Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Book of Races: Pech
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/25/2020 16:40:36

The Pech are terrifying little blighters with a damaged and dangerous history - slaves to Entemoch and Ogremoch the archomentals, then slaves to the dao of the Elemental Plane of Earth, before being pulled back into the clutches of the twin primordials. This race is honestly super fascinating to me as it offers folks and alternative to dwarves or svirfneblin (deep gnomes) and gives a ton of interesting material to play with backstory-wise. That, combined with some awesome new racial abilities such as One with the Stone and Stone Coloration make the pech a definite pick of mine in the future. They are a very versatile race, meaning that you could honeslty play them with almost any class and it would work sense thematically and mechanically. The idea of a pech barbarian makes me very happy. Overall, an excellent addition to the Book of Races series. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Races: Pech
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Expedition to Wyvern Tor
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/25/2020 14:17:31

Another excellent little adventure from Daniele, Expedition to Wyvern Tor can easily be plopped into the Starter Kit adventure once the characters complete that narrative. At 12 pages for levels 3 to 5, this is a simple and easy adventure to run, especially if you even wanted to start your first time players at 3 - which, let's be honest, is where the REAL fun begins. It's got dungeon crawling, intrigue, pulpy action, and is well laid out - something that can kill a quest, especially for one that is for lower levels. This is a great adventure that you can snag and pull together in an hour or so if folks are looking to get started. My only issue would be that I think some of the formatting might be a little funky and there are points where the text is skewed. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 17



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Expedition to Wyvern Tor
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Psionics: A Supplement for 5E
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/25/2020 14:08:03

I first met the good ol psion in 4e when I started delving into the PHB 3 many many moons ago, and I can always rememebr liking the concept a lot. And especially with so many Dark Sun hints being dropped and not coming to fruition, along with the UA psionics - which really should just replace mystics but that is another fight for another time - what we have here is a perfect example of the old addage "Just gotta do it myself." Bardic has put so much effort into rekindling that spicy psionics fire that we all knew we still needed at our tables with his well-laid out, well developed, and mechanically sound document. Overall, I would totally allow this at my table, but my major concern is that it just feels like it is lacking visually. I want more color, more art, especially original art to pull in that alient Surrealist feel of psionics. But like I said, Bardic did a great job making something that was often seen as inaccessible available and easy to use. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 15



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Psionics: A Supplement for 5E
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Wisdom Under Fire: An Australian Charity Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/25/2020 13:53:52

This is an adventure that immediatly rings true with so many good things right off the bat. A), it is for a good cause, as the money all goes to help the recovery process for the Australia wildfire victims, lands, and animals. B), it is a beautifully subtle way to introduce your children to concepts like relief, foreign aid, and cute little wombat people. And C), this shows just how much can be achieved if you have an amazingly talented ensemble to bring this product to life. Wisdom Under Fire is serious, witty, somber, eye-opening, and a mechanical marvel. With fantastic art, eye-popping layout, and an attention to detail that makes this product worth every single charitable purchase. Want to do your part to aid the Australian people and make sure that more wombats don't get burned to death? Then you need to get this book that I am proud to award the Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wisdom Under Fire: An Australian Charity Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Book of Races: Ice Elves
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/25/2020 13:40:15

Having grown up in northern New Hampshire, I know just how much the cold can change someone, how the winter and frost can almost become this existential enemy against you. What Kim has done with Book of Races: Ice Elves is take that and personified it in these cold immortals. Isolationist and nomads within the tundras and arctic regions of the worlds, the ice elves are remnants of the long bygone war between elvenkind, and they are an example of pure adaptation. You don't get a lot mechanically - mostly some weapon proficiencies, an immunity to cold but vulnerability to fire, and some other small pieces - which is where I think this really lacks as a race. I like the lore and I like the concept, but mechanically there is nothing really immensely interesting about this subrace. I think perhaps weaving in some ice magic abilities would be nifty for future updates, but I can't say this pulls me in as a player option. If you are a player that is looking to start off slow with a subrace that doesn't blow your table to smithereens and your DM is chill with it, then this is a good option. Overall, I think it is half way there, but Book of Races: Ice Elf just seems to be lacking. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 10



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Races: Ice Elves
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Temple of the Opal Goddess
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2020 08:46:13

Either as the first in the series that The Price of a Soul continues, or as its own solo adventure, Temple of the Opal Goddess is an example of Micah's excellent work. This quest seeths with classic pulp action and drama, dungeon crawls (which I am rarely a fan of but when done well I love it), intrigue and complex plots. This feels like it was ripped from older editions and refreshed with a spicy new paint job and updated mechanics, and I LIVE FOR IT! Plus, there are so many different ways to play this adventure - full stealth, full tank, mix and match; your party comp is going to change exactly how the game goes in subtle ways, and it is awesome. Overall, highly recommend this one shot for anyone looking for a fun night! Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Temple of the Opal Goddess
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Adventure Sidekicks: Tyranny of Dragons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2020 08:34:23

The Adventure Sidekicks series is already a must-have for everyone - this unfortunately is the first one in the series I have been able to review, but I have seen them in action and know they are steals. Coupled with Rose's fantastic art - having worked with her in the past, highly recommend - Adventure Sidekicks: Tyranny of Dragons is perfect for your dive into the world of the first hardcover quest book that 5th Edition had. Plus, I love the Sidekick mechanics - with my girlfriend's brother using them in our Curse of Strahd game. You get a bunch of new NPCs, along with their sidekick mechanics, and it is just a good time all together. Cannot recommend this book enough. Altogether you get so much in one little book, and it is worth it 100%. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventure Sidekicks: Tyranny of Dragons
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Price of a Soul
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2020 08:26:37

Micah always puts a great deal of focus into his work, and with this adventure that is still the case. A sorrowful and romantic tale that tickles all the violin strings of my bleeding heart but also stokes the METAL RIFFS OF MY SOOUUULLL - ahem, excuse me - The Price of a Soul is a fantastic one off, sequel, or insert into Descent into Avernus. One of my biggest beefs with Descent into Avernus is that it simply does not have enough roleplay in a badass setting with a badass concept. Well, if you are like me, than this here quest will solve that need for story in your Apocalypse Mad Max game. With beautiful layout, fantastic art, and a wonderful story all fit into 42 pages, The Price of a Soul takes you on a unique and exciting journey across the Nine Hells and across morality, romance, and more. Overall, any DM worth their dice should grab this adventure now. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Price of a Soul
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

101 Useful (ish) Magical Items 5e
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2020 08:06:18

The title says it all, with emphasis on the ISH. I don't know about you, but I am always down for joke magic items that have minor to nonexistant functionality. Sometimes I don't want an all powerful ring of blasting, but how bout the Armor of the Beggar Warrior +1, where you are literally covering in rotting rags that radiate an aura so that folks do not notice you or see you as a threat. absolutely hilarious if you ask me, and I want it for my barbarian. There are many gems like that scattered through this book, and it doesn't take itself too seriously - so I highly recommend you snag a copy of this bad buddy and add to your DM library for your players. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
101 Useful (ish) Magical Items 5e
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for this. It really does mean a lot to get this kind of review.
Adventurer’s Guide to Fey Magic
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2020 07:42:00

What we have here gang is a book I have been wanting for a while - a guide solely devoted to the mysteries of fey magic. I grew up on faery stories and old Irish and Scottish tales of the like of Tam Lin and the Selkies and others. While in traditional D&D circles, fey magic equals elf magic, rarely is it ever delved into with the love and care that David does in this book. It honestly reminds me of the copy of Heroes of the Feywild from 4e that really walked about that plane and pulled from the Gaelic and Celtic roots it was steeped in. With a whole catalogue of amazing new mechanics for fey magic, this book is a must-have for any player or DM who wants to accentuate their game and make their fey magic feel more...well...fey. And it is for that ability to bring me back to the beginning years of my roleplay journey that I am pleased to award this book the Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurer’s Guide to Fey Magic
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

First Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2020 07:37:38

I shall make this brief, since I don't want to hinder you from buying this adventure and playing it IMMEDIATLY. Combined with Peter Pan, The Goonies, and Stand By Me, this adventure feels like an homage to every pre-teen drama adventure movie rolled into one and then dunked in a steaming vat of D&D to top it all off. Simply laid out, lovingly designed, and true to the core of what makes roleplaying games special, this is a fantastic adventure that brings back fond memories of quests of yesterday. Overall, a great little one shot for any beginning or veteran DM to bring to the table and run. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
First Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Hoard of Symbiotes (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2020 07:31:53

Let me just say how much I love this book and I applaud ERF for the work done in this masterpiece. With the return to Eberron, the daelkyr were more than like to make a blow-up of content on the Guild since they are just so frigging wierd. And let me tell you, ERF does it better than others I have seen. She respects the creepiness, alienness, and sheer spoop of the symbiotes of the daelkyr. But she also brings forth so many awesome mechanics with these items - honestly, it is hard to pick out favorites. Although the Boneshard Slinger is probably my top one for now - I am sure I will come to enjoy others. My only critcism would be that I want to see the items more, so some art of each would really bring it to life more I think. Otherwise, a great addition to anyone's collection for an Eberron game. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 16



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hoard of Symbiotes (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Book of Races: Mirtana
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2020 07:22:12

So first off: they big, they remind me of Korg, they smash, they brash, they ultimate weapons. The Mirtana pulls from so much awesome traditional mythology to bring you a powerful all-female race that doesn't feel derogatory or built on male sub fantasties. They are just big scaly ladies who have a kickass mountain warrior culture who want to die honorably and have a good time through life. Kim has done a great job making something that could be seen as pasce, and turned it into a really kickass addition to anyone's racial catalogue. And the Mirtana get some awesome racial abilities - such as one where if you are fighting with at least three opponents or more, you can use your bonus action to make an extra melee attack. Or that when they die they crumble to dust and leave behind a literal frigging soul stone. Overall, the Mirtana are more than welcome at my table, and I tip my hat to all the women warriors that the Mirtana stand for. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Races: Mirtana
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Book of Races: Devurin
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2020 07:17:14

You want to talk about ultimate infiltration - then look no further than Kim's new race book here. Book of Races: Devurin - another of Kim's entry in his absolutely mad-lad rush to make 53 race books - brings to you a spoopy new race infected with illithid tadpoles to become the ultimate brain-juicing chameleon machine. On top of just being a cool concept, the Devurin are really well balanced in that they feel a tad bit underpowered but it is all in the flavor that they jump out at you. Honestly, I would gladly welcome a player with this race at my table, as I think it is super interesting. And let's be truthful, mindflayers don't quite get as much attention as they should sometimes. But anywhose, I really recommend anyone who is looking for someting with a pinch of subtely and really wants to go for a cloak-and-daggers style game should snag this book while you can. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Races: Devurin
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Book of Races: Yuan-ti Halfblood
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2020 09:42:48

Another entry in Kim's fantasic series, Book of Races: Yuan-ti Halfblood breathes new life into a race that is about three inches long in Volo's. Kim really plays to their strange and alien nature, their middling status role in yuan-ti heirarchy. But what I especially love is the new addition of the snake table, where their true nature comes out. You could have a snake head, arms that turn into snakes, a snake tail, or scales instead of skin. This really makes you all the more strange and terrifying to others, and builds on the mystique of the Yuan-ti. Would have liked some more art perhaps showing how the various types of mutations could look, but otherwise, a simple and stellar addition for anyone looking to make a scaly snake hooman. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 18



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Races: Yuan-ti Halfblood
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 161 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items