Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Infernal Machine Rebuild (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Red P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/22/2020 16:20:30
Me:

Primarlly a D&D Adventurers Leage DM since 2017. Most of my D&D is done online via Discord/Roll20 utilizing modules from DMsGuild, D&DBeyond, and most recently Roll20 all part of my Extra Life fundraising activities.

Good

I love the wierdness of the adventure, all the hirelings, and the magictech feel of this adventure. I truly appreciate this was used to help raise money for Children's Miracle Network Hospitals.

  • The art is great! Shout out to everyone involved in the beatiful layout and maps which were included.
  • I love that they included an Appendix for extra spells that can be used in non DDAL games
  • The magic items are definitely somethings players would love to get their hands on
  • Very useful adventure hooks, one in particular really worked well with a campaign idea where I linked this adventure, Dungeon of the Mad Mage, and Invasion from the Planet of Tarrasques.
Bad

I have no real complaints other than that I would have appreciated a battle map or two, but considering this is a charity module I can't be overly picky.

Overall

I have run this two times already and I can see myself running it and/or pulling from it given the opportunity. I liked running this as a DM and my players genuinely seemed to enjoy themselves, even when fortune didn't favor them :wink: Great module!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infernal Machine Rebuild (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Baldur's Gate: The Fall of Elturel
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Red P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/09/2020 11:34:39

I DM'd this as the finale to the non-AL Encounter of the Week: The Road to Baldur’s Gate series play-by-post I was running on my Discord server.

The events in Chapter 2 were probably the best part for the players from the feedback I received at the end. I personally loved the map which was provided.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Baldur's Gate: The Fall of Elturel
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for taking time to leave a rating and review! Means the world to us!
DDAL00-11 Pipyap's Guide to All of the Nine Hells
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Red P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/03/2019 18:57:25

I'm still in the process of preparing the adventrues out of this modules, but I wanted to get my initial review in and edit it as time progresses, otherwise I'll completely forget like the 300+ other modules I've yet to review.

I LOVE the value of this resource. It has MULTIPLE adventures, tips on how to run your game, a bunch of lore, very witty dialogue, a fun initial adventure, NICE maps that line up well when I import them into Roll20. This seems expensive compared to the typical fare on DMsGuild, but it's well worth it considering what you are getting. This is no typical purchase.

The following is me nitpicking as I comb through the document:

Potential Spoilers for DDAL00-11a

  • Page 37 (or 40 of the PDF) has the overview of the Adventuring in the Nine Hells adventure and in Episode1: Rank and File it states an adventuring cleric summoned the characters, yet when you go to Page 41 (44 of pdf) it states the conjurer is a mage.
  • Page 47 (50 of the PDF), last paragraph tells you the wrong location of the door. The description in Playing the Pillars on page 48 (51 of the PDF) under the Exploration heading matches up with what is shown on the map.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL00-11 Pipyap's Guide to All of the Nine Hells
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Little Astralnaut
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Red P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/30/2019 10:13:47

Not only is this a cute module that gives you a nice imaginative space for a child, but I really appreciated the Artwork in @Thrawn589's The Little Astralnaut. The map is clear, bright, & colorful and my 3+ year old had fun pointed out the locations she wanted to visit next. I kind of like the idea of utilizing this map in future adventures. Side-note: The Play-tester credit is adorable



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Little Astralnaut
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Lost Laboratory of Kwalish (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Red P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/10/2019 15:50:11

I DM'd this as a one-shot Thanksgiving treat for some of my usual players. We typically play stuff for the Adventurers League, but I really like to support Extra Life modules when I can. The adventure itself was just so different than other things we've played. I loved the technological bent to it while still making it familiar to people only used to playing in 5e. The players also kind of got really derailed right off the bat due to some shenanigans with one of the Hirelings which caused a player to need to use another character sheet for awhile. It really made the module stand out and I'd be interested in running a longer version of it in the future.

I doubted this module would ever be Adventurers League legal, but I am happy I was wrong! Everyone had a blast and I'm glad I picked it up!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Laboratory of Kwalish (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL08-10 The Skull Square Murders
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Red P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/02/2019 18:11:08

Overall I loved prepping this module and I can definitely reuse a lot of this for future games. I, like many others, like geting more for my money and that's something this provides.

Pros:

  • NPCs/Locations - definitely the shining star of this module. I fell in love with all of them and I'll definitely be importing these in future games for my players. I can tell a ton of effort went into creating this thing and I really appreciate that.
  • Magic Item - My players were pleasantly surprised about the item
  • Flexibility - A DM with time to prep really has a huge number of options at their disposal as to how they want to customize this adventure - or instead, you can just follow the prompts and just roll with it
  • Maps - The maps in this module were pretty diverse and I'm glad that they put the effort into creating these
  • Handouts - There were tons of them and I love it when I have something I can give to the group during their explorations

Cons:

  • I wish the maps had a player/DM version. I DM online and had to break out my graphics editing software to hide the various DM lables.

Observation:

  • Our group took 2.5 hours to complete all 4 objectives
  • There's minor discrepancy in Krystaleen's description but honestly you could go with either of the two and it'll be fine. Just keep that in mind when deciding how tough of an encounter you want to make it... DM empowerment and all that


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-10 The Skull Square Murders
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL08-09 Fangs and Frogs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Red P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/22/2019 13:45:42

Overall this is a great module. I was completely satisfied by the number and quality of the maps included in this module. The story was creative, though maybe a bit confusing if you don't take the time to read the module. The BBEG was a ton of fun to play and my players loved finding out its secret. I think this is going to be a nice one to replay with future groups.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-09 Fangs and Frogs
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL08-08 Crypt of the Dark Kiss
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Red P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/22/2019 13:33:46

DMing this module was very straight forward. The combat was enjoyable and when it came to exploration/figuring things out we had a good time. I think the bonus objectives are an interesting touch and a nice tie-in to the Undermountain, though they aren't super important for the trilogy. This is great, because I think bonus objectives should be just that, a bonus, not required to understand what is happening. The map provided was very easy to read and use when I prepped the module for my players, though it would have been even better if there was a Player map and a DM map.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-08 Crypt of the Dark Kiss
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL08-07 Into the Dark
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Red P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/22/2019 13:32:39

Overall this was a fun adventure to DM for my players, though in all honesty the quality of the image provided of the map really deterred me from setting this up for months. The map itself wasn't bad, but throwing in a skewed picture of a gridded map was a definite frustration. The writing was fun and it would be interesting to see other modules with the "BBEG" of this module in it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-07 Into the Dark
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL00-09 Minsc & Boo's Guide to Stuff and Things
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Red P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/04/2019 17:12:10

I saw this and had to buy it. It offers an Adventurers League module along with some fun pregens which use the crazy Non-AL player options. I had 5 players and we utilized all of the pregen character sheets that are included in this pack. It was so much fun to try out these zany character options that I think it'll give some players a bit of heartburn when they come to grips that they aren't yet [fingers crossed] available for play in AL.

I found a couple minor editing issues in the adventure itself, but nothing that took more than a moment to figure out.

Here are the highlights:

  • Extra Life!
  • Great creativity
  • Fun interactive story
  • Neat award
  • Interesting combat, traps, puzzles
  • A couple of Easter Eggs in there for good measure


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL00-09 Minsc & Boo's Guide to Stuff and Things
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-KUMORI-02-01 Vacant
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Red P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/17/2019 17:15:06

What you get is worth way more than what you pay for. In particular I really appreciate when a mod like this has maps and tokens added to the package because it not only adds ambience, it also helps make my life easier as a DM. The story itself can be SUPER CREEPY and I LOVE IT!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-KUMORI-02-01 Vacant
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your review, Red! I have so much fun with the creepiness of this adventure too!
D&D Adventurers League Player & DM Pack
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Alfredo P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/06/2019 06:33:35

I like this product because it's given me most of what I need to begin DMing Adventurers League games. I can't say it's perfect because I still frequently need questions answered by the admins on Facebook, but I like that these documents are constantly updated. I particularly like the consolodation of information in the content catalogue, but I wish the FAQs would get more attention.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Adventurers League Player & DM Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Durnan's Guide to Tavernkeeping
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Red P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/29/2018 13:29:18
Overall:

I highly recommend this adventure supplement!

My Background:
  • I am a relatively new player & DM who started playing AL at the tail end of Season 6 and started DMing at the start of Season 7.
  • I DM and play almost exclusively on Roll20/FG so most of my views are based on those experiences.
  • I stream my games online
  • I am an average person with average cooking/baking abilities
Favorite things about this:
  • The main draw here was that there are options to upgrade the tavern and it does not disappoint. Tavern owners even spend TCP to fund their Tavern!
  • There’s a bunch of new monsters I’m slowly weaving into our campaign
  • I LOVE The fact that there are recipes. I've made a couple already and plan to finish them all. It's my own little private DM Quest.
  • The Art for the Bottle Lables is so cool!
What I did not like:
  • Trying to figure out how this will work with Adventurers League rules is kind of pain
How I think the negatives can be mitigated:
  • Maybe the resource could be given some more concrete guidance in the Adventurers League Content Catalogue, but I’m not going to ding this resource for that. That’s more of an AL-ism than anything.
Potential problems with mitigation actions:
  • Some players are vehemently against more regulations in AL, but again, that’s more of a situation within the AL community than with this resource.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Durnan's Guide to Tavernkeeping
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Red P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/23/2018 15:52:19

I highly recommend this adventure, 5/5! Worth every penny. Perfect for use between Chapter 1 and 3 of WDH and/or use it as a way to level up people that are new to your Waterdeep campaign. Gives current players a chance to make some alts to add to their burgeoning Trollskull Alley Mercenary Company.

Pros: Stellar map; Fun traps; Many secrets; Interesting rewards

Potential Cons: This can take much longer than expected to complete

Silver Lining: You're definitely getting what you paid for and more.

//Start of original post! DDHC-WDH-03 Spoilers, I guess kind of a partial review. I'm not perfect, but we had fun and I felt like sharing my thoughts with you. Not only did we have fun, we raised like another $15 and 300 bits towards the St. Louis Children's Hospital bringing the total raised to $1741.52.

My main WDH group (The Lucky Lyres) has had some turnover and new players have joined the fray.

We've done the first chapter, then we did all six T1 DDAL modules and those who have stayed are currently level 5. This week was meant to be an off week while we waited for the T2 DDAL modules are released to DMsGuild. One of my players is a DM and he offered to DM some Eberron content. I was super excited at the prospect since I haven't touched that material at all, but I love the setting. Alas, he got called away to do work at the last minute and I had to throw together my backup plan, DDHC-WDH-03 "Blue Alley." We had 5 players with level 2-4 characters. I introduced the module in The Lucky Lyre Tavern (Trollskull Manor) and one of the main party members got used as an NPC who are testing the mettle of these new characters. He introduces them to Mirt who fills the group in about some of the details. I used one of the recommend NPCs as a hired mercenary for Mirt and one of the character immediately challenges her to an arm wrestling match. He loses while the merc downs a pitcher of ale and then she brings him in close to warn him about one of the dangers of the mission Mirt is sending them on. The players eventually make their way toward Blue Alley and that's when the fun begins...

This is supposed to be a 4 hour module, but my party is cautious in pursuit of the objective and I rarely handwave stuff if it seems like the party is enjoying what's happening, sooo they cleared 8/28 rooms in a 4 hour span. I'm not sure if they will actually explore all 28 areas, but they have decided to stay in the Alley and play this module again next week instead of moving on to WDH or T2 DDAL Modules, so I guess it was a success.

The traps in this place definitely set the tension, probably adding to how cautious they were being. I've been trying to make sure I monologue less frequently, especially here, so that the players can be more engaged. I let my players know ahead of time that they might want to take notes, especially when I footstomp some clues. I think that might be going well so far... we'll see at the end.

I personally made at least one error because I either misread the map or missed the text that explains it, but things seem alright. I retconned it that one of the players (the arm-wrestler) did a feat of strength which allowed them to pass a barred off area.

The high res map is BEAUTIFUL and I am glad I was able to correctly set it up so it aligned with the grid in Roll20, but it definitely took some finagling.

I am hesitant to confer a rating on this yet because we haven't completed the whole thing (hence this isn't on DMsGuild yet) but this is shaping up to be a 5 out of 5 scenario.

//Follow up Post! The party completed spent another 4+ hours in the Blue Alley and still didn't uncover all the secrets within. They ultimately did find the main thing they were looking for and returned to Mirt, the quest giver... but they did so empty handed and managed to deceive him about it. Overall, I really loved playing this module and I'd give it a 5/5.

Session #1 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wFs4G_kAXQI Session #2 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M5u4ZHXdT6s



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Monster Slayers: The Heroes of Hesiod
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Alfredo P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/16/2018 11:11:58

I decided to give this a whirl because of the low barrier to entry and short amount of time commitment involved. The game recommends 4-5 players but I basically just ran the additional pregens like NPCs and had my daughter roll the dice for me. I asked her what character she wanted to play and we took one of the pregens and I let her customize it however she wanted. Overall she had a TON of fun and as soon as we finished playing she started coming up with a sequel adventure. Thanks a bunch, the adventure worked better than advertised!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Slayers: The Heroes of Hesiod
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 26 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items