Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Fantastic Terrain $10.95
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
8 8
2 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
Fantastic Terrain
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Fantastic Terrain
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Seawood S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2020 20:29:26

Another wonderful supplement from the guys at Crit Academy. Of all their supplements that I've purchased, this is the one that I use the most as a DM looking to make my combat encounters have dynamic terrain. All of their supplements are great, but this one in particular shines as a book that really fills a gap in other sourcebooks. Having struggled to create dramatic combat scenarios in the past, this book provides wonderful inspiration that always helps me create memorable moments.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Haha, you're not the only one to find lot's of use out of this bad boy. It's bar none the one we use at out table the most too. Keep an eye out for number two soon. ;) Thank you for the... fantastic....review. (see what I did there?). Hehe.
Fantastic Terrain
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Steven P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/20/2020 14:52:16

I'm really glad I picked this book up. Terrain isn't my strong suit - it's easy to gloss over details in a fantasy world. But details are what really make a world come to life! It isn't just a "cave", it's a cave in which Ember Moss is growing. The Goblins living inside have cultivated it to use for their fires and traps, which means they've purposefully created a more damp environment to live in. Suddenly that cave has so much more personality than just another Goblin hole. The most valuable thing about this book is that it's helped me think of these things on my own to incorporate into my games. My homebrew world is more alive thanks to Fantastic Terrain!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantastic Terrain
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/24/2020 07:10:04

Fantastic Terrain is incredibly useful and imaginative. We should all be so lucky to face these terrains in our adventures. Gilles Deleuze once wrote, “You never walk alone. Even the devil is the lord of flies.” I like to think of that as meaning that just because an enemy is unseen, it doesn’t mean it’s not there.

Read more: https://www.nonzerosumgames.com/fantastic-terrain-by-crit-academy-justin-handlin/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks so much for the review Patrick. I will make sure to improve my layout technique. It has improved over time, but still has a long way to go.
Fantastic Terrain
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Crypto M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/20/2020 09:42:09

After careful reading I can only tell everyone that this book is spectacular and a must have! It is fun to be read and allows you to create ingenious and wonderfull situations for all players, whether GM or PC. I strongly recommend this supplement to all those who want to bring more smiles and unforgettable sessions to your table!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantastic Terrain
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/06/2020 12:27:14

This is truly a ‘must have’ for any DM. I don’t drop that lightly on any product. This is the second game changing item I have received in the past month, and this is a game changer without a doubt. The addition of fantastic terrain to your game can not be easier. Justin & Co. have done a superb job of presenting something we didn’t know we NEEDED in our games and giving us easy ways to incorporate it.

Not only does this supplement present new challenges and boons to your party, but we are given just enough lore to create a game session for these magically infused pieces of real estate. As I read through this, I came up with at least (3) different sessions I want to run for my group, based off the lore of the terrain. Some of the penalties are so beautifully subtle that newer players will not understand just how bad it is to lose hit dice…until it is too late!

This supplement is a great addition to any game, but perhaps even more for a homebrew game as these are amazing locations to add to a growing world – locations that will have your party wanting to explore more, and perhaps being a bit hesitant to blunder wildly ahead after encountering one of the detrimental locales.

If you happen to have Unearthed Tips and Tricks: Vol I you have a great companion piece to Fantastic Terrain, as there are many synergistic ways to tie the various tips and ideas in UTT to FT.

Do yourself a favor and grab this; or perhaps make it a gift for your favorite DM – you’ll reap the rewards of an enhanced game with a tool like this in your DM’s hands!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantastic Terrain
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Benjamin W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/27/2019 23:46:04

This guide is practical and flexible. It has already saved me a chunk of preparation time. The terrain has great flavor and fun mechanics that can fit many situations and environments. Plus, having unique, interactive environments with backstories adds so much to a roleplaying game. After you get this, check out Challenge Accepted (https://www.dmsguild.com/product/284590/Challenge-Accepted), another very useful product from the same guys.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantastic Terrain
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Early T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/22/2019 12:40:59

very cool product that adds extra entertainment to any adventure. highly recommended! many choices to add to your DM tool chest!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for the review.
Fantastic Terrain
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jason P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2019 10:21:18

Crit Academy delivers another fantastic resource for DMs. If you are looking to spice up your enviorments for your adventures then I highly recommend this title!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items