Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
Baldur's Gate: The Fall of Elturel $4.95 $4.46
Average Rating:5.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
17 10
1 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
Baldur\'s Gate: The Fall of Elturel
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Baldur's Gate: The Fall of Elturel
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/22/2020 11:23:06

Excellent and well thought out. The author explains the reason for the encounters relating to the whole of the adventure. I recommend this as an alternate start to Baldur's Gate DiA.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Baldur's Gate: The Fall of Elturel
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2020 21:41:12

A very strong start for BG:DiA that ties the players so much more to Elturel. I like the idea of aligning the players to factions and giving them individual purpose to their adventure. The NPCs were more fresh air and are definitely going to recur in our campaign. What's a better drive forward than a rescue party?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Baldur's Gate: The Fall of Elturel
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thiago L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2020 22:29:15

This is a better way to start Descent into Avernus than the book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Baldur's Gate: The Fall of Elturel
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Red P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/09/2020 11:34:39

I DM'd this as the finale to the non-AL Encounter of the Week: The Road to Baldur’s Gate series play-by-post I was running on my Discord server.

The events in Chapter 2 were probably the best part for the players from the feedback I received at the end. I personally loved the map which was provided.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for taking time to leave a rating and review! Means the world to us!
Baldur's Gate: The Fall of Elturel
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tara S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/04/2020 02:10:37

This is an amazing beginning to DiA. I highly recommend it to other DMs looking for a way to introduce your players to Elturel and have them want to save this magnificent city. This is a fantastic adventure, and my players are now fully invested into heading into Avernus! Great work! 12/10!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for the kind words! This stuff makes our week!
Baldur's Gate: The Fall of Elturel
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Trevor T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2019 12:18:19

I am the Dungeon Master for Dungeon Hunters Podcast as well as the Dungeon Master for multiple other DnD sessions of Descent Into Avernus and after reading this supplement I am REALLY excited to run my players through this alternate beginning! It has so much packed into it that it provides everything I need as a Dungeon Master to help create an awesome session to launch my adventuring party right into the thick of Baldur's Gate Descent Into Avernus! I can't wait to see which factions my characters will align with! I am also using this as an alternate opening and having one group of players descend straight into Avernus with Elturel and I CANT WAIT! Pick this up and prepare to lead your players into the Fires of Avernus!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Baldur's Gate: The Fall of Elturel
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by William K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2019 02:59:16

I ran this tonight and it was an amazing experience. I’d previously run the standard intro For Descent into Avernus and was fairly dissatisfied. The plan was to use this as a flashback sequence and jump back in where we had left off. In the end my players got deeply invested in their new motivations and we wrote off the murder hobo mercs from last time. We started this at level 2 and it worked just fine with a party of 2. It was so fitting and cinematic when my paladin player swore an oath of vengeance at the edge of the crater of Elturel right after watching it get dragged to hell. This opening propels the heros into the adventure instead of dragging them along and I can’t say enough good about it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you William for leaving a review, we really appreciate it! I’m glad you and your players enjoyed our adventure!
Baldur's Gate: The Fall of Elturel
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/13/2019 08:40:32

Some background: I ordered the Platinum Edition of Baldur's Gatte: Descent Into Avernus from Beadle and Grimm. It hadn't yet arrived and I needed an adventure to run... Because our timing was off. Lo and Behold, this adventure became available! I grabbed it and ran a group of 7 people through the adventure and it went fantastic. It was just right for a single evening of play. When I read Baldur's Gate: Descent Into Avernus I worried that the players wouldn't have the motivation needed to save Elturel from destruction... Now I don't worry! The characters got to meet some major players in Baldur's Gate Descent into Avernus... They also formed several "connections" to Elturel.

Great job guys! This is just what I needed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
So happy to hear this helped you run a session for your group to get them connected to Elturel! I hope you and your players have an epic DiA campaign, and I’m jealous that you got the B&G Platinum Box!!!
Baldur's Gate: The Fall of Elturel
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/12/2019 18:45:10

First and foremost, this is a very beautifully done publication. It's one of the most professional publications that I've seen the Guild, with a great use of images and colour schemes to reflect themes and chapter content. And the cover image in particular is really top-notch.

It's also a very professional publication when it comes to the writing and editing. I also really enjoyed the purpose of this adventure, especially when it comes to Descent into Avernus - as that adventure lacks a hook that really makes characters care about Elturel. This adventure helps fill that gap.

I do wish the adventure was a bit longer - that it showed the journey to Baldur's Gate and how the characters might have gotten through the gate. But that's my own personal preference. And it would certainly make for a longer than 2-hour session. As is, the adventure is very nicely done.

Overall, when it comes to its writing, professional look and feel, and how carefully tied in it is to Descent into Avernus, I first thought that this might have been a Guild Adept product.

DM's Guild products are getting increasingly professional-looking, and its publications like this one - and others (e.g., Uncaged) - that have really spearheaded that trend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, it means a lot to us!
Baldur's Gate: The Fall of Elturel
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Rodrigo K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/12/2019 18:22:15

Baldur's Gate: The Fall of Elturel is a short adventure written by Anthony Joyce and Justice Arman. It also includes three new backgrounds for player characters and one new magic item — two if you don't own Mordenkainen's Tome of Marvelous Magic.

The adventure serves as a prequel to the events of Baldur's Gate: Descent into Avernus (or Tyranny of Dragons) and it delivers a short and nice story that ties really well with the official module, giving it a marvelous opening, emotionally tying the PCs to Elturel, the capital of the Elturgard.

The backgrounds are very cool, as well as the magic items.

The layout and writing is top-notch, making the product feels as an official one. The only thing that caught my eye was a very minor layout thing: actions and features of the stat blocks presented were not italicized, but that's nitpicking of my part.

It's an easy 5 out of 5.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for the constructive review! We have updated the product to include italicized actions and features in the stat block. Thanks for pointing that out!
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items