Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
GORE $0.00
Average Rating:4.1 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
12 6
13 3
10 0
1 0
1 0
GORE
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
GORE
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by Kenneth S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2017 12:34:08

For my purposes this is an excellent distillation of the early d100/BRP system and specifically Call of Cthulhu. It's clean and clearly written with capable illustrations establishing that it is primarily aimed at horror gaming, specifically of the Lovecraftian bent. My understanding is that it exists mainly as a platform for further game development, free of the concerns a license might bring. At this point it seems to have been nearly abandoned, but I have hope. Seeing as CoC 7e has changed the game somewhat, and not necessarily in a direction that suits all tastes, I hope someone will hit on using GORE to produce some good Lovecraftian horror that avoids some of the CoC-isms. Turn from pulp-action toward darker realms.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GORE
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by Paul K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/27/2013 23:46:34

Gore is an excellent reincarnation of the old D100 systems. The book has been organised to allow the system to be used for all manner of settings, from fantasy to science fiction, moderrn sleuthing and classcal horror. GORE is clear and concise. An excellent system for those who long for simpler and more approachable set of D100 rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GORE
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/28/2012 11:37:30

This appears to be a free PDF of a rules-lite version of BRP, and a mixture of CoC and Runequest. I've thoroughly enjoyed going through this PDF.

I've even joined the forum on Goblinoidgames.com, and added some resources for the GORE rules. Adaptable, easy, and free.

I've also found a PDF called Stress and trauma for GORE , which is helpful.

All in all, I'd recommend that anyone who likes a D100/percentage system, should give GORE a try, you won't be disappointed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GORE
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by Lee O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/27/2012 19:13:27

It's free, so it must be good! This is a simple BRP (Runequest / Chaosium's 'Basic Role Playing' ) system, complete with BRP-Lite version of the system covered as well. Fantastic if you want to throw down a game in a setting that isn't really covered by what else you have available. It's a universal system, so fantasy / medieval times through to the gun-toting present-day is covered (and particularly well in the weapon and gear lists). There's some nice tables of injuries and other lite-crunchy fun, there's a great magic and spells section, and even a radiation exposure table. You could grab this lil' PDF and embark on a entire campaign with it if you really wanted, and that's a great thing. I do have one criticism though - through the gushing admiration for the Open-Source loveliness - and that's that for all the Cthulhu beasties visible on the cover and in the illustrations throughout the book and the general horror theme that seems to be being reached for, there's no Sanity system in this PDF, and as a big fan of Call of Cthulhu, and I think that's a shame.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GORE
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by David C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/02/2010 14:15:39

I'm not a big fan of percentile based RPG's so I did not find this game much use personally and therefore could not give it 5 stars. However, I found it was put together well and easy to read. I would imagine that anyone who likes percentile style games would find this product to be a welcome addition.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
GORE
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/01/2010 15:02:43

There were some good games on the market back in the 80s that used this system. This is a very good resource for that system. The "Deep ones" would be proud.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
GORE
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/01/2009 12:18:44

This one is mixed for me. While I like the concept of being able to produce "new" games that look like old games using the OGL, I am also left with the question of "Why play/buy GORE when I still have CoC?". From a design standpoint GORE is great. It does exactly what it is supposed to do and it does it well. It was one of the first "Old School" or "Retro-clone" games to hit the market, so it helped pave the way for the likes of "Labyrinth Lord" and others. And of course you can't argue the price really. While players of the old school game it is meant to emulate won’t get anything new here, fans will enjoy it and for new players it provides a small entry fee (as in 0$) to the hobby.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
GORE
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by Trent F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2009 12:58:09

A very well written and organized OGL game system. It appears that a lot of effort went into the development of this product and it shows. I especially like the optional “Hit Locations” rules for different body parts. Kind of realistic and fun too. The artwork is fine also. The charts and graphs are very professional as well. It’s a great all around system. “Find me some dice. Let’s start gaming.”



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GORE
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by Todd M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/17/2008 14:04:43

This is the next best thing to Basic Role Playing, RuneQuest or Call of Cthulhu. Heck, it's the OGL of those mechanics to run just about any percentage based RPG from the second generation of Role Playing Games. Download it, print it off and give it to your players and everyone can have access to the rules you'll need to run a d100 game system. Definitely a 5 Star rating when compared to a lot of the crap that is being promoted as RPG's in this day and age. Honestly, this was a breath of fresh air with that good ole' Old School that flavor that makes it even better. Excellent example of what Open Gaming is supposed to look like!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items