Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Monster Loot Vol. 1 – Monster Manual
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2019 09:19:06

One of the biggest issues I run into as a DM is what the hell am I going to throw into a dugeon or on a monster that my players can loot - cause if they killed it, they will loot it, even if its fingers or toes or ears. But with Monster Loot, my life is now so much easier because I can skim through Anne's book, find the monster I am looking for, check out what she has under it, and boom, problem solved.

Like for instance - what the hell is someone going to get from killing an Animated Object? Well, say it is a Rug of Smothering, Anne has you covered. 1 Carpet. Can be worn as a cloak. While wearing this ragged fabric, you have advantage on Charisma checks made to pass off as a member of the lower class. Like, it's so helpful and I would never have thought of that.

Overall, for those DMs that really appreciate having handy supplements for on-the-go stuff, you should really get Monster Loot Vol 1 - Monster Manual.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Loot Vol. 1 – Monster Manual
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Aaralyn's Stolen Notes to Velea (5e DnD)
Publisher: AnnesFlashBack
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2019 09:05:38

Something Anne does beautifully in various works is immediatly pull you into the world she has created, and Velea is no exception. With powerful strains drawn from old faeries stories, surrealism, art noveau, Shakespeare, and with a splash of old rotoscope films from Ralph Bakshi, Aaralyn's Stolen Notes from Velea punts you into a beautiful and fully realized world.

First, we open with the worldbook portion of this amazing treatise, fully investing you in the storybook-like quality of Velea, but also roots you in the integral planar and political struggles of the archipelago. Then we carry into the new lore for races within Velea, and onto new class options. Here, for me, the Path of the War Singer shines - you get to be a barbarian and roar and sing and shout epic tales and valorous encouragement to your companions, and the amazing variety of war songs makes you now much more diverse and useful as a barbarian.

Then we get into new background options - and then my favorite section: the Worlds Beyond. Any setting that works in alternate dimensions, an overflowing cosmology, and interesting planar system is immediatly getting my stamp of approval as it adds so many more layers to a setting, and with the diverse one that Anne has created in Velea, the Worlds Beyond chapter is more frosting on this delectible cake.

Overall, this setting book does so much in 133 pages that other books fail to do in 300 or 400. I will meet you all in Velea, probably strolling the streets of Amberton.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aaralyn's Stolen Notes to Velea (5e DnD)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Sir Alkian's Guide to Surviving the Apocalypse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2019 08:46:35

One of the biggest issues I often run into is how to make a stale campaign come back to life - and then I didn't have that problem anymore with Anne's amazing product Sir Alkian's Guide to Surviving the Apocalypse. I credit this book with having helped me save so many games, but also inspired ideas for so many more. And you folks should all feel that too as Anne fits so much amazing content into this book.

First, she outlines all of the Apocalypse types: the Visit, the Hoard, the Frost, the Flood, and many others. For example: with the Frost, Anne gives you some variant causes as to why it could have happened, some various frost-differentiated monsters, as well as the new weather conditions - such as how players now have to deal with extreme cold constantly. But the coolest thing with the Frost I think is the Frostlung sickness which players can slowly or rapidly develop, truly making the landscape and climate as much of an enemy as monsters are.

You also get a bunch of new optional rules to add, such as hero points where instead of health you respond to danger; new settlement development mechanics, new races like the Fey'ri - terrifying apocalyptic elves, new class options like the Barbarian Path of the Psycho alla Krieg from Borderlands, and sweet new backgrounds. Finally, you also get a kickass cadre of apocalyptic monsters - such as the Four Horsemen - to face.

This book is absolutely stunning in the amount of information you get in 139 pages - the only downside to it being that there is no print version to be had yet. I am making sure to tell all my DM friends about this one, as it is amazing and I cannot give it high enough praise.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sir Alkian's Guide to Surviving the Apocalypse
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Monsters of Feyland
Publisher: Cawood Publishing
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2019 08:01:58

Celtic mythology and faerie stories were a staple of my upbringing - we have a family friend who is a professional storyteller and made sure we got a healthy dosage. On top of the stunning art from Travis Hanson, Monster of Feyland gives you as a DM everything you need to build an entirely fey-based campaign without even needing the regular Monster Manual.

Both equal parts lore and bestiary, MoF pulls players directly into the faerie world, the inner political struggles of the Summer and Midnight Courts, and all the multidimensional layers that make old fey tales so interesting and exciting.

Personal favorite meme monster: the Doubt Trout. Used it on my players and they hated me for it. Only thing I wish there was more of in this book was maybe a wee appendix with some more lore and a map, to add to the rich environment cultivated in the book. Otherwise, a smashing victory.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 19



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of Feyland
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Murder-Hobo Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2019 07:55:23

So here is the thing. I both love this class and hate it at the same time. I have so many players that even without this supplement are murder-hobos, and all this class did was make it worse. However, if you are going to a truly grisly comedic horror style game, the Murder-Hobo class is perfect for you. I had a player chose the Nympho archtype and while it got very wierd very quick, is also led to some interesting roleplay and discussions afterward. So while I as a DM really don't feel too happy about saying it, this crazy little supplement can add more than you need to a game in either a good way or a bad way.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 10



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Murder-Hobo Class
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Undersea Sourcebook: Race and Class Guide
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2019 07:51:07

Sooooooo, all I am going to say is this. A) you need to get this product, and B) YOU CAN BE A GODDAMN SHARK PALADIN WHY HAVE YOU NOT BOUGHT THIS ALREADY?!?!?!?! Just in time for your Saltmarsh game, what Rodney has created adds a bunch of aquatic excellence, from sweet new races and traditional race variants to the afore-mentioned SHARK PALADIN!

The only things missing I think are perhaps some more class options or more spell lists, as there are very few water-themed spells in base D&D, and while this supplement does add some I was left wanting more.

But other that that, this little book is a must-have. So paddle your way on over and hook yourself a copy so that way you can enjoy the wavetastic fun. Was that too much?

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 18



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Undersea Sourcebook: Race and Class Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Primal Gith: A Lost Race Rediscovered
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2019 07:43:12

I absolutely love anything that has to do with Planescape, the Astral Sea, or sailing through the stars. One of my favorite books from 4e was the Manual of the Planes, which I think cough needs to come back. However, Chris is able to give us a way back into the cosmic currents with The Primal Gith: A Lost Race Rediscovered. The Primal Gith are highly versitile, the new class options are breathtaking, and it all has the familiar yet distant alien feel of something from beyond the Prime Material Plane. You get your bucks' worth with this product - Chris knew what he was doing.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Primal Gith: A Lost Race Rediscovered
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Drizzt Do'Urden's Guide to Combat
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2019 07:37:33

I suck at combat - ask any of my friends: I can never CR correctly, I don't know how to balance enemies, and when I am playing, I usually don't like fighting because of how long it takes. However, with what Darrin has made in Drizzt Do'Urden's Guide to Combat, my life as a DM and player in combat scenarios have been made so much easier and less stressful.

With the awesome stat blocks for mass groups of enemies, to outlining just how to make combat interested and exciting (I especially appreciate dropping some ideas for soundtracks to play during combat, I too often use Assassins Creed), what Darrin has made is a supplement that every DM needs to truly make combat a cinematic expeirence and not a dreaded one.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Drizzt Do'Urden's Guide to Combat
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Oath of the Aesir
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2019 07:22:06

I have always loved Norse mythology and Viking history - ever since I was in 8th grade when I made a 200-slide PowerPoint to show my classmates my extensive knowledge. Putting aside annoying middle school me, what Justice does with Oath of the Aesir is bring in so much from the traditional mythos of Scandinavia and fully transform it into a working and thriving new. I especially enjoy Blight og the Jotunar at level 7.

The only thing that I feel is lacking from this Oath is perhaps some variants or rather than being a single path with some abilities based on other gods and goddesses, it could perhaps grow into a tree of path options - a Path of Frigga and a Path of Tyr and a Path of Odin. I think this was a missed opportunity, but a hint at future ideas ;).

Overall, Oath of the Aesir is a fun romp through the frost-rimed forests and tower fjords of fantastical Viking landscapes.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 15



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Oath of the Aesir
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Arkadia - The Greek Setting for 5e
Publisher: Arcana Games
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2019 07:04:21

Arcana Games delivers a whallop of a punch of new content in just 101 pages. That is right - you get a setting, new races, new classes, new feats, new gear, and new spells all in 101 pages - something that the big kids sometimes need four or five books to fit everything into. The new race variations - Volcano Dwarf being my top pick - and new classes - Barbarian Path of the Hero - are stellar, and do so much to add to even a regular Faerunian set 5e game.

Arkadia could easily be a different plane where players go when they die, or perhaps a lost continent on the other side of Toril. All I am saying is that this book is absolutely worth every penny, and to close, my friend Wiatt was most psyched about their Triton feat which, in his words: "You can actually fight with a trident now and not have it suck."

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arkadia - The Greek Setting for 5e
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Party Backstory Generator
Publisher: Severed Books
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2019 06:52:21

The Party Backstory Generator is soon to become a staple in any of my games, regardless of system or setting. The PBG takes away that first few awkward hours of connecting and finding a way to integrate your PCs and characters together through often hastily-made ideas, and instead substitutes in a few minutes of rolling, basic lore development, and interactive fun into building your party.

Gone are the days of having the generic bar fight to introduce everyone - now you can have duos or trios or even the whole party already knowing/knowing of each other before the first session starts. This allows for beautiful and immediate gameplay that instantaneously weaves a tapestry of story and fun to make sure the players now feel truly engaged.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Party Backstory Generator
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Strings, Songs & Stories, The Bardic Colleges of Kozakura & Wa
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2019 22:16:29

What the Mays have made is a beautiful and engaging supplement that brings players back to the old familiar lands of Kara-Tur buried behind the eastern mountains of Faerun. Strings, Songs, & Stories shines in the fact that it functions amazingly as both a roleplaying game supplement and as an educational tool to teach students about the music, instruments, culture, and stories of the Asiatic world.

With all of the new abilities, spells, colleges (Kabuki being my personal favorite) and call-backs to older editions of D&D, what Ashley and Isaac have made hits two big winning points in my book as a soon-to-be-educator: fun game mechanics, and easy-to-refurbish into lessons or units in a classroom. Overall, a stellar and amazing creation!

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Strings, Songs & Stories, The Bardic Colleges of Kozakura & Wa
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Linguist Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2019 14:31:05

What Zac did when he created the Linguist - cause he must have had me in mind - was create a magic-based class that actually made me want to play a magic-user. The Linguist offers an amazing new set of class options and spells that accentuate and bring a new taste of roleplay and combat to the table - especially in roleplay. Very often I like to play as Charisma based characters, but often as magic-users, Charisma is relegated to simply be for casting spells, and that is it. While that does bode true for the Linguist, your Charisma has a direct and highly important impact on your spellcasting and effects.

With the Linguistic Emphasis and the various Discoveries and Words of Power, you truly feel like an unfettered badass as you walk through an encounter literally talking people to death or subserviance. The only thing I might want to see in the future is perhaps how this concept of the Linguist could work into other classes as well - a barbarian who has Path of the Howling Wind and has insane jibber-jabber that drives people nuts, or a paladin with Oath of the Word or something like that. Otherwise, a stellar and fantastic product.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Linguist Class
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Chosen Ones: Part 1 - Waking the Wizard
Publisher: RATHSQUATCH Publishing
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2019 14:17:31

The Chosen Ones: Part 1 - Waking the Wizard is a fantastic homage to company fantasy epics like The Sword of Shanara, The Wheel of Time, The Belgariad, and Dragonlance. With a wonderfully fleshed out world and beautiful cast of well-developed NPCS, what Robert has managed to fit into a little over 120 pages is something that most designers can't fit in 300 and make it flow well. The encounters are interesting and invigorating, something new and alive seems to eminate from them.

However, the book does struggle in a few places - at points the mediocre maps rip you out of the story, and at points lore dumps and story in general can bog play down. Formatting choices could have been made differently with tweaked fonts or an exchange of backgrounds.

Those issues aside - WtW is a valiant and fun adventure, and that is what matters. You can tell that it is a project of passion and was made with excitement, adventure, and teamwork at the core of it.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 15



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Chosen Ones: Part 1 - Waking the Wizard
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Gen-Cell System (™) Quickstart Rules
Publisher: Antagonist Games, Inc.
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/02/2019 07:34:55

Antagonist Games are a great group of people, and they were a pleasure to have on the podcast last season. What the Gen-Cell system does is provide a light and easy system to apply to any - and I mean any - game world of your choosing and allows for quick speedy play without clunky mechanics. Its swift and adaptible, all you can really ask for in a great product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gen-Cell System (™) Quickstart Rules
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 106 to 120 (of 126 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items