an appendix for you to use elsewhere if you like.

Low frustration. From my time playing this adventure and looking at these puzzles, they're not going to make you pull your hair out (though one of them makes absolutely no sense to me, personally because 'magic'). Each puzzle is given a difficulty and each puzzle has multiple fail states - your party can fail a puzzle multiple times and still get the full score for the dungeon so long as they don't require hints from the kobolds inside. Each puzzle also comes with a tips section to aid you in describing the puzzle, the handouts (some of which are mandatory - be warned), and the setting. The whole point in design, I feel, was to make the puzzles NOT cause the party to feel stupid or inept. They're cumbersome and sometimes complex, but because they can be brute forced sometimes or worked through without hints - it works.

Variety. When we played, there were 2-3 puzzles that people just clicked with and understood completely. On the other hand, there were a few that people couldn't wrap their heads around at all but were ODDLY EASY for others. That duality is not black and white - it's the perfect gray area in terms of puzzles. If only one or two players figured out every puzzle, then you'd have a whole table sitting there doing nothing. Word puzzles, spacial puzzles, operation/order puzzles, cryptography - there's a lot of variation in each one. Considering this is an introductory volume, that sets the stage for a lot of other versions of each.

Overall, I think this is a solid purchase for many. A cool black and white aesthetic with splashes of color for the puzzles, a weird and wacky story of a peculiar dragon, a decent layout with space for notes, well-made handouts - it's got everything you could ask for in a puzzle supplement. That's not to say it's flawless or perfected - there's very little team play in this volume, no puzzles that require multiple people working in tandem - it's more catered to massaging the players' brains than the PCs', but that works very well for smaller gropus. The big plus is - you'll not be recycling the same 3-4 reddit posts when looking for inspiration, thank god. Pick it up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Puzzle Master
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brandon N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/24/2020 15:50:22

One of my absolute favorite suplements! I love puzzles in D&D almost as much as I love combat =)

This is a great addition to your DM toolset, but I honestly would expect nothing less from Celeste! Keep up the awesome work all involved! :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Puzzle Master
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kyla M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/23/2020 20:48:56

This was such a blast to playthrough, and I can't wait to use these puzzles in my own campaigns! A clever variety of puzzles laid out in a way that is easy to understand and work through. It really feels like being in an escape room.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items