Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Nameia's Laboratory
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/22/2019 19:07:58

Nameia's Laboratory is a dark one-shot that will leave both you and your players wanting more! The concise and open-ended nature of this professionally-formatted and illustrated dungeon crawl makes it easy to prep for and drop into your Forgotten Realms campaign or homebrewed setting. The macabre magic items and creatures, the Crimson Order cult, and the emphasis on blood magic are sure to add an element of horror to your game that you can extend into future adventures.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Nameia's Laboratory
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Slayer Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/22/2019 18:21:33

[Video Review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UVed-D00WIA ] Intelligence is widely recognized as an underwhelming ability in Dungeons & Dragons 5e. Wizards need it, and thematically it’s fun to play a bookish character, but that's about it. The Slayer is a martial class that relies heavily on intelligence by mixing the survivalist expertise of rangers with the deadly nature of rogues. It has five subclasses, mainly based on targeting specific creature types, and the new fiendhunter archetype is perfect for hellish adventures like Baldurs Gate: Descent to Avernus! You can see more of this class in my video review!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Slayer Class
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Venger's Guide to Random Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/22/2019 18:03:07

Venger's Guide To Random Encounters is a great compilation of theory and application tips for enhancing this integral part of long-term D&D campaigns. The document's conversational tone makes it an easy read compared to many dense DM Guides; it is more reminiscent of an engaging video from Matt Coleville or Cody from Taking 20.

At times the material seems redundant, but overall it is a thorough walk through for employing random encounters. One great takeaway I got from this guide was to have players roll for the encounter! It's a simple way to give them more influence on the game. As a PWYW title, it's absolutely worth picking up if you would like to better your game!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Venger's Guide to Random Encounters
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Hey Robert, thanks so much for this lovely review, very much appreciated and I'm glad you enjoyed it. It really is a thorough walkthrough, with the chaos theory section providing a foundation to make the practical tips more effective. But yeah, you can still feel free to skip that and head straight for the tips! :-D
Neverember's Guide to Urbanization
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/16/2019 18:34:54

Neverember's Guide To Urbanization is full of DM tools for enhancing urban adventures in any setting. It is structured like Xanathar's Guide To Everything with player options (new spells, new archetypes for 9 classes including the artificer), but mostly world building aids for Dungeon Masters, all in a familiar but thematic 5e format with dozens of great art pieces.

I like original ideas in the bard college of painters, paladin oath of preservation, the ranger falconer, and especially the warlock Primus patron - leaning on the Plane of Law - often pushed aside in D&D 5e. The City Events table is incredibly useful for building verisimilitude in any setting, as it has details for use with different size settlements from hamlets to cities, and I absolutely plan to use it when my players head into new areas and ask for the buzz around town, rather than just providing one or two adventure hooks. The short section on Building Prices drew my attention, but seems to be a somewhat complicated rule system for cost of construction materials, when I was hoping for simply a more detailed list of types of buildings than the few included in the DMG. And I think the Law Enforcement section lays a good foundation for DMs to work from, and I would have liked to see more information here, akin to the thorough and helpful Noble House, Expanded Business Management, and Expanded Marketplace sections!

Overall I think Neverember's Guide is a great value for DMs interested in urban story arcs and campaigns!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Neverember's Guide to Urbanization
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks Bob! I've planned an update this far september including an extended law enforcement paragraph and new features for the noble house system. Also I'll try to make more viable the house construction system. Thank you again and don't forget to check out for new updates!
The Festival of Magic
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/14/2019 18:07:15

[Video review: https://youtu.be/VSryTy2lN9M] The Festival Of Magic is an exciting beginner adventure where the players must resolve several bizarre incidents threatening a small city’s celebrations, and bring the saboteurs to justice!

The formatting, cartography, and cover art pieces are top-notch, and the encounters are sure to make for a fun adventure with new or experienced players, though I would have preferred more variety. The encounters are combat-based with social, investigation-style skill challenges, so some kind of puzzle or exploration would have been a great inclusion.

That said, I have run this module for two groups of primarily new players, and both sessions were fantastic! I recommend checking it out, and taking a look at my video review linked above.

Bob World Builder youtube.com/BobWorldBuilder



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Festival of Magic
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

I Am Your World
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/13/2019 19:09:05

I Am Your World begins with content warnings regarding emotional abuse and memory manipulation, or gaslighting, which serve as the foundation of this module's dramatic tension - a dark deal between a mindflayer and a neogi colony to exploit humanoid emotion. Furthermore, this adventure requires player buy-in to have their class abilities and certain character memories temporarily unavailable, and even have them take on different identities at the beginning. For a group of players prepared to face these challenges, the party will work with other captors of the mindflayer, and hopefully regain their memories and break free from the cruel oppression.

The module is well laid-out in the standard 5e format with a mixture of WotC-provided art pieces and original art and maps (DM and player versions). I was impressed by the 9 alternate-identity cards with names, descriptive professions, background info, skills, and abilities - these are exactly what I wanted out of the Essentials Kit sidekick cards!

Fortunately, this is all the players really need. As an investigation-style adventure, they will probably be relying on problem-solving and teamwork more than weapons.

If you think your group is up for this unique adventure, I’m sure they will find the victory rewarding!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
I Am Your World
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Sunken Village of Little Corth
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2019 21:04:10

The Sunken Village of Little Corth is a peculiar level 2 adventure that takes your party on a time-travelling journey to save the people of a small village...again? Surprisingly, this is the first D&D 5e module I've seen that employs time-travel as a core concept, and it's done well. Of course, for the loop to work out, the party does have to follow along with the story as-written, so it may not work with all types of players.

The formatting is not the most conducive for a 40-page read, so I would love to see an update with narrower margins, a more plain background, and wider-spaced or larger print. But this does not take away from the originality of this well-written adventure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Sunken Village of Little Corth
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Malady Chronicles
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2019 18:03:30

[Video Review: https://youtu.be/f7_Oqn6ojMI ] The Malady Chronicles is a story-based expansion on the four best-selling disease-themed supplements in the Malady series. This book contains 9 setting-neutral adventures written by 9 different authors. There are three quests for each of the first three tiers of play, and they can be run as oneshots OR a full campaign!

I was particularly impressed by the inclusion of 8 sample characters (each including a level 1 stat block, art, physical descriptions, a backstory, ideals, bonds, flaws, and personal quotes). These make great sidekicks for running the adventures with a small party.

Malady Chronicles is a unique book that your game group is sure to enjoy! Check out my video review linked above!

  • Bob World Builder


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Malady Chronicles
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Devil's in the Details | Mini Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/04/2019 06:56:27

Video Review: https://youtu.be/EfncbRiExYI -- My group had a great time playing Devils In The Details! This module is pick-up-and-play oneshot, easily adaptable to any setting with a coastal city, or full-fledged seafaring campains like Ghosts Of Saltmarsh or Call From The Deep. Plus, its fiendish themes make it a great prologue to Baldurs Gate: Descent To Avernus. Unlike most published modules, Devils In The Details provides two distinct outcomes based on player choice, and the adventure continues in Against The Tide Of The Pirate King! Check out my video review for a look inside!

  • Bob World Builder


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Devil's in the Details | Mini Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Path of the Kraken
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/01/2019 09:20:54

The Kraken is a mysterious entity from the blueblack underworld you thought you understood, and this subclass harnesses its long, dark, and tentacled essence to make barbarians even more treacherous. Path of the Kraken is perfect for your party's adventures in Ghosts of Saltmarsh, Call from the Deep, or any seafaring or Lovecraftian campaign!

  • Bob World Builder


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Path of the Kraken
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Auction Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/01/2019 08:53:10

[Video Review: https://youtu.be/S3XergzPYGE ] Auctions Encounters by Double Crescent Productions contains everything you need to run your party's downtime at the market in an engaging and compelling style. Furthermore, the included NPCs, sample auctions, and docket price tables can detail your setting with useful information. Check out my video review for a look inside this great supplement!

  • Bob World Builder


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Auction Encounters
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Complete Devout Handbook
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/02/2019 16:17:26

In-depth review: https://youtu.be/7FGzaTchGX4 The Complete Devout Handbook is a great supplement for DMs and players! I personally love the Druid Circle of the Branch, which will finally allow me to play as a tree person, and the Monk Way of the Tattooed Temple, which has inspired a balanced way to include magic tattoos for all of my players! If you miss the expansion handbooks from AD&D, miss them no more. As the second supplement in the Handbook series, this book contains original and classic archetypes that you have been waiting to play, and provides new spells and magic items for more divine flavor. Check out my in-depth review on YouTube through the link above!

Bob World Builder



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Complete Devout Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Call from the Deep
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/25/2019 08:44:26

[Video Campaign Summary: https://youtu.be/SIkXnSSJ9Ig ] Call from the Deep is an original, fully-fledged campaign that your gaming group will be talking about for years to come. Levels 1-10, a Kraken, an Elder Brain, and pirate raids on not one, not two, but three iconic D&D cities? -- yes, those ones -- Your party better get creative to save all three, or have debts in the cities they let crumble. Unfortunately for the Sword Coast, pirates are only the beginning. Remember that Elder Brain? Because Zellix'Phor remembers everything, and that memory has filled this mega-mind with the perfect mixture of pride and hate to make them the arch-villian you have always wanted to face. So enjoy sailing the seas while it lasts!

Bob World Builder



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Call from the Deep
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

50 Magic Items - Treasures of Saltmarsh
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/13/2019 08:46:55

Check out my video review! https://youtu.be/FiDlHiQJPR8 This supplement is loaded with original, thematic items that are great for any adventures at sea or in coastal regions. Plus, the document itself is well-written and beautifully formatted. It's sure to be a great addition to your game!

Bob Bob World Builder



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
50 Magic Items - Treasures of Saltmarsh
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Harrier - A Martial Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/04/2019 20:46:37

Check out my in-depth video review here: https://youtu.be/o4Hekp2H2X8 This class is not a simple remake of the sorcerer or the fighter or any other familiar class. It's a new player experience for D&D lovers want to know what happens when a character with a sorcerer bloodline eschews magic and devotes themselves to weapon training!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Harrier - A Martial Class
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items