Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Adaptable NPCs: Calamity
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/30/2019 16:31:13

Brought to you by the team behind Greasemonkey's - Adaptable NPCs: Calamity keeps the solid magitech theme rolling with 41 awesome new NPCs crammed into 66 action packed pages. The Weaponsmith, The Guardian of the Barrens, and The Primordial Demon really stand out to me as my favorites - and that is hard amongst the other 38 because they are all so much fun. But I think one of the greatest additions to this book is something very small - and that is the addition of the bleeding mechanic from the Machina Daemonicum. I really wish more books and more combat truly looked like and had mechanics that allowed for players to feel the true idea of how brutal combat can be - and the new bleed mechanic in this book really shows just how dangeorus it all is. Fully meant to be a companion to Greasemonkey's, this book is an excellent addition to the magitech annuls that is growing on the Guild, and has everything someone needs to kick of a fantasy sci-fi D&D game.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adaptable NPCs: Calamity
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Vile Traditions
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/30/2019 16:11:16

I was very excited when Josh and Jaden were looking for people to to review Vile Traditions, so I jumped on the opportunity to take a look at it. Vile Traditions offers some sin-tilating new content for players - such as the Demonologist and the Daibolist - and some new vile themed spells. What this little book also adds to the game is a sense of darkness and horror into a roleplay setting that is very often heroic and wondrous, rarely delving into the murkiness of morality and insanity. Aside from some visual issues with the layout - some of the fonts and images and titles seem to clash at points - Vile Traditions is a cheap little option that allows players to do a total 180 with their game and go somwhere different...very, very different....

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 18



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vile Traditions
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Treasures of Avernus
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2019 15:48:56

So when Dave posted about this product, I got pretty psyched and asked if I could review it - I love treasure books because shiny magical things are always fun. There are definitely some spicy options in here - I personally dig the Book of Daibolic Wisdom, cause evil demon power and books together are just perfection. These are definitely items to scatter throughout wither your Avernus big-book game or any hell-based/themed game you might be running. The only downsides I had with it is that the layout seemed a little lackluster, I was expecting mayb some cool page borders or unique page accents, which I think would add to it overall. The opening page also wasn't super interesting as it was just a wall of text - I think maybe a half page illustration to go with it would spice it up visually. But otherwise, a really fun project with some excellent new infernal price tags to add in your game.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 16



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Treasures of Avernus
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Blood War Bestiary
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2019 15:36:50

Bestiaries are my bread and butter, I flipping love bestiaries. Combine that with a bestiary themed around infernal and demonic creatures? - well take my money. This takes so much inspiration from a ton of different mythologies, legends, and stories, and I love that so so much - cause all the new demons, devils, angels, and abominations within the pages of this sucker are new and original. They aren't reskins, revamps, or redos - they are all-new and all-awesome. I really love the Stygian Dragon - definitely my top monster from there - but it also allows for so much new creative fun in games beyond what is in the devils and demons section of the Monster Manual. And with a bunch of original art and excellently crafted stat blocks, I cannot wait to pit my players against them.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood War Bestiary
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Hellbound Heists
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2019 15:30:38

Must...remain...calm...Okay, screw it, I can't. I FLACKING LOVE THIS BOOK! Adventure anthologies are always so cool to me cause you get to see so many styles coming together to create something cohesive and amazing - and Hellbound Heists is no exception at all. With nine amazing new heist-themed adventures set across the Nine Hells, this massive endeavor has brought some of the greatest minds on the Guild into one sulfur-smelling heavy-metal-spitting quest collection - all individuals who I have massive respect for. I am not going to get into details since I want to ensure that all of you have a chance to get it and see them for yourselves (but, definitely try out 6:66 to Mephistar if you can, my favorite), but know that the amount of detail, replay value, artfully done layout and visual storytelling beyond stellar encounter design makes this book stand out so much. And that is why I am honored to give it a Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge, cause gang, you earned it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hellbound Heists
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Heroes of Hell
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/27/2019 14:00:06

I know Micah's work from Rex Draconis with Phil Beckwith, so when he reached out to reviewers to have folks look at Heroes of Hell, I jumped on the opportunity. It is a fantastic little supplement of 25 pages with some excellent new class options, backgrounds and NPCs. I really dig the Relic Hunter rogue and Shacklebreaker paladin, as both put interesting new canvases over the two classes. Another big plus is that each of the NPCs comes after the corresponding class, making organization easy to follow. The backgrounds - and I am a strong proponent of there never being enough backgrounds - are awesome, adding so much more flavor; I think Infernal War Machine Mechanic is definitely my top one. Overall, with amazing art, easy-to-follow layout, and tons of new mechanical and roleplay potential, Heroes of Hell is a perfect entry in the growing roster of Avernus-themed content.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes of Hell
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Ettinling Package
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/24/2019 17:48:49

I must say that when I was asked to review this, I was a little hesitant. A two-player character option? Oh-kay. But I ate my words so quick - this is a beautiful little gem that any player worth their RP should give a go. The concept of the Will and the Way representing the two halves of the ettin is hilarious, and I really really admire the creativity into making this fuction and work as a whole. The mechanics - which one might assume would be extremely confusing - actually flows well. Now here is the really cool thing - everything is split between the Ettinling: HP, AC, with the Will and the Way acting as separate subraces. Each head picks a different class, and you build that way - two players, one body. The Ettinling Package is honestly something I can't wait to try in a game, and I hope all of you take a chance to snag it.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 18



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ettinling Package
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Clonker's Guide to Being a Hero
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/24/2019 13:08:19

First, huge hats off to the allstar team behind this project - it is utterly incredible how much something can truly be affected so positively by the people working on it. The best way I could describe Clonker's Guide to Being a Hero is D&D done by Nickelodeon. It is a wonderful and beautiful intro to the world of roleplaying for young kids, which is something that we need more of in this world. Too often, we as humans lose touch with our creative energies and play skills when we get into middle school and high school, so I say getting kids into RPGs as early as possible is a perfect way to counteract that loss. With delightfully simple encounters and hilarity throughout, this great little book is an example of what is needed more in this world. Clonker's Guide to Being a Hero should make us all feel like a hero, and for that, it recieves the Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clonker's Guide to Being a Hero
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

To Hell and Back Again
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/23/2019 10:20:29

Donathin has done an amazing job in crafting this little beauty, and I think it is of a rare breed that we need more of. To Hell and Back Again is one of those unique products that makes you do a double take: it has the length and depth of a massive book adventure, but the simplicity and clearness of the solo adventure mechanic. For a lot of people who can't find a group or are in the process of looking for one, having something to play and keep in the roleplay blood is excellent. With an engaging adventure that has qualities of MMOs or excellent single-player games like Skyrim or Dishonored, To Hell and Back Again can either serve as an introudction to new players who might want to try something on their own, or to a seasoned player who is looking for a little something new. Overall, I highly recommend this awesome little project.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 18



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
To Hell and Back Again
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Wow, thank you for the great recommendation! Kienna and I had an incredible amount of fun imagining this adventure and bringing it to life, and it means a lot to know that folks enjoy it. :)
The Dark Archetypes
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/18/2019 10:22:04

When Nikolas reached out to me to review The Dark Archetypes, I got very excited because rarely do you find content on the Guild - or ones that are really well built - allows a player to build an evil or darker character. Traditionally, characters usually fall somewhere in the good or neutral categories - at least in my ten years playing D&D, very rarely to I run into player characters who are truly and fully evil. What Nikolas offers are some amazing and truly thematic new class options for A) a Avernus-themed game, and B) just any players looking to flip the alignment scales and play the villains fully.

I am torn as to which my top pick is because they are all so good - I'm tied between the Monk Way of the Oni and the Barbarian Path of the Deathsworn as my top. Overall, Dark Archetypes really stands out amongst other player supplements in the sense that it allows the opportunity for games to step back and explore a darker side of things at the safety of the table. With strong layout and visual organization, the new addition of class-specific items, balanced and powerful mechanics, and at a very decent price for what you get, Dark Archetypes is well deserving of the Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dark Archetypes
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Skinfin Murders
Publisher: d20pfsrd.com
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/10/2019 09:22:45

Skinfin Murders is a horrifying dive into the concepts of mismemory, the human psyche, fear of the unknown, and the dark mysteries of the sea. Combining noir-style clue gathering and investigation with Assassin's Creed and Dishonored inspired stealth tactics, what Nicholas has done is build an adventure that is an excellent introduction to the Pathfinder system as well as roleplaying in general. Couple that with Kim's amazing editorial skill, and Bob Greyvenstein's amazing skill with layout and design, and you have altogether an absolutely stunning adventure. I think what really sets Skinfin Murders apart from other adventures I have reviewed is that it invests the players in the location, in the NPCs, and in their job to try and find out what happened. And it also makes the players have to switch up their MO - this really isn't a game meant to work well for hack-n-slash tactics or simply powergaming your way through it - to truly appreciate this adventure, players need to switch up how they would ordinarily run, and dance to a different beat. And that is why Skinfin Murders gets the Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Skinfin Murders
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Knoble's Shop of Curiosities and Wonders - Charity Item Collection (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/10/2019 09:07:16

This is a little gem that just brims with slapstick energy and roleplay potential. When Matt asked me to review this, I was very excited cause alread the name was making me want to snag it and start reading through it - and 90% of the time when I was reading it I was rolling around on the floor laughing. In just nine pages, the superstar team behind this project fit in so many fun little items to throw into any dungeon or odds-shop. From Self-fixing String to Valkur's Spinach Infusion - there is something for everyone in this wee bundle. My personal favorite is Rael's Deck of Fantastic Illusions - cause now you can do something with that random deck of playing cards you have laying around. At the end of the day Knoble's Shop of Curiousities and Wonders - Charity Item Collection was made to help support a good cause: the Random Acts Charity - and all proceeds made from this supplement go to help that charity. So make sure to buy a copy - you will be giving money to those in need, and getting a whole bunch of laughs around the table.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Knoble's Shop of Curiosities and Wonders - Charity Item Collection (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Saltmarsh's Notice Boards: 30 Quest Seeds for Nautical Campaigns
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/10/2019 09:00:21

Another one of Christian's products that he asked me to review, Saltmarsh's Notice Boards: 30 Quest Seeds for Nautical Campaigns is another entry in his Notice Board series, and I must say this one really blew me away. Anything nautical themed or pirate themed - except Saltmarsh itself which left me a little underwhelmed - is always a bonus to me, and with each notice board, Christian pulls you in. In three to four pages, full with classical art mixed with D&D images, you get several adventure seeds complete with an encounter and plenty of places to go from there. I really especially love the Krunkel's Emporium seed, both comedic and swashbuckling in one. So if you are looking to start wetting your teeth on some D&D extravaganzas but don't know where to start - go and hook a copy of this fine product. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 18



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saltmarsh's Notice Boards: 30 Quest Seeds for Nautical Campaigns
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Phandelver's Noticeboards: 25 Quest Seeds for the Hinterlands
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/10/2019 08:54:49

When Christian reached out to me via the CC&C Facebook page and asked if I could review some of his products, I became very excited - as I always do - cause I love seeing what people make. And I must say, Phadelver's Noticeboards are fantastic additions to any game. Looking to add a quick side encounter or maybe even start up a whole new campaign arc but no idea where to go? - then grab a copy of this excellent little product. With excellent layout, a fantastic mix of D&D art and traditional paintings, what Christian has done is provide easy access for beginning DMs to get their games off the ground and get them going. Each quest seed has a small encounter, basic background info, and closes with an open ending so as to ensure that a DM can build from there. My favorite in this little 39-page beauty is Corn Demons - both horrifying and hilarious. So if you are looking to dive into the world of DMing but don't have any ideas on how to start, make sure to snag a copy of Phandelver's Noticeboards: 24 Quest Seeds for the Hinterlands. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 18



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Phandelver's Noticeboards: 25 Quest Seeds for the Hinterlands
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Grazilaxx's Guide to Ancestry
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2019 16:09:27

As a future educator, the discussion of race and culture has become a big topic in the classroom - how to help disenfranchised students from minorities or who are part of repressed and disrespected communities. If only humans were as easy to work with and as well laid out as Ryan has developed in Grazilaxx's Guide to Ancestry. What he has done is take the first steps in involving new mechanics and developing a new view on how race is viewed in D&D.

He opens with the new concept of rather than having Ability Score Improvements based solely on your race, you could take them from your class or from your background. Then, we move into the next section where Ryan introduces ancestries divided into subgroups - avian, amphibian, dwarven, elven, et cetera. You pick two major inheritances and then two minor inheritnces, which I honestly find very interesting and refreshing.

If you have an orcen character, he could be a big burly barbarian who trained as an acolyte - now, the usual model would that this orc is strong because he's an orc, genetically he is strong because he's an orc. Oh, but he can't be an acolyte, cause he's an orc and orcs aren't smart cause genetically he is dumb. Look at from a different side - here you have an elf who is very agile and wise, because she is an elf. But say she has seen some terrible events and has suffered PTSD - but she can't because the fact that she is an elf means she is genetically wiser so therefore she can't have PTSD.

This model stems from something simple and terrible that has sat within the core of RPGs: colonialism, eugenics, and racism. We as humans have throughout our history been conquerers, so when we conquer, we would see the ethnic groups and cultures we destroyed as less than us, as inferior. Hence racism and eugenics. Now, keeping that traditional model in mind: my dad is a forester and brewer, my mom is a soil scientist and horticulturalist - but I am neither of those. I can't tell a perenial from an annual or a hemlock from a fir, I can't even grow potatos. But, looking at the traditionalist model - because I was born to these two people, genetically in an RPG setting, I would not be creative or super charismatic, I would just be super smart.

But anywhose, not to get off onto a massive tangent - what Ryan has done is take a fantastic first step forward to wiping out dark stains of colonial rule, eugenic rumblings, and racism from the roleplaying game community and roleplaying games themselves. I hope what he has done in this outstanding product helps others begin to learn and become aware. I know I have fallen victim of falling into that mentality - but now I know that I need to fix it, and with GGoA, I know now how to do that. Gravilaxx's Guide to Ancestry is an amazing, beautiful, and honest, and that is why I give it the Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grazilaxx's Guide to Ancestry
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 61 to 75 (of 156 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items