Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
EB-01 The Night Land $4.99
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
7 7
1 1
0 1
0 0
0 0
EB-01 The Night Land
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
EB-01 The Night Land
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jarrod N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2020 08:00:07

This is an excellent introduction to a setting and campaign that grabbed my interest so quickly that I bought Rising from the Last War, began to do an Eberron deep dive of my own, and now plan to run the entirety of Oracle of War as it's released.

Truthfully, I think it's the little details in the way this and the other released adventures are structured ("Legacy Events" that provide meaningful in-character feedback to player choices; in-game newspapers that connect characters to the world) that makes it so brilliant, and while I know some experienced DMs could create things like that on their own with any other campaign, I wish all 5E releases would incorporate the quality of writing and design elements that Shawn has done here (the brief list of personality quirks and quotes for newly introduced NPCs is a super-helpful touch for DMs as well).

In short, a fantastic introductory adventure that hits on all three "pillars" of D&D design (roleplay, exploration, and combat), introduces players and DMs to a novel and intriguing setting, and makes me genuinely excited for the rest of the campaign to come. Please keep these coming!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EB-01 The Night Land
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Gary S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/03/2020 02:52:18

Excellent content in a well laid out plan. High quality production value with everything needed to run an on-rails adventure with plenty of room for manouveing



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EB-01 The Night Land
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matthew P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2020 06:25:17

THe Night Land is a collection of 3 shorter adventures (althought short in this case is slightly misleading) . Each adventure bar one makes use of the Mournlands but If Im honest, I dont think they needed to do so.. at least not yet.

I have run this collection of scenarios twice.

Firstly there is good use of locations within salvation. Both the Chapel of the Silver Flames and the Salvage Market are interesting locations. A visualised a frontier chapel .. but that was not exactly what we got. I think I would of preferred a little more preaching on behalf the of the cleric there (who is essentially the quest provider). My hope is that the first scenario gives a lot of lore exposition. Something that i think the scenario could of done more in, without me needing to explain who the silver Flame were using my own knowledge).

THe quest involving the Chapel is essentially involving a Changeling (a race unique to Eberron) who masqueraded as a priest at the chapel to steal a recently received holy item. This leads to a trip to see 2 salvage on sellers, who do a good job of deceiving the party until they dont and the characters find out they need to travel inside the Mournlands to a location where the changeling and friends are.

Only to discover they are now part of a strange totemic creature and Dolgrim are present. I would of loved some more inn game information on each of these concepts to give to players as I dont think enough was given. Perhaps the Dolgrim could of gotten the characters to recite some dark religous speech in an attempt to get the salvage team freed (who may or may not be dead by this point). The grisly collection of the salvage team are turned into a Scorpion like creature which has the religous item buried within it. After that its back to either take the people home or just the item.

Another quest is that of a Goblin trader who has lost a scavenger (and I honestly had the hardest time believing that ANYONE would go into the Mournlands alone.. even just a little way in). Visually I enjoyed this one the most because while it was another short trip into the Mournlands , the 2 combat encounters were interesting. a Creature formed from some strange crystal lattice and the set piece .. a 'body' on the tracks in front of a speeding Ghost Train. Sadly I couldnt do the image in my head justice on the map. THe scavenger has been turned to stone by some Cockatrices (which only lasts 24 hours). But is no a stone body on the tracks defended by an Iron/Steel Defender. This means we get our first introduction to the artificer class which I think was great. It was a perfect combination of putting a Goblin in the game as a sympathetic character with the new class that half my table was playing.

The last encounter was a jaunt to see a caretaker of a salvage yard who worked for a more powerful.. identity in town. A Great Warforged Colossus sad on the ground in disrepair ( A visual here would of been great) and the Caretaker had found a tunel lead under the great felled metal warforged. This is where we had the introduction of the Order of the Emerald Claw.. a Antagonist organisation which came from one of the nation states of Khorvaire. In turned out that the Emerald Claw were using a secret space under the salvage yard to conduct experiments on bodies (and not just any bodies.. often their own volunteers). An 'evil' doctor was all the exposition on offer here but in the end could be broken and inform the party that the lady owning the salvage yard was a bad bad bad lady.

We get the 'Sheriff' of town turn up out of the Blue to investigate and eventually its off to the local inn to confront the person.. who as I was expecting was too well defended to actually do anything about . But it felt straight out of a western , Hero attempts to arrest the powerful baron and just cannot.

In all, I would of preferred some more social interaction with some of these mini scenarios. The Ghost train was my favorite and I used a lot of my own knowledge of Eberron to flesh things out.

I would recommend this scenario , but be aware it can run long.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
EB-01 The Night Land
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/08/2020 23:57:04

A well put to gether 4 hour module. I like the "legacy" aspect of the eberron oracle of war adventurer's league season. The NPCs are well described, and the setting is evocative and approachable. The frontier town where the game is set is approachable and probably a better location to introduce a whole new campaign setting to many than a big city like Sharn. I'm looking forward to running this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EB-01 The Night Land
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/03/2020 12:02:24

This is a really cool module to start off the Oracle of War story arc! My only 2 complaints are that it is usually longer than a 4 hour module unless you remove encounters and that I think the encounters are WAAYYYY too challenging for a bunch of level 1 characters. The modules says it is balanced for level 1's but I believe it to be actually balanced to a party of level 3's. Otherwise, the flavor is exceptional and the jobs make good use of all pillars of play. I especially LOVE the logsheet for players to keep track of events!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
EB-01 The Night Land
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bradley D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2019 01:34:19

Played it, and am looking forward to running it at my FLGS soon. Great fun! Can run a bit long, especially if you're doing some character development and introducing players to the unique aspects of the Eberron setting at the start. Love the new Adventure Record format - I hope this means that Legacy Events are meaningful later on in the sequence of adventures. Off to a terrific start, can't wait for the next one!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EB-01 The Night Land
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Anton P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/22/2019 02:49:47

Adventure is great, formatting is descent. But it's unclear where are Salvation situated. 4.5/5



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EB-01 The Night Land
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kevin E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/13/2019 18:35:37

This was an excellent introduction to Eberron and a solid tier 1 adventure.

The NPC's had dimension and there were legitimate rewards and consequences for actions taken outside of your standard "item and/or gold upon completion."

I sincerely hope that a majority of this will serve as a framework for things to come.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EB-01 The Night Land
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mitchell Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/05/2019 19:23:52

I ran this twice at a convention. Liked it so much that I bought it here too! It is both an excellent adventure for 1st level characters and a solid introduction to Eberron.

Players really enjoyed the illusion of free will that comes with picking their own missions. The missions themselves are dynamic:

  1. Search and rescue that forces the PCs to race against the lightning rail
  2. A fetchit quest that may or may not involve bodies being sewed into a hideous abomination
  3. A dungeon delve...with explosions!

I want to again emphasize that this adventure gets the lore right. If you are into Eberron, you will be happy with this. If you are not into Eberron, it's still a great adventure.

The layout is superb. Adventure Records are along overdue in AL and implemented very cleanly here. I really appreciated how the achievements are naturally woven into future adventures (they were also previewed at Gamehole Con).

Lastly, an underrated aspect is that since the missions are separate, it's easy to let players take long rests, or not, depending on how you want to scale the difficulty. If they're only first level, be gentle!

Overall this is a great start for the Oracle and War and I hope the Oracle continues to speak for a long time to come...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items