Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
EB-01 The Night Land $4.99 $4.49
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
24 11
5 1
0 1
0 0
0 0
EB-01 The Night Land
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
EB-01 The Night Land
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Meagan W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2020 17:34:57

A great intro into Eberron and the Oracle of War. Loved the Depot encounter! My only gripe is that some of the things that are brifely touched upon about the lore of Eberron aren't readily spelled out and were not the easiest things to find in the book. (p. 14 bottom paragraph in the left-hand column) My players asked me about details, fortuantely, they failed all their religion rolls so I didn't have to explain. Great adventure! Highly recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EB-01 The Night Land
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Herb R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/05/2020 13:25:37

Running this online non-AL. Very good intro to the Mournland. The scenarios are well-conceived and gets the party hooked into the environment without railroading, as many openings to campaigns do. Some limited info for running social encounters, but I don't mind that as I prepare those in every adventure I run. Only real gripe is the map of Salvation is lame, but I purchased the battle maps which are very nice for online play. Looking forward to the rest of the campaign!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EB-01 The Night Land
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Edward K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2020 15:34:45

Ring Side Report-RPG Review of Oracle of War- The Night Land

Originally posted at www.throatpunchgames.com, a new idea every day!

Product- EB-01 The Night Land System-DnD 5e Producer- DMs Guild Price- $4.99 here https://www.dmsguild.com/product/296403/EB01-The-Night-Land?affiliate_id=658618 TL; DR- Standard start to something great. 93%

Basics- Eberron? In MY 5e? OH YES! Let’s hope in and look at the new TWENTY adventure long story for Eberron The Oracle of War Storyline called The Night Land. You start by rolling into the town of Salvation on the Mournland border, and like all poor hungry souls, it's time to find a job! What’s the job board got today?

Mechanics or Crunch- This adventure is pretty balanced for crunch. It is the same formula you’ve grown to love or maybe be annoyed with in this first adventure by Shawn. Three small quests with some time between to rest up. The party does some crazy stuff, rests, repeat. The players learn how to be their characters, get a bit of a challenge, and then 4.5/5 Theme or Fluff- Standard well done 1st level adventure! Shawn does 1st level adventure well. Small packages to not kill the party day one. It has a bit of Eberron feel, but like most things, it will require the DM to amp up the world feel. You do hang with some goblins, changelenings, and some horrors of the mournlands, so you get a good intro of the horrible things that want to eat you! You can get a bit bored as your party might recognize a formula when they start. But its level one! You’re off to run errands and kill low level monsters, not take on the Lord of Blades day one! 4.5/5

Execution- PDF? Yep! Hyperlinked? No, but it doesn’t really matter (I’d still like it though). This product has THREE PDFs. One is the adventure in glorious color with lots of pictures that you run through the home printer. The second is a slimmed down blacka nd white no frills product that you run through the home printer. Third is a newspaper to throw the players! That's some awesome world world building! In addition, the adventure organizers have FULL PAGE sheets the players get after the adventure. The things they check off let them know some serious crap is up. Heck, I as a GM who isn’t fully aware of the campaign knows some crap is up, so I’m buying in too. I also like the authors' use of the DMs Guild to full effect by putting lots of pictures in. These are pictures I’ve seen before, but it's a nice touch to the other pictures that they throw in. I like the art deco style of everything. It honestly makes me feel more like we are between wars and I know something bad is coming…. 4.9/5

Summary-I like Eberron, and The Wife LOVES Eberron. This adventure brought her back to 5e and weekly gaming at the store. That's the sales pitch that I can give. Now, is it perfect? No. It’s 1st level fare. Small tapas portions of adventures as your cleric might be able to roll out two cure wounds and a real bad round of two crits can completely wreck a party. Is that a problem? No. This is fun. I’ll equate this to my favorite above average hibachi restaurant. I know exactly what the chef is going to do there, but guess what? I’m going to show up and be happy I went! 93%



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EB-01 The Night Land
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bruce W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2020 21:19:00

We had a heck of a time playing it. A GREAT introduction to Salvation and the NPCs. Lots of fun RP setting the groundwork for the whole campaign. We blew up the map to 3x2 sheets and tapped it together so the players can all see the town map very easily.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EB-01 The Night Land
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jarrod N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2020 08:00:07

This is an excellent introduction to a setting and campaign that grabbed my interest so quickly that I bought Rising from the Last War, began to do an Eberron deep dive of my own, and now plan to run the entirety of Oracle of War as it's released.

Truthfully, I think it's the little details in the way this and the other released adventures are structured ("Legacy Events" that provide meaningful in-character feedback to player choices; in-game newspapers that connect characters to the world) that makes it so brilliant, and while I know some experienced DMs could create things like that on their own with any other campaign, I wish all 5E releases would incorporate the quality of writing and design elements that Shawn has done here (the brief list of personality quirks and quotes for newly introduced NPCs is a super-helpful touch for DMs as well).

In short, a fantastic introductory adventure that hits on all three "pillars" of D&D design (roleplay, exploration, and combat), introduces players and DMs to a novel and intriguing setting, and makes me genuinely excited for the rest of the campaign to come. Please keep these coming!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EB-01 The Night Land
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Gary S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/03/2020 02:52:18

Excellent content in a well laid out plan. High quality production value with everything needed to run an on-rails adventure with plenty of room for manouveing



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EB-01 The Night Land
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matthew P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2020 06:25:17

THe Night Land is a collection of 3 shorter adventures (althought short in this case is slightly misleading) . Each adventure bar one makes use of the Mournlands but If Im honest, I dont think they needed to do so.. at least not yet.

I have run this collection of scenarios twice.

Firstly there is good use of locations within salvation. Both the Chapel of the Silver Flames and the Salvage Market are interesting locations. A visualised a frontier chapel .. but that was not exactly what we got. I think I would of preferred a little more preaching on behalf the of the cleric there (who is essentially the quest provider). My hope is that the first scenario gives a lot of lore exposition. Something that i think the scenario could of done more in, without me needing to explain who the silver Flame were using my own knowledge).

THe quest involving the Chapel is essentially involving a Changeling (a race unique to Eberron) who masqueraded as a priest at the chapel to steal a recently received holy item. This leads to a trip to see 2 salvage on sellers, who do a good job of deceiving the party until they dont and the characters find out they need to travel inside the Mournlands to a location where the changeling and friends are.

Only to discover they are now part of a strange totemic creature and Dolgrim are present. I would of loved some more inn game information on each of these concepts to give to players as I dont think enough was given. Perhaps the Dolgrim could of gotten the characters to recite some dark religous speech in an attempt to get the salvage team freed (who may or may not be dead by this point). The grisly collection of the salvage team are turned into a Scorpion like creature which has the religous item buried within it. After that its back to either take the people home or just the item.

Another quest is that of a Goblin trader who has lost a scavenger (and I honestly had the hardest time believing that ANYONE would go into the Mournlands alone.. even just a little way in). Visually I enjoyed this one the most because while it was another short trip into the Mournlands , the 2 combat encounters were interesting. a Creature formed from some strange crystal lattice and the set piece .. a 'body' on the tracks in front of a speeding Ghost Train. Sadly I couldnt do the image in my head justice on the map. THe scavenger has been turned to stone by some Cockatrices (which only lasts 24 hours). But is no a stone body on the tracks defended by an Iron/Steel Defender. This means we get our first introduction to the artificer class which I think was great. It was a perfect combination of putting a Goblin in the game as a sympathetic character with the new class that half my table was playing.

The last encounter was a jaunt to see a caretaker of a salvage yard who worked for a more powerful.. identity in town. A Great Warforged Colossus sad on the ground in disrepair ( A visual here would of been great) and the Caretaker had found a tunel lead under the great felled metal warforged. This is where we had the introduction of the Order of the Emerald Claw.. a Antagonist organisation which came from one of the nation states of Khorvaire. In turned out that the Emerald Claw were using a secret space under the salvage yard to conduct experiments on bodies (and not just any bodies.. often their own volunteers). An 'evil' doctor was all the exposition on offer here but in the end could be broken and inform the party that the lady owning the salvage yard was a bad bad bad lady.

We get the 'Sheriff' of town turn up out of the Blue to investigate and eventually its off to the local inn to confront the person.. who as I was expecting was too well defended to actually do anything about . But it felt straight out of a western , Hero attempts to arrest the powerful baron and just cannot.

In all, I would of preferred some more social interaction with some of these mini scenarios. The Ghost train was my favorite and I used a lot of my own knowledge of Eberron to flesh things out.

I would recommend this scenario , but be aware it can run long.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
EB-01 The Night Land
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/08/2020 23:57:04

A well put to gether 4 hour module. I like the "legacy" aspect of the eberron oracle of war adventurer's league season. The NPCs are well described, and the setting is evocative and approachable. The frontier town where the game is set is approachable and probably a better location to introduce a whole new campaign setting to many than a big city like Sharn. I'm looking forward to running this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EB-01 The Night Land
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/03/2020 12:02:24

This is a really cool module to start off the Oracle of War story arc! My only 2 complaints are that it is usually longer than a 4 hour module unless you remove encounters and that I think the encounters are WAAYYYY too challenging for a bunch of level 1 characters. The modules says it is balanced for level 1's but I believe it to be actually balanced to a party of level 3's. Otherwise, the flavor is exceptional and the jobs make good use of all pillars of play. I especially LOVE the logsheet for players to keep track of events!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
EB-01 The Night Land
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bradley D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2019 01:34:19

Played it, and am looking forward to running it at my FLGS soon. Great fun! Can run a bit long, especially if you're doing some character development and introducing players to the unique aspects of the Eberron setting at the start. Love the new Adventure Record format - I hope this means that Legacy Events are meaningful later on in the sequence of adventures. Off to a terrific start, can't wait for the next one!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EB-01 The Night Land
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Anton P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/22/2019 02:49:47

Adventure is great, formatting is descent. But it's unclear where are Salvation situated. 4.5/5



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EB-01 The Night Land
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kevin E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/13/2019 18:35:37

This was an excellent introduction to Eberron and a solid tier 1 adventure.

The NPC's had dimension and there were legitimate rewards and consequences for actions taken outside of your standard "item and/or gold upon completion."

I sincerely hope that a majority of this will serve as a framework for things to come.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EB-01 The Night Land
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mitchell Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/05/2019 19:23:52

I ran this twice at a convention. Liked it so much that I bought it here too! It is both an excellent adventure for 1st level characters and a solid introduction to Eberron.

Players really enjoyed the illusion of free will that comes with picking their own missions. The missions themselves are dynamic:

  1. Search and rescue that forces the PCs to race against the lightning rail
  2. A fetchit quest that may or may not involve bodies being sewed into a hideous abomination
  3. A dungeon delve...with explosions!

I want to again emphasize that this adventure gets the lore right. If you are into Eberron, you will be happy with this. If you are not into Eberron, it's still a great adventure.

The layout is superb. Adventure Records are along overdue in AL and implemented very cleanly here. I really appreciated how the achievements are naturally woven into future adventures (they were also previewed at Gamehole Con).

Lastly, an underrated aspect is that since the missions are separate, it's easy to let players take long rests, or not, depending on how you want to scale the difficulty. If they're only first level, be gentle!

Overall this is a great start for the Oracle and War and I hope the Oracle continues to speak for a long time to come...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items