Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
The Blackstaff's Book of 1000 Spells $14.95
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
7 8
0 0
0 1
0 0
0 0
The Blackstaff\'s Book of 1000 Spells
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
The Blackstaff's Book of 1000 Spells
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by lorne b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/04/2020 13:29:42

This book is everything needed to take your run of the mill spellcaster into great new realm of role playing possibilities. The selection offered in the PHB and supplements are fine, but stale... the expanded lists are a blessing ! if you cast spells you should buy this book !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Blackstaff's Book of 1000 Spells
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Leonardo b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2020 10:52:02

Great product. This book is absolutely wonderful, well written and above all, it brings me back many spells tjat were not converted from previous editions like epic "BLACK BLADE OF DISASTER" or lovely "LEOMUND'S TRAP".

Every day, when I have some spare time I go through this book, looking for new gems to challenge my players and to give them some rare spell to make them enjoy some new effects!

Really, I was missing something like this. Thank you for bringing it!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Blackstaff's Book of 1000 Spells
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Andrew S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2020 19:59:42

Product is solid for the most part, I haven't read all 1000 spells but some of the saves and such aren't consistant with 5e. For example there's a bard cantrip that shows you as a scary dude and they CHA(???) save or take damage. Nothing you can't catch and make it fit for your table.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Blackstaff's Book of 1000 Spells
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/18/2020 12:59:12

It was lovely to see spells from previous editions make their way into this book - all translated expertly to fit the streamlined 5th edition. It was also great fun finding new an interesting ways to surprise players/your GM. While not official, my opinion is that these spells have been well balanced and have the potential to add some interesting flavour to most classes. In fact, my biggest concern with this book is that if my GM allows it, I'll be struck with decision-paralysis.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Blackstaff's Book of 1000 Spells
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Timothy N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2020 11:43:21

Absolutely fantastically put together, the care that was taken in ensuring spells are both balanced and fun is evident on each page. I love how there are so many low level options that give me chances to surprise my veteran players new characters and intrigue them into wondering what could come next. Thank you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Blackstaff's Book of 1000 Spells
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Derek I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2020 22:29:48

Aside from a few typos I can find nothing to critique. This book adds so much variety to both players and DM’s. The spells are well balanced and crafted by a team that obviously has both experience and a love for the game. I am happy with the options given for high level spells, but since I see much more use out of lower level spells I am most excited to see options outside of the “standard” spell picks. I definitely recommend to any DM looking to give their players more options or spice up their NPCs. For my players who have played most every class, seeing a few of these spells out of their enemies should be both a surprise and a decent plot hook.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Blackstaff's Book of 1000 Spells
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Frederik V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2020 17:26:32

I cannot recommend this product enough. Not only does it hold 1000 spells, which I must admit I haven't read through to completion yet, but the team behind this work are also really dedicated and has recently added a new version, that allows for quick and easy access to each spell by bookmarking or searching; making it easy to find just the spell you need while running a game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Blackstaff's Book of 1000 Spells
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ken C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/03/2020 17:16:04

What a great compendium of spells for both DMs and Players to use at their table. The writers have done an awesome job on the conversions and anyone will be very happy with their purchase. Highly Recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Blackstaff's Book of 1000 Spells
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joshua D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/02/2020 19:39:47

Picked this book up day one and have been glued to it every since! An incredibly diverse bunch of spells, including updates on previous spells from the authors, and new spells to amplify your play experience! Having had the pleasure of gaming with one of the writers, I know how dedicated he is to bringing you the absolute most balanced, wide ranging spells his imagination can conjure! Dinosaur stampede is my new fav for mid level encounters! Give this guide priority on your must read list!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items