Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Eberronicon: A Pocket Guide to the World $12.99
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
5 22
0 0
1 0
0 0
0 0
Eberronicon: A Pocket Guide to the World
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Eberronicon: A Pocket Guide to the World
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/17/2020 15:06:59

Check out my review here! (I'm the Allthingslich guy). https://youtu.be/YZD8PYcMiO4



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eberronicon: A Pocket Guide to the World
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lauri K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/03/2020 13:15:51

I had high expectations for this, but I was very pleasantly very surprised by the high quality and especially approachability of this Pocket Guide. Having read through a bunch of the sources mentioned in this book and listened to the podcast beforehand - what's written here really does draw out the main points.

But lets be specific:

  • the content is on the same level. It does not go super deep into one area while just skimming another - the authors have managed to pay a very similar kind of attention to most everything described.
  • the sources are all well utilized. It shows that the authors know their stuff inimitely instead of basing this on one or two sources and adding results of internet searches on top of it.
  • it is structured very well as opposed to most of the official material. After a skimming or read-through you'll be able to pinpoint the exact page with one glance at the index.

In conclusion - even though I have read a lot and am on the Discord server on a daily basis - this book is very helpful and I'm glad I bought it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eberronicon: A Pocket Guide to the World
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2020 08:13:29

This was my first foray into Eberron and this made it easy and digestable! Looking forward to devouring as much as I can branching out from this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eberronicon: A Pocket Guide to the World
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by John P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/29/2020 17:18:03

Extremely useful to introduce a new group to the world! Enough detail to get a feel for each faction, nation, and faith without being overwhelming. Also each section is the perfect lengrh for a quick reference at the table or when writing the next bit of your campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eberronicon: A Pocket Guide to the World
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Wil T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2020 22:54:42

If you're wondering if Eberronicon is useful, yes. Purchase it before you buy any other material if you're new to the setting, and purchase it if you have all of the other material and want a concise way to navigate it.

My experience before using this product: I developed an interest in Eberron about a year ago. Since then I've tried to absorb all of the material I could find. That means all of the source books and adventures from two editions, archived Dragonshard articles, KB's articles on his website, the Manifest Zone podcast, some ok YouTube videos, and even the few 'ok" comics that were put out.

I started DM'ing two 5E Eberron games once I felt like I had a basic grasp of the setting. My players were new to Eberron and needed/wanted a more comprehensive introduction so they could understand the differences between in other settings where the world was less of a character and more scenery. So I spent time preparing to answer possible questions, or coming back during later sessions to explain things, or looking things up we all wanted to know at the time. Not impossible with a folder full of searchable PDF's, but a long enough side bar to detract from the session.

Eberronicon has served me in two ways. If my players have a question about a specific person, place or thing, I can read them a succint entry that it would have taken me much more time to cross reference. And when I'm researching for the game etc., I utilize it's true power. It functions as an Index in that it provides footnotes and links to the source books and articles from which the entries were derived. If I want to find anything, it is the first document I open.

It is well organized, comprehensive, and regularly updated with error corrections. Worth every penny at full price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eberronicon: A Pocket Guide to the World
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2020 12:21:36

Great Reader's Digest for Eberron! Covers all the major points for both players and GM's



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eberronicon: A Pocket Guide to the World
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by William R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/23/2019 13:48:51

Just finished Ebberonicon and it is such a great resource book. A lot of the info I already knew, but I’m an Eberronphile so that wasn’t a surprise. But I do see it’s value as a quick resource for new players and for when my old age is taken my memory; so it’ll be perfect for a quick glance. The chapters were set up great and this will be used by every player at my game when creating characters now. 4.5/5 ⭐️s. All that I think was missing was maps maps maps. Lol I mean, there’s a world map on the cover but I think a map appendix would make this indispensable. All in all, loved it and glad I finally got my hands on it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eberronicon: A Pocket Guide to the World
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/17/2019 19:34:44

Eberronicon: A Pocket Guide to the World is exactly what it claims to be: a concise yet comprehensive guide to the noir and pulp action world that many people (myself included) are meeting for the first time in D&D 5e. After reading the first few pages, I already have a better understanding of this thrilling setting, and as someone who typically prefers a low-mid magic medieval-fantasy atmosphere, this guide is inspiring ways I can bring Eberron to my table! For DMs, players, and lore-loving fans of D&D, the Eberronicon is the perfect balance of background information and teaser material, wrapped into a well-written, beautifully formatted package.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eberronicon: A Pocket Guide to the World
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/17/2019 16:16:22

This review begins with a story - the scene opens with a young 13 year old who had just spent the whole day at school being bullied ruthlessly for his weight and his hobbies, how he looked, and how vocal he was about what he thought. He had finally gotten home and finished his chores, and was sitting in his room crying. But then, he remembered something - he had gotten a new D&D book on interlibrary loan that weekend and hadn't dived into it yet. So he walked over to his desk and picked it up - a beautiful but scrappy looking woman with blonde hair and goggles on her head standing in front of a titantic sword wielding robot dressed in armor looking up at him from the cover. He opened it, and never looked back.

Eberron is what kept me sane through middle and high school. Eberron was the world I could go to whenever I was feeling suicidal, depressed, isolated, or alone. Eberron was mine, and no one could take that from me, not even my bullies. Eberron was my home, and the reason that D&D became such a core part of my life. It kept me alive, literally and figuratively. What the Across Eberron team has done in this book is transport me back to those days as a sullen and abused teen when I could have some moment of light in my life: from reading of the Last War, to the Mourning, to the wonders of Sharn, and the majesty of the warforged.

This book brings me back to my fever-dream pace to try and find all the Eberron books I could so I could read them and absorb them and learn more about the world I love so much. This book deserves a hardcover, and I would more than gladly set it right next to all of my 3.5 Eberron hardcovers I have begun to collect. It is made with a care to detail, a passion for the writing, and a steady layout that makes it more professional than 90% of what Wizards pumps out each year. And it is because of all that that it earns the Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eberronicon: A Pocket Guide to the World
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marco M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/15/2019 13:26:50

Fantastic supplement for anyone that wants to explore the world of Eberron. Even if you have the hardcover there is a TON of stuff in here you can use, and it's incredibly well written and presented! Will be using it :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eberronicon: A Pocket Guide to the World
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Andres O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/15/2019 12:06:09

I am thoroughly in love with the Eberron setting, and consider myself well-versed in the lore of the setting. Still, this product absolutely blew me away. The amount of work that went into it is incredible. The information is perfect for players, especially ones new to the setting. But! It also serves to make the lives of DMs much easier by having easy access to summaries of the information they need, with links to sources with more in-depth content. And that's where the Eberronicon shines most. As a repository of all previous sources that include any kind of Eberron information. The bibliography at the back of this book is OUTSTANDING. It compiles everything from the previous editions' Eberron books, to dozens of articles in Dragon Magazine and Dungeon Magazine (no mean feat with the hundreds of issues that exist!), as well as novels and online sources. Just breathtaking. If you have any interest at all in Eberron, this product is a MUST-HAVE.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eberronicon: A Pocket Guide to the World
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/15/2019 10:31:41

I am amazed at the quality of this product. Eberronicon is well organized, and well written. The back links to sources is an absolutely awesome addition. This delivers on the new player experience perfectly. But don't let that fool ya, there is plenty here for even the most seasoned Eberron adventurer! Kudos to the team. Highly recommend. It's a must have for any DM's tool box. Content is easily tossed into a homebrew if you want to an a bit of deviation from the more traditional race feels of forgotten realms. A must have!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eberronicon: A Pocket Guide to the World
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kevin K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/13/2019 16:57:44

This is an amazing product for those looking to get into Eberron and even experienced GMs who know the lore. It contains all of the lore you know (or want to know!) about Eberron, but in a fantastically edited, slim format - but omits as little as possible, and even gives great references to read more in-depth. You can definitely see the passion shining through in this product and the editing and writing is tight, dense, but (IMO most importantly) still manages to be extremely readable.

To be clear - the Eberronicon is great for new players looking up more Eberron information for their campaigns or characters, DMs and creators looking for a quick-reference for Eberron material, and even people well acquainted with the lore - this is the most comprehensive collection of Eberron lore out there, and its appendices are jam-packed with references and recommendations for additional Eberron material.

Highly recommend checking this one out, and the authors have even included the extremely broad preview - a testament to their passion to the setting. This is really a supplement that's meant to encourage people to run and love the setting that the creators themselves enjoy so much, and it does a great job of showing that enthusiasm throughout.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eberronicon: A Pocket Guide to the World
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tom C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/13/2019 08:27:39

Fantastic book, and an excellent resource for both experienced Eberron sages and newly introduced pupils!

The Across Eberron folks obviously know and love Eberron, and their efforts on this book make that clear. So many good things geared toward the "new" folks coming into the setting, and a superb resource at the end of the book for the experienced folks for all the fluff and wonder from the halcyon 3.5e era of the setting (and some stuff from 4e as well).

Get it. It's a steal at the price, and when KB releases "Exploring Eberron," the AE folks will update the doc, and I assume keep it updated as "canon" changes (although canon be damned, in my opinion -- it's YOUR Eberron, run it as you will!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eberronicon: A Pocket Guide to the World
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Colin M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/12/2019 08:26:50

As a relative newbie to the world of Eberron having only been introduced to it a couple of years ago, I've struggled to get caught up with the existing lore. Looking backward at the gigantic back-catalog of sourcebooks, blog posts, and magazine articles, it's hard to know what to read. Not to mention if I'm trying to look up something specific, it can be almost impossible to figure it out. Now, it's easy. Eberronicon is the definitive place to start for all fans of the setting, both new and old. Even if you're not interested in looking back at the old supplements, Eberronicon is still essential as an easy reference for all parts of the world. Buy this book, you won't regret it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 22 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items