Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
The Armorer’s Handbook: Equipment Upgrade and Rune Magic System for 5E $9.95
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
22 22
0 1
0 0
1 0
0 0
The Armorer’s Handbook: Equipment Upgrade and Rune Magic System for 5E
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
The Armorer’s Handbook: Equipment Upgrade and Rune Magic System for 5E
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Valentin P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2020 09:21:25

I've always wanted weapon progression in my home game, for many of the same reasons outline in this handbook's intro: I didn't want the characters to just find legendary weapons, I wanted their weapons to become legendary along with them. But because 5e wasn't designed arount that, I completely improvised it, and the lack of structure/clarity resulted in many arguments, a lot of time spent haggling that could have been spent doing more interesting things, and a general sense of frustration towards loot, for both my players and I. So after looking around a bunch, I can tell you this much. This addition bridges the gap between the narrative I wanted to push as a DM all along, and the structure that my players need so that they can experience it smoothly. It's going to save my table a lot of time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Armorer’s Handbook: Equipment Upgrade and Rune Magic System for 5E
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tatsuya S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2020 13:44:30

I took a shot with this and I have to say, I was very impressed by the thoroughness of all the mechanics. I was especially impressed by the appendices that showed the math behind the runes/enhancements to show exactly how much of a boost they would be. Many of the runes are also mechanically very unique and interesting. Lastly the author is very responsive to feedback!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Armorer’s Handbook: Equipment Upgrade and Rune Magic System for 5E
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Dominic R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2020 04:14:53

I did a little research before I bought this module. Because I'm the kind of person that doesn't really like to add homebrew to the table due to balancing issues. That's also a reason why I never really purchased any rules. But this module really convinced me that there are some very well written and balanced content to add to the table. The thing I really like about this module is that the upgrades are backed by statistics and they follows the guidelines of the DMG (which is very important to me). You can see that the power gain players get from the upgrades in a nice table (who doesn't like facts to back things up).  What also is very good is how it also makes gold more valuable. I've played a lot of games where at the end of the campaign people have more money than sense and don't really know what to do with it. This module really eliminates that problem and also gives the players exciting content for them to explore on with the choices of  their next upgrades. It is very well written and the artwork really compliments it all. It really is professionally made and you  can really tell a lot of time, effort and love has gone into it.

Thanks a lot for all the time and effort and I'm very curious what your future projects will bring us. Keep up the good work! I did a little research before I bought this module. Because I'm the kind of person that doesn't really like to add homebrew to the table due to balancing issues. That's also a reason why I never really purchased any rules. But this module really convinced me that there are some very well written and balanced content to add to the table. The thing I really like about this module is that the upgrades are backed by statistics and they follows the guidelines of the DMG (which is very important to me). You can see that the power gain players get from the upgrades in a nice table (who doesn't like facts to back things up).  What also is very good is how it also makes gold more valuable. I've played a lot of games where at the end of the campaign people have more money than sense and don't really know what to do with it. This module really eliminates that problem and also gives the players exciting content for them to explore on with the choices of  their next upgrades. It is very well written and the artwork really compliments it all. It really is professionally made and you  can really tell a lot of time, effort and love has gone into it.

Thanks a lot for all the time and effort and I'm very curious what your future projects will bring us. Keep up the good work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Armorer’s Handbook: Equipment Upgrade and Rune Magic System for 5E
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by thomas r. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2020 08:22:12

this ia a great addition to any campaign. there arent enough expanded rules for non magical upgrades out there and this really expands on a blind spot in the srd!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Armorer’s Handbook: Equipment Upgrade and Rune Magic System for 5E
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Andrew S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2020 11:56:46

In addition to the creative inspiration for an undeveloped part of 5e, what's amazing and unique to this handbook is the mathmatical justifications in the appendix section! I'm always reluctant to introduce homebrew into my games - but any concerns I had were quelled by the thoroughness of this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you! Version 1.3 and above contains improved wording and some additional clarification to the assumptions in both data series—and if you really want to see how far down the rabbit hole I went on it here's a screencap of the calculation for a single attack role for a given set of parameters/ weapon upgrades: https://i.imgur.com/FBEade4.png (this cell is then looped thousands of times to return an average for each upgrade mix!)
The Armorer’s Handbook: Equipment Upgrade and Rune Magic System for 5E
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kelly L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2020 11:53:22

So I got this with high hopes considering how I liked Heavy's other supplements, but this really knocked off my boots. The upgrading system for items by the artisan NPC blacksmiths is very easy to implement and adjust for a DM allowing you to granularly apply various "levels" of blacksmith for players to hunt down or give a general "blacksmiths can do this" while allowing for players to really dig into customizing their weapons to fit play styles. With this that generations old longsword from Grandpa fighter Phil that the paladin's player has worked lovingly into their backstory won't get put by the wayside the second a +1 magic weapon drops.

In regards to the Runesmithing section, I don't think I've seen my player so giddy to engage with crafting downtime. This is expansive and allows for a lot of customization as well without being either too crunchy nor being too time consuming in game making players more likely to actually interact with it, looking at you other supplements where an enchantment may take 200+ days. That makes it useful for the players in game while also being a nice gold sink for the DMs to fiddle with. With the guild section also crafted into it, it also offers up a bit more roleplay opportunities, gold opportunites, and the like for players to engage with if they like as well beyond pure crafting rolls.

Overall this things get a huge thumbs up for fitting the feel of 5e in its simplicity and light bookkeeping while allowing for the ability for a DM to bring in customization options on their end.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Armorer’s Handbook: Equipment Upgrade and Rune Magic System for 5E
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Martín D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2020 18:41:37

It's no secret I like this supplement, you can find my thoughts about it within its pages after all! But one thing I'd like to add is that this supplement is fantastic for low fantasy settings and campaigns. Just removing magic items completely and relying on this for that aspect of the game does so much for the overall tone of the narrative. Not having powerful items just be there, and actually going through the process of creating them—or otherwise working to adquiere them—gives the items a newfound value, and makes them an integral component of every player character’s identity. And that’s just awesome! Having a player identify themselves with a character is a really hard thing to accomplish, for both the DM and themselves. It comes from a consistency in play, and a deep understanding and connection with the character itself. So, anything that helps with that process is an incredibly tool to have!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Armorer’s Handbook: Equipment Upgrade and Rune Magic System for 5E
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matthew P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2020 13:32:29

I am very impressed with the design here! Not only does this look gorgeous, but the mechanical design is meticulously thought out and streamlined. I feel very confident and excited to drop this into my games, and I would recommend it to anyone looking to make blacksmiths and equipment more fun and meaningful! Well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 16 to 23 (of 23 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2 
Back
0 items