Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Challenge Accepted!
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin M. C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/14/2019 00:27:07

Great product! I really think the layout of how to achieve successes in each of these sample situations really gives you an insight as to how to run a skill challenge of your own devising. The artwork is incredible and the layout looks very nice (minor issues for me). The scenarios are really well thought out and reflect the amount of time that probably went into describing these. The skill checks make sense. I also love the terrain descriptions and the addition of the traps at the end.

The question I have would only be how would you decide which PC does which skill check and when? It kind of leaves it out there. I can figure it out, but I think it might be helpful to describe this.

I believe the copy editing may have fallen a bit short as there as numerous grammatical errors, missing punctuation, and bad syntax in sentence structure. These can all be worked around and ignored, maybe even fixed in a future version.

Overall: 4 out of 5. I will be using scenarios like this in the future in my own games. I do recommend!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Challenge Accepted!
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you Justin for the great review and we are glad you enjoy the product. We are already looking to fix a few things in some updates in the later future. Deciding which PC should do the job is should be left to the DM, as they know the characters skills, or the players volunteer themselves(which we all hopes happens). But, we agree that their could be some refinement and additional instructions. We will add these as soon as we can. Thank you again. :)
Tips, Tricks and Traps: How to Rogue With Style
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/24/2019 13:42:04

Although the title is misleading, this is a small booklet on Rogue Archetypes, introducing us to five of them. Dungeoneer - I like the feel of this, but it seems to be limited to only dungeons. Probably a really good archetype for Dungeon of the Mad Mage. Harlequin - I enjoy this take on a tumbler. The only problem I really have is in the wording, such as Acrobatic Strike. When you garner an ooportunity attack and from whom is not quite clear. Mentalist - Mentalism has a property which allows you to roll a Deception check and use it as your AC if it is higher than your AC (at 3rd Level). This looks abusable to me, but I could be wrong. Seems a bit strong to be able to have up to a 29 AC at 3rd level every single turn. Maybe this could be tempered by having the roll at disadvantage? Also, I enjoy Shawn Spencer as a rogue.
Slip - Interesting idea. The 17th level ability is confusing to me. The attack deals 3d6 extra damage, but is this to each target and does it stack with sneak attack? Tinker - Should have just called it Bomber or Bombadier! This is a good archetype for those that enjoy blowing things and creatures (and themselves) up!

I give this a 4 out of 5 stars, mostly for the confusing descriptions of some of the abilities, but I would allow my players to use these if they wanted with some minor tweaks.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tips, Tricks and Traps: How to Rogue With Style
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Ten Sword Coast Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/24/2019 13:11:55

This product is interestingly lad out and simple to use or refer to. Each random encounter is just one page long and has not only the pertinent information for the encounter, but also includes enough to refer to what went before and the possibilities of where to go with it after. In all, a very well-written little group of encounters that is easy to drop into any campaign, and not just to use on the Sword Coast, either. The new creature is inventive and also will make the party think hard about how to take care of it. Not all of the encounters are solved by combat, but they can be, so it appeals to all types of dungeon masters and players. I recommend this product to any DM who would enjoy spicing up their own world of random encounters or are just stuck for something quick and easy to drop in. I rate this 5 out of 5 stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ten Sword Coast Encounters
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Big Book of Rogues
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2019 13:12:05

This is a great resource for players interested in playing a rogue a "different" way. It enables you to fill out your backstory or hone your skills to provide some specialties. Rogue has always had a broad description that never fully encompasses specialties; this document provides them. I feel like I can specialize any rogue further and use this in roleplaying and in mechanical adaptations. Maybe even surprise the DM with some underworld knowledge! Good job and anyone playing a rogue should at least give this a perusal.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Big Book of Rogues
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Mordenkainen's Tome of Factions
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2019 13:08:36

I enjoy different takes on popular NPCs and these 5 are pretty good. The new backgrounds are great and the items are creative. I will be using a couple of these in my current campaign. I recommend this for anyone who enjoys having many options for backgrounds, as well, since these do not seem to duplicate in other places that I have seen.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mordenkainen's Tome of Factions
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Odyssey of the Dragonlords: Player's Guide
Publisher: Modiphius
by Justin C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2019 12:51:57

Epic hero EPICNESS! Mythical heroes abound. This lets you feel as if you dropped into your own Odyssey. The races look good and the new Archetypes are very thematic and look solid. I have already donated to the Kickstarter, so I look forward to the campaign, as well!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Odyssey of the Dragonlords: Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Heroes of Baldur's Gate (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2019 12:44:15

I cannot WAIT to run this! I will be borrowing from this liberally when the Descent is officially released. The adventure really looks like a video game come to life in campaign form! James and Jesse bring the characters that we love back to life (sometimes literally) and weave a magical story that continues the original feel while providing new viewpoints. The art is wonderful and the maps are great, providing SO many descriptions of any place your adventurers will want to go. I also just enjoyed reading this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes of Baldur's Gate (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Complete Adventures of M.T. Black Vol. I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2019 12:38:38

Amazing set of adventures. I have ran almost all of these and have been able to conveniently drop them into whatever campaign I am running with a very minimum of changes. Most of them allow you to just "port" characters in however you want to and the Longsaddle wizrd crew make it easy to put them back, too! Have fun mixing these adventures into seemingly unrelated campaigns and still be able to weave the story!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Adventures of M.T. Black Vol. I
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Monster Loot Vol. 1 – Monster Manual
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2019 00:28:11

Great organization and simple rules! I look forward to maybe getting more Loot from monsters from other sources soon and maybe an expanded list of things you can craft (which I am already working on for myself)!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Loot Vol. 1 – Monster Manual
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items