Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
The Spirit Guide Class $2.95
Average Rating:5.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 10
0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
The Spirit Guide Class
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
The Spirit Guide Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/22/2020 10:44:00

Very good and cool! Love the art and love the design.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Spirit Guide Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Martin D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/21/2020 07:09:12

great fun, and offers way more than your typically Ghost :P



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Spirit Guide Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Nigel H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2020 13:08:20

Tightest implementaion of this concept I've seen - wizards-level writing (as someone who spends a lot of time with FFG's RPGs, that is a compliment). With the very professional presentation and art this wouldn't be out of place in an official expansion. I think it kind of 'gets' the way DnD does its classes - as archetypes that come to life in their implementation, rather than specific professions in the lore; this is something that other custom classes sometimes miss the mark on. I especially like the thought given to the Occultist variant. I imagine it'd be easier to say 'of course you can't multiclass into being a ghost', but turning the class into a kind of spirit beastmaster is a good way to resolve this without limiting creativity.

I'd recommend this to anyone interested in this concept, or who has a player who is more interested in supporting other players to do great things in combat rather than wrestling with the complexity of combat themselves. I took part in one of the playtest campaigns for this project (before I had seen the rules text for the class) and I witnessed our party grow a great fondness for our spirit guide, Thorn (Duty not done), a child who died before he could see the world. Hard not to make some strong character bonds when they're inside your head!

A couple of meagre quibbles/ suggestions after reading through:

The idea of character resurrection as a spirit guide to finish unfinished business is very interesting, but I feel like it deserves a bit more focus than a lil green side box.

The Ethereal Sight ability could use a bit more explanation - as someone less familiar with the DnD lore I wasn't entirely sure what 'seeing into the Ethereal plane' meant - I imagine new player would be in the same situation. An explanatory box would be really handy here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Spirit Guide Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Andy L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2020 11:30:23

Interesting and well-thought-out rules for keeping around that character who died before his time. That said, there's sufficient material and ideas here to build a compelling character from scratch - no need to kill off your character to play this class!

I've had a fun experience so far, and I continue to look forward to bolstering my allies and bothering my enemies as any good ephemeral spirit should!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Spirit Guide Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by John H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2020 11:04:57

Excellent class built on an interesting concept, manages to be both fun and unique while being perfectly at home in any d&d adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Spirit Guide Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sally-Ann S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/17/2020 11:31:39

Amazing art work especially the unearthly and beautiful spirits. Good presentation all around. Playing well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Spirit Guide Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brian R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/17/2020 11:26:49

Yay, Halloween as a Spirit Guide .... I'll be back! Love the artwork.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Spirit Guide Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sally S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/17/2020 11:20:18

Trying this out. So far it has great formatting and is well balanced.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Spirit Guide Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Hannah S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/17/2020 11:04:34

The class fulfils my everburning desire to play as a animal spirit who can both be a cute cat and actually a valid member of the party with worthwhile supportive abilities. Also as a slightly overattached player to my characters, I like having another option if my character dies rather than rolling up a new one.

I think the class manages to give active and interesting support abilities with the new action options which give you choices, rather than just relegating you to a buff or heal bot. Looking forward to trying out the different manifestations in a game as it looks like the same subclass could play quite differently in practice depending on which ones you choose between damage focused ones and some more supporty ones.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Spirit Guide Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Richard T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/17/2020 04:39:55

I had the opportunity to play this class in the Ravenloft setting of 5e Curse of Strahd - and I have to say that it works perfectly in Barovia. The combination of supportive capabilities, spooky vibes, and the ability to conceal a member of your party really worked well to support the dark action and intrigue of the campaign. I also found that building a Spirit Guide made it surprisingly easy to integrate my character into an already existing party. You have the capability to take any npc that the group has recently seen perish (or any already ghostly npc) and convert them quickly and easily into a Spirit Guide player character. This worked particularly well with the haunted introduction to Curse of Strahd.

If you are a DM, I would recommend picking this class up to offer to your players - to give them an extra dimension to explore when creating new characters. Whenever a player character dies, but wants to keep their character on, you can now offer them the chance to continue with whatever drove them. It also provides you with a creative way to introduce new PCs if you have a party that people are always joining.

If you are a player, then you should feel comfortable offering this option to your DM when building your character. The Spirit Guide is well-balanced and specifically designed to avoid changing the rules too much - or breaking existing expectations. Other than thematic choices and the possession mechanic, these sub-classes have been built from the ground up to feel just like any other supporting Cleric, Bard, or Warlock. If you are looking for something interesting to try out, then there is a good chance that your DM will work with you to integrate your new Spirit Guide into your campaign.

At the end of the day, I loved this class - and I can't wait to get the chance to play it again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items