Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Neverember's Guide to Urbanization
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2019 20:47:15

When Massimo was looking for folks to review Neverember's Guide to Urbanization, I jumped on the chance. I love anything that adds new levels of depth and intricacy to a game, and with this honking supplement, I was not disappointed at all. With tons of new mechanics - classes, roll tables, rules, charts, and other strategies - all based around building and developing cities or expanding already existing towns/villages into towns/cities, what Neverember's does is pretty much make it so that you could run an entire campaign arch in a city.

One of the things that I have often run into, especially after playing the seminal City of Mist RPG, is that D&D lacks mechanics or really much of a push to run games set within large communities. Now, I know its all about imagination and theater-of-the-mind (jeez stupid, this is D&D, OF COURSE you could run a game in a city) there was something lacking whenever I wanted to do such a game. Building something from scratch just wasn't cutting it. And what Massimo and the rest of the team created with this book satisfied my every need to be able to replicate that very feeling of complete worldbuilding.

This book has completely blown me out of the water with this product - combining tons of awesome new tables to develop and build events, individuals, and portions of the city, to the beautiful layering of rule and story that fills this 75 page supplement - which I honestly feel should be developed into a whole-hog sourcebook - to bursting. If you don't have Neverember's Guide to Urbanization you are missing the hell out.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Neverember's Guide to Urbanization
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creating and Leveling a Guild
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2019 20:19:38

What David has done is take would could be a massive undertaking with tons of complicated mechanics and loopholes and built it into several roll-tables, some easy rules, and clear direction - all in five pages. When he asked me to review Creating and Leveling a Guild I was very excited because I love guilds and think they are honestly a little underused in RPGs - hence why I always try to use them.

And with David's product, the process becomes so much easier. Now with a few quick rolls, you can level your guild, give it new features, how much XP players can earn from opening it, and even offers a couple NPCs to populate it with! Overall Creating and Leveling a Guild is a perfect product for DMs looking to add a little bit of Renaissance flavor to their table.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creating and Leveling a Guild
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Deep One
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/10/2019 12:24:33

I'm not a big horror guy, but when I was talking to Joshua about Jaden's adventure, I became interested and wanted to give it a look. The cover already pulls you in, making you think of a bunyip or other murderous sprite dwelling in the reeds surrounding a lake or swamp. The Deep One is a merge of numerous different psychological and supsense horror classics: Relic, IT, The Dark Tower, The Tomb of Dracula, Pet Semetary, and other titles that feed on primal human fears. The layout is stark, simple, and fuels the mood of the adventure all the way through - but what The Deep One also does is make the players directly invested in the conflict, direclty invested in the small town of Orden and the people and their plight. While there are some minor issues with typos and at times the formatting seems to fall off at points, overall Jaden put a great deal of time into creating an excellent dark and gritty adventure.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 18



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Deep One
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Malady Chronicles
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/10/2019 07:11:53

There are many premier reasons why the saying "Two heads are better than one," has made it to this day and age. Or in this case, numerous heads are better than one. When my friend Jason Mpakos posted in the Dungeon Masters Creator Circle that this bad boy was looking for reviewers, I jumped on the chance. Adventure anthologies have come to be something I enjoy, as it is much like a collection of short stories one might find at your local libraries: a book with Asimov, Bradbury, Lovecraft, Howard, and other classics that you can skim through and pick and choose.

The Malady Chronicles are a stunning feat of creative prowess, slamming towards you full-tilt on plague-ridden train tracks. Every adventure is a little different, whether it is Blooms of Oshadis or Shadow over Waterdeep, all these arcs ride on different themes; political intrigue, rural superstition, witchcraft, fear of science, and the biggest of all - humanity's terror of the germ.

The maps are well laid out, the book is visually gripping and pulls the reader in right from the get-go, and at almost 200 pages, this tome is worth more - at least I think - than 90% of the quest books that Wizards has put out in recent times. It feels and reads like it was done by experts - which at the end of the day it was. So if you haven't, go and get all diseased-up and buy yourself a copy of The Malady Chronicles. I promise you won't get sick...too bad...

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Malady Chronicles
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Psychopomp Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/09/2019 19:10:36

Custom classes are very often hit or miss for me - but when Massimo put out news about Psychopomp, I wanted to take a look. The concept already is an alluring one: you as a character helping guide lost spirits and souls to their final resting place through the energies of the ethereal plane. On top of a new class, you get several NPCs, some new spells, and a new background in the Exorcist - which is pretty kickass.

The Psychopomp works kind of as a hybrid of a paladin, cleric, mystic, druid, and shaman; pulling in little pieces from each to form something completely new. The layout is clean, the organization is well thought-out, and overall it is very balanced. I have to say that Tormented Soul is probably my favorite Spirit Guardian (essentially your archetype/subclass) cause you literally can be Ghost Rider, and who the hell wouldn't want to be Ghost Rider?

This is a great new class, and if anyone is looking to really delve into some hefty roleplaying and a whole new landscape of gaming, then Psychopomp is the gateway for you.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Psychopomp Class
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Grappler's Handbook
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/09/2019 18:50:16

I hate long drawn-out combats in my games - I really do. But when I saw Grappler's Handbook, I became intrigued, so I reached out to the authors to let me do a review of it - and I can say I enjoyed it thoroughly. Combat, I think at least, is something that can easily be well-roleplayed and not this massive hulking beast which I am always hesitant of. However, what Jaden and Joshua have done is add a sheet of reality to grappling combat - including research with actual martial artists - and made it even more immersive. Now it isn't just grappling, its grappling: mounting, sideholding, defence, armbar - it enhances combat so much!

I especially love the illustrations outlining each different position. I have some minor issues with the formatting and layout - at times the theme and feel of the supplement seem to shift or go off in strange directions, so I think a unified layout style and feel would help boost it up. At the end of the day, if you are a DM like me and need to try and break out of the drudge of combat scenarios - you gotta snag yourselves a copy of Grappler's Handbook.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 18



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grappler's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Condensed Campaigns: A Broken Sky
Publisher: Evil Robot Games
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/09/2019 18:23:37

Campaign settings are my bread and butter - I love them. So when Condensed Campaigns: A Broken Sky came out, I knew I needed to give it a look-see: and boy was it worth it. You are thrown headlong into a shattered and destroyed steampunk world filled with amazing lore, interesting races, and sweet new mechanics all in 57 pages. While my top race has to be the knomoi, the avalar are a close second, but the best thing about all the races in this world is that they feel genuinely impacted by the lore and a rooted piece of the world. In addition, you get new gear and new technologies, as well as a quick guide to adventuring in the Broken Sky and the dangers within it.

Overall, this setting is fantastic, and I cannot applaud it enough. Usually I am a lover of big honking world books, but I can truly appreciate and am very impressed that the team behind Condensed Campaigns: A Broken Sky was able to fit so much into such a small - dare I say condensed - sourcebook. It is absolutely worth the $10, with excellent art, layout, and design.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Natural 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Condensed Campaigns: A Broken Sky
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Killer Kobolds from Outer Space
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/09/2019 16:20:29

I enjoy many things in life - good slapstick comedy, comic books, RPGs, tacos, a peaceful thunderstorm. Well, what Oliver has put together with Killer Kobolds from Outer Space hits on three of my favorite things - perhaps even tacos, although I don't know how irradiated kobold would taste. Anywhose, this adventure book is fantastic: both beautifully laid out in comic book panels, looking like a hybrid between Aquisitions Incorporated, the card game Sentinels of the Multiverse, and all the cheesy 50s/60s sci-fi movies.

It both pokes fun at classic fantasy RPG tropes, the B-movie crazy of the mid and late 1900s, and functions as a high-level comedic adventure series. But what I really love about this little gem is that I see it as a perfect introduction for kids into RPGs - maybe even adults or teens. With so much kobold katastrophe klapped into twenty-two kicktastic pages, it's a wonder this little time bomb ain't flying off the digital racks.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Killer Kobolds from Outer Space
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Heaven & Hell: Aasimar & Tiefling Ancestries
Publisher: Rising Phoenix Games
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2019 06:50:36

Kim and Rodney have never failed to amaze me with their work, so when Heaven & Hell: Aasimar & Tiefling Ancestries was announced, I knew I needed to review this and see the combined and amazing skill of two DMs Guild powerhouses. I can tell you right now, it is stunning - absolutely stunning. With Rodney's amazing attention to building excellent layout and perfect narrative and Kim's skill at building compact and clear abilities and tables, this book is practically glowing with perfection topped off with Bob's stunning art.

It feels and reads like a Paizo-published piece, knocking most other fan-made content out of the running. I especially enjoy the tables at the end of each section which gives you so many cool rollable options for a unique Tiefling or Aasimar appearence, such as how an Aasimar's hair always smells like a spring meadow or a Tiefling has a forked tongue. The ancestral feats are also great for both, adding more and more to this chocker-block full 40-page masterpiece.

Anyone who is getting ready to start up a Pathfinder 2e game should definitely grab themselves a copy of this book otherwise you are going to be missing out.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heaven & Hell: Aasimar & Tiefling Ancestries
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Cultures of Celmae: Oyapok 2e
Publisher: Wayward Rogues Publishing
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/07/2019 18:46:46

I grew not far from a pond and a river, so I am all too familiar with the little critters that inspired this race which Robert so beautifully put together. One part river rat, one part muskrat, and one part otter, the Oyapok are my kind of race - nomadic waterfaring wanderers in search of the next hunt or their next cove to dock in. With excellent feats such as Tough Tail or Wash Pain Away, and fantastically engaging lore - Cultures of Celmae: Oyapok 2e is more than just a race supplement, going above and beyond in 11 pages that some race pieces struggle to do in more. Definitely worth the price, and you get so much more than just a race for Pathfinder - you get whole new roleplay opportunities and gateways.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cultures of Celmae: Oyapok 2e
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Big Book of Backgrounds (5e)
Publisher: P.B. Publishing
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/07/2019 16:23:58

Backgrounds truly flesh out a character - and this is why I am imfamous for having four-page-backstories at level one. But when Cody told me about The Big Book of Backgrounds (5e) I thought he was joking. Well, turns out he wasn't, as the BBoB certainly lives up to its name. With 40+ new backgrounds to pick from, it is hard to pin down exactly my top one - so I give you my top five: the Undertaker, the Planar Scholar, the Treasure Hunter, the Explorer and the Farmer. And those are just five, I had to narrow that down from more than forty and it hurt in my soul, like deep deep down.

The few backgrounds you get in the Player's Handbook are fine and dandy, and offer a good base for new players to start, but sometimes I have DMed with new players who want something more than what is in the PB - now I know exactly what to give to them. Your roleaplay potential explodes by like 50 billion percent and now you can have very interesteding and complex level one characters who can dive right into the story. So if you haven't snagged a copy of The Big Book of Backgrounds (5e) then you need to stop reading this and go snag yourself one.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Big Book of Backgrounds (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Compleat Mistwood Bestiary
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2019 22:14:22

So, out of the many things RPG in this world I love is bestiaries, and when Zeke was advertising The Compleat Mistwood Bestiary I knew I needed to hop on that and review it here at the show. It did not disappoint me at all, as I am always looking for new monsters to add to my campaigns that my players don't know. I think my top is definitely the Hodag - cause A) I love the name and B) I love the concept of this malformed wiseperson running around the Feywild looking to help people. And while the Hodag has a sad backstory, it is still one of hope.

The other big thing I enjoyed about this bestiary was the literal truck-load of Alice In Wonderland and other Lewis Carrol-inspired critters throughout it - cause even though the dude was on some serious opium, his imagination was a wild place: perfect for a bestiary. However, the big thing holding this bestiary back from attaining true awesomeness - and I discussed this with Zeke - is the lack of original art. Layout is great, organization is great, the stat blocks are great, but it needs a load of OG art to really push it to the top.

Overall, if you as a DM need to add some frubjous wierdness to your game, than look no further - kalloo kallay!

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 18



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Compleat Mistwood Bestiary
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Fall of Mith: Mithos Manor
Publisher: Tim P. GMing
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2019 22:04:33

I contacted Tim about his current Kickstarter project which is part of The Fall of Mith series, so to tide me over he sent me the first one to review. And I must say, it doesn't disappoint at all with seventy-two pages of adventuresome goodness. With an introduction to a new micro-setting and with themes pulling from Holmes, Agatha Christie, and other Victorian themed detective/crime stories, Mithos Manor is a stunning example of why homebrew content in this day and age is far superior to some things that the big boys are putting out.

The risk and reward with this adventure is high stakes, even for low level players, and is made to be super DM friendly: it is clearly laid out and well organized with excellent interior art and maps. But what I really love is the suspense that builds as players make their way through the manor and the party going on there, doing their best to blend in but also on the hunt for a dark interloper.

At five bucks, this adventure is an absolute steal and could definitely keep veteran and new players entertained alike - a stunning example of a balance of roleplay and mechanic done well. Overall, I am happy to say that Tim has me hooked. I want a gazetter for Mith now.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Fall of Mith: Mithos Manor
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Oceanic Options (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2019 21:39:32

When I saw E.R.F Johnson post about Oceanic Options (5e) I got very excited. I am not a huge fan of Ghosts of Saltmarsh - personally I found it rather underwhelming. But what I did heartily enjoy is all the homebrew content that came out of it. Oceanic Options (5e) offers you a new race, four new subraces, and three new class options - all in eleven pages - which is pretty darn good.

The addition of the Selkie race is something I appreciate a lot, as I am a big fan of Celtic mythology which I think is often underused in fantasy RPGs which are usually Germanic-Nordic centric. The Dragon Turtle subrace for dragonborn blew me out of the water, as it is an excellent transfer from land to ocean that makes sense and works well. With classes - I really enjoyed the Druid Circle of the Sea and the Mariner, I think with the Mariner being my favorite as it makes a fighter viable in a sea-based campaign.

However, as much as I love this product, there are some really big issues with it that are hard to ignore. The first is that the layout is very scattered and extremely bland - just text on a white background. I also noticed that there is no mention/notice of the Open Gaming License or standard protocol for making homebrew content on the DMs Guild. But the biggest killer for me is that there is no art on the inside - nothing. It gives the reader nothing to look at but black text on white screen, and it wrenches any sense of attachment out. I think even some simple stock art would be a welcome change to the starkness of the document.

Overall, this product is at a middling ground for me. I really enjoy the content and love the new mechanical and roleplay potential that is offered - but it is that nakedness of color or image or even interesting layout that holds it back from achieving something full and fantastic.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 10



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Oceanic Options (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Prism: Light & Magic
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/03/2019 17:58:30

Steve continues to impress me, and when he asked me to review Prism: Light & Magic I was more than down. The whole concept is awesome - the idea that the prism is a manipulator of energy, light and emotions. They almost remind me of Hindu deities or fully enlightened Buddhists mythologized: the prism is a being who has reached Nirvana...and gone beyond. One of the first mechanics that I really enjoyed was the prefered light color and how that feeds into how people might percieve the prism or how the prism percieves themselves. Then the Facet subclasses - Void being my personal favorite - just add to the coolness of this class. I think overall the best thing about Prism: Light & Magic is that it is a class that drives deep roleplaying interactions and thinking because their powers directly stream and manipulate emotions, which is crazy cool. Snag yourselves a copy before you get a light blade through your forehead.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Prism: Light & Magic
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 76 to 90 (of 143 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items