Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
How The Lich Stole Christmas $3.95
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
13 12
3 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
How The Lich Stole Christmas
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
How The Lich Stole Christmas
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Benjamin K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/24/2021 20:54:35

My friends and I had a great time playing this for the holidays this past year. They had decided before I explained the premise to play an all kobold party, so we made the villagers kobolds, and the lich and his minions gnomes. Was a blast!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
How The Lich Stole Christmas
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matthew H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2021 08:29:39

This little oneshot is so much fun! TLDR: Great story Great build up Fantastic resources Give me some token assets please

Ran it for my players this christmas when the normal dm didn't feel up to running the weekly session, threw together some assets and resources in the morning of the game, ran for about 3.5 hours in total with a 14th level party. they all loved it. Failed miserably to complete the quest but in a hilarious fashion that was entirely their own fault :D (reversed gravity and a 6th level fireball in a room full of kids is a bad idea turns out) Was incentivised to write a review when I ran it for a second time with different players at 8th level and the game worked just as well (and they actually rescued the kids this time :P ) The encounters are really well level adjusted and if you're players are struggling/annihilating they're really easy to adjust by just dropping one or two of the higher/lower level enemies on. they've all got stats and abilities that make sense with the theme.

My one criticism is that there's some wonderful artwork in the game but very little of it is in the form of usable assets, most of my prep work consisted of turning the really nice art into tokens and other resources I could use. Not a problem if you're very "theater of the mind" but our group likes to be very visual in combat situations.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
How The Lich Stole Christmas
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Henry G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/28/2020 13:10:03

This was great - I'm a new DM running what was more or less my first adventure. This provided a lot of recognizable content and thematic elements that were easy to riff with. Overall we played for about 4 hours and the players were giggling throughout.

I had to encourage my characters to make some extra rolls, just to expose them to some of the underlying fluff. In addition, I had to make the christmas tree map substantially bigger to account for the size of the awakened tree - which was pretty tough for lvl 2 characters, but there were enough of them to take it down.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
How The Lich Stole Christmas
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/28/2020 01:26:48

I ran this as a holiday one-off "dream sequence" for the party, and had them retain the magic items after awakening due to some Hoovale Christmas miracle. They enjoyed the content all the way through! Warning if you're getting this: don't think there's one "scene" in here because it provides one map. If you don't want to do theatre of the mind for most of it, be prepared to have: Hoovale, a steep snowy path, and the cave (the map provided).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
How The Lich Stole Christmas
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Anthony B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/12/2020 11:27:49

I ran this with some new players over the weekend and we all enjoyed it a lot! I was a little confused when we got the final battle because I had not done all of my homework to look up stats for the awakened tree, but we managed to get it figured out. The players enjoyed the surprise with the "lich" at the end as well. And when the player decided to try out the snow globe when he got back to his room in the inn... tons of fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
How The Lich Stole Christmas
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tiffany L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/06/2020 18:41:38

I ran this as a first-time intro to DnD over Christmas and it was tons of fun. My players weren't super satisfied with the unanswered questions around what the kids were building, why they were kidnapped etc. so I made up some extra lore. Otherwise I had everything I needed, loved the rhyming descriptions, and the Christmas theming is fun without being cheesy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
How The Lich Stole Christmas
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Nathan F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/26/2019 21:12:20

Greta Job! I have run it twice, 4 hours both times, level 10 and 13. Three combat encounters, including boss battle.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
How The Lich Stole Christmas
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bryce S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2019 21:21:16

Ran through this for a quick one shot of our group. The players loved it and laughed at the reveal near the end. Solid Adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
How The Lich Stole Christmas
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mark E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2019 23:07:32

Such a cute story. I read through it and loved every second of it. I can't wait to play this with my group.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
How The Lich Stole Christmas
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Allison S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2019 21:39:39

I love this adventure! It's great fun to run, and my players had an excellent time! The theme is both hilarious and familiar enough to be quite engaging for players who haven't experienced D&D before.

For my first session with this adventure, I had to make some modifications to make it fit in a 2 hour time period. It worked great! To run in two hours, I skipped most of chapter 2 and simplified a few things in the final chapter.

I also had a fantastic time translating the map onto 1-inch grids, adding decorations, and incorporating paper minis into my session! :) If i could give this 6 stars, I would!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
How The Lich Stole Christmas
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Benjamin R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/14/2019 20:00:49

My group ran this last week and it was a BLAST!!! The entire party trying to rhyme all night long was by far the best part. The entire adventure was fun from start to finish. Hope theres some more holiday themed modules coming down the pipe soon!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
How The Lich Stole Christmas
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Rosemary C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/14/2019 18:20:04

This was amazingly fun to run and I would recommend it for anyone looking for a silly Christmas themed session to run. I really appreciated the level scaling and the amount of thought put into making it adaptable for any group, and the rhyming sections were delightful to read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items