Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Dino World $3.95
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 8
0 1
0 0
0 0
0 0
Dino World
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Dino World
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Malcolm W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/23/2020 19:19:12

This was a great Salvage Mission. Quirky but well balanced and a pleasure to run. My players really enjoyed it. A couple of errors .... the Pteranodon stat block has a second wind feature that should not be there and the adventure is supposed to take place near Seaside only 6 hrs from Salvation....Seaside is actual 600 miles from Salvation so either have a long trip or move the park.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dino World
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daniel Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/20/2020 09:12:45

First off I will say that I really enjoyed this book. It filled a void of how to run Jurassic park but DND style that I was looking for. I have ran it twice now and each group was laughing and impressed with the encounters and being able to fight Dinos. The ability to use three different encounters to get the key component that uses different abilities is good and makes you able to run this one shot differently each time.

The only downside of this adventure is it makes references to other published tables that are not included in the adventure. It suggest using the mutation table from another DMG product that is being sold for roughly 10 dollars. While it is optional, imo you lose out on the experience of having mutated dinosaurs fighting your party.

I think the price point on this adventure is great as is, but adding another 10 dollars to it I think lowers that value a lot. A great fix would be a table added.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dino World
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Isabelle C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/15/2020 23:45:35

I loved this adventure. I ran it for a few members of my group last weekend and we all had a blast. I am a very lenient DM and let my players kinda go wild with character creation, so I ran it for 3 level 7 characters. They ended up all being Rangers, 2 of whom were Beastmaster and one was a Hunter archetype. I also let 2 of them have pteranodon 'beasts'. So I scaled up some of the dino stats, but gods bless you for making the dinos constructs and not beasts!!! That really helped me out with the adventure! My favorite part was all the random encounters that were possible for the players while in the park. My players also loved the big bad twist at the end with the final fight! It really gave this group a fight! The only rec I have is that I wish there were a few more "Dino World" themed magic items for the players to find around the park. Like the Fast Pass item. Overall though, I really enjoyed running this adventure, and my players all loved it! Well done!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dino World
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Alan W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/15/2020 22:52:18

What I love about this product .

  1. dinosaur goodness. Different and varied dinosaur encounters.
  2. the scalabilty, I'm really happy that the encounters can be scaled to the party.
  3. I especially love the map handout, perfectly fit the themepark feel.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dino World
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Katie T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/02/2020 23:35:40

I don't know quite how she does it, but everything I've read and/or run by Celeste is pure gold. This is legitimately Jurassic Park, with all of what you expect. Yet somehow it's still not predictable - unless you think you're going to encounter dinosaurs. In that way it's very predictable :)

This is very fun and extremely well done. Easy for DM's to navigate and a blast for players - highly recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dino World
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Samuel M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/02/2020 20:03:02

If you love Dinos then you need to get this suppliment. So wonderfully writen and crafted, as a DM I loved watching my players slowly realize that they were about to be a lovely quest turn into a prehistoric adventure. Can not rave about this more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dino World
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joseph D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/31/2020 22:39:55

I had an absolute blast playing through this adventure as a one shot! After reading through it you can tell the skill and attention to detail that went into making the story a fun and well executed dino romp in Eberron. With a nice variety in choices, encounters, and memorable NPCs, I think it's just right to scratch that D&D dinosaur itch.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dino World
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by JB L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/30/2020 16:53:11
Overview

This adventure is a tight and quirky jaunt onto a dinosaur infested island. Set in Ebberon, it has scientific trappings one might find in our real world, but juxtaposed over a fantasy setting. The adventure borrows heavily in feel from classics like Jurrassic Park, Dino Crisis, and many 1990's style adventure videogames, which works well for the size and scope of the adventure.

The Bad
  • If you do not love Ebberon or run a game set in that world, this adventure will not give you a lot of new material to plug and play in your own adventures and games.
  • The appendices are pretty bare bones, Adventurers' League style. Monster stats, maps, and little else.
  • I can see many parties being a little confused as to where they should go or what they should do at parts of this adventure. It's designed so that no matter what path they take, they will reach a satisfying conclusion and complete their mission, but your players may not actually KNOW that they're on the "right path," which can be a problem for some.
The Good
  • This adventure is dripping with a quirky, fun style. The puns and jokes bring a lighthearted flavor to make sure this romp into dino country doesn't feel TOO pessimistic and deadly.
  • The NPCs are surprisingly well done. There is very little word count devoted to the NPCs present in the adventure, but key sentences and quriks make them all feel more alive than they should, given how little there is about them - a tip of the hat for great design philosophy there.
  • The adventure is what it promises to be: you can play it as a one-off easy side quest to see a dinosaur island full of literally every published dionsaur stat block, or you can make it a branch from the much larger Ebberon narratives. The seeds and hooks are there for you to use or ignore - which is always welcome.
  • Though much of the art is reused from WotC's other publications, this adventure being a Guild Adept offering means you do get fun and robust images to break up the layout and text. The art that was made for this adventure specifically will not disappoint at all - it's all really well done.
Overall

It's $4. A guild adept adventure written by a talented voice in the D&D community, edited by one of the golden geese of WotC, just reading through it is well worth the cost of admission and if you run it one time, it's more than paid for itself twice over. Pick this one up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dino World
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ted S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/30/2020 12:50:31

Celeste Conowitch is a powerhouse RPG writing machine, and Dino World is no exception. Captilizing on the presence of dinosaurs in Eberron, we're gifted Dino World. While it's a shorter module (designed for AL use and completion in the 3-4 hour timeframe), it has a lot packed into a short period of time. It clearly pulls from Jurassic Park, which is obvious from the title and art, but it's not too heavyhanded.

I tested this with a group of 3 players and we had an amazing time. Lots of fun encounters and story moments, and of course lots of Jurassic Park quotes and references (most put in by myself or the players).

I only see 2 real "downsides" with this adventure. It's tied to the Eberron: Oracle of War series, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. It just means that to truly get the most out of this (salvage, dino mutations, etc.) you need to pick up that pdf as well. Also it being an Eberron AL module and utilizing Oracle of War as a base means it's primary reward is salvage. That means that if you're playing it not in AL Eberron, you won't get any cool new magic items in this adventure. I only bring that up because I've what kind of awesome magic items Celeste designs, and not getting one in this adventure is a bummer.

The second downside is the absence of an Ian Malcom character/NPC. I don't feel like I need to explain that.

Full review here: https://youtu.be/gqN__q1ozvE



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items