Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
To Hell and Back Again $9.95
Average Rating:5.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
4 11
0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
To Hell and Back Again
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
To Hell and Back Again
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jay G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2020 07:01:31

To Hell & Back Again is both a fun satisfying solo adventure as well as being a tremendous introduction to the Descent Into Avernus campaign.

The adventure is split into three distinct acts each with its own flavour that none-the-less tie together to form a coherent story. My personal favourite was the second act wherein the player gets to interact with an Infernal Warmachine and go on a journey with Lulu the Holyphant. The adventure also takes the character through three levels and will give them some additional perks/flaws/quirks that will continue to have an impact on them after the fact if they are continuing their adventures in Avernus.

Overall I found the adventure to be very narratively complete while also having enough dpeth mechanically to still feel like a legitimate 'gaming' experience.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
To Hell and Back Again
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2019 09:11:14

If Pixar were to ever make a crossover film with Mad Max and the Heffalump I imagine it might look something like To Hell & Back Again by Donathin Frye and Kienna Shaw. Seriously, Lulu the Ollyphant looks like Bing Bong and Lumpy created an offspring. And I love it!

I particularly love the professional layout that isn't overdone, great writing with interesting characters, and consequential decisions you must face.

Read more: https://www.nonzerosumgames.com/to-hell-and-back-again-by-donathin-frye-and-kienna-shaw/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
To Hell and Back Again
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Curse o. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/24/2019 20:59:34

To Hell and Back Again by Donathin Frye (@DonathinFrye) & Kienna Shaw (@KiennaS) with am awesome a perfectly encapsulating cover by Anne Isaksson (@ArtAmbli)

I have had an awesome night playing through this! I was absolutely unable to put it down, and truly felt immense amounts of pleasure, wonder and amusement that gives me nostalgic feelings of choose your own adventures, but with the writing and content that absolutely blows those memories out of the water! The story is an absolute rip-roaring jaunt from a classic delivery quest gone wrong to speeding across Avernus in an Infernal War Mahcine with a famous and adorable sidekick!

The options are varied enough for very different play throughs with different characters, and works perfectly as introduction to Avernus for a solo game, or with a little tweaking, could be run for a Duet or small group. As someone planning to run A Descent Into Avernus game, I thoroughly recommend this for a taste of the content and the experience of being in the player's position. That and it's just so much fun for anyone!

I'd like to do a more thorough review later down the line, but I had to post something after having so much fun tonight! I would love to see more Solo content this expansive and entertaining!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
To Hell and Back Again
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/07/2019 07:48:37

[Video overview/gameplay: https://youtu.be/eKFkAYMX0OA ] To Hell And Back Again breaks the mold of what a D&D adventure can be. Yes, it's a collaborative storytelling game, but if you're struggling to get a group together, or if you want an immersive way to learn the finer points of D&D's mechanics, this adventure is the answer. Its choose-your-own-adventure style allows for replayability, and it can also be run for small parties or larger ones with a little tweaking. The module's writing, art, and formatting are all top notch. My only critique is that DMs who do want to run this for a party will probably have to summarize much of the "flavor text," but the description-heavy nature of the story is what makes it excellent for solo play, so it's a fair tradeoff. I highly recommend this adventure! Check out my overview and gameplay of the first chapter linked above!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for the kind words and the awesome playthrough video! The accompanying animations you drew are awesome. :)
To Hell and Back Again
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/23/2019 10:20:29

Donathin has done an amazing job in crafting this little beauty, and I think it is of a rare breed that we need more of. To Hell and Back Again is one of those unique products that makes you do a double take: it has the length and depth of a massive book adventure, but the simplicity and clearness of the solo adventure mechanic. For a lot of people who can't find a group or are in the process of looking for one, having something to play and keep in the roleplay blood is excellent. With an engaging adventure that has qualities of MMOs or excellent single-player games like Skyrim or Dishonored, To Hell and Back Again can either serve as an introudction to new players who might want to try something on their own, or to a seasoned player who is looking for a little something new. Overall, I highly recommend this awesome little project.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 18



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Wow, thank you for the great recommendation! Kienna and I had an incredible amount of fun imagining this adventure and bringing it to life, and it means a lot to know that folks enjoy it. :)
To Hell and Back Again
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/21/2019 14:08:14

Absolutely wonderful as an introduction to Avernus, or as an afternoon one-off adventure. I got a real kick out of the "choose your own adventure" style of play, and I really feel that it makes this a great play on your own or with a group of friends. The characters were all well written and compelling, the environments, and action were all narrated superbly. Excellent work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you! Hearing that you enjoyed the story and the characters means a lot to us. :)
To Hell and Back Again
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Charlotte S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/21/2019 14:03:15

I think this style of adventure is exactly what we need - flexible enough to pick up and play anywhere with the option for solo, gmless groups and DM'd groups. The events were fun and offered a range of all of the pillars of D&D - exploraton, social and combat. Choices mattered and I hope Don and Kienna team up to make another adventure. Play time with 2 players no GM was 4 hours with bio breaks. A thrilling ride from start to finish - bravo!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for the kind words, and I'm SO happy you and a friend enjoyed the adventure. :)
To Hell and Back Again
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Greg S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2019 16:12:21

Everyone has that ritual.

You know the one I'm talking about; the ritual for reading a good book.

You get your 'go-to' beverage, your warmest, softest blanket, your tastiest snacks...all your favorite things; the things that are just as precious and beloved as the book you're about to crack open. In fact, you couldn't imagine reading a page, let alone a whole book, without these vital elements.

Meet your 'vital element' for Descent Into Avernus.

Written by two of the best in the biz, Donathin Frye and Kienna Shaw guide you through an adventure for any and every one.

Solo (Choose Your Own Adventure-Style for us old folx) or with your friends, this is the perfect place to begin your journey into Wizards of the Coast's latest offering!

SO start your ritual! Grab your 'go-to' beverage, your warmest, softest blanket and your tastiest snacks, you have a fantastic story to begin before you even set foot into Descent Into Avernus!

I'll meet you there!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for the kind words, Greg! :) I hope your adventures in Avernus are fun and your snacks are tasty.
To Hell and Back Again
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matthew E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/12/2019 01:23:17

Picked up this adventure and wasn't disappointed! What starts as a quest from a kooky sorcerer turns into a fight for survival alongside your bestest friend in all the planes. Excellent as a solo adventure to give yourself a cool back story, or as a group 1st adventure together (Though the combats are a doozy with more than 1 person) Definite agree with another reviewer that Fireball Alley is a highlight of the adventure that is not to be missed. Highly recommended for folks looking to ease into Descent into Avernus, or D&D in general. This will be entering my rotation of modules to run at conventions with all the fun encounters and options it offers!

Looking forward to more from Donathin and Kienna!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for the review! :) I'd love to see how this runs at conventions. I'm very happy to hear that you've enjoyed the adventure!
To Hell and Back Again
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jean-Francois M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/09/2019 17:05:26

This adventure is worth playing for the crazy ride through fireball alley alone! But there are so many other possiblilities and they all add up to a bunch of twists and turns that will provide a solid backbone in any fledgling PCs backstory. I did it solo, a few times! I can't wait for Descent to come out so I can connect the two and continue my characters adventures in hell (bashful grin).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you! We're hoping folks really enjoy the backstory it will add for their characters before they take on Descent Into Avernus, or other adventures. :) I'm so so glad that you've enjoyed the book.
To Hell and Back Again
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/09/2019 16:19:01

This book has just about everything you could want to get ready for Descent into Avernus. Pregen characters with easy to read sheets for those that need it or anyone who wants to get into the action quickly! The adventure scales for a Solo-challenge up to a full group of adventurers and is challenging and rewarding at any "tier". The encounters are interesting and different and try to account for the many ways a group could handle the adventure and it's challenges, from talking your way out of every fight to going full murder hobo and anything in between.

If you've not gotten the chance to experience the craft these two bring to the game you are missing out! Don and Kienna are masterful writers and together they've crafted an amazing adventure. Believe me when I say you haven't seen the last of these two power house writers, designers and ttrpg fans.

Don't sleep on this product. It's literally on fire. ;)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for the kind words and great review! We wanted our first product on DM's Guild to be a special one, and one accessible for all different types of players. I'm very glad that you've enjoyed it. We put a lot of heart into it. :)
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items