Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Skinfin Murders
Publisher: d20pfsrd.com
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/10/2019 09:22:45

Skinfin Murders is a horrifying dive into the concepts of mismemory, the human psyche, fear of the unknown, and the dark mysteries of the sea. Combining noir-style clue gathering and investigation with Assassin's Creed and Dishonored inspired stealth tactics, what Nicholas has done is build an adventure that is an excellent introduction to the Pathfinder system as well as roleplaying in general. Couple that with Kim's amazing editorial skill, and Bob Greyvenstein's amazing skill with layout and design, and you have altogether an absolutely stunning adventure. I think what really sets Skinfin Murders apart from other adventures I have reviewed is that it invests the players in the location, in the NPCs, and in their job to try and find out what happened. And it also makes the players have to switch up their MO - this really isn't a game meant to work well for hack-n-slash tactics or simply powergaming your way through it - to truly appreciate this adventure, players need to switch up how they would ordinarily run, and dance to a different beat. And that is why Skinfin Murders gets the Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Skinfin Murders
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Knoble's Shop of Curiosities and Wonders - Charity Item Collection (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/10/2019 09:07:16

This is a little gem that just brims with slapstick energy and roleplay potential. When Matt asked me to review this, I was very excited cause alread the name was making me want to snag it and start reading through it - and 90% of the time when I was reading it I was rolling around on the floor laughing. In just nine pages, the superstar team behind this project fit in so many fun little items to throw into any dungeon or odds-shop. From Self-fixing String to Valkur's Spinach Infusion - there is something for everyone in this wee bundle. My personal favorite is Rael's Deck of Fantastic Illusions - cause now you can do something with that random deck of playing cards you have laying around. At the end of the day Knoble's Shop of Curiousities and Wonders - Charity Item Collection was made to help support a good cause: the Random Acts Charity - and all proceeds made from this supplement go to help that charity. So make sure to buy a copy - you will be giving money to those in need, and getting a whole bunch of laughs around the table.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Knoble's Shop of Curiosities and Wonders - Charity Item Collection (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Saltmarsh's Notice Boards: 30 Quest Seeds for Nautical Campaigns
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/10/2019 09:00:21

Another one of Christian's products that he asked me to review, Saltmarsh's Notice Boards: 30 Quest Seeds for Nautical Campaigns is another entry in his Notice Board series, and I must say this one really blew me away. Anything nautical themed or pirate themed - except Saltmarsh itself which left me a little underwhelmed - is always a bonus to me, and with each notice board, Christian pulls you in. In three to four pages, full with classical art mixed with D&D images, you get several adventure seeds complete with an encounter and plenty of places to go from there. I really especially love the Krunkel's Emporium seed, both comedic and swashbuckling in one. So if you are looking to start wetting your teeth on some D&D extravaganzas but don't know where to start - go and hook a copy of this fine product. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 18



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saltmarsh's Notice Boards: 30 Quest Seeds for Nautical Campaigns
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Phandelver's Noticeboards: 25 Quest Seeds for the Hinterlands
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/10/2019 08:54:49

When Christian reached out to me via the CC&C Facebook page and asked if I could review some of his products, I became very excited - as I always do - cause I love seeing what people make. And I must say, Phadelver's Noticeboards are fantastic additions to any game. Looking to add a quick side encounter or maybe even start up a whole new campaign arc but no idea where to go? - then grab a copy of this excellent little product. With excellent layout, a fantastic mix of D&D art and traditional paintings, what Christian has done is provide easy access for beginning DMs to get their games off the ground and get them going. Each quest seed has a small encounter, basic background info, and closes with an open ending so as to ensure that a DM can build from there. My favorite in this little 39-page beauty is Corn Demons - both horrifying and hilarious. So if you are looking to dive into the world of DMing but don't have any ideas on how to start, make sure to snag a copy of Phandelver's Noticeboards: 24 Quest Seeds for the Hinterlands. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 18



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Phandelver's Noticeboards: 25 Quest Seeds for the Hinterlands
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Grazilaxx's Guide to Ancestry
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2019 16:09:27

As a future educator, the discussion of race and culture has become a big topic in the classroom - how to help disenfranchised students from minorities or who are part of repressed and disrespected communities. If only humans were as easy to work with and as well laid out as Ryan has developed in Grazilaxx's Guide to Ancestry. What he has done is take the first steps in involving new mechanics and developing a new view on how race is viewed in D&D.

He opens with the new concept of rather than having Ability Score Improvements based solely on your race, you could take them from your class or from your background. Then, we move into the next section where Ryan introduces ancestries divided into subgroups - avian, amphibian, dwarven, elven, et cetera. You pick two major inheritances and then two minor inheritnces, which I honestly find very interesting and refreshing.

If you have an orcen character, he could be a big burly barbarian who trained as an acolyte - now, the usual model would that this orc is strong because he's an orc, genetically he is strong because he's an orc. Oh, but he can't be an acolyte, cause he's an orc and orcs aren't smart cause genetically he is dumb. Look at from a different side - here you have an elf who is very agile and wise, because she is an elf. But say she has seen some terrible events and has suffered PTSD - but she can't because the fact that she is an elf means she is genetically wiser so therefore she can't have PTSD.

This model stems from something simple and terrible that has sat within the core of RPGs: colonialism, eugenics, and racism. We as humans have throughout our history been conquerers, so when we conquer, we would see the ethnic groups and cultures we destroyed as less than us, as inferior. Hence racism and eugenics. Now, keeping that traditional model in mind: my dad is a forester and brewer, my mom is a soil scientist and horticulturalist - but I am neither of those. I can't tell a perenial from an annual or a hemlock from a fir, I can't even grow potatos. But, looking at the traditionalist model - because I was born to these two people, genetically in an RPG setting, I would not be creative or super charismatic, I would just be super smart.

But anywhose, not to get off onto a massive tangent - what Ryan has done is take a fantastic first step forward to wiping out dark stains of colonial rule, eugenic rumblings, and racism from the roleplaying game community and roleplaying games themselves. I hope what he has done in this outstanding product helps others begin to learn and become aware. I know I have fallen victim of falling into that mentality - but now I know that I need to fix it, and with GGoA, I know now how to do that. Gravilaxx's Guide to Ancestry is an amazing, beautiful, and honest, and that is why I give it the Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grazilaxx's Guide to Ancestry
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Monsters of the Old World
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2019 08:00:44

One - I love bestiaries probably more than I love setting books because the ten-year-old in me just wants to see kickass monsters. Two - I love old world folklore and mythology, and that is why so many of my homebrews draw inspiration from that. Third - breathes - OHMIGAWD THIS BOOK IS SO FLIPPING FLAPTASTIC! When Andrea reached out to me on behalf of the team to review this, I will admit I got nervous shivers about this bad larry cause I knew how much work, time and effort went into it. It was quite the beast to approach when reviewing, cause I wanted to be fair and build a comprehensive list and yaddah yaddah yaddah.

But as many of you assume, I was not able to. If I could have been an anime character I would have gotten a Mach 5 nosebleed and heart eyes the size of Minneapolis - because lordy I love this book so so so so so so much! I can't help it, there is so much murdering monster magic in this thing that it is brimming with life. I can smell the musk from Fenris, feel the hatred rolling off of the trolls, and the manipulative energies stemming from the nokken. But what really sets this book apart - aside from the absolutely star studded cast of writers and artists and designers - is the fact that it feels lived in.

You could take this book and give it to your players and it could feel as real as an in-world book as it would be a game manual for you to use. So to everyone who worked on this project, I grant you the vision of Wayne and Garth prostrating themsevles before and shouting "We're not worthy!" because you have all done an amazing and magnificent job in creating this book. To all the other people in the world - GO BUY THIS!!!!!!!!!!!

I proudly give Monsters of the Old World the first Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of the Old World
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Swanmay: A Ranger Conclave
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/31/2019 11:27:04

I always love it when Chris gets ahold of me to tell me he has something new for me to review, because I know it is going to be good, and The Swanmay: A Ranger Conclave is no different. Taking numerous myths from across multiple different cultures, the Swanmay is one part support and one part offense, able to deal lighting fast damage as well as aid and back up their allies. The swan transformation mechanic is awesome, making you an exceptionally versatile character - perfect for espionage and scouting. The class flows well, is balanced nicely, and the use of traditional art throughout grounds the product in its connection to realworld folklore. Once again, Chris has created something that is truly marvelous, and honestly, I would say you should pay more than a dollar for this bad larry, cause with the skill and presentaiton of it, it rivals some of the big boy stuff that Wizards puts out.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Swanmay: A Ranger Conclave
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Standoff at Sandfell Sea Fort
Publisher: The Merciless Merchants
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/30/2019 08:27:55

The Merciless Merchants do an excellent job of making their adventures have an OSR feel and look to them - and Standoff at Sandfell Sea Fort certainly harkens back to that aesthetic. Starting off with a gripping encounter, a lot is fit into the 26 pages that comprise this adventure - swashbuckling adventure-action, devious political intrigue, and splashes of sandal and sorcery that is rare to see in D&D projects. The art is fun with its gritty ink feel, the adventure flows very well with a clear plotline, and it allows the players a great deal of agency in deciding how they play. Overall, an excellent little quest if you ever needed something to pop into a campaign for a breka game, or start a new one completetly.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Standoff at Sandfell Sea Fort
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Ezmerelda vs Ravenloft
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2019 09:40:28

Everything Oliver touches turns into liquid hot gold, and Ezmerelda vs. Ravenloft is no exception. I knew I needed to review this the minute it dropped and by jove I was not disappointed. From feeling like a 90s fighting game combined with a 16bit aesthetic and comic book style layout that Oliver is so well known for after Killer Kobolds, this adventure is both hilarious, informative, and an artistic masterpiece. Half the battle is presentation, and Oliver knocked it out of the park.

But the biggest thing Ezmerelda vs. Ravenloft does under the veneer of a cheesy fighting game is cut deep and true into the dark side of what women go through in the modern age; old ideals of lack of intelligence, the time worn excuse of "She asked for it with that skirt", and other truly grim instances. This adventure is both a PSA to the treatment of women in our society, and to what we can do to fix it. And that, my friends, is what makes this product so flacking powerful.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ezmerelda vs Ravenloft
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Curious Case of The Calm Delilah: A Saltmarsh Horror Mini-Campaign
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2019 09:14:50

Big-book-adventures always need to do a lot to impress me, as many of you know that I am not a fan of them. What Vall has done though is take everything I love about a good campaign and mix it altogether with amazing themes and genres. The Curious Case of the Calm Delilah merges elements of noir horror, swashbuckling adventure, political intrigue, and good hearty action into a chowder of awesomeness. With awesome art and excellent thematic layout, this adventure beats out some of the big Wizards books by a score. Plus, it does what all good adventures should do - it pulls you directly into the story and gets you immediatly involved and invested.

The only problems I have with it is that sometimes the pages feel overloaded and the layout at times seems to get a little blurred together - walls and walls of text kind of smush together and there are few on-page boxes to split it all up and let the reader have a break. Otherwise, if you are looking for an campaign to get your players into Saltmarsh or any nautical themed arc and really want to build the horror aspects of seafaring roleplay, Vall has done it all with this book, and you should snag a copy now.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 18



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Curious Case of The Calm Delilah: A Saltmarsh Horror Mini-Campaign
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Greasemonkey's Handbook: Rules for piloting Magitech, Steampunk and Sci Fi mechs in D&D 5th Edition
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2019 14:56:43

Soooo, I will attempt to be as calm as possible....which will be very hard. What sits before is worth far more than $9.99 - it is worth countless and countless hours of gameplay and fun. When Vall asked me review Greasemonkey I didn't even hesitate and jumped in the minute I was asked - holy cow was I unprepared for THE METRIC ROCK TON OF AWESOMENESS IN THIS BOOK OHMIGAWHD! One part Gundam, one part Transformers, and a hell of a lot of mecha sweetness The Greasemonkey's Handbook: Rules for piloting Magitech, Steampunk, and Sci-Fi mechs in D&D 5th Edition is a must-have for anyone who wants to go balls-to-the-wall crazy in their next campaign.

With execellent tables for building, creating, and organizing mechs, as well as a ton of new magic items, class options, and so so much more, Greasemonkey takes our gritty Pacific Rim daydreams and turns them into reality. Who wouldn't want to be a dwarven pilot in a massive axe-wielding death machine taking on giants? At the end of the day, you can see and feel the amount of passion that went into building Greasemonkey and it truly pays off.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Greasemonkey's Handbook: Rules for piloting Magitech, Steampunk and Sci Fi mechs in D&D 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Balduran's Guide to Kingdom Building
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2019 12:35:14

There are those players and DMs who thrive on realism and ingenious integration within their games, and then there are those of us who have to slap campaigns together in 10 or 15 minutes. Adam's Balduran's Guide to Kingdom Building is one of the most useful supplements you could ever ask for - it has monsters, maps, guidelines, tables, and all sorts of mechanics for ensuring that you can build the most comprehensive and realistic kingdom in your game.

The biggest strength of this product is the heavy importance of geographic location and biome in which your kingdom is located, as this is going to play directly into how your kingdom is going to function - an arctic kingdom is going to be scores different in the way it is built and managed than a marsh or plains kingdom. If you partnered this with Neverember's Guide to Urbanization, you would be set to create and flesh out entire worlds for life. In 160+ pages you get so much amazing new content that it is unreal.

This is a stunning example of content creation perfection - really everyone who can should take a look at and buy Balduran's: you will not be disappointed in the slightest.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Balduran's Guide to Kingdom Building
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Friends, Foes and Other Fine Folks
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/22/2019 18:00:01

First off - you can tell how much work went into this project, it was an intensely collaborative piece and all of the varried voices merge together into one unifed shout. When Ashton was out looking for folks to do reviews of Friends, Foes and Other Fine Folks, I knew it was going to be something big, so I immediatly volunteered my services and can say without a doubt that I could not have been more thrilled.

What this colossal book offers you - clocking in at 131 pages, and now with a POD option - is a whole slew of new NPCs with stat blocks, some lore, and original character art; all ready to be dropped into any game. It is helpfully divided into fourteen subsections, all with different themes such as Craftspeople or Rabble Rousers. It is handsomely laid out and well organized, making it a dream book for any DM to have in their library.

But the biggest success of Friends, Foes and Other Fine Folks is its open representation and acceptance of NPCs with disabilities, LGBTQIA, or gender nonbinary. This is a huge step forward in a fantasy game that has been stuck in the male/female perfectly built person system for many years and is starting to reflect the diversity of its players on the pages of this amazing product.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Friends, Foes and Other Fine Folks
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the great review!
21 Freaky Forest Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/22/2019 17:35:23

This supplement is both visually and mechanically stunning. When Dimitri posted about it I immediatly felt a draw to it - from the cover to the encounters within to the art and layout: everything about 21 Freaky Forest Encounters is wonderful. My top encounters are The Forgotten and The Guardian, both standing out in so many ways, but the addition of the Forest Devil is fantastic.

The Forest Devil stands out to me the most because of the powerful connection to old folklore and old religious traditions from across medieval Europe: the woods were evil, and evil things lurked within them - things that were Satanic and would carry unwary or unpious children off. 21FFE is a perfect mesh of horror, adventure, and lore - making it a perfect supplement to plop into any game if a DM needs a quick encounter.

With the CR range, excellent professional style, and new monsters - what Dimitri and his team have done is create something that truly comes off as a big-market piece made by folks who truly appreciate roleplay and the game. If you are getting ready to dive into the Feywild or a big forested area, snag a copy of 21 Freaky Forest Encounters - you won't regret it.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
21 Freaky Forest Encounters
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Bearthazar's House of Familiars
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/22/2019 14:47:12

When Oliver revealed this little gem on the DMs Guild Creator Circle, I knew I needed to review it. It immediatly reeks of intense creative energy and endless possibilities - and Bearthazar himself is a perfect narrator for the course of this little gem. At the core of Bearthazar's House of Familiars is the belief that not all familiars are created equal, that all are a little different in their own special ways. Garfunkel and Jeeves are probably my favorite from the menagerie of mystical sidekicks, and they are only the tip of the iceberg of 73 pages.

With a useful badge system to delineate which familiars are what type - Ranger Companions, Find Familiar, Pact of the Chain, Dangerous, and Unbound - and you even get a fancy dancy familiar ownership contract. All organized in ascending cost from Copper to Platinum, what Oliver, Cat, and Jess have made is something both highly comedic and perfectly roleplayed and it should be featured in every game. Any wizard, ranger or warlock worth their magic pips should snag a copy of this treasure.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bearthazar's House of Familiars
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 76 to 90 (of 161 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items