Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
The Blackstaff's Book of 1000 Spells $14.95
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
14 11
0 0
0 2
0 1
0 0
The Blackstaff\'s Book of 1000 Spells
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
The Blackstaff's Book of 1000 Spells
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chance J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/09/2020 10:28:10

I was so excited by the concept of this book - wow! 1000 spells! - but disappointed by what I actually found. Far too many of these spells feel clunky and convoluted. "Wait, so this 1st-level spell requires how many different attack rolls and saving throws and deals different types of damage and makes each target choose between different effects that last until their next turn and...?" It's the worst with the cantrips. Cantrips are supposed to be simple, straightforward and basic. Not bloated with all sorts of conditional effects. Even so, there are some truly elegant and fun spells within. You just have to dig to find them. I wish they'd threshed the wheat from the chaff and just published 50 or 100 good spells instead of 1000. All in all, I don't think this is worth the full $14.95 I spent on it.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Blackstaff's Book of 1000 Spells
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Leif E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/28/2020 11:16:23

I can wholehartedly recomend this DM's Guild book by Scott Bean, Heath Harris and Jeremy Forbing entitled 'The Balckstaff's Book of 1000 Spells'.If you want more spells to condier fro your characters or campaign BUY THIS BOOK FIRST. Here are some numeric breakdowns:

by spell Level: BBS/PHB, 0: 65/27, 1st: 165/62, 2nd:180/59, 3rd: 162/50, 4th: 135/35, 5th: 111/42, 6th:79/32, 7th: 62/20, 8th: 51/18, 9th: 50/16

by type or School: BBS/ PHB, Abjuration: 118/45, Conjuration: 127/52, Divination: 100/31, Enchantment: 120/34, Evocation: 180/73, Illusion: 46/29 Necromancy:142/27, Transmutation: 228/63

This little snapshot provides some insight into overall differences between the PHB and this tome (BBS). Budding Necromncer's get a big boost, Poor Illusionists may still be looking for more spells, but from 29 plus the 46 hereprovides 75 total, should help. The number of Cantrips is staggering, 27 in the PHB and another 65 herein. It's too bad there isn't a way to take some Cantrips as first level spells. As you can see from the numbers 1-5th level spells get over 100 new spells each. Other reviewers have great comments about this tome. I love the inclusion of so many old spells and 'lore spells' e.g. five spells by Laeral, four of Mordenkainen's magic and 15 no less, from Otiluke's library. I too caught a couple of odd text/misspellings and formatting errors are present, none so bad as to make the spells unusable. The art is very good and they didn't go overboard for my tastes. My only Complaint is that it is not availabe in Print on Demand format. If (when) it is, I will buy it as I foresee myself consulting it at the table often.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Blackstaff's Book of 1000 Spells
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cristian S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2020 14:55:32

This book has a good deal of spells written, some with very interesting twists and creative aspects. I've used a couple of them and one of my players also found a few interesting ones. It also has some good explanation of lore and funny notes coming from the most renowned mages of the D&D universe.

However, a great deal of the spells are fillers with sometimes unbalanced or clunky mechanics, as well as reflavoured existing RAW spells. It also sometimes mixes the spellcasting topic of certain classes, especially with those reflavoured spells. Additionally, many spells are so situational, they become hard to include in any build without sacrificing too much. With a bit of DM veto and help to rearrange the clunkiness, players could definitely use it. But then the other big problem of the book comes along. It's a really big book and it uses the already criticized system of the PHB of having the classes' spell lists in the beggining, and then all the spells are ordered alphabetically, independent of their level. A switch to Spells by level first, alphabetically second, with clarification to what class they belong to in each spell would have been a huge deal better.

To show a couple of examples of what I'm saying:

  • Frost Fingers (class conflict): Burning hands but with cold damage. But now clerics have access to it, while RAW they don't have BH.
  • Wailing Wind (reflavour, class conflict): Alarm spell, but instead of a ping you feel some wind. Again, now clerics have it.
  • Boon of the God (unbalanced): A shorter Regenerate spell, but just as potent for everything but the HP gain. Now 4th lvl instead of 7th level.
  • Appraising Touch (situational): Adv to determine price of objects. And it's not even a ritual.

All in all, the book has a great deal of clever spells. But the editing and the fillers make it really hard to find them and I cannot really ask my players to incorporate them because I don't want them to waste that much time. I really wish they had found an easier way to make it more readable.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Blackstaff's Book of 1000 Spells
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Stephen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2020 14:36:09

This is a fantastic collection of spells, and a great value!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Blackstaff's Book of 1000 Spells
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Connor W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/27/2020 15:11:58

An amazing book for all my players. This does a lot of things well that I can't absolutly begin to describe.

  1. It emphasis entirely new character backstories and playstyles. More melee spells, more spells for subclasses (You could play a abjuration wizard now with an actual arsel of abjuration spells.) Many spells emphasis creating a creative playstle and plenty are great for in and out of combat adding to all avenues of play.
  2. Spells for DMs. All of these could be used as a player but as a DM many of these spells define entire villians or emphasis an interisting fight and the possibility of fun new monster encounters. The vampire spells particularly coming in useful with my current campaign.
  3. Spells that aren't without dangers. Some spells have a powerful upfront ability then a negative attached aswel. I love this high risk high reward idea attached to spells. Helps add a new level of consideration behind the dangers of manipulating powerful magic.
  4. Lore spells, this book is filled with familiar characters and their spell developments. My players love lore and more spell lore is always great.

I do think this book needs some updates as their are many typos and text inconsistencies but that will not stop it from being a book added to my games going forward.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Blackstaff's Book of 1000 Spells
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by lorne b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/04/2020 13:29:42

This book is everything needed to take your run of the mill spellcaster into great new realm of role playing possibilities. The selection offered in the PHB and supplements are fine, but stale... the expanded lists are a blessing ! if you cast spells you should buy this book !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Blackstaff's Book of 1000 Spells
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Leonardo b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2020 10:52:02

Great product. This book is absolutely wonderful, well written and above all, it brings me back many spells tjat were not converted from previous editions like epic "BLACK BLADE OF DISASTER" or lovely "LEOMUND'S TRAP".

Every day, when I have some spare time I go through this book, looking for new gems to challenge my players and to give them some rare spell to make them enjoy some new effects!

Really, I was missing something like this. Thank you for bringing it!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Blackstaff's Book of 1000 Spells
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Andrew S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2020 19:59:42

Product is solid for the most part, I haven't read all 1000 spells but some of the saves and such aren't consistant with 5e. For example there's a bard cantrip that shows you as a scary dude and they CHA(???) save or take damage. Nothing you can't catch and make it fit for your table.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Blackstaff's Book of 1000 Spells
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/18/2020 12:59:12

It was lovely to see spells from previous editions make their way into this book - all translated expertly to fit the streamlined 5th edition. It was also great fun finding new an interesting ways to surprise players/your GM. While not official, my opinion is that these spells have been well balanced and have the potential to add some interesting flavour to most classes. In fact, my biggest concern with this book is that if my GM allows it, I'll be struck with decision-paralysis.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Blackstaff's Book of 1000 Spells
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Timothy N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2020 11:43:21

Absolutely fantastically put together, the care that was taken in ensuring spells are both balanced and fun is evident on each page. I love how there are so many low level options that give me chances to surprise my veteran players new characters and intrigue them into wondering what could come next. Thank you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Blackstaff's Book of 1000 Spells
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Derek I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2020 22:29:48

Aside from a few typos I can find nothing to critique. This book adds so much variety to both players and DM’s. The spells are well balanced and crafted by a team that obviously has both experience and a love for the game. I am happy with the options given for high level spells, but since I see much more use out of lower level spells I am most excited to see options outside of the “standard” spell picks. I definitely recommend to any DM looking to give their players more options or spice up their NPCs. For my players who have played most every class, seeing a few of these spells out of their enemies should be both a surprise and a decent plot hook.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Blackstaff's Book of 1000 Spells
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Frederik V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2020 17:26:32

I cannot recommend this product enough. Not only does it hold 1000 spells, which I must admit I haven't read through to completion yet, but the team behind this work are also really dedicated and has recently added a new version, that allows for quick and easy access to each spell by bookmarking or searching; making it easy to find just the spell you need while running a game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Blackstaff's Book of 1000 Spells
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ken C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/03/2020 17:16:04

What a great compendium of spells for both DMs and Players to use at their table. The writers have done an awesome job on the conversions and anyone will be very happy with their purchase. Highly Recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Blackstaff's Book of 1000 Spells
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joshua D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/02/2020 19:39:47

Picked this book up day one and have been glued to it every since! An incredibly diverse bunch of spells, including updates on previous spells from the authors, and new spells to amplify your play experience! Having had the pleasure of gaming with one of the writers, I know how dedicated he is to bringing you the absolute most balanced, wide ranging spells his imagination can conjure! Dinosaur stampede is my new fav for mid level encounters! Give this guide priority on your must read list!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items