Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Exploring Eberron $29.95
Average Rating:5.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
54 20
0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
Exploring Eberron
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Exploring Eberron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joshua J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/07/2020 13:18:27

Content: Fantastic Plenty of hooks Hidden lore gems Better than any other canon material for exploring underwater civilization



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you Joshua!
Exploring Eberron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ukulele B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2020 12:29:57

Easily the best DnD book I own, the lore is fantastically woven together with new mechanics to inspire your games. The book bombards you with so many new ideas that get the imagination flowing, one second you're reading about MAGIC FLASH DRIVE THAT WARFORGED CAN PLUG IN TO BECOME WARLOCKS, and the next second you're learning about magic artillery used in The Last War.

There's a whole section on how to reconscile the general lack of Psionic support in DnD 5e with the existence of the Kalashtar, and it also gives you a Mind Domain Cleric that feels tailor made for the Kalashtar. And the book also has a whole section about faith and divinity, and the ways in which different people channel divine power.

Anyone who loves the Artificer also needs to pick up with book, the Maverick might be my new favorite subclass. The extra infusions look incredibly fun, and the new magic items are also very good.

My only real complaint is that the new spells are very few, and not well organized. It makes sense to give their blocks in the chapters that mention them, but it would be helpful for the 4 spells to get their own chapter as well so you don't need to hunt them down. I was also hoping there would be a few more spell, but that's a minor gripe.

Overall, excellent book. Better than Eberron Rising From The Last War in a lot of way. I can't wait for my physical copy to arrive.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you Ukulele!
Exploring Eberron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Phillip B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/05/2020 21:33:15

Long time fan of Eberron here. I have to say that this is one of THE best Eberron lore books out there. If youa re a fan of Eberron, or new to the setting this is a must have book. The in depth lore on uncovered and little covered topics is truly amazing. So many adventure ideas now, I don't even know where to start. This is a MUST buy Eberron book for anyone.

The planar information is amazing. I love the information on Droaam and the Dhakaani. Both relevant to campaign I am about to start.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you Philip!
Exploring Eberron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daniel S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/05/2020 12:26:14

This book is going to take me forever to read. Not because of bad writing (the exact opposite is true), but because I can't seem to get through a single paragraph without my brain going off on a tangent of how I can use this new information in my next campaign. I'm barely through Chapter 1 (not even close to the sections I was most looking forward to) and I already have a vastly improved understanding of the world, and the people in it. My ONLY complaint has been that it took so long to come out, but now that it's finally here I can objectively say it was worth the wait. Every gaming group playing in Eberron should have at least one copy of this book for their table (and preferably a copy for everyone). If the price is keeping you away, my advice would be to check out Keith Baker's blog - if you like the writing style and the info he gives you there, then make your group pot luck your next gaming session and use the money you'd have spent on pizza to buy this book. You'll get a lot more hours of enjoyment out of it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Wow, thank you Daniel!
Exploring Eberron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sean K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/05/2020 11:54:10

I am so glad that this is out. I have not read it all yet, but so far I am enjoying everything and finding lots of new things to help flavor my campaigns with. Can't wait to see a Fantasy Grounds conversion for this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you Sean!
Exploring Eberron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Corey H G. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/04/2020 21:59:39

I've been waiting for Eberron content since 5E came out. Rising From The Last War was a good start, but it seems to be the only Eberron product planned as far as canon WotC stuff goes. Thank goodness Keith is so supportive of his brainchild! He's filled this book with so much that I didn't know I didn't know, and I've been happily devouring it since I purchased it in the PDF + POD bundle minutes after release. Hopefully this is the first of many Eberron releases!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you Corey!
Exploring Eberron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/04/2020 21:06:01

Love the content. I've done a full spotlight video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BtUUQUT6Fy0

Rich Da Lich



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you Richard!
Exploring Eberron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jason H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/04/2020 19:24:05

This was an immediate purchase for me. I've loved seeing the content evolve the past few months as Keith has teased it out. Also just a shout out, the art is fantastic!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you Jason!
Exploring Eberron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by erin d. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/03/2020 20:09:19

This book is fantastic. I bought it looking for more information on the daelkyr for my campaign where Dyrrn is the BBEG and got oh so much more. First of all the new druid and monk subclasses are AWESOME. I'm playing Living weapon monk next chance I get, it also occured to me it may be the only monk subclass in the game where a few level dip is actually worth multiclassing with (My only question about it is where it says my weapons count as adamantine weapons is that referring to the variant rule for adamantine weapons form XGE?). The druid class finally will let me live out my dream of being a transformer in DnD. Further the book is just well written. It's more than just intersting lore and fun mechanics. It's actually fun to read. This surpasses all my expectations. My only regret that I only have 5 stars to give.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you erin!
Exploring Eberron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Carmen B. B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/02/2020 14:29:39

I don't have a lot of words to review this book. It's just good.

If you've ever read a section in Eberron: Rising from the Last War, liked what you read, but you didn't have enough context or material to figure out how to make it work, then this book fixes that. While Rising is certainly sufficient material to run an Eberron campaign, it leaves a lot of things hanging. It tells you that Droaam is a nation of monsters, and gives you a sketch of all the important points, but never fills in the details.

On the one hand, not filling in the details is great: It allows the GM freedom to simply make stuff up, which is the name of the game. On the other hand, creativity is hard, and having someone else fill in the details means you have one less thing to worry about, and you can instead worry about how to deploy those details in an interesting plot. Or, even better, the details give you more context than the sketch did, and you now have the confidence and understanding to create your own things!

On the surface, that's what this book is: More details to flesh out the world of Eberron. And in and of itself, that would be more than sufficient. But beneath the surface, the details are actually good. There are only four pages on changelings, which pales in comparison to Races of Eberron's dozen pages on the same race, but everything is so immediately applicable and filled to the brim with shiny nuggets instead of boring exposition. It contains some amazing character concepts for changelings, and although I will probably never use any of them, they are such a source of inspiration to go ahead and create your own concept.

So yeah, I really value this book as details-as-a-source-of-inspiration!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you Carmen!
Exploring Eberron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Barry C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/02/2020 12:11:28

In addition to this book being incredibly cool with the player options and all the expanded lore for Eberron dorks to pore over, the very best part is the clear effort made to refrain from this book being just a giant lore dump, and instead to give the reader clear suggestions on how these things could matter in an actual game, along with the familiar rejection of canonical (kanonical?) explanations for something in favor of offering multiple possible explanations to let players and GMs tailor their world and stories to however they see fit. From the sections literally titled "Why Does It Matter?" in the portion describing the history of Eberron, to the suggested plot hooks and adventure themes associated with each of the (very detailed and long sought after) sections on Eberron's Planes of Existence, it is extremely clear that this book wasn't just for Keith to get his ideas on paper, but to give players and GMs the tools and seeds to generate their own ideas and tell their own stories, and continue to push the "In my Eberron" ethos that makes Eberron such a perpetually refreshing and dynamic setting to tell stories in. It sounds cheesy, but there is an amount of care and respect for the reader that is put into the book being writting in the way it is. It feels reminiscent of a good teacher that doesn't just want you to learn the facts from them, but to use the info and skills you gain to improve your own abilities and gain a unique sense of satisfaction in creating your own work. Kudos to Keith and the whole ExE team for this one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you Barry!
Exploring Eberron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Alexander N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/01/2020 19:52:19

By far one of the best lorebooks I've ever had the chance to look through. When I first read through this book, I could tell that the author was trying to help show me a clear and fun view of the setting, with all sorts of really interesting things that either fit into the many paragraphs or in small side notes. This product goes in-depth when it comes to things like faith, the planes, particular races I once deemed a bit bland, and all lore in Eberron. The book has allowed me to have a much better grasp on the lore of Eberron, and it is 100% worth buying. If you need to know about the world of Eberron, this book is for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you Alexander!
Exploring Eberron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/01/2020 12:29:29

Are you waiting in hope that WotC will publish another Eberron book? Well, they probably won't, but the good news is that you don't need them to - this is what you are looking for.

This book provides chapters of cultural context for players, to help inspire their roleplay.

This book provides enough information on the more mysteriosu areas of the Eberron setting to almost be a second setting.

And then it finishes it off by providing a number of player options that make it easier to play a variety of Eberron archetypes that were previously difficult to pull off.

If you are a fan of Eberron, this book is a must buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you Michael!
Exploring Eberron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by River R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/01/2020 09:29:30

I was waiting for a long while for this book to come out, and at long last, it's here with us, and it is the single greatest 3rd party D&D product I've gotten my hands on, easily rivaling (and frankly surpassing) a lot of the official material in terms of quality - the art is beautiful, the writing is stellar in being both expansive yet actionable, inspiring and concise, the layout is great, and the PDF is very accessible, with full bookmarking, alt text for every image and toggleable layers.

The book delves into a lot of topics that were either left out, misrepresented, underexplored or bogged down by executive meddling in previous sourcebooks for the setting, and here in ExE, Keith is finally able to give them the spotlight they deserve, with plenty of interesting material for both players looking for new character ideas (both in mechanics including new races, subraces, subclasses and spells, and in lore) and GMs and adventure writers looking for plot hooks and new campaign concepts, monsters to use, and items to hand out.

If you've ever wanted more information on the unique Eberron cosmology, how the Last War was actually fought, what's up with nations like Droaam, the Dhakaani and the undersea denizens, or just what the hell this whole "wide magic" thing actually means or what the Blood of Vol is actually like from an unbiased perspective, this is essentially a must-buy. You don't even need to be running Eberron in 5e to make use of the majority of this book - though there is plenty of neat rules content, it is a lore and worldbuilding resource first and foremost.

I've still not fully made my way through it - it's a massive book, longer than Rising from the Last War in pure wordcount, and every page that I read inspires at least one (and often more) ideas for characters, adventures and perhaps entire campaigns, and it's well worthy of the price point. While I cannot afford it in hardcover, I am certain that it makes for a very worthy addition to any Eberron fan's bookshelf or digital library alike.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you River!
Exploring Eberron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/01/2020 08:46:27

As other reviews have noted the lore and mechanics provided in this book are amazing. There so much in here and as I read I am constantly sayign "this is my favotire thing now ... but wait! Look at this other thing thats even cooler!". But beyond that, this is an incredibly well produced book easly on par if not surpassing offical WotC content. The art, the layout, the writing, the little notes that mention potential spoliers for players, and sections that help you take the abstract lore and turn it into a meaningful part of your game. It's all there. The entire team behind this book did an amazing job and I can't recomend this book enough, certainly to anyone interested in eberron, but even for people just looking for inspiration or just other content to spice up their game. 10/5



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you David!
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items