Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Murder on the Eberron Express $6.95
Average Rating:5.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
9 9
0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
Murder on the Eberron Express
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Murder on the Eberron Express
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ian S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/11/2020 20:10:04

So as I expected on a first read when I picked it up, this is pretty great. The cool thing about it is not just how clever the underlying conception and structure is -- and it definitely is -- but how easy it is to adapt and massage for other purposes.

For example, I actually didn't run this in 5e. I adapted the concept and archetypes, built a luxury cruiser starship setting for them, layered a dose of spy intrigue on top and ran it for my Starfinder group. In so doing, I removed the potential for PvP (the archetypes all manifested as separate NPCs, and the party in general was tasked with unravelling their various schemes and mysteries), fleshed out some of the characters on the "lower decks," and adjusted the mechanics for the system specifics and the higher-level party running through it. Even with all of these transformations, the conceptual strength of the module and the genuine sense of investigating a meaty mystery with believably-motivated actors, shone through. It provided superb bones on which to build.

We got six solid sessions of play out of what resulted, and my group loved it. I recommend checking this out not just to D&D players but to any fan of elegant ttrpg adventure design. I can promise you'll find useful ideas in here even if you don't just run the adventure as-is.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
This is firstly really nice to hear but also it's so interesting to think about how you've adapted it. I'm glad it worked out that sounds like a brilliant campaign you've got there. Thanks for letting me know!
Murder on the Eberron Express
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Scott T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2020 12:36:55

Finally had a chance to run this adventure for my group and they loved it! Most were unfamiliar with Eberron and one was completely new to D&D so we ran a zero session to get them up to speed. Like a lot of mystery plots, it matters how much your group puts into it. The handouts for each archetype were very useful to help my players get into character. I love that there are multiple versions of the document so I can read it on my phone for prep and print it out for use at the table. The only thing I found myself scrambling for was a DM 'cheat sheet' for running the unused archetypes. Just a single page with a line or two for each so I don't have to flip pages while at the table. Can't recommend this adventure enough!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Cheat sheet is a good idea! Hopefully I'll get a chance to do an update at some point.
Murder on the Eberron Express
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by TIMOFEY L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2020 22:57:28

I have never had greater pleasure than when I ran this module. It was such a fascinating and intriguing adventure, and tension was being built higher and higher during the game.

This is the best module ever, although character sheets could have been done more thorougly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Murder on the Eberron Express
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2020 22:50:41

If you're the kind of person that just reads the first line or two of a review let me do you a favor and let you know that this was one of my top 5 favorite gaming sessions of D&D I've ran!

Honestly, when I ran this I was super nervous. Nervous because for this adventure to work you have to truly trust your players. I played this with a few of our patrons on Twitch so I prefaced it with saying something along the lines of "This very well may be a trainwreck, we'll see!" but wow was I wrong. The players absolutely crushed it and it was some of the easiest DMing I've ever done. To DM this adventure you really just need to do a quick read over it once and then you actually get to sit back quite a bit. I ended up playing three of the NPCs and the players all took up one of the others each. It worked out super well and I don't want to spoiler my runthrough but everyone had a ton of fun!

I'm the DM for an actual-play podcast that plays one shots from dmsguild and I also stream on Twitch with some of our patrons. We streamed this one and you can find the full length video below.

https://youtu.be/ofOiJBAvfW8



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Murder on the Eberron Express
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ian W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/02/2020 15:04:08

Great Job! What an awesome concept. I am new to the Eberron setting but this was an awesome introduction into such a cool place of steampunk/noir/magic and more. The murderer mechanic is ingenius and leaves everyone guessing until the very end.

The module is very flexible and I was able to make it into my own. It's also very replayable as the murderer can change everytime.

Pick this one up for sure!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Murder on the Eberron Express
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michelle C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/29/2019 14:22:06

You know the adventure is good when players ask if they can play it again as you're cleaning up. I ran it with a large group of friends and family. It fit my group really well meeting the interests of friends who regularly play D&D and friends who love murder mystery games but hadn't played D&D before.

I loved how each of the roles were well fleshed out. Even though we barely dived into all the details the players really liked having interconnecting backstories. No one in my group wanted to play the spouse role, so I quickly made up an assistant to the conductor borrowing bits of the spouse background. The module is really flexable that swapping out a character still works the same, and doesn't put too much work on the DM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Murder on the Eberron Express
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2019 02:05:32

Holy moly, this module is AWESOME. 10/10 would run again. My friends asked for a murder mystery one-shot, and so I picked up this one to run alongside Eberron - rising from the last war. The Setup of the module is impeccable, the character motivations are great, and I like everything about it. I talked a lot with the characters before hand and they came up with their motivations and such and such a web of deceit and lies as you've never seen before was weaved before my very eyes. I ran this twice and both times the results were completely interesting and unique.

I tweaked a few things (better for 3rd level then 6th level characters, put it on an airship instead of a train), but that's just DM discretion stuff. The core of this module is some really good material and fodder for making an amazing story.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Murder on the Eberron Express
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Raul G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2019 19:59:07

A Whole heck of a lot of fun! The character motives are so classic it's like playing the version of clue I always wanted. Plus the player deceptions can be sooooo fun! We've played a few times and we've been doing a thing where players will write notes to the GM to do secret things and rolll stuff that no one knows about making EVERYONE EXTREMELY PARANOID! It's honestly a darn good time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Murder on the Eberron Express
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adrian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/04/2019 22:06:10

Murder on the Eberron Express is a 6th level one shot adventure. It looks like it can be played in 3-5 hours with a small or large number of players. This is a great introduction to the tone and flavour of the world and the authors of this product do a fantastic job of setting up everything you need to succeed. This adventure reminds me strong of Murder on the Orient Express meets Baldurs Gate version fo Betrayal on the House Hill. In my book, these are all wonderful things that will bring people who enjoy aspects of these items to the table and give them something to enjoy.

This adventure does take some prep work for both the Dungeon Master and the players, so make sure to plan ahead and incorporate time into your session to allow for that. There is some oppurtunity for combat in this scenario, and due to certain circumstances - this may be more difficult for your players than average. You will also want a system for passing notes or delivering messages between the players and the the DM.

One word of caution: This adventure may pit one player's character against another. Make sure to cover PVP etiquette with your players ahead of time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items