Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Eat the Rich | Volume 1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2019 12:00:31

Three weeks ago, there was a call put out for reviewers to take a look at Eat the Rich | Volume 1 and I hopped into the fray - so then a week and a half ago when I got it and dived into the book itself, I absolutely fell in love. Right off the bat this book is one part comedy and one part serious social commentary - with Cat's and Alicia's introductions really hitting home about the intense irony surrounding an anticapitalist quest book on an immensely capitalist site. But to the core - you have an amazing amount of talent in this book, with a huge team of writers and authors working their tails off to give you 17 anticapitalist adventures for Tiers 1 through 4. But what truly stands out to me is the message of this questbook, as well as the unique visuals and layout that makes this feel like a propoganda leaflet someone threw together in their basement, or a referendum brochure someone printed in secret from their office on excess paper stock. At the end of the day, this book stands out the most to me for the commentary, and it truly sticks it to what is wrong with the global economic system. So for that, I am pleased to award Eat the Rich | Volume 1 the Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eat the Rich | Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Wrong Turn: Dragon Heist
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2019 10:03:12

This supplement answers a lot of those "What If?" questions that could happen if your players do an oopsy and kill an important NPC. More particularly attuned to Waterdeep: Dragon Heist, this little book can also be a model for DMs who run into that all-too-familiar scenario of their players going full muder hobo. It has a very OSR feel, with the layout and art, and honeslty reminded me of the old Choose Your Own Adventure books my dad used to have as a kid - which I know is like analog D&D but you get my point. Anywhose, a really great little piece to couple with any DM ready to run Waterdeep. My only complaints would be that I might perhaps consider a visual revamp as far as the cover image and also think about switching the interior font choice - just is a little jarring on the eyes. Otherwise, a great project. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 16



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wrong Turn: Dragon Heist
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for your review! I'm sorry that you didn't like the cover and the font choice was jarring. I'll keep your feedback in mind for future products, to make it more visually distinct.
Amarune's Almanac: Forests of the Realms
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2019 09:42:46

This book - breath, breath, it'll be okay - fuck it, THIS BOOK IS FRAKKING AMAZING! For most people that know me, they know that I love anything that has to do with woodlands, forests, and exploring the wilderness - and Amarune's Almanac: Forest of the Realms hits home in the heart. My grandfather is a lumberjack and had his own sawmill for 30 years and my dad is a forester: both have taught me to love, respect, and honor the woods - to treat it as its own being. This is another allstar project with Steve at the head of this massive timber trireme tour-de-forest, and it is absolutely stunning. It feels alive and breaths with so much gusto and life, and you can feel Amarune's heart and soul in this as she writes to you from within the High Forest, the Lurkwood, or the Jungles of Chult. While this book offers so much mechanically, it made me feel like a little kid out in the woods walking around with my Spiderwick Chronicles sprite guidebook trying to find all the sprites and properly identify them. It brought me back to a simpler time in my life, and for that, I am immensely thankful. And it is also why I am pleased to give Amarune's Almanac: Forests of the Realms the Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge. Thank you, Steve and company, for taking me back in time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amarune's Almanac: Forests of the Realms
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Wisdom and Warning: The Demon Wastes
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2019 08:36:43

When Alan was looking for reviewers for Wisdom and Warning: The Demon Wastes I dove on that chance like a halfling pterodactyl rider on a lightning rail full of Cannith gold. This book is stunning, both visually and with the sheer amount of content Alan and his team were able to slam into 119 pages, which doesn't seem like that much. With new monsters, some little encounters, and a ton of new lore that really delves into probably one of the most interesting zones in Eberron, WaW is a perfect addition to anyone's collection if they are looking to pick up Rising from the Last War and drop in hot to the Dragon Between. But overall, these is a crispness and coherence to this book - which has a titanic allstar writing and art and design crew - that makes it stand out as being as professional as the big-budget hardcovers. So, go and get yourself a copy. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wisdom and Warning: The Demon Wastes
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Academy: The Wizard Class Hall
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2019 07:59:13

Funny story about this product - so earlier in the day before it launched, I had been pondering how to involve a wizard school in an upcoming campaign I am going to be running, and I could not for the life of me imagine how to build it - I was completely stumped. But then I got an alert that Jason was looking for reviewers, and I immediatly jumped on the chance to look at The Academy: The Wizard Class Hall. Not only is this well laid out and well organized, but it offers you all the tools to make a Hogwarts or Camp Halfblood-esque game come alive at your table. The Academy itself has that beautiful balance of just enough lore and not too much, with all of the different towers and sections being wonderful little hotspots for roleplay potential. My only main complaint is that I think this could really benefit from some higher quality art just to get the feel across, maybe an old tome motif, but otherwise I think the team on this did a fantastic job, and I will definitely be visiting the Academy in the future. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 18



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Academy: The Wizard Class Hall
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Puzzles, Predicaments, and Perplexities II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2019 07:40:22

When Steve first reached out to me to do a review for PPPII, I got super interested cause I will admit I didn't know there was a first one - which now I need to invest in. So, what Puzzles, Predicaments, and Perplexities II offers - that all DMs should grab - is a bunch of new...well...puzzles, predicaments, and perplexities. I will admit, I stink at coming up with good puzzles for my D&D games, I have never been good at it and a lot of the time they really crash and burn. However, with this handy dandy book, I now have all the tools to truly stump my players and leave them confused for hours, and not just have them stream roll through my encounters. I think my favorite scenario from the book is Ride the Lightning - without going into too much detail, it is quite a shocking experience and is both comical and extremely deadly. Overall, this is a wonderful book with great layout and design, and for any DMs who enjoy taking their games to the next level, you should get a copy. Comics, Clerics, & Controlllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Puzzles, Predicaments, and Perplexities II
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Adventures In Chronomancy
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/29/2019 13:50:39

Ryan contacted me about doing a review of this time-hopping paradox-puppy, and boy was I more than willing. Now, I won't say a lot since I don't want to ruin the amazing twists and turns in this collection as they are really awesome! But what Ryan did in assembling a team like Matt, Ben, and Fil was combine artistic, strategic, and writing talent out the wazoo. Fil's cover pulls you right in - except for the spiders. I will say that if anyone is as big of an arachnaphobe as I am - ye haf been wahrned. The actual time-travel mechanics are super easy to use - although I do advise you snag a copy of Time Traveler's Guide to Chronomancy in order to make things a little easier. These adventures offer swashbuckling hilarity, dungeon-delving madness, crime noir, and so much more: a ton of new monsters in the back (hourglass golem is my favorite hands-down), new spells, and new magic items. So if you are looking to whet your whistle on how to include time travel in any of your own campaigns, I highly recommend grabbing this book as it will give you a taste for how it can do. And then from there, it's your own temporal ball field. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures In Chronomancy
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Martial Archetype: Sworn Shield
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/21/2019 13:53:43

Out of the Martial Mayhem bundle we have the Sword Shield, a soldier of staunch dedication to holding the front lines with his mighty shield. Evan asked me to take a look at this puppy, and I was very excited to, however - I felt like something was lacking from what I had imagined. It felt more like a glorified feat rather than a class, with a lot of the abilities not really standing out to me as something epic and amazing that plants its shield upon the battlefield. However, that is not to say I didn't enjoy this archetype, I think it has a lot of potential. What I would suggest is go all out - go big, go epic, go intense and powerful. I feel like the two big places where the archetype falls short is the Shield Bash and Shelter of Iron abilities, as I think those could be a lot more powerful. I also dunno if the shield on the first page is technically allowed since I don't recall seeing it in any of the DMG stock image bundles. So overall, I think this supplement has a little way to go until it is totally ready - the potential is there, I think it is just falling short. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 10



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Martial Archetype: Sworn Shield
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Hardboiled Heroes [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/21/2019 13:35:00

Let me tell you, this bundle is fantastic. When Evan over at Thieves' Cant Games asked me to take a look at this bundle and Martial Mayhem I got super excited - cause I am always down to more stuff to read. With Hardboiled Heroes you get Thunderstones and Smokesticks, Feythorn Archer, Archfey Bloodline, Blood Magic, Sworn Shield, and Path of the Warchanter. All of these are fantastic new mechanics - the Warchanter, a new primal path for barbarians evoking epic warcrys; the Feythorn Archer, a new martial option that weaves primal magic into their archery; and Thunderstones and Smokesticks, a list of new alchemical tools and accesories for players; along with many others. What I love about all of these is that they are wonderfully mechanically built, as well as provide so so much material for any game. Path of the Warchanter is by far my favorite, making for a far more diverse barbarian path for those players looking to accentuate their game. The only place I feel like this could benefit would be down the road for some original art and perhaps locking it all into one book. Overall, this is an awesome bundle, so you should snag it while you can! Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 18



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hardboiled Heroes [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Magic Items of Kara-Tur
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/15/2019 09:22:06

Rob is an amazing talent, and his next entry in his Kara-Tur titles is a perfect example of his work. This project, on top of being super fairly priced and amazingly laid-out - IT LOOKS SO NICE! - if offers a bunch of new magic items, as well as new effects that magic items could have, such as fear or wild that can be applied to armor. With weapons you have new abilities like balance or honorable (which is kickass, I'll say). But the big thing that Rob adds to the D&D world with this book is talismans, a single-use magic item which is essentially the Eastern version of a potion. And they are really really cool - I am pretty sure the Black Fan is my favorite. Overall, this is an excellent product, and honestly can be applied to any 5e game even if it isn't set in Kara-Tur - which immediatly boosts this for me, as it's not specifically locked into one place. Magic Items of Kara-Tur is professionally put together, excellently organized and balanced, and full of potential in any game. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Magic Items of Kara-Tur
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Acererak's Guide to Lichdom
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2019 12:34:04

Let me tell you - I really wanted to review this product, and the Marcos were very generous in giving me the chance to. The concept of lichdom is something that I don't think is explored in D&D enough - obviously we have Tomb of Annihlation and we have liches in the books and the like - however, just how does one really get into the nitty and gritty of building, developing, and immortalizing a lich in a game. I honestly think that liches are some of the coolest monsters in D&D, and I really want to try to use them in my games more - and not just sheer power-wise either, they can have such interesting stories. But, anywhose - what do you get in this book? You get four new pregened liches as examples of how they work as big bads, tactics and lair building techniques for the liches, as well as some new monsters, new magic items, and new traps. I am definitely going to see myself using this in future games, and I highly recommend that if anyone wants to use more liches in their games - go grab this book - the Marcos did a great job. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Acererak's Guide to Lichdom
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Animal Sidekicks
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/07/2019 13:06:47

Allow me to tell you a tale of woofers, beakies, flappers, scalies and meows - for within these warm and happy pages sit the work of so many amazing writers all under Adam's watchful eye. Taking the Sidekick mechanics and rules and running headlong into the bush with them, the posse of creators in this project come to bring you some amazing animal compadres - such as the badger, displacer beast, holliphant, and awakened plant! I especially love that now you can have a dragon wyrmling as a sidekick, because DRAGONS, more specifically BABY DRAGONS! Very often, rangers and druids and magic users luck out because they are able to have an animal companion or a familiar, leaving other characters lacking when they might want a furred/feathered/scaled/woody buddy - but fret no longer! This book - which is amazingly cohesive and well-laid out for so many people and voices being involved in it - has a special place in my soul for all the times I was told I couldn't have an animal buddy as a fighter cause it would die. Not anymore! Animal Sidekicks is more than deserving of the Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Animal Sidekicks
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Mark of the Vestige (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/05/2019 07:30:13

Let me tell you, when E.R.F got a hold of me to take a look at this bad bumpkin, I was more than happy to - and I gotta say this is one of the most interesting books I have every looked at. In 56 pages, E.R.F manages to slam you with a ton of new content in revamping, bringing back, and utilizing the vestiges from 3 and 3.5 in the world of 5e. So for those of you that don't know, vestiges are strange chaotic entities who exist in the nether between all the physical planes, and they are TERRIFYINGLY AWESOME! You have a huge slew of sweet new vestiges to work with, as well as rules on how to work with binding and pact magic with vestiges, as well as cool new magic items and handouts with printable cards of each vestige. One of the best things I think E.R.F did with the vestiges here is that they have an physical toll on the binder, for instance - with Amon you grow black rams horns, with Eligor one of your hands is covered in scales - and so on. It has so so much roleplay potential as well as new gameplay mechanics, and it is the sheer amount of work that E.R.F put into this project that makes me honored to give it the Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mark of the Vestige (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Infamous Adversaries
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/01/2019 12:11:13

This book is an example of so many things that are awesome about collaborative projects. When Ben was looking for folks to do reviews I was more than ecstatic to get a chance to look into this bad larry. And I can tell you without a shred of a doubt that is is worth all the effort and time that went into it. The skill that went into creating this book - with excellent layout, a ton of raw talent, well balanced creatures, and a hell of an attitude - is everything a new DM or seasoned DM would want out of a villainous bestiary. Reminding me of Ultimate Adversaries from the Star Wars d20 days, Infamous Advesaries has everything I like in a big beefy DMs Guild project. I highly reccomend everyone snag a copy, as it will add so much to your table. I really enjoy the Sea-ambling Mound - probably my top critter in there - but at the end of the day, a great piece of game design.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infamous Adversaries
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Disturbed Graves
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/30/2019 16:21:59

Disturbed Graves is a homage to the grimdark fantasy that fills titles like Warhammer, Dark Souls, Diablo, and Bloodborne. Death is a necessary evil, and often must be used to the benefit or loss of others. This new iteration of the Pale Master - resurrected from 3.5 - is both faithful and a breath of fresh air, just in time for All Hallow's Eve. The five subclasses - elegies - are unique and different, easily allowing you to potentially have a whole party of pale masters and still being diverse. Add the grafting mechanics, and you have full-on body horror as only the pros can do. It is often said that death always finds those who run, but those who embrace it it hides from, and the Pale Master is caught somewhere in between - deathless and lifeless all in one. What Trevor has done is allow players to become something truly new and exciting, something beyond the norm. They can now roleplay and play in the Gray Space between mortality and death, which is a hell of a heavy topic to talk about in D&D. I think the elegies almost represent different cultural or spiritual views of death and the afterlife, and this could be a massive affect on your character. And this is why I am pleased to present Disturbed Graves with the Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge for going into territory rarely trodden, and bringing the deep thinking back into roleplay.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Disturbed Graves
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 132 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items