Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
Arctic Survival House Rules for Icewind Dale $4.95 $4.46
Average Rating:5.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
29 19
1 1
0 0
0 0
0 0
Arctic Survival House Rules for Icewind Dale
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Arctic Survival House Rules for Icewind Dale
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daniel T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/04/2021 07:22:48

An incredible resource full of great ideas

I highly reccommend buying this. There is so much good stuff in here to make your Icewind Dale campaign feel like a battle against the elements. There were some things in the PDF that I felt were more complicated than they needed to be or made the game too harsh for the players. I ended up using the ideas presented in this PDF more as inspiration for things I wanted to do in my campeign rather than using the ideas directly from this PDF as they are written.

Frost Check modifications I made

The modifiers around frost checks felt way too high and the frost check system was a bit more complicated to run than I was comfortable with. I cut it down to this instead.

Frost checks are a DC 10 Con save. Certain things increase FC DC.

+2 FC DC modifier

  • Mountainous terrain (excluding peak)
  • Darkness (nightfall)
  • Frigid winds / Wind Chill (not blizzard)
  • Buried in snow

+3 FC DC modifier

  • Snow storm
  • Hail storm

+5 FC DC modifier

  • Wet clothes on dry land
  • In a Blizzard
  • Submerged in Frigid water
  • Near mountain peaks
  • Extremely cold locations (eg. Aurils lair)

Failing a Frost Check gives you 1 point of exhaustion.

Resistance to cold damage = advantage on frost checks

Immunity to cold damage = auto pass all frost checks

Goliath: Resistant to cold damage and gets +2 to Frost Checks in Mountainous terrain

Triton: Resistant to cold damage and gets +5 to Frost Checks when fully submerged in water.

Wet clothing that isn’t waterproof loses its modifier.

+1 FC modifier:

  • Cold weather clothing
  • Fur lining
  • Blubber Insulation (waterproof)
  • Alchemical Heat Salve

+2 FC modifier:

  • Near a campfire
  • Warming Stone

+3 FC modifier

  • Inside a tent or shelter
  • Warmth Enchantment

Ring of Warmth = +1 FC modifier per 2 FC DC above 10

I also got super confused trying to figure out how to translate the "2 hours to travel by foot" sort of times presented in the official Icewind Dale module into the "Dog sleds with 6 dogs can travel 3mph". I ended up coming up with this table based on the speeds presented in the PDF to make the calculations easier:

Travel speed calculations

  • Normal walking - Full speed = travel hours x 2; Half speed = travel hours x 4
  • Snow shoes - Full speed = travel hours / 1; Half speed = travel hours x 2
  • Small Dog sled (2 dogs) - Full speed = travel hours / 2; Half speed = travel hours / 1
  • Medium Dog sled (4 dogs) - Full speed = travel hours / 4; Half speed = travel hours / 2
  • Large Dog sled (6 dogs) - Full speed = travel hours / 6; Half speed = travel hours / 3
  • Axe beak - Full speed = travel hours / 3; Half speed = travel hours / 1.5
  • Polar bear sled - Full speed = travel hours / 1; Half speed = travel hours x 2
  • Polar bear sled (2 bears) - Full speed = travel hours / 2; Half speed = travel hours / 1


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Arctic Survival House Rules for Icewind Dale
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ajhar E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2021 19:56:42

This is a great resource for anyone planning to run Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden or any other compaign that is set in a very cold enviornment. It has plenty of great rules for extreme cold, horror, and lasting injuries. I am an especially big fan of the tension dice because they are cool and unique ways to figure out random things like random encounters, or wether a monster is hostile to the party or not This book also has wonderful art. It is a great product that is very flexible and worth the money!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arctic Survival House Rules for Icewind Dale
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Theodore S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2020 00:29:17

Every PDF The Dungeon Caoch makes enhances your D&D experience. Creative inspriing ideas that don't break the game. 5 Star Material!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arctic Survival House Rules for Icewind Dale
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Eric W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2020 17:07:52

Dungeon Coach makes the best homebrew I have found in my 10+ years of playing.

This might be the best homebrew I've seen of his. Well worth the $5.00. I'd argue it's worth a lot more.

If you're even considering getting suppliments to the official story, look no further. This is everything you need.

10/10



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arctic Survival House Rules for Icewind Dale
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/05/2020 17:26:43

Five star content, for sure. This is a well thought out PDF of clever and sensible rules. Classic Dungeon Coach production.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arctic Survival House Rules for Icewind Dale
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Perry G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/03/2020 16:48:10

Amazing stuff as usual. You can't go wrong with Dungeon Coach homebrews my friend. Top 'o da line stuff!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arctic Survival House Rules for Icewind Dale
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by PRT W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/02/2020 11:03:55

Well worth content, for the Icewind Dales adventures. Adding more hazards to the standard enivorment system. If you're ROTF encounters are bland then spice it with this survival guide. Have the party freeze to death or dodge other frozen encounters that are not in the ROTF book. Surprize you're party today.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arctic Survival House Rules for Icewind Dale
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Gary s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/30/2020 20:39:57

this book was stellar! One thing that kind of floored me was Rest actions...it never really dawned on me before that stuff around camp Actually needs to get done. Yes, I assumed they don't just drop bedrolls and sleep the night, but dedicated actions really get the gears turning.

One hiccup I can say with the Printer Friendly PDF - The light grey image in the background of the book only serves to eat up my ink. It might seem as though it's not much, but it's likely a 3-5%opacity with a 90% paper coverage. That sort of image doesn't print all together well on most home B&W laser printers. Boiling this problem down, it basically eats up an extra 30 pages worth of ink.

5/5, if the printer friendly book is updated 6/5

you're my home brew hero, brotha.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arctic Survival House Rules for Icewind Dale
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by keith v. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/21/2020 17:54:26

Fantastic. We need up the DC for other terrains Desert, Forest, Mountain, and Ocean. Would have liked to see comments on Rangers here, such as bonuses to checks if their favored terrain.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
I got a whole homebrew on rangers and they would for SURE shine in this arctic environment too, the party would be so thankful! Just like I am thankful for this review!
Arctic Survival House Rules for Icewind Dale
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Reno J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/21/2020 11:44:59

This is defiantly one of the best homebrews you can add to your game. if you're looking to run horror, icewind Dale, or anything in between this set of rules are exactly what you're looking for this thing is just packed full of great and useful material wish I could give it 10 stars out of 5



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Haha thank you Reno! I'll rate your comment 10/5!!
Arctic Survival House Rules for Icewind Dale
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Pedro L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/20/2020 17:44:49

The Dungeon Coach showcases its brilliant mastery of rules by creating a compendium filled with options for Icewind Dale that grately improve (and most of the time superceed) what's on the official book. If you paid for the adventure, you'd be doing a disservice to yourself and your players by not picking this up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arctic Survival House Rules for Icewind Dale
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jake W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/20/2020 11:05:45

There is a LOT in this book. Even if you aren't running RotFM, there are a lot of fantastic ideas to take from this product, from severe weather to building tension in a horror game. A lot of these can be implemented in your own games, and I gotta give DC credit where it's due. A lot of love went into this product, and if you like to put a homebrew spin on your games, this is one you should definitely check out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you! I tried to make everything setting neutral and applicable to hot climates too (with some re-wording). I love that you can see how much went into this and it really does mean a lot, thank you!
Arctic Survival House Rules for Icewind Dale
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joseph D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/20/2020 10:47:36

I absolutely love this PDF. This is helpful for Rime of the Frost Maiden or your own adventures in frozen wastelands. The horror elements are great even in other horror adventures. Easily one of the best PDFs I have purchased on DMs guild.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Wow that is awesome to hear! Its been great seeing such a positive response from this, so thank you for that!
Arctic Survival House Rules for Icewind Dale
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michel F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/20/2020 10:21:55

Wow, that is awesome. I really love your content. I can recommend his content to everyone. Awesome guy, awesome videos and next level homebrew.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you Michel! I appreciate the kind words, I truly love this game and have loved having a platform to share creative ideas with!
Arctic Survival House Rules for Icewind Dale
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Quintonic M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/20/2020 09:15:07

Another home run for many DMs to draw from and take their games to the next level.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items