Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
Elminster's Candlekeep Companion $14.95 $13.46
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
37 14
2 3
1 1
0 0
0 0
Elminster\'s Candlekeep Companion
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Elminster's Candlekeep Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/25/2020 13:35:56

Underwhelming, at best.

I was excited to get this, but now that I've read it, I am most thoroughly unimpressed.

The best thing that can be said is that this product takes a lot of scattered Candlekeep lore and puts it all in one place.

Sadly, it also feels like an advertisement for the author's other products, which are mentioned repeatedly. And it also feels like half of a supplement, with the added filler of another resource focusing on temporal magics -- an odd fit.

This product has value, but you're paying for a lot more than you're getting.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Elminster's Candlekeep Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jason K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/12/2020 16:34:12

This product has been a godsend for my campaign. So much good info and having the ability to use Candlekeep as a focus point for lore in the campaign with this guide. Strongly recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elminster's Candlekeep Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Feodor R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/09/2020 08:09:15

There's a LOT of good stuff in this... for the DM. If you're a player, the subclasses and spells presented here simply aren't good nor interesting. However, I will most definitely be using this as a DM, and maybe taking some spells (possibly modifying them) and offer them as rewards for my players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Elminster's Candlekeep Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/15/2020 18:25:19

What can I say? This is an all around fantastic piece of material. I instantly fell in love with the beautiful map of Candlekeep. The cool collection of character options were just flying off the shelf at us. This really fleshes out a part of the world that really is only mentioned briefly in the SCAG book. My favorite part was the details and quests to locate books of varying types. This just makes for a great home local for your heroes to work out of it. We all cracked up when we got to the part where the monks don't approve of theft...but pretty much look the other way when it comes to how the characters aqcuired it. lol. We had a blast! Highly recommend. Check out our full coverage on Crit Academy: https://www.critacademy.com/post/elminster-s-candlekeep-companion



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elminster's Candlekeep Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Steven A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2020 09:55:30

Very nice product, great setting with a lot of neat flavor. I used bits and pieces of it to flesh out a library-ruin-dungeon in my home game. It was nice to have another source for random books on the shelves, some knowledge based boons and some inspirition to help get me in the mindset to run a library dungeon run.

Slight caveat for DMs, some of the magic items are strong for the rarity. Specifically, the Expeditious Tome and the Magic Tome are an outright improvements over the Wand of the War Mage (+X to spell attack rolls AND to saving throw DCs vs +X to spell attack rolls). The ability to boost saving throw DCs is very powerful and acts like a force multiplier on a lot of spells. Good items, just be aware that if you hand it to a strong mage, they might land significately more spells.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elminster's Candlekeep Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brendan Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2020 11:50:01

This came out just when I needed it! I picked this up hoping to flesh out my Descent into Avernus campaign and I have to say I am incredibly impressed with each and every section of this work. I just ran chapter 4, the much needed improvement to DiA's Candlekeep encounter, and my players loved the environment and the "Council of Elron" discussion amongst all the archmages.

Highly, highly recommend. Candlekeep is a fascinating destination and this book gives you all the tools to rin adventures within Candlekeep itself, start a campaign there, or adapt its massive library into your own world. I think this is the best thing I've bought on DMSGuild.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elminster's Candlekeep Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeff B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/07/2020 17:57:05

An incredible book about an important area that has had oddly little useful for an adventure written about it over the years. Beautiful layout, great material, useful player options. 2E/3E levels of information presented with 5E production values. I fully expect to buy a hardcover version when it's available.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elminster's Candlekeep Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/07/2020 15:58:09

Wow! This is easily one of the best products I've ever downloaded from the DMsGuild. Beautifully designed and so much amazing detail... I will definitely be incorporating a bunch of it into my DiA campaign when I DM it for my regular group later this year. The beautiful map and richly desribed location descriptions! All the detailed history and lore! Monster stat blocks! Magic items and spells! So many tidbits that could work as adventure seeds or sidequests in a campaign. And that's just for the DM's to enjoy, but for PCs there are also intriguingly unique character subclasses with thematic links to the library! I really can't say enough good things about this guide. Consider me a 100% entirely satisfied customer. This gets my highest recommendation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elminster's Candlekeep Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2020 16:08:59

Some game supplements are great resources at the table while others are fun to read. This one is both. Elminster's Candlekeep Companion provides a thorough overview of Candlekeep that would be useful for any type of campaign. There are great roleplaying hooks, detailed NPCs, evocative setting details as well as tons of great "crunchy" details such as magic items, spells, and even monsters that capture the uniqueness of the setting. On top of that. there's an adventure by M.T. Black that looks like a lot of fun. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elminster's Candlekeep Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thomas C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2020 14:47:14

Beautifully researched, pulling obscure and less obscure lore together into one place and that map.... Nicely done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elminster's Candlekeep Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeff M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2020 14:20:43

This FLAT OUT should have been an official Wizards Hardcover release. The map is gorgeous, and the content is fantastic. My son has wanted to go to Candlekeep in our game, and I've hesitated because I just couldn't find the lore I needed to make it right. Problem solved.

I love the creativity it allows for the DM. For example, in the entrance "gift" to get in to Candlekeep, the options are so much more vaired than I had imagined. It doesn't mean that it is going to be any easier on my "mini me" (who is taller than me and still growing) to gain the entrance gift, but it is going to be a lot easier on me as the DM to create the entrance gift for him to find and present.

If you are planning on your party going anywhere near Candlekeep, this is 100% must have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elminster's Candlekeep Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Guy H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2020 11:07:54

A beautifully designed resource that offers inspiration and insight on the greatest of library cities in the Realms.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elminster's Candlekeep Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kyla C M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2020 00:52:15

Truly fantastic! I love reading all the history and lore and cannot wait to run a campaign set within the Citadel of Learning. Book is excellently organized and easy to read. Highly recommend



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elminster's Candlekeep Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by George M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/03/2020 20:24:13

The book overall is essentially a thorough consolidation of scattered descriptions and resources from all over, and it does this work admirably, with a gorgous map, extensive deliniation of locales & characters, and lots of new material added, including site specific class options, custom magic items, and even locale specific creatures. i well liked it overall, but i wasn't completely satisified: there is a clever system of tables for creating parts around Candlekeep, but they are a bit short - i'd prefer more of these or longer tables. Some described locales had complex descriptions and could have used more art or encounter maps (or both). There is enough seemingly to make a supplement for the supplement.

These are minor quibles, and if i could rate it at 4,5 or higher, i would- its just not quite perfect. If your campaign has anything to do with Candlekeep or with library cities, i would wholeheartedly reccomend this book highly.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Elminster's Candlekeep Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Stevie S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/03/2020 18:59:49

A beautifully designed resource that informs and inspries. I've already begun incorporating elements of this guide into my campaigns. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 18 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items