Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Big Book of Horrors (5e)
Publisher: P.B. Publishing
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/15/2019 07:45:19

Cody adds another slamming title to The Big Book of series with The Big Book of Horrors (5e). As always he combines perfect mechanics with spicy roleplay potential, and it is always a good time to see what he has built. Classwise, I love the new Barbarian Path of the Eldritch Abomination - as I really don't think there is enough Lovecraft in 5e, and Cody certainly satisfies that itch. I also really like the Oath of the Lantern Paladin, as it is a far less big beefy offensive option and much more of a roleplay based class option. The backgrounds - Cody's speciality - are fantastic, with Paranormal Investigator definitely being my top. With easy to follow layout and great balancing work, Cody - along with Phil, Chris, and the many talanet artists of the stock pieces and other gems within - The Big Book of Horrors (5e) is a perfect addition to any spoopy table.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Big Book of Horrors (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Treasures of Ravenloft
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2019 07:36:20

Dave's Treasures series is one I am getting excited for, so when he asked me to take a look at Treasures of Ravenloft I did not hesitate, as I love Ravenloft as a setting. With Bob's haunting cover art, you immediatly get sucked into 21 pages of spoopy tray-jure, and they are fantastic. Along with new magic items, you get new spells, new wondrous items, and all of it fit together into a well laid out and well organized piece. I honestly really enjoyed the addition of the pistols and rifles, as I think asides from Eberron and Ravnica, Barovia radiates the 18th century motif that can often go well or poorly depending on how it's done, and Ravenloft does it perfectly. Overall, I cannot wait to add this little beauty to my first Curse of Strahd game!

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Treasures of Ravenloft
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Adaptable NPCs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/09/2019 22:09:37

With amazing original art, unique stat blocks, and the short adventures, this little beauty is swiftly becoming one of my favorite DMs Guild creations. When the gang over at Grimlore Entertainment asked me to give this puppy a look, I dove at the chance after reviewing their Adaptable NPCs II: Calamity - and I loved that. The art really makes this piece stand out as it is stunning - and most of the the artists featured I follow on Twitter, all being amazing talent - and it is art that truly adds to the product. The maps are also well done, and the little adventures are easily laid out and able to be followed.

I have a lot of favorite NPCs in this book, but I leveled it to my top five: the Goblin Corsair, Sword Saint, Commander, Apothecary, and Loremaster. I could go on and on about them, but I won't. Let's just say that the lore on all of them is open ended just enough to plop them into any game of intrigue and build upon their story from there. Overall, the Grimlore gang have blown me away with Adaptable NPCs.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adaptable NPCs
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Keeping It Classy: The Cleric
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/09/2019 22:02:31

Kim never disappoints with his Keeping It Classy series - and now with the addition of the Cleric, you have even more options. Keeping in line with tradition, Kim presents us with 15 new domains, as well as a new race and five new backgrounds. As always, it is hard to pick just one, but I had to narrow it down to the Fate Domain - which I think has so much cool roleplay potential. The idea of fate is a fickle one, but Kim builds this domain very well; shrouded in mystery and old tradition, and I think the Fate Domain is also a very philosophical one that could spark some interesting discussions at the table. The Kofari are an interesting race, as their whole being is built on faith and belief - a very cool look into the dicotomy of religion and spirituality. And of course, I have to pick the Heretic background because the idea of being a religious expatriate or rebel is pretty fun - and I can fulfill my Warhammer 40k itch. When Kim asked me to review this, I could not have been more excited, and as usual, I am blown away.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Keeping It Classy: The Cleric
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Elemental Spellbook: 80 Spells of Ice, Fire, and Lightning
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/06/2019 18:49:44

When I was contacted by the creator to give this bad boy a review, I was super excited - because I like many others feel that elemental magic is highly lacking on the Guild, and in D&D in general. Jacob put an intense amount of work into building something so freaking awesome - with excellent spells like Spirit Candles, Stormcloud or Ice Mountain, this book crams so much into just 24 pages. Grouped into elemental sections, the book is easy to navigate, well balanced, and an excellent resourse for wet-behind-the-ear DMs looking to learn about spell construction and balancing. I hope to see more books of its kind in the future - perhaps with a bit more visual stimulation in the art department - and look forward to the growth of spell material.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 18



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Elemental Spellbook: 80 Spells of Ice, Fire, and Lightning
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Monster Hunts: Avernus
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/06/2019 18:34:46

So...this piece....oh boy...I love monsters...and I love epic lairs...so both of them together is SHEER AWESOMENESS!!!! 61 pages of wonderfulness - this beautifully laid out piece offers an excellent narrative flow to each and every hunt: starting with Meeting the NPCs, Exploration, The Hunt, and Conclusion. This makes it feel like an awesome TV show episode, making it perfect to drop into any encounter or campaign arc. I can't pick apart which exactly is my personal favorite, but what I love that Vall and Jimmy did was take so much that we love from video games, movies and TV and put them right into this puppy. One part Monster Hunter and one part Supernatural - Monster Hunts: Avernus is perfect for any DM to plop into a game, and while more particularly based for Avernus, this product is a great tool for burgeoning DMs on how to craft encounters and especially cinematic encounters.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Hunts: Avernus
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Lawful Disorder: Frozen Victims Unit
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2019 21:41:52

Zeke brings a perfect amount of homage and originality to playing the themes of any daytime or evening crime show set in Baldur's Gate as all hell breaks lose in the city - see what I did there? I will see myself out. Anywhose, Lawful Disorder: Frozen Victims Unit is an excellent little intro adventure into the world of D&D, as well as a great example for up-and-coming DMs who want to truly get a look in how to build an adventure rooted in a cityscape: with wonderful NPCs, an great neighborhood, sweet new encounters and so much more. The plot structure is easy to follow, and with a direct connection to the latest big book, you can set your game to start with Lawful Disorder before jumping into Avernus. Only downside is that with such a cool plot and story, I would have liked to see some more original art or different page layout, but overall - a great little gem.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 16



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lawful Disorder: Frozen Victims Unit
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Knight Librarians - Fighter Subclass
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2019 20:33:47

The first thing this class made me think of was The Librarian - the slightly spoofy movie series staring Noah Wiley and Bob Newhart which eventually got a TV show on TNT - and that made me so so happy! But it also played to something which I often love in RPGs, and that is discovering the lore. Very often I run into DMs who tell me I can't be a scholar or learned man because I am playing a fighter, and therefore as a fighter I am not allowed to have brain power. Well, Brittney's stunning new class option - with art from the amazing Miss Alppy (https://twitter.com/missalppy) - offers to itch that long needed piece I have needed in my life. This class option - which does this extremely well above others - offers more than just mechanics, it offers background and roleplay and story and a cinematic quality that I think is often lacking from RPGs. And it is because of that that I award The Knight Librarians - Fighter Subclass the Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Knight Librarians - Fighter Subclass
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Monster Loot – Baldur's Gate: Descent Into Avernus
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2019 19:59:12

As always, Anne knocks it out of the park in her Monster Loot series - any DM worth their dice really really REALLY needs to get themselves this whole bundle of loveliness. From the Abyssal Chicken to Zariel, as well as any infernal beasties from the Monster Manual, Monster Loot - Baldur's Gate: Descent Into Avernus is a beautiful way to fill out your Avernus game and really keep your players going - cause we all know that one person who always has to loot SOMETHING. With simple layout and easily naviagable pages, Anne continues to add superb content to the Guild. My next challenge to her would be going back and adding loot for some of the old adventures - Strahd perhaps? Or Tomb? Overall, get this puppy while you can!

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Loot – Baldur's Gate: Descent Into Avernus
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Weekend at Strahd's
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2019 19:07:31

Let me tell you a little story - as a young child, we did not have cable or internet. Instead we had the wide collection of DVDs and VCR tapes that my parents had amassed over the years: filled with 80s classics. Better Off Dead, Indiana Jones, Weekend at Bernies, and many others. When we got internet, we got the Netflix DVD service before they started doing streaming - and so I discovered the 80s Transformers cartoon. Needless to say, I love everything about the 80s: great music, great cartoons, terrible fashion, terrible cars, and awesome movies.

What Anthony and Oliver have done is combine two of the greatest minds on the Guild to create and bring an absolute masterpiece of slapstick, lampoonery, homage, and sheer hilarity to the table with Weekend at Strahd's. Mixing excellent comedy with fantastic roleplay, this fantastic questbook is filled with beautiful Easter eggs from across the decade and truly makes the players have so many double takes they will break their necks. And the thing I love most about Weekend At Strahd's is that it doesn't take itself too seriously but never falls into complete meme - it hovers right on the top of the pointy mountain. And that is why it recieves the Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Weekend at Strahd's
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Patron of Liberty - Warlock Subclass
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2019 18:30:40

All I will say on this one is that if you don't buy this, Sam the Eagle will track your ass down and make you think about the shenanagins you have gotten up to by not investing in this beaut. It's well laid out, it has both great roleplay value and mechanical excellence. I saw the cover and bust out laughing, and I was super excited to crack it open. Brittney did a great job making something that both lampoons and touts everything that makes America Murica.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Patron of Liberty - Warlock Subclass
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Circle of the Elementals - Druid Subclass
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2019 18:29:43

Druids very often are a hit or miss for me - but what Brittney has done is breath new life into the druid with her Circle of the Elements. And with Dave's excellent art merging seemlessly with her mechanics, this is an excellent addition to a class that often gets forgotten. Now, obviously the most superior circle here is Earth - I grew up on a mountain so I have scientific proof that it is the best element - but in all seriousness, you could easily have a party of four druids all representing different elements and have a super diverse group: Earth taking a more defense and tank perspective, Fire more offensive, with Air and Water pulling from both camps. Overall, the mechanics are solid, the reference and inspiration from Avatar: The Last Airbender is wonderfully interwoven, and it is a beautifully done little product.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Circle of the Elementals - Druid Subclass
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Paladin Oath of the Curse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2019 17:28:49

Very rarely does a class truly build off of roleplay and not mechanical value, and at the core of the Oath of the Curse is a stunning return to the true center of D&D: the story. Not all paladins want to be bound to their gods, or want to serve divine entities. Some are reticent, are are unwilling, some...are...cursed. And that is what Camille has created here, a truly tragic hero. With awesome abilities and some super interesting interparty conflict - you should go check out her stream and Twitch channel if you get a chance to see this baby in play - Oath of the Curse is something I will definitely keep handy if I ever want to spice up a game. And at the end of the day, it is the fact that it adds three dimensionality to a traditionally opaque and bland class that grants this supplement the Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Paladin Oath of the Curse
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Svilland - The Norse Setting for 5e
Publisher: Dream Realm Storytellers
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/01/2019 14:26:01

I would like to take a moment that I was very lucky that I found these folks - I was skimming through Twitter one day and almost went by Svilland, but the cover grabbed my eyes and I went back to take a look at this bad larry. And I must say, I am thoroughly impressed - as Svilland is beautifully laid out and organized to a T, with both a vicious adhesion to mythology and tradition, as well as making new and exciting takes on classical stories. With interesting races, kickass monsters, and a world that feels lived-in and gritty, the team behind this fantastic book have tickeled me a big fan. If you are looking to add some good ol' grim-dark-Nordic shenanagins to your game, then look no further.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Svilland - The Norse Setting for 5e
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Bound to Avernus: Warlock Customization
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/30/2019 16:38:06

As always, Chris delivers another powerful product in Bound to Avernus: Warlock Customization. I rarely play magic users, and when Avernus was announced, I got really pumped because of the heavy celestial/infernal powerhouses at play - the divine balance at stake. With new options to have Archduchess Zariel of Avernus or her previous Bel as your patron, this adds tons of new roleplay potential. If you really want to spice up your Avernus game, you could easily share this secretly with one of your players who might be playing a warlock and weave a web of dramatic betrayal and tragic loss as Zariel's hand, or as an agent of destruction and carnage as Bel's. In addition to some new NPCs, Bound is a great supplement to slip into any game that has your players delving deep into the hells.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bound to Avernus: Warlock Customization
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 46 to 60 (of 156 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items