Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Book of Races: Yuan-ti Halfblood
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2020 09:42:48

Another entry in Kim's fantasic series, Book of Races: Yuan-ti Halfblood breathes new life into a race that is about three inches long in Volo's. Kim really plays to their strange and alien nature, their middling status role in yuan-ti heirarchy. But what I especially love is the new addition of the snake table, where their true nature comes out. You could have a snake head, arms that turn into snakes, a snake tail, or scales instead of skin. This really makes you all the more strange and terrifying to others, and builds on the mystique of the Yuan-ti. Would have liked some more art perhaps showing how the various types of mutations could look, but otherwise, a simple and stellar addition for anyone looking to make a scaly snake hooman. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 18



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Races: Yuan-ti Halfblood
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Monsters of the Underworld
Publisher: Cawood Publishing
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2020 08:41:33

I can remember when Andrew first shot me a copy of Monsters of the Feyland - holy hell was that a fun book. With beefy thematic monsters and Travis' fantastic art, Monsters of the Underworld only builds on that model of cartoony but deadly creatures and amazing visuals. A lot of the monsters in here are fantastic additions to any Underdark themed or suberterranian campaign, and as always the variety is better - far better - than anything in the base Monster Manual. I especially enjoy of the fungus themed monsters, primarily the fungus giant which is absolutely terrifying in any way shape and form. I highly reccomend this book for anyone getting ready to delve into the deep. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of the Underworld
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Faiths of the Forgotten Realms 2
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2020 07:47:01

I want this bad boy in hardcover so bad so I can plot it on my shelf right next to all my other books. What Micah and his team have done with this project is build from their first in a way that blows it out of the water. I remember looking through the original Faiths of the Forgotten Realms that a friend of mine had let me borrow, and this brought me back to that. Full of class options, new religious mechanics, and full of updated lore, Faiths of the Forgotten Realms II is a stellar addition to anyone's table if you are looking to have a spiritual or religius character who isn't your traditional plate-mail wearing, hammer-wielding bulky palabro. There is so much talent in this book and it shows - it is well laid out, amazingly organized, and just screams professionalism. It is really hard to pick just one subclass that I like from it, but I gotta give it to the Hearth Domain in the Dwarven Pantheon section (yes, they group archetypes by race domain, making it even easier to navigate). Overll, stellar work on this book, and if you don't have it, rememdy that NOW. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Faiths of the Forgotten Realms 2
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Archetypes of Eberron: 31 Subclasses
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2020 06:46:18

Let me tell you a story - a story of a little boy who made warforged champions like no tomorrow, a little boy who had dreams of lightning rail hiests and airship dogfights, a little boy who walked the jungles of Xendrik with ax and lantern in hand. Every time the Across Eberron team releases something new, I get blasted back through temporal tunnels to my 12 year old self, and the Archetypes of Eberron did so immensely. Merging fantastic story and beautiful art with powerful mechanics and archetypes that feel so rooted in Eberron you can feel the noir and pulp flowing off of them - this book blew me out of the water, and brought me back to all 3.5 Eberron. I am not going to list off all the archetypes because they are all freaking awesome and I want to play all of them. What I will say is that I want POD of this, now and now. I want to put this in hardcover on my bookshelf next to Eberronicon and my 3.5 Eberron titles. And for all of the throwbacks, great respect to the world, and a damn fine job, Archetypes of Eberron is more than worthy of a Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Archetypes of Eberron: 31 Subclasses
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Adaptable NPCs II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2020 16:46:03

GAH! URGH! I can't....I can't with these books, I just can't. There is so much juicy NPC goodness and it hurts, like I am literaly struggling with how to describe this chonky big ol tome that Trevor has thrown at us, as he does. Honestly, I will say this - I suck at making interesting NPCs, and making ones with stat blocks as beefy and well-developed as the ones in here. That's the truth. What Trevor decided to do with this here series was like "Hey, what if your NPCs were varied, had immense roleplay potential, and were all different levels of badassery?" Cause that is what you get with Adaptable NPCs II. Some examples - the Aging Burglar, the Eternal Revenant, the Dragon Whisperer, the Amethyst Knight. SO MUCH NPC FANTASTICNESS. IF you don't have a copy of this book and its predecessor, you are making a mistake. Filled with amazingly well created NPCs, all decked out with lovely art and laid out wonderfully, this is another product that if I could get in print I would give organs to do so. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adaptable NPCs II
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

A Tale of Two Dragons: Phandalin Adventures Tier 2 Conversions
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2020 16:42:04

With Rose's immediatly striking art pulling you in - honestly, if none of you are following her, you all should go do it - Adam has done a great job of pulling together the two intro adventures featured in the Essentials and Starter kits respectively and given them a wonderful little hybridized rebuild. And, to make it even better, you can now run it at higher levels! With great layout, simple organization, and a bunch of upped baddies in the back from the original two adventures, A Tale of Two Dragons is everything you need as an intro DM to get your players interested in D&D, or even just to study in how to build clean and basic adventure layouts. Adam did a great job with this project, and it is fantastic. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Tale of Two Dragons: Phandalin Adventures Tier 2 Conversions
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

School of Wand Mastery - a wizard arcane tradition
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2020 16:34:04

This is a hilarious little subclass right here - and my deepest apologies to Marco for having taken so long to review it. School of Wand Mastery is both comedic and serious, making your bookish wizard into a "wandslinging" badass who has all the wand tricks in the academy to show off. It is one part Harry Potter, one part Fairy Tail, and all D&D. For $1.95 you get an easy-to-read, well laid out, and wonderful little subclass to add that extra arcane spice to your corner-dwelling squishy zappy boi. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
School of Wand Mastery - a wizard arcane tradition
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you! :)
Face the Music - 5e Encounter
Publisher: Oz Mills
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2020 17:22:03

This little beauty is cute, simple, and for any music lovers. Oz did a great job in making an instrument based encounter with tons of little bonus bardic tools of melody and harmony in the back, all packed into seven pages. It is crisp and clear to follow, making it something any intro DM should pick up to run for their players if they need a little something. My main concern is that it needs more color and action and excitement - I want art and layout and sketches or something to break up the cream-and-tan color pallete and make it POP. I think once that is added, it will be worth the $2.00. Otherwise, give this tiny trumpet a toot!

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 15



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Face the Music - 5e Encounter
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Book of Races: Gendarak
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2020 17:12:29

When Kim got a hold of me to give this big ol rhino a review, I got very excited, because I LOVE RHINOS! And if you don't love rhinos then...well...whatever. This new race, the good horn boi Gendarak, are absolutely fantastic. They big, they tough, they rough, they all rhino. I especially love the fact that while they are massive and terrifying, Kim writes in how they have remained hidden from history, and pulls from African savannah and Mongolian steppe cultures to truly make the gendarak unique but also alien at the same time. Overall, its simple layout and compact size makes it an excellent addition to any player's or DM's race roster. Also, I demand more gendarak art.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Races: Gendarak
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Goblin Heist
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2019 16:58:19

Kai reached out to me to review this little gobber, and I must say it was a hell of a lot of fun. It is cookey, unique, and super kid friendly - this is a fantastic title to introduce your kids to especially. And - it is a wonderful little holiday themed adventure that can bring some joy into any home or game. What Kai demonstrates in Goblin Heist is the true energy and joy of a new author on the Guild brimming and glowing - and having been there in October - it is so nice to see new energy here in the archives of fan content. So, if you are looking for a quick little one shot to play for Christmas or New Years, this is one you should snag. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Goblin Heist
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DD-01 The Darkness Beneath Dalentown for 5th Edition
Publisher: Tim Bannock
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/17/2019 17:14:16

When Tim was looking for reviewers over on the ol Twitter, Sebs actually connected us and when he described The Darkness Beneath Dalentown I got very excited. I'm usually not big into dungeon crawls, but this had such an OSR vibe to it that I really dove in and loved the feel of the encounters and narrative. I thought the pacing was good and the mini-bestiary at the back on oozes and jellies and slimes was fantastic.

However, I do think there are some things holding this adventure back from its full potential, and they are mostly design choices. I really think that it was benefiting from its OSR feel early in the book, but the addition of color maps and art threw it for a loop and completely ruined that feel for me. The font choice also feels very clinical and off-putting, not really honing in on that grungy fantasy feel. And I really would stress some sort of background - whether it be a color or the traditional parchment feel - to make this book complete.

Overall, The Darkness Beneath Dalentown is an adventure designed for OSR lovers and first-time players, but once you open the pages it falls short. Sure, the adventure itself is a really great pulpy dungeon-crawl with suspense, intrigue, and drama - but the lack of visual and design cohesion really stopped it in its tracks for me. I think with some hefty design updates, this will turn into an overall fantastic piece.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 10



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DD-01 The Darkness Beneath Dalentown for 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review, Cameron! I appreciate the feedback on the layout; that's an area I'm constantly trying to improve, so your comments are incredibly valuable.
Greenhouse of Nightmares
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/17/2019 16:55:21

This adventure radiates pulp adventure horror so much you could almost whip it. Zeke told me a little about this adventure before he sent it to me to review, but I had no idea I would be diving into the literal morass and swamp that makes up Greenhouse of Nightmares. With a title to make a 1970s/80s sci-fi B-movie cringe, this adventure is absolutely fantastic and shlocky: from the medusa-lich boss, the three-stage boss fight mechanics that feel pulled from any old Super Nintendo game, and the Adventure! font all wraps it up in one beautiful package. The actual adventure itself is high risk, high reward, and all behind a sepia filter.

My only major critique would be that I think the pictures in a couple spots are really pixelly, but also I feel like it could use some more original art to really make it pop and have that B-movie flair. Otherwise, a really awesome adventure that is perfect for any group looking for a ridiculously fun time.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 16



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Greenhouse of Nightmares
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Baldur's Gate: City Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/17/2019 16:46:35

This book - with the powerhouse team of Arman, Gregersen, Joyce, and McAlpin at the helm - immediatly opens with Justice's Houston encounter that sets the tone of Baldur's Gate: City Encounters: This. Is. Real. I hate cities - always have and always will - and in recently running Descent into Avernus, I have come to haaaate Baldur's Gate. If I was born there, I would emigrate as soon as financially possible. This supplement adds a lot of material in just 27 pages, but I think my favorite thing about this book is the Tension Meter (which I am 100% swapping for future city encounters).

The meter has five points, with Pandemonioum on the far left, Status Quo in the middle, and Martial Law on the far right. Between Pandemonium and Status Quo is Unstable, while between Status Quo and Martial Law is Order. This is immensely clever and is really my favorite feature that is in this piece, as it is universally applicable. Otherwise, the twenty neighborhood encounters are well managed and well laid out, and the book's simple formatting makes it easy to follow and use. Overall, a great piece that I am glad I got a chance to review.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Baldur's Gate: City Encounters
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Cirria's Gambit
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/17/2019 16:27:32

When Sven reached out to me to do a review of Cirria's Gambit, I was pumped, since I have reviewed a lot of Sven's other work and it is all stellar. What Sven has done is present a fantastic adventure with female leads that are not: A) swooning femme fatales, B) buxom chain-mail bikini-wearing Red Sonja types, or C) enter plot-piece female. Cirria and our banshee antagonist are both well developed, well written, and feel real. The adventure is one part sandbox soap opera, one part open world adventure game (feels like some of the CD ROM games I used to play as a kid) and one part role reversal as we see traditional fantasy tropes fall away from Cirria and Lady Kaera. The adventure is fantasticly laid out, with plenty of opportunities for improvisation and diverse encounters. In 66 pages, you get so many goodies it is hard to resist. Overall, Sven and his team did a great job casting new and refreshing light on succubi and banshees and female leads in general. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cirria's Gambit
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Eberronicon: A Pocket Guide to the World
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/17/2019 16:16:22

This review begins with a story - the scene opens with a young 13 year old who had just spent the whole day at school being bullied ruthlessly for his weight and his hobbies, how he looked, and how vocal he was about what he thought. He had finally gotten home and finished his chores, and was sitting in his room crying. But then, he remembered something - he had gotten a new D&D book on interlibrary loan that weekend and hadn't dived into it yet. So he walked over to his desk and picked it up - a beautiful but scrappy looking woman with blonde hair and goggles on her head standing in front of a titantic sword wielding robot dressed in armor looking up at him from the cover. He opened it, and never looked back.

Eberron is what kept me sane through middle and high school. Eberron was the world I could go to whenever I was feeling suicidal, depressed, isolated, or alone. Eberron was mine, and no one could take that from me, not even my bullies. Eberron was my home, and the reason that D&D became such a core part of my life. It kept me alive, literally and figuratively. What the Across Eberron team has done in this book is transport me back to those days as a sullen and abused teen when I could have some moment of light in my life: from reading of the Last War, to the Mourning, to the wonders of Sharn, and the majesty of the warforged.

This book brings me back to my fever-dream pace to try and find all the Eberron books I could so I could read them and absorb them and learn more about the world I love so much. This book deserves a hardcover, and I would more than gladly set it right next to all of my 3.5 Eberron hardcovers I have begun to collect. It is made with a care to detail, a passion for the writing, and a steady layout that makes it more professional than 90% of what Wizards pumps out each year. And it is because of all that that it earns the Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eberronicon: A Pocket Guide to the World
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 147 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items