Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Call from the Deep
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2019 15:59:35

If you as a DM turn away from this adventure - you are missing out SOOOOO much. As most folks know, I tend to not run prewritten adventures or campaigns, thinking they often hinder story and open narration - however, there are often those that stop me in my tracks and forcefeed me my words with a forklift. Call from the Deep is one of those such campaigns, cause sweet ilithids it has it all.

Pirates? Check. Eldtrich horror? Check. Swashbuckling adventure? Check. The wrath of the elements? Check. Need I go on? What JVC Parry has created with Call from the Deep is an evocative, terrifying, and kickass campaign that will suck anyone in with its glorious gleaming tentacles. From the start of the campaign with a high-stakes sahuagin attack at sea, to the beginnings of intrigue-ridden roleplay that gradually grows as you adventure through the Pirate Islands - also a shoutout for the awesome Davy Jones and Spelljammer Easter eggs in there - to the tumultous final confrontation, you NEED to play this one.

Overall, Call from the Deep emulates so much of what I love about D&D: genre-smashing, high stakes adventure, flowing plots with plenty of room for improvisation, and a ton of passion behind the ship's wheel.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Call from the Deep
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Anthology: Comprehensive Equipment
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2019 15:51:17

Every once in a while, you run into those players who really like to have a hyper-realistic game, and even I as a DM sometimes struggle with knowing what to do with those kinds of players - cause they aren't the only ones who want that. Very often when players want to buy homes or invest in property or business or get a mount/pet, I am left hanging cause there aren't any mechanics for that. Well, what Randall Right has built with his Anthology: Comprehensive Equipment is fantastic.

My top two are the Comprehensive Wealth Manual and Animal Handling Manual - mainly because I have had so many more encounters with stalls in gameplay related to these two specific topics. The Wealth Manual not only covers issues of owning, buying, and selling properites/businesses/assests and the like - it also gets into building and establishing armies, and even develops a whole rule system to building and creating properties at your own pace. The Animal Handling Manual is chock full of excellent mechanics to help not only players but DMs as well. With chapters on managing animals as NPCs, mounts in combat, and also managing them in the party, it allows for the constant want to unique animal companions to flow and work easily.

The Comprehensive Equipment Manual covers all the bases for keeping a rigid and grounded equipment pool - with options for stuff beyond your basic rations and adventurer's gear: such as vehicles, firearms, and even working in cool concepts and ages like The Jade Throne or Metal Poor Apocalypse. And with the Expanded Special Feature Manual, it takes that small section from the DMG and turns it into a full-blow supplement with tons of awesome mechanics for building games, settings, and encounters: for instance the History tables to discern the how the history of a region/continent/item was created and/or is held.

Overall, what Randall has put together is a boon to all DMs and players who want to Nolanize their games and ground it in reality just enough to make it feel truly innovative and interesting.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Anthology: Comprehensive Equipment
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Warriors of Sehanine
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/21/2019 16:53:01

I usually am not a huge fan of prewritten adventures - I tend to rarely use them and just build my own. However, Warriors of Sehanine is so amazingly beautiful and evocative and engaging that I will definitely see me breaking that long stretch of not using adventures. There is so much that is right with this adventure: absolutely stunning art, thoroughly developed plotlines and encounters, wonderful maps, and so much replay potential.

With the powerhouse trio that Emmerich, Parry and Warren display, it is a wonder that this adventure is not a Wizards published product: their attention to detail, layout, organization, and feel is stellar - and what makes it even better is that you can use Warriors of Sehanine as either and introduction to D&D or plop it in the middle of a game when you need a little something to spice things up and then you will have all you need right there.

But I think what I love most about Warriors of Sehanine - without giving anything away - is the dedication to storytelling. The characters and scenarios feel real and believable, and harkens back to the old days of D&D when narrative storytelling and roleplaying was the core of the game rather than large stat blocks and clunky mechanical endeavors.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warriors of Sehanine
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Weird Stuff I Found On The Dungeon Floor: A Guide to Unique Magical Items and Their Construction
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/21/2019 07:35:24

Something I have always struggled with as a DM is how to handle dishing out loot - especially magical items - without breaking the game and in turn making my players 1980s action heroes able to wade through swathes of enemies while their biceps glow with sweat, brandishing their +3 vorpal swords. Maybe a little much - but you get the picture.

With what Isaac has created in Weird Stuff I Found On The Dungeon Floor: A Guide to Unique Magical Items and Their Construction is a boon to every single DM on the face of this planet. It offers advice on building magic items, how to make it so they don't break your game, and even gives 100 sample low-level magic items to use. I honestly really like the Bagged Garden: "This bag opens up into a small 3 by 3 foot plot of land, this land is fertile and can grow herbs, and plants as well as small berry bushes. The garden can be closed back up and everything within it will be maintained. The bag provides sunlight or darkness to plants within, but not both. Water and garden maintenance are still required." Dunno whether it's the gardener in my genetics or something else.

Anywhose, it's stuff like that - practical magical items - that are pocketed across this document, as well as totally badass ones. But it really helps that at the end of the supplement there are tables listing the items, their type, and whether or not they need attunement. Overall, a stunning and much-needed product that will help any DM in a pinch.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Weird Stuff I Found On The Dungeon Floor: A Guide to Unique Magical Items and Their Construction
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Tomb of the Dwarven King
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/21/2019 06:54:12

The Tomb of the Dwarven King is everything a DM needs to introduce players to the world of D&D in eight succinct pages. Well written, easily laid out, and with an interesting prescense made to pull new players in, this adventure is enjoyable and interesting. It can serve as either an introductory one-shot, or can tie into the beginning of Lost Mine of Phandelver (the adventure in the D&D Starter Set). I think the only thing lacking from this adventure is maybe some alternate class options so as to introduce new players to the concept of class supplements, but otherwise it is an excellent little adventure and won't kill your printer.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 18



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Tomb of the Dwarven King
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

A Mishap of Ill Portent
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/12/2019 14:57:25

The Scarred Lands is an awesome setting, and with A Mishap of Ill Portent, players who are new to the world begin in the little sleepy village of Durgan's Rest and from there the adventure ezplodes. With plenty of roleplaying and combat, Travis did an excellent job of designing a wonderful multi-module campaign.One of the other things that Travis did excellently well was to create a setting, NPCs, and a conflict that will truly draw in the players and make them get invested a) in Scarred Lands and b) in the game. Too often do I run into an issue of players not giving two hoots about the place they are playing in.

On top of that, I really like the new monster addition in the appendix of the scorch zombie - because there are many things that can instill fear into players and NPCS, with fire and undeath being two of them. Overall, A Mishap of Ill Portent is an excellent and marvelous entry in the new Scarred Lands line-up, but also offers DMs a chance to run their players in a game that truly will make them need to understand and invest in the world around them.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Score: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Mishap of Ill Portent
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Seinoc's Snarled Sphere - Adventure Guide (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/12/2019 14:56:22

First off, I have to say that I absolutely love the concept behind this adventure - a mad wizard who makes a deal with a devil to create the ultimate dungeon for any who may be brave (or crazy) enough to accept the challenge. And when it says that Seinoc poured all his work into the Sphere - it means it.

Not only is the dungeon a colossal challenge with puzzles, monsters, traps and more, but I think the most interesting feature that gets woven in is the fact that there are easy ways to keep players involved even after death - making it far less of a hassle to get characters back in the game and back to their adventure. I especially like the cloning chamber aspect, as that is something you don't see very often.

As a DM, I am always trying to find quick dungeons or complex artifacts to throw at my players - and Seinoc's Snarled Sphere is definitely that - all in 18 pages. I am definitely planning on bringing Baarilek the Patient into a game at some point in the future. So, adventuruers, will you test Seinoc's life's work? Or will you be weak and frail before the Sphere?

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Seinoc's Snarled Sphere - Adventure Guide (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Old Olga and Young Yvonne
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2019 17:19:14

The world of hags and witchcraft is one often stewed over in pubs and taverns, in old history books, and in the folktales of yor. Sven has created an excellent adventure that takes everything about witches, hags, and those ancient tales and combined it into one kick-ass tale. With its deep connections to old Faerunian lore and varied story trail, you could play this adventure a number of times and it could always be different.

The piece that stands out to me in the begining is how Sven displays the stories of Olga and Yvonne parallel to each other - and this is something vary rare to be given both sympathetic villians and horrifying heroes all in one bundle. While Yvonne's tale tells of terror and power and oppression, Olga's is one of fear and exclusion and loneliness, making both characters truly three-dimensional.

Along with the useful section on speed-building villager NPCS - which I want more of, perhaps even a whole supplement on that ;) - and the beautifully made flow-charts of how the adventure can change and develop, Old Olga and Young Yvonne is a gritty and realistic adventure in the sense that no matter what happens, the characters will be affected and feel it deep down.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old Olga and Young Yvonne
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Wolpertinger, Wererat - Well!
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2019 17:04:21

The tale of Nula and Nibbles is one to warm the heart of even the most icy DM and most murder-hobo of players, the true story of a little girl and her bunny. Sven manages to fit a sucinct and perfectly toned adventure into 25 pages that serves as a break from large cosmic or divine level adventures, and totals out at a little over 2 hours of play - perfect for an easy night to introduce new players to the game.

With a couple wonderfully made NPCs who can easily fit into other campaigns as reaccuring characters, some original diseases which are pretty gnarly and a couple gag magical items, Wolpertinger, Wererat - Well! is an adventure with soul, comedy, love, and Fawlty Towers-esque antics as the players attempt to do their best to recover Nibbles from wherever he has gone missing to.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wolpertinger, Wererat - Well!
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Fellozial's Ultimate Guide to Poison
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/09/2019 17:51:11

Poison is as old as the Earth, and will continue to be the constant bane of humanity both as part of nature and part of any assassin's arsenal. That is why it is so surprising that the base D&D books offer so little about poison for players to use - and honestly it was a straight-up shocker. But we can now ignore that because what Chris has gifted us with the extraordinary book that is Fellozial's Ultimate Guide to Poision.

But we don't only get some poison stat blocks - oh no. We get some new poison-based class options (and a whole truck ton of kickass new patrons for warlocks), such as the Barbarian Path of the Poisoned Mind or the Cleric Serpent Domain - both are pretty sweet. You also have some new races such as the desert variant for the lizardfolk and unusual abilities of the yuan-ti pureblood. Then we get to the good stuff - all the new poisons, draughts, dillusions and coatings. They cover the gammit from natural to concocted to infernal, one of my favorites being the Myconid Hallucination Spores. "Myconid Hallucination Spores (Inhaled). These spores must be harvested from a dead or incapacitated myconid sovereign. A creature subjected to the spores must succeed on a DC 12 Constitution saving throw or be poisoned for 1 minute. The poisoned creature is incapacitated while it hallucinates but can repeat the saving throw at the end of each of its turns, ending the effect on itself on a success."

You also get some sweet new poison-based monsters, items, and NPCs to add to your games as well, making Fellozial's Ultimate Guide to Poison a must-have for any DM or player. Plus, it now adds a whole new mechanic into any game that keeps DMs and players on their toes, wondering what exactly that strange yellow dust in the air is, or what could be in the drink that the king gave you...

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fellozial's Ultimate Guide to Poison
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Lamenting Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2019 21:55:52

Nautical themed adventures and settings are always an instant hit with me - and while Saltmarsh wasn't exactly what I had hoped - it spawned so much amazing content, and The Lamenting Lighthouse is nothing less than an amazing piece. With concepts and homages to The Princess Bride, H.P. Lovecraft, Stephen King, and even Pirates of the Caribbean, I absolutely love what Sven has created.

This adventure is multi-layers and multi-dimensional, and while it is a linear story, a DM could branch a whole campaign arc off of this singular piece. From the two separate beings formed from Captain Roberts, to the hidden hag coven, and the haunting of the old rickety lighthouse, there is a little something for everyone - little flavors to keep everyone's roleplay meal interesting.

I almost would have liked to see some new races or class options grow from this adventure as well, cause I could see some cool potential there. But overall, this is a stunning example of a great adventure done in a concise and professional manner and appearence.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lamenting Lighthouse
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Pilgrims of the Grave, The Emerald Legacy Part 1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2019 21:34:43

This quest brings me right back to that old 3.5 Eberron feel that I grew up loving. While I never played 3.5 - by the time I got to D&D 4e was the dominating edition - I did end up buying the 3.5 Eberron setting book and eventually the 4e campaign setting and player's handbook. The adventure woven in Pilgrims of the Grave: The Emerald Legacy Part 1 is exciting and invigorating - with ballroom intrigue, garden dueling, and a terrifying and haunting evening presided over by a dread airship - making it everything you would want to rope in players new to D&D and or new to Eberron. With definite strains of classic pulp action adventure, this adventure is excellent.

However, there are some design issues that can make it a little hard to navigate and read. Some formatting choices and placement issues hinder flow of the adventure - the first sixteen pages are pretty much devoid of art except for a map and some small inserts of headers; at several points the body text and sidebar text becomes hard to read as it almost blurs together or is compressed to allow for room of images, maps, and such. The other thing that I don't know if it is entirely neccesary are the premades at the back of the adventure - and while I can appreciate that they are there to help intro players out - they add weight (as do a lot of the handouts) that could be spent elsewhere in the rest of the adventure to space things more evenly or add more images.

But, putting all that aside, overall Pilgrims of the Grave: The Emerald Legacy Part 1 made me want to immediatly start playing and start getting ready for another Eberron game - a setting that I have not touched in a long time. It felt true to Keith Baker's vision of what an Eberron adventure should feel like, and even though this is the first part of a growing adventure series, a DM could easily use this one as a kickstart to a whole different campaign.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 14



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pilgrims of the Grave, The Emerald Legacy Part 1
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Malice's Motley Monster Race Options
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2019 21:13:43

If anyone knows me well, they know I far prefer playing monstrous races compared to regular PHB races. And with Malice's Motley Monster Race Options - my monster needs are fufilled. While I am especially a fan of the Batfolk (come on, you can play as a frigging fruit bat person!), as well as the Hagdottir; my top pick is the Ogrillion - he big, he smash, he stronk. Overall, a lot of the races are really interesting, with some choices that catch you off-guard at first; such as the allip and the zombie. But, definitely interesting picks.

However, it does have two flaws which I think hold it back some. Firstly, the formatting at points seems a bit off, with rather blurry or pixelated photos and some text not seeming to be completely uniform. Second, it feels squished, as if everything was kind of forced to cooperate and work together in the 27 pages. I would have almost rather seen this be a Volume One with more pages dedicated to each monstrous race - add some more lore depending on setting, perhaps some items, feats or class options specific to that race.

Overall, Malice's Motley Monster Race Options is a fun supplement that adds a whole new depth of content and could really make a game explode if you as a DM or you as a player are looking to take your somewhat bland pasta game and dump a metric duck-ton of spice on it.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 15



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Malice's Motley Monster Race Options
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Craghorn Twighorn's Discount Spell Emporium
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2019 20:46:48

Very rarely do I ever find a supplement that balances comedic effort with excellent play, and what Kian has created with Craghorn Twighorn's Discount Spell Emporium is fantastic. The spells are extremely entertaining - Aqual Breath being probably one of my favorites, with Bling "You touch an inanimate object. For the next minute, anyone who appraises the object must make a Wisdom saving throw or believe its worth to be twice normal." being a close second.

With 24 pages of new highly entertaining spells that can accentuate a game both by adding far more laughter and tears of joy - as well as create some interesting roleplay and combat, Craghorn is a beautiful example of gag content done well and done with a concious end result in sight. I would love to see more Craghorn Twighorn Discount products in the future, perhaps one for classes or races or items. I will definitely be using this little gem in my games to come.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Craghorn Twighorn's Discount Spell Emporium
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Time Traveler's Guide to Chronomancy
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2019 08:01:55

Time travel is something that every writer and creator can often get stumped on or struggle with. For RPG enthusiasts - and I speak from experience - we often think that time travel and chronomancy would be kickass to implement, and then you do it and realize you have made a colossal mistake cause there are no mechanics to help you through the temporal paradox you have created.

What Ryan has done is make all our lives a bit easier with Time Traveler's Guide to Chronomancy. From making sure to provide examples on how to solidify time travel in Forgotten Realms with dieties such as Ao or Chronos, as well as the concept of the Time Council and Paths of Time to make things a little more organized. He also provides full sets of rules and guidelines of how to travel through time and what can happen in the timestream.

Next we get to several new class options, all of which are pretty diverse: The Path of the Anceints. for the Barbarian stands out to me, along with the Time Raider for the Rogue and Time Guide for the Ranger - all of which are really cool. The new feats are also well appreciated, such as "Time Battered ~ Prerequisite: Level 12 or higher - Your travels through time have granted you the following benefits: Increase your Dexterity score by 1, to a maximum of 20. You are resistant to force damage."

The only big issue I have with the supplement is that at points the formatting feels a tad bit squished, as if Ryan was trying to condense the large amount of content into the 26 pages that it takes up. I would almost rather have a longer supplement with some race options and maybe even some more NPCs or time-themed monsters. Overall, this is a must-have for DMs who want to delve into temporal shenanagins.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 16



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Time Traveler's Guide to Chronomancy
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 121 to 135 (of 161 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items