Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Temple of the Opal Goddess
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2020 08:46:13

Either as the first in the series that The Price of a Soul continues, or as its own solo adventure, Temple of the Opal Goddess is an example of Micah's excellent work. This quest seeths with classic pulp action and drama, dungeon crawls (which I am rarely a fan of but when done well I love it), intrigue and complex plots. This feels like it was ripped from older editions and refreshed with a spicy new paint job and updated mechanics, and I LIVE FOR IT! Plus, there are so many different ways to play this adventure - full stealth, full tank, mix and match; your party comp is going to change exactly how the game goes in subtle ways, and it is awesome. Overall, highly recommend this one shot for anyone looking for a fun night! Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Temple of the Opal Goddess
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Adventure Sidekicks: Tyranny of Dragons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2020 08:34:23

The Adventure Sidekicks series is already a must-have for everyone - this unfortunately is the first one in the series I have been able to review, but I have seen them in action and know they are steals. Coupled with Rose's fantastic art - having worked with her in the past, highly recommend - Adventure Sidekicks: Tyranny of Dragons is perfect for your dive into the world of the first hardcover quest book that 5th Edition had. Plus, I love the Sidekick mechanics - with my girlfriend's brother using them in our Curse of Strahd game. You get a bunch of new NPCs, along with their sidekick mechanics, and it is just a good time all together. Cannot recommend this book enough. Altogether you get so much in one little book, and it is worth it 100%. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventure Sidekicks: Tyranny of Dragons
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Price of a Soul
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2020 08:26:37

Micah always puts a great deal of focus into his work, and with this adventure that is still the case. A sorrowful and romantic tale that tickles all the violin strings of my bleeding heart but also stokes the METAL RIFFS OF MY SOOUUULLL - ahem, excuse me - The Price of a Soul is a fantastic one off, sequel, or insert into Descent into Avernus. One of my biggest beefs with Descent into Avernus is that it simply does not have enough roleplay in a badass setting with a badass concept. Well, if you are like me, than this here quest will solve that need for story in your Apocalypse Mad Max game. With beautiful layout, fantastic art, and a wonderful story all fit into 42 pages, The Price of a Soul takes you on a unique and exciting journey across the Nine Hells and across morality, romance, and more. Overall, any DM worth their dice should grab this adventure now. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Price of a Soul
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

101 Useful (ish) Magical Items 5e
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2020 08:06:18

The title says it all, with emphasis on the ISH. I don't know about you, but I am always down for joke magic items that have minor to nonexistant functionality. Sometimes I don't want an all powerful ring of blasting, but how bout the Armor of the Beggar Warrior +1, where you are literally covering in rotting rags that radiate an aura so that folks do not notice you or see you as a threat. absolutely hilarious if you ask me, and I want it for my barbarian. There are many gems like that scattered through this book, and it doesn't take itself too seriously - so I highly recommend you snag a copy of this bad buddy and add to your DM library for your players. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
101 Useful (ish) Magical Items 5e
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for this. It really does mean a lot to get this kind of review.
Adventurer’s Guide to Fey Magic
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2020 07:42:00

What we have here gang is a book I have been wanting for a while - a guide solely devoted to the mysteries of fey magic. I grew up on faery stories and old Irish and Scottish tales of the like of Tam Lin and the Selkies and others. While in traditional D&D circles, fey magic equals elf magic, rarely is it ever delved into with the love and care that David does in this book. It honestly reminds me of the copy of Heroes of the Feywild from 4e that really walked about that plane and pulled from the Gaelic and Celtic roots it was steeped in. With a whole catalogue of amazing new mechanics for fey magic, this book is a must-have for any player or DM who wants to accentuate their game and make their fey magic feel more...well...fey. And it is for that ability to bring me back to the beginning years of my roleplay journey that I am pleased to award this book the Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurer’s Guide to Fey Magic
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

First Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2020 07:37:38

I shall make this brief, since I don't want to hinder you from buying this adventure and playing it IMMEDIATLY. Combined with Peter Pan, The Goonies, and Stand By Me, this adventure feels like an homage to every pre-teen drama adventure movie rolled into one and then dunked in a steaming vat of D&D to top it all off. Simply laid out, lovingly designed, and true to the core of what makes roleplaying games special, this is a fantastic adventure that brings back fond memories of quests of yesterday. Overall, a great little one shot for any beginning or veteran DM to bring to the table and run. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
First Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Hoard of Symbiotes (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2020 07:31:53

Let me just say how much I love this book and I applaud ERF for the work done in this masterpiece. With the return to Eberron, the daelkyr were more than like to make a blow-up of content on the Guild since they are just so frigging wierd. And let me tell you, ERF does it better than others I have seen. She respects the creepiness, alienness, and sheer spoop of the symbiotes of the daelkyr. But she also brings forth so many awesome mechanics with these items - honestly, it is hard to pick out favorites. Although the Boneshard Slinger is probably my top one for now - I am sure I will come to enjoy others. My only critcism would be that I want to see the items more, so some art of each would really bring it to life more I think. Otherwise, a great addition to anyone's collection for an Eberron game. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 16



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hoard of Symbiotes (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Book of Races: Mirtana
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2020 07:22:12

So first off: they big, they remind me of Korg, they smash, they brash, they ultimate weapons. The Mirtana pulls from so much awesome traditional mythology to bring you a powerful all-female race that doesn't feel derogatory or built on male sub fantasties. They are just big scaly ladies who have a kickass mountain warrior culture who want to die honorably and have a good time through life. Kim has done a great job making something that could be seen as pasce, and turned it into a really kickass addition to anyone's racial catalogue. And the Mirtana get some awesome racial abilities - such as one where if you are fighting with at least three opponents or more, you can use your bonus action to make an extra melee attack. Or that when they die they crumble to dust and leave behind a literal frigging soul stone. Overall, the Mirtana are more than welcome at my table, and I tip my hat to all the women warriors that the Mirtana stand for. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Races: Mirtana
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Book of Races: Devurin
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2020 07:17:14

You want to talk about ultimate infiltration - then look no further than Kim's new race book here. Book of Races: Devurin - another of Kim's entry in his absolutely mad-lad rush to make 53 race books - brings to you a spoopy new race infected with illithid tadpoles to become the ultimate brain-juicing chameleon machine. On top of just being a cool concept, the Devurin are really well balanced in that they feel a tad bit underpowered but it is all in the flavor that they jump out at you. Honestly, I would gladly welcome a player with this race at my table, as I think it is super interesting. And let's be truthful, mindflayers don't quite get as much attention as they should sometimes. But anywhose, I really recommend anyone who is looking for someting with a pinch of subtely and really wants to go for a cloak-and-daggers style game should snag this book while you can. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Races: Devurin
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Book of Races: Yuan-ti Halfblood
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2020 09:42:48

Another entry in Kim's fantasic series, Book of Races: Yuan-ti Halfblood breathes new life into a race that is about three inches long in Volo's. Kim really plays to their strange and alien nature, their middling status role in yuan-ti heirarchy. But what I especially love is the new addition of the snake table, where their true nature comes out. You could have a snake head, arms that turn into snakes, a snake tail, or scales instead of skin. This really makes you all the more strange and terrifying to others, and builds on the mystique of the Yuan-ti. Would have liked some more art perhaps showing how the various types of mutations could look, but otherwise, a simple and stellar addition for anyone looking to make a scaly snake hooman. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 18



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Races: Yuan-ti Halfblood
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Monsters of the Underworld
Publisher: Cawood Publishing
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2020 08:41:33

I can remember when Andrew first shot me a copy of Monsters of the Feyland - holy hell was that a fun book. With beefy thematic monsters and Travis' fantastic art, Monsters of the Underworld only builds on that model of cartoony but deadly creatures and amazing visuals. A lot of the monsters in here are fantastic additions to any Underdark themed or suberterranian campaign, and as always the variety is better - far better - than anything in the base Monster Manual. I especially enjoy of the fungus themed monsters, primarily the fungus giant which is absolutely terrifying in any way shape and form. I highly reccomend this book for anyone getting ready to delve into the deep. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of the Underworld
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Faiths of the Forgotten Realms 2
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2020 07:47:01

I want this bad boy in hardcover so bad so I can plot it on my shelf right next to all my other books. What Micah and his team have done with this project is build from their first in a way that blows it out of the water. I remember looking through the original Faiths of the Forgotten Realms that a friend of mine had let me borrow, and this brought me back to that. Full of class options, new religious mechanics, and full of updated lore, Faiths of the Forgotten Realms II is a stellar addition to anyone's table if you are looking to have a spiritual or religius character who isn't your traditional plate-mail wearing, hammer-wielding bulky palabro. There is so much talent in this book and it shows - it is well laid out, amazingly organized, and just screams professionalism. It is really hard to pick just one subclass that I like from it, but I gotta give it to the Hearth Domain in the Dwarven Pantheon section (yes, they group archetypes by race domain, making it even easier to navigate). Overll, stellar work on this book, and if you don't have it, rememdy that NOW. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Faiths of the Forgotten Realms 2
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Archetypes of Eberron: 31 Subclasses
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2020 06:46:18

Let me tell you a story - a story of a little boy who made warforged champions like no tomorrow, a little boy who had dreams of lightning rail hiests and airship dogfights, a little boy who walked the jungles of Xendrik with ax and lantern in hand. Every time the Across Eberron team releases something new, I get blasted back through temporal tunnels to my 12 year old self, and the Archetypes of Eberron did so immensely. Merging fantastic story and beautiful art with powerful mechanics and archetypes that feel so rooted in Eberron you can feel the noir and pulp flowing off of them - this book blew me out of the water, and brought me back to all 3.5 Eberron. I am not going to list off all the archetypes because they are all freaking awesome and I want to play all of them. What I will say is that I want POD of this, now and now. I want to put this in hardcover on my bookshelf next to Eberronicon and my 3.5 Eberron titles. And for all of the throwbacks, great respect to the world, and a damn fine job, Archetypes of Eberron is more than worthy of a Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Archetypes of Eberron: 31 Subclasses
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Adaptable NPCs II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2020 16:46:03

GAH! URGH! I can't....I can't with these books, I just can't. There is so much juicy NPC goodness and it hurts, like I am literaly struggling with how to describe this chonky big ol tome that Trevor has thrown at us, as he does. Honestly, I will say this - I suck at making interesting NPCs, and making ones with stat blocks as beefy and well-developed as the ones in here. That's the truth. What Trevor decided to do with this here series was like "Hey, what if your NPCs were varied, had immense roleplay potential, and were all different levels of badassery?" Cause that is what you get with Adaptable NPCs II. Some examples - the Aging Burglar, the Eternal Revenant, the Dragon Whisperer, the Amethyst Knight. SO MUCH NPC FANTASTICNESS. IF you don't have a copy of this book and its predecessor, you are making a mistake. Filled with amazingly well created NPCs, all decked out with lovely art and laid out wonderfully, this is another product that if I could get in print I would give organs to do so. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adaptable NPCs II
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

A Tale of Two Dragons: Phandalin Adventures Tier 2 Conversions
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2020 16:42:04

With Rose's immediatly striking art pulling you in - honestly, if none of you are following her, you all should go do it - Adam has done a great job of pulling together the two intro adventures featured in the Essentials and Starter kits respectively and given them a wonderful little hybridized rebuild. And, to make it even better, you can now run it at higher levels! With great layout, simple organization, and a bunch of upped baddies in the back from the original two adventures, A Tale of Two Dragons is everything you need as an intro DM to get your players interested in D&D, or even just to study in how to build clean and basic adventure layouts. Adam did a great job with this project, and it is fantastic. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Tale of Two Dragons: Phandalin Adventures Tier 2 Conversions
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 156 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items