Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
SWAT: Special Wizards And Tactics - 5e Encounter
Publisher: Oz Mills
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/27/2020 07:52:42

It's a good product, but it could've been a great one. It's a bit brief and I would have loved to see it focused more on tactics.

Read more: https://www.nonzerosumgames.com/swat-special-wizards-and-tactics/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
SWAT: Special Wizards And Tactics - 5e Encounter
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Price of a Soul
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/19/2020 07:47:15

What I’ve come to know, and expect, of Micah Watt’s work is his detail. And there is a lot of it packed into this adventure. With its compelling purpose, the new magic items (and that machine!), and the flexibility to get into—and out of—the heat of things in any manner that befits the players, this is a great adventure to bring to the table. However, it leaves me wondering…what is the price of a soul?

https://www.nonzerosumgames.com/the-price-of-a-soul/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Price of a Soul
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Armorer’s Handbook: Equipment Upgrade and Rune Magic System for 5E
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2020 07:52:05

This is a wonderful product that increases a player’s agency, gives players a money-sink, and reduces a DM’s overhead. Couple that with topnotch production and this one is a no-brainer. You want this product.

https://www.nonzerosumgames.com/the-complete-armorers-handbook/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Armorer’s Handbook: Equipment Upgrade and Rune Magic System for 5E
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

101 Useful (ish) Magical Items 5e
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/05/2020 06:58:48

There are a few errors here and there, but at such a low price point you do get a reasonable product and can you ever really have enough magic items to consider? Fun and entertaining collection of magic items!

https://www.nonzerosumgames.com/101-useful-ish-magical-items-5e/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
101 Useful (ish) Magical Items 5e
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Enchanted
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2020 07:17:18

For what little bit is in The Enchanted, it is well-written and inspirational. One issue, perhaps the only issue, I have with it is that it’s incredibly brief. Give me more. Can we get some thematic reasons for why we may be running a low-magic campaign, for example? What are the repercussions of openly practicing magic? Is it a crime? Or is it that magic is unstable and has larger consequences?

Wood states in the supplement that there are plans to release more unique backgrounds through Grisly Eye Games (presumably via DMs Guild) which, to me, suggests that either this product is incomplete or that you'll need to buy extra supplements to have a fully-realized player options accessory.

https://www.nonzerosumgames.com/the-enchanted-by-r-g-wood/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Enchanted
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Last March of the Tyrant Wyrm
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2020 08:17:31

Aside from standing toe-to-toe with some of this adventure’s baddies (undead, a necromancer, a blue dragon, etc.) the real challenge here is in roleplaying the characters who will be caught in a complex web of motivations from all the many NPCs. Will they go the knight-in-shining-armor route and just outright defy anyone who stands in their way? (Bear in mind that keeping a red dragon concealed is no easy feat.) Or will they feel compelled to mislead, or ally with, evil to give their own plans a better chance? This is a great adventure that affords the players a lot of agency to dig deep into roleplaying their characters.

Read more: https://www.nonzerosumgames.com/last-march-of-the-tyrant-wyrm/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Last March of the Tyrant Wyrm
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

First Adventure - Prima Avventura
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/13/2020 07:32:20

All in all, First Adventure is a wonderful effort and is without a doubt, a good way to introduce kids to D&D. But experienced players may find themselves frustrated at the linear story wherein the intent is for them to lose encounters.

Read more: https://www.nonzerosumgames.com/first-adventure/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
First Adventure - Prima Avventura
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Secrets of Icespire: Notice Boards, Encounters, and Bounties for the Hinterlands
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2020 07:15:04

Christian Eichhorn's typical work is a masterful blend of content, form, and functionality. Secrets of Icespire is no different. It has bar-setting production and can be used whether you have played the Dragon of Icespire Peak or Lost Mine of Phandelver campaigns or not. Check it out!

Read more: https://www.nonzerosumgames.com/secrets-of-icespire/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Secrets of Icespire: Notice Boards, Encounters, and Bounties for the Hinterlands
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Fantastic Terrain
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/24/2020 07:10:04

Fantastic Terrain is incredibly useful and imaginative. We should all be so lucky to face these terrains in our adventures. Gilles Deleuze once wrote, “You never walk alone. Even the devil is the lord of flies.” I like to think of that as meaning that just because an enemy is unseen, it doesn’t mean it’s not there.

Read more: https://www.nonzerosumgames.com/fantastic-terrain-by-crit-academy-justin-handlin/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantastic Terrain
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks so much for the review Patrick. I will make sure to improve my layout technique. It has improved over time, but still has a long way to go.
Faiths of the Forgotten Realms 2
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2020 07:12:01

The professionalism of the book is great. Art is used effectively without taking center stage and navigation is a breeze with the bookmarks and table of contents. But it’s the book’s usefulness that pushes it towards being worth owning in physical form.

Ultimately, Faiths 2 is a wonderful guide for players and DMs alike to enrich their game. For those of you who involve yourselves in ongoing campaigns, it is almost a must-have.

Read more: https://www.nonzerosumgames.com/faiths-of-the-forgotten-realms-2-by-micah-watt-et-al/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Faiths of the Forgotten Realms 2
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Malady Chronicles
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2020 16:44:43

The Malady Chronicles works well as a collection of adventures which were inspired by previous Malady titles. Individual contributors' writing makes for a diverse, yet thematic, collection of work. But indiviual contributors' art and cartography prevent it from a completely cohesive product. That's not to say anyone's art is bad. Just that sometimes the styles are vastly different.

Read more: https://www.nonzerosumgames.com/the-malady-chronicles/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Malady Chronicles
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Mirrors of the Abyss
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/31/2019 08:12:38

Mirrors of the Abyss contains a lot of violence (as most adventures do) and sexual innuendo and content as well as a healthy dose of torture and sadism. And why shouldn’t it? Eshebala is chaotic evil. Not just in classification. But in her actions as they are presented. If you’re not comfortable playing out some of these scenarios but still want to give the adventure a try, you’ll need to do some additional prep work ahead of time. But I contend that you may weaken the experience if you nerf this adventure too much.

Read more: https://www.nonzerosumgames.com/mirrors-of-the-abyss-by-ryan-durney-and-christopher-rush/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mirrors of the Abyss
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks so much for the review here, and the full review! I can't tell you enough how satisfying it is to see other DMs "get it." I believe a trip to the Abyss would be totally unnerving--not something you could just stroll into and out of--and I think too many experiences liken other planes like the Abyss and the Hells to a video game stage. I really appreciate the time you too to look it over.
Mark of the Vestige (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2019 11:03:46

Mark of the Vestige is well-written and presented. The chosen font size is a little on the small side for my tastes however and it would have been nice to have bookmarks or a linked table of contents. The art is simplistic but it works. Nonetheless, this is a good product that would be a nice softcover to own.

Read more: https://www.nonzerosumgames.com/mark-of-the-vestige/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mark of the Vestige (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Bard College of Percussion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/25/2019 10:02:30

Chad has packed a lot into a relatively short product and at $3.95, it’s a steal. On a page-count basis, that price is about average. But the quality of the content is far above average. His writing is easy to read and the layout and production are elegant and incorporate actual photographs to great effect. I really enjoyed learning about percussion instrument I’d never heard of while simultaneously scratching my D&D itch.

Read more: https://www.nonzerosumgames.com/bard-college-of-percussion/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bard College of Percussion
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Patrick, thank you for spending time to review my product! This was definitely a labor of love for me. I really appreciate your kind words. By the way, I really like your site, and your review format!
To Hell and Back Again
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2019 09:11:14

If Pixar were to ever make a crossover film with Mad Max and the Heffalump I imagine it might look something like To Hell & Back Again by Donathin Frye and Kienna Shaw. Seriously, Lulu the Ollyphant looks like Bing Bong and Lumpy created an offspring. And I love it!

I particularly love the professional layout that isn't overdone, great writing with interesting characters, and consequential decisions you must face.

Read more: https://www.nonzerosumgames.com/to-hell-and-back-again-by-donathin-frye-and-kienna-shaw/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
To Hell and Back Again
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 85 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items