Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Magic Items of Kara-Tur
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/15/2019 09:22:06

Rob is an amazing talent, and his next entry in his Kara-Tur titles is a perfect example of his work. This project, on top of being super fairly priced and amazingly laid-out - IT LOOKS SO NICE! - if offers a bunch of new magic items, as well as new effects that magic items could have, such as fear or wild that can be applied to armor. With weapons you have new abilities like balance or honorable (which is kickass, I'll say). But the big thing that Rob adds to the D&D world with this book is talismans, a single-use magic item which is essentially the Eastern version of a potion. And they are really really cool - I am pretty sure the Black Fan is my favorite. Overall, this is an excellent product, and honestly can be applied to any 5e game even if it isn't set in Kara-Tur - which immediatly boosts this for me, as it's not specifically locked into one place. Magic Items of Kara-Tur is professionally put together, excellently organized and balanced, and full of potential in any game. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Magic Items of Kara-Tur
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Acererak's Guide to Lichdom
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2019 12:34:04

Let me tell you - I really wanted to review this product, and the Marcos were very generous in giving me the chance to. The concept of lichdom is something that I don't think is explored in D&D enough - obviously we have Tomb of Annihlation and we have liches in the books and the like - however, just how does one really get into the nitty and gritty of building, developing, and immortalizing a lich in a game. I honestly think that liches are some of the coolest monsters in D&D, and I really want to try to use them in my games more - and not just sheer power-wise either, they can have such interesting stories. But, anywhose - what do you get in this book? You get four new pregened liches as examples of how they work as big bads, tactics and lair building techniques for the liches, as well as some new monsters, new magic items, and new traps. I am definitely going to see myself using this in future games, and I highly recommend that if anyone wants to use more liches in their games - go grab this book - the Marcos did a great job. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Acererak's Guide to Lichdom
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Animal Sidekicks
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/07/2019 13:06:47

Allow me to tell you a tale of woofers, beakies, flappers, scalies and meows - for within these warm and happy pages sit the work of so many amazing writers all under Adam's watchful eye. Taking the Sidekick mechanics and rules and running headlong into the bush with them, the posse of creators in this project come to bring you some amazing animal compadres - such as the badger, displacer beast, holliphant, and awakened plant! I especially love that now you can have a dragon wyrmling as a sidekick, because DRAGONS, more specifically BABY DRAGONS! Very often, rangers and druids and magic users luck out because they are able to have an animal companion or a familiar, leaving other characters lacking when they might want a furred/feathered/scaled/woody buddy - but fret no longer! This book - which is amazingly cohesive and well-laid out for so many people and voices being involved in it - has a special place in my soul for all the times I was told I couldn't have an animal buddy as a fighter cause it would die. Not anymore! Animal Sidekicks is more than deserving of the Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Animal Sidekicks
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Mark of the Vestige (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/05/2019 07:30:13

Let me tell you, when E.R.F got a hold of me to take a look at this bad bumpkin, I was more than happy to - and I gotta say this is one of the most interesting books I have every looked at. In 56 pages, E.R.F manages to slam you with a ton of new content in revamping, bringing back, and utilizing the vestiges from 3 and 3.5 in the world of 5e. So for those of you that don't know, vestiges are strange chaotic entities who exist in the nether between all the physical planes, and they are TERRIFYINGLY AWESOME! You have a huge slew of sweet new vestiges to work with, as well as rules on how to work with binding and pact magic with vestiges, as well as cool new magic items and handouts with printable cards of each vestige. One of the best things I think E.R.F did with the vestiges here is that they have an physical toll on the binder, for instance - with Amon you grow black rams horns, with Eligor one of your hands is covered in scales - and so on. It has so so much roleplay potential as well as new gameplay mechanics, and it is the sheer amount of work that E.R.F put into this project that makes me honored to give it the Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mark of the Vestige (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Infamous Adversaries
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/01/2019 12:11:13

This book is an example of so many things that are awesome about collaborative projects. When Ben was looking for folks to do reviews I was more than ecstatic to get a chance to look into this bad larry. And I can tell you without a shred of a doubt that is is worth all the effort and time that went into it. The skill that went into creating this book - with excellent layout, a ton of raw talent, well balanced creatures, and a hell of an attitude - is everything a new DM or seasoned DM would want out of a villainous bestiary. Reminding me of Ultimate Adversaries from the Star Wars d20 days, Infamous Advesaries has everything I like in a big beefy DMs Guild project. I highly reccomend everyone snag a copy, as it will add so much to your table. I really enjoy the Sea-ambling Mound - probably my top critter in there - but at the end of the day, a great piece of game design.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infamous Adversaries
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Disturbed Graves
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/30/2019 16:21:59

Disturbed Graves is a homage to the grimdark fantasy that fills titles like Warhammer, Dark Souls, Diablo, and Bloodborne. Death is a necessary evil, and often must be used to the benefit or loss of others. This new iteration of the Pale Master - resurrected from 3.5 - is both faithful and a breath of fresh air, just in time for All Hallow's Eve. The five subclasses - elegies - are unique and different, easily allowing you to potentially have a whole party of pale masters and still being diverse. Add the grafting mechanics, and you have full-on body horror as only the pros can do. It is often said that death always finds those who run, but those who embrace it it hides from, and the Pale Master is caught somewhere in between - deathless and lifeless all in one. What Trevor has done is allow players to become something truly new and exciting, something beyond the norm. They can now roleplay and play in the Gray Space between mortality and death, which is a hell of a heavy topic to talk about in D&D. I think the elegies almost represent different cultural or spiritual views of death and the afterlife, and this could be a massive affect on your character. And this is why I am pleased to present Disturbed Graves with the Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge for going into territory rarely trodden, and bringing the deep thinking back into roleplay.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Disturbed Graves
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Monster Hunts: Halloween
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2019 20:41:21

Vall was looking for folks to review this bad pumpkin, and I was more than willing. It's a quick and easy add on to his and Jimmy's original Monster Hunts book - that one more specific to Avernus - but this one adds that Halloween spoopy touch. With a couple extra new hunts all with that fantastic cover - what a cute little beholder - Monster Hunts: Halloween is a perfect quick snag for anyone looking to put together a snappy wee Halloween adventure for All Hallow's. But the real reason you are going to buy this is the cover, because Vall knocked it out of the park with this one. For excellent mechanics easy for any DM to pick up and quick encounters - get yourself this book. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Hunts: Halloween
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Scheherazade - The One Thousand and One Nights RPG
Publisher: SpaceOrange42
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2019 20:34:28

When Umberto reached out to me to review this, I got really excited, as I have a deep love of Arabic and Middle Eastern mythology - hence why I was part of the Black Void RPG core team. Umberto and the SpaceOrange team did an amazing job in respectfully and honestly adapting so much lore and history into a beautiful looking and beautifully laid-out game. Character creation is super easy, and overall the mechanics are very easy to pick up - however the biggest thing I think this game really has going for it is excellent art and overall a cohesive motif. Pulling its inspiration from the original Thousand and One Nights tales, Scheherazade is a fantastic piece that is well worth its full price. I look forward to seeing more in this universe in the future. Perhaps a Gilgamesh expansion? Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scheherazade - The One Thousand and One Nights RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Grimlore's Grimoire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/28/2019 18:50:59

Let me say that when Trevor sent me this bad boy to take a look at, I got suuuuuper excited. Spellbooks are next on my list of things I love most in D&D, after setting books and bestiaries - and I can say that especially with this new updated version that Grimlore's Grimoire does not disappoint. One of the things I always bemoan when running a game is that while there are a lot of spells to pick from in the PHB, there really aren't enough - most people know 50% to 90% of the spells in the PBH, so it would be nice to have something to supplement them with. And Grimlore's does not disappoint: with cantrips like Blood Siphon or Song of the Dead, to numerous others all the way up to 9th level where you can find spicy ones like Replicate or Tamara's Rebirth; these spells are all specially themed for a darker, more serious and macabre game. Overall, an amazing project - definitely worth the full price for the amount of work put into it. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grimlore's Grimoire
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Ghesh's Guide to Making Things - A System for Crafting and Modifying Equipment in 5th Edition D&D
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/28/2019 18:42:44

Allow me to tell a brief story. Literally about half an hour before Anne sent me this to review, I had been doing a Let's Build video on my podcast - essentially where we have our followers vote on which two pop culture characters folks want to see us build as a D&D character. I was building Brigitte from Overwatch, and was massively stuck on how I would make her mace-flail-morningstar work. Low and behold, in Ghesh's Guide to Making Things there are all the tools I need. Anne has put so much work into this masterpiece, and it is obvious from the minute you open it. You crack it open, and I can almost feel the energy in this piece thrumming through me as if you had discovered the secret customization station in a video game - and combined with Sapphyra's amazing cover art, Ghesh's is amazing. I immediatly found what I needed to complete Brigitte's weapon - the Grappling weapon enhancement - and then gut sucked into the book. Anne - how do I say it - Anne is a true conniseur of what players want and what DMs need. She spent a year playtesting all the content in this sucker, that is how dedicated she was to making this whole thing work. In 38 pages you get so so much that people around the table have been craving for years. Overall, Ghesh's is a stunning job, and I tip my hat to one of the most talented creators I know and look up to. I am honored to award Ghesh's the Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ghesh's Guide to Making Things - A System for Crafting and Modifying Equipment in 5th Edition D&D
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Corpus Malicious Demo Booklet
Publisher: Dream Realm Storytellers
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2019 07:57:02

Have you ever wanted to go absolutely frigging grimdark nuts with your D&D game? Have you ever wanted to pull from Doom, Dark Souls, Bloodborne, or Gears of War to make your table pull out their electric guitars and start riffing? Well, what is given to you in the Corpus Malicious Demo Booklet is just a taste of what the folks at Dream Realm Storytellers just launched on Kickstarter. Now - this book is truly meant for mature readers and mature gamers, folks who understand the level and twisted and darkness that this book will be planting you in. It is not meant for the faint of heart, or memelords - it is meant for serious players, whether you are looking at the backgrounds like Cultist or Murderer, or some of the monsters which really stir some fear. I do appreciate that the team put a content warning in the front of the book, and overall, it is well needed. The demo - if just a taste of the full book - dives deep into the darkness, danger, and debauchery of evil, and makes for a tough read at some points. But I am still glad a book like this will be in circulation, as it allows for roleplay exploration of the dark sides of humanity and fantasy. Overall, a very well designed and well crafted demo with plenty of promise for the future.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Corpus Malicious Demo Booklet
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Bard College of Percussion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2019 07:45:09

Drums signifiy something that is innately part of humanity - the need for a beat, for a rhythm. Most bands who don't have drums suffer, in my opinion, as they do not have the steady backbone a full drum set supplies - and while a bass guitar might fill that voice, a drummer usually has the loudest personality. Enter Chad's Bard College of Percussion, and let me tell you this bad boy is LOADED! Chad fits so much into 32 pages that it is mind boggling it all stays put - "...2 New Bard Colleges, 3 New Backgrounds, 17 New Instruments, A Faction: Seekers of Kurtulmak, A Lair and Short Adventure, 3 NPC Percussionists, 12 Magical Percussion Instruments.." - it is chockerbock full of awesome content. I think one of my favorite pieces from this supplement is the Combat Drummer background, as that just opens up so much roleplay potential in mind. And I also really dig the amount of new ethnic instruments that Chad added - handpan and dholak for life. Overall, this is an amazing addition to any player's library, especially those who frequent bardic characters.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bard College of Percussion
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the kind words, Cameron!
The Big Book of Horrors (5e)
Publisher: P.B. Publishing
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/15/2019 07:45:19

Cody adds another slamming title to The Big Book of series with The Big Book of Horrors (5e). As always he combines perfect mechanics with spicy roleplay potential, and it is always a good time to see what he has built. Classwise, I love the new Barbarian Path of the Eldritch Abomination - as I really don't think there is enough Lovecraft in 5e, and Cody certainly satisfies that itch. I also really like the Oath of the Lantern Paladin, as it is a far less big beefy offensive option and much more of a roleplay based class option. The backgrounds - Cody's speciality - are fantastic, with Paranormal Investigator definitely being my top. With easy to follow layout and great balancing work, Cody - along with Phil, Chris, and the many talanet artists of the stock pieces and other gems within - The Big Book of Horrors (5e) is a perfect addition to any spoopy table.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Big Book of Horrors (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Treasures of Ravenloft
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2019 07:36:20

Dave's Treasures series is one I am getting excited for, so when he asked me to take a look at Treasures of Ravenloft I did not hesitate, as I love Ravenloft as a setting. With Bob's haunting cover art, you immediatly get sucked into 21 pages of spoopy tray-jure, and they are fantastic. Along with new magic items, you get new spells, new wondrous items, and all of it fit together into a well laid out and well organized piece. I honestly really enjoyed the addition of the pistols and rifles, as I think asides from Eberron and Ravnica, Barovia radiates the 18th century motif that can often go well or poorly depending on how it's done, and Ravenloft does it perfectly. Overall, I cannot wait to add this little beauty to my first Curse of Strahd game!

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Treasures of Ravenloft
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Adaptable NPCs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/09/2019 22:09:37

With amazing original art, unique stat blocks, and the short adventures, this little beauty is swiftly becoming one of my favorite DMs Guild creations. When the gang over at Grimlore Entertainment asked me to give this puppy a look, I dove at the chance after reviewing their Adaptable NPCs II: Calamity - and I loved that. The art really makes this piece stand out as it is stunning - and most of the the artists featured I follow on Twitter, all being amazing talent - and it is art that truly adds to the product. The maps are also well done, and the little adventures are easily laid out and able to be followed.

I have a lot of favorite NPCs in this book, but I leveled it to my top five: the Goblin Corsair, Sword Saint, Commander, Apothecary, and Loremaster. I could go on and on about them, but I won't. Let's just say that the lore on all of them is open ended just enough to plop them into any game of intrigue and build upon their story from there. Overall, the Grimlore gang have blown me away with Adaptable NPCs.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adaptable NPCs
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 123 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items