Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
CCC-ELO-01 For the Kids!
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Roger M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2020 07:58:20

Once the group and I remember this is suppose to ran for kids and not old people we had fun. Some suggestions. In the introduction with Annabella tell people to take notes. I added to her description a silver wedding band. I also added Votsug having a silver wedding band. My group suggested the rooms warp and change sizes to get them use to the different sizes of rooms later on. X marks the spot. Have Vostug turn his back and use a mirror to address the group. Angel of the past. Box text add. The angel speaks. The room has 3 of these. Add the door below makes 4. Find the answer and hand to me. Give me the wrong answer and I will lay hands on you." The group suggest in Part 3 the rooms should be 150 by 150 feet. They also suggested a skeleton combat where is the skeleton hits they do 1 point of damage and disappear. (Yes they wanted more combat in the module.) The group also suggested the heroes feast hit points change with APL level of group. Very Weak 18 Weak 14 Avg 10 Strong 8 very strong 4. Please remember people this is a light hearted module.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-ELO-01 For the Kids!
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL09-04 The Day of the Devil
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Roger M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2020 07:04:52

First bumping from 3 stars to 4 stars for Wrap Up. The box text about the back wall collapses is great foreshadowing and gives a reason on how they get to hell. The module is good and has lots of action but it may go off the rails in two points. I still suggest DM create their own box text. Off the rails 1. Bonus Objective A. My group successfull took down the 12 cultists due to sleep spells and ice dagger. If DMs want a chase scene increase the cultists. Off the rails piont 2. Bonus Objective B. I suggest you have a demon teleport in a kidnap Wellum or change it so Wellum is out of warehouse. Even the new guy who was new to D&D and AL thought it was bogus no matter what the group did, that Wellum would be captured. Also my standard question, Why was Segren in coma? And will be explained.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL09-04 The Day of the Devil
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL09-02 Stopped at the Gate
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Roger M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2020 14:18:35

First module I quit in disgust. Important information is buried in the wall of text. Some already mention the problem with Harwin. This is a blue's clues level mystery. To improve it. Page 30 add Vollis Foote description. Page 5 highlight, "a letter address to Segren" . Page 7 add investigation check of Markus profession. Add mention of "possibility large needle". B. All about the hallgates mention Harwin store is 2 stores down. In right hand column give the names of two dead victims. (I had all the victims in a weekly poker game.) Page 8 D. Harwin Shop highlight Apprentice zook. This so people know Zook is in the shop. Page 9 Looks like "Gharizol" is going to be important. Break the paragraph What they to what. So we know this is important. In fact I would go back and say each body had a bloody "G" on their forehead. You could mention on page 7 That Bolnata was dating Harwin before she married Markus.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL09-02 Stopped at the Gate
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL09-03 Hungry Shadows
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Roger M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2020 08:16:40

4 out 5 stars. My players liked but it a little short. We finished all four hours in 2 1/2 hours. I do suggest the dm creates his own box text ahead time. If running all 4 hours make it clear, before bonus Objective A than the Fists need hard evidence to arrest Hithlin. Problem with bonus objective A. Inquiries. The pc are cops. In the book and other modules it have been established The rule of law is flexible. So the group can just arrest the prep. I do suggest the dm create the house map before hand and label them. Bonus Objective B. I dropped the top of map and just folded the top rooms into the bottom rooms. I had a strong group and bad dice rolls. I would either add a spined devil at the begining of disrupted ritual or sometime during the fight. My group did like the hand outs.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL09-03 Hungry Shadows
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL09-01 Escape From Elturgard
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Roger M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/26/2019 13:43:04

A good season opener with a few flaws. The Part 1 and Part 3 my group enjoyed and can be ran with no prep. The nested fetch quest of miller needs work. My group suggested you drop the miller part and go fetch the poet. Or drop some skill checks or have a spot check for the pegasus. The murder mystery needs work as if not foreshadow a lot. The DM needs to make each NPC a person. My group suggested an investigation DC 12 for find clues or getting hints to the villain. My nitpick. Dara is young woman in this module but 10 years in the next. My group's nitpick was why an npc was in a coma after magical healing.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL09-01 Escape From Elturgard
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL08-18 Moving Day
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Roger M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2019 14:40:50

Another combat only module. I had a very strong group and even with adjustments combat was easy due to the party make up. I suggest change Bonus Objective A into a social encounter with DC 30 persuasion check to get the amulet. Scene E is a series of Save or fail rolls with no way to avoid walls. I suggest Dex saving throw of DC 17 to avoid contact with the walls.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-18 Moving Day
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL08-17 The Tower of Ahghairon
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Roger M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2019 09:37:47

The fetch quest is nice with some nice side quests. The missing dolly and garden patio bonus objectives are fun and my players enjoyed them. The major story combats are a challenge to tier four pcs. But the main story line is mostly combat only. My players enjoyed the module so I giving it a four.

I have gotten used to editing problems. So only one star off for the editing. Change Scene F The Stacks to Scene H The stacks. All the combats need an adjustment for a strong and weak party. Scene D the Stairs page 10 Add an arcana DC 25 check to forewarn the party of fire spells being nerfed. On the slaad swap out their fire spells with lightning bolt or a similar spell.

In the final battle some of the spell casters dc were so high the monsters could never save. I suggest a possible +2 bonus due to the rift.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-17 The Tower of Ahghairon
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL08-16 A Change of Address
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Roger M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/13/2019 11:01:38

This is a combat heavy module with wimps as most of the foes. The monsters from Tome of Foes will surprise your players and are the most difficult. The DC for traps, saves, etc are tier 1 low. The final boss is push over if the party gets first strike. If I would run again, the monsters from Monster Manual would get an addition +2 to +4 to hit. I did change Episode 3 so if you defeat the final boss you defeat the level.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-16 A Change of Address
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL08-04 A Wrinkle in the Weave
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Roger M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2019 10:18:02

Bad editing and lack of guidance hurt this one. The most important room the library is descriped as two different sizes 30 by 30 in Episode 2. And 40 by 30 in Appendix 4. The author did tell us by Facebook what rooms were what but I had already placed them elsewhere. How the pcs are known and even allowed into the palace is up to the dm. The magic item just becomes a minor point and has no bearing on how the adventure plays out. The Appendix 5 mission is not believable. It is as if the writer assumes you know all the lore the about the npc cast. My group suggested changing the book to a frying pan and use the kitchen for the encounter. I had the players Quantam Leap into the bodies of VIPs but maintain their abilities.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-04 A Wrinkle in the Weave
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-GHC-BK1-07 The Peculiar Case of the Selptan Felines
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Roger M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/29/2019 16:11:08

I used cat related props and let the players choose a prop with which cat was attached being unknown. This add to the fun of players running against their own personality type. I ran the four hour version which I had to cut down some of town encounters due the store closing time. This is a silly type module which maybe hard for some games to get. Some of the empty rooms can either be skipped or added to. The one minor flaw is some of encounters are easy if everyone has been bonded with a cat.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-GHC-BK1-07 The Peculiar Case of the Selptan Felines
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL08-15 Forge of Fangs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Roger M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/01/2019 14:57:05

This adventure had some promise but the maps, lack of numbers, and assumption the pcs are undercover hurt the module. Again the first set of monsters are easy bluffed or destroyed due to the CR level. The poison trap is second most dangerous encounter but that is pass or fail. Scene D map is too small for the monsters and magic trap will not really delay a group pass the first time some one fails. The map for Scene E is missing the cauldron. And does not give how many spawn are in the room. I suggest 2 per pc. The boss fight is most difficult encounter but the spell Dawn will put a hurt on the vamps.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-15 Forge of Fangs
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL08-14 Rescue from Vanrakdoom
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Roger M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/01/2019 14:39:10

Ok, this is a tier 2 module with one tier 3 boss fight. The story line is some what interesting as it contiues from the group finding a teleportation circle. Now they need to rescue some prisoners. But here are some of the problems. Bonus Objective A is worthless as a hand out. It is all grey scale. The big bad from the last module has been depowered from CR 15 to CR 5 with no reason given. The hit point drain would have killed most of the prisoners. And is not a threat to Tier 1 PCS. The boss fight is a walk for any party. I do suggest you add vampire for every odd pc. The Shadow Dragon is just a special effect. My group finish the main part in just over 2 hours but took a 20 minute dinner during this time. I don't think I took anyone down by half their hit points.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-14 Rescue from Vanrakdoom
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL08-13 The Vampire of Skullport
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Roger M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/18/2019 10:27:29

Three stars for heavy hammer approach to combat , ignoring the Mad Mage Guildlines, and important info buring in text. It has some decent detective story lines. Go rescue other minions and find the portal. The time to play is spot on especially if the players get into combat. Be totally award Bonus Objective A needs to be handled with care. The heavy hammer approach of Flameskulls arriving in second round is harsh. I suggest using the code legal from Waterdeep Heist with some changes if you are going to flameskulls be cops. Take a pen and mark on the page which item belong to who. Bramble's item is causally mention on page 6. Also the quirk items are interesting but I got to research who a pc break the quirk. In 08-05 it is mentioned the spell "Banishment" does not work. Scene C has the npc using the spell. I suggest swapping out Banishment with Polymorph and turning the cultist into a goldfish. I do wish the author mention what level of Mad Mage the module ties into. This will help the dm cross reference to the Mad Mage.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-13 The Vampire of Skullport
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL08-12 Xanathar's Wrath
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Roger M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2019 13:24:31

This could be a great adventure but editing and lack of call backs hurt the adventure. It has great ideas and ways you can run the adventure from straight combat, sneak, or combination of both. My players did enjoy the adventure even if they did not get all four adventure points. First Thanks to the lead designer for replying to my questions of missing stats. Both Ahmaergo and Ott are talk about but missing stats . Ahmaergo is on page 193 of Waterdeep Heist. Ott Steeltoes dwarf Cultist AC 12 HP 9 XP 25 MM 345. Second no mention of the story award from 08-11 Poisoned Words but another story award is mention. Third and this is nitpick. The ship is too small. Xanathar is large but all ship's doors are regular. I don't think Xanathar would squeeze himself. Fourth some more information is given for Lord Ahgnairon who we find out is member of the Shadowdusk Family. You currently would need to know about of one of the final levels of Mad Mage to known how this ties in to the season. Some typical awakward editiing are also in the adventure. On page 12 under Treasure & Rewards, read aloud the first bullet point.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-12 Xanathar's Wrath
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL08-11 Poisoned Words
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Roger M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/25/2019 16:07:08

I ran this Sunday Feb 24 for a very weak group. The adjustments are good except if you do the bonus objective B with the Episode 3 boss fight. I downgraded some of the Blackguard abilities for the combat. The story is okay. But since it is a second act of a McGuffin chase it does not harm the action or the story.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-11 Poisoned Words
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items