Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Challenge Accepted! $4.95
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 7
0 1
0 0
0 0
0 0
Challenge Accepted!
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Challenge Accepted!
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Benjamin W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/26/2019 00:08:09

This versatile collection is worth every penny. The art, skill challenges, terrain and puzzles are all flavorful and useful. The best skill challenge in there, in my opinion, is called 'Emergency Surgery.' Everyone at my table was on the edge of their seat and engaged with the story for that one, haha! Can't recommend it enough. Check out the podcast while you're at it. These guys are always releasing cool stuff.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Challenge Accepted!
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin M. C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/14/2019 00:27:07

Great product! I really think the layout of how to achieve successes in each of these sample situations really gives you an insight as to how to run a skill challenge of your own devising. The artwork is incredible and the layout looks very nice (minor issues for me). The scenarios are really well thought out and reflect the amount of time that probably went into describing these. The skill checks make sense. I also love the terrain descriptions and the addition of the traps at the end.

The question I have would only be how would you decide which PC does which skill check and when? It kind of leaves it out there. I can figure it out, but I think it might be helpful to describe this.

I believe the copy editing may have fallen a bit short as there as numerous grammatical errors, missing punctuation, and bad syntax in sentence structure. These can all be worked around and ignored, maybe even fixed in a future version.

Overall: 4 out of 5. I will be using scenarios like this in the future in my own games. I do recommend!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you Justin for the great review and we are glad you enjoy the product. We are already looking to fix a few things in some updates in the later future. Deciding which PC should do the job is should be left to the DM, as they know the characters skills, or the players volunteer themselves(which we all hopes happens). But, we agree that their could be some refinement and additional instructions. We will add these as soon as we can. Thank you again. :)
Challenge Accepted!
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Charles K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2019 08:43:27

full disclosure i won this in a contest but was planning on buying it anyway. I love to listen to their podcast and twitch streams so highly reccomend finding and listening to them. Critacademy is great for players and DMs both but caution NSFW due to swearing. Now for the review

First off most if not all players love combat but as a dm you want to toss other things at them as well. This fits that perfectly. Gives you solid examples of encounters that utilize the players skills to solve problems and some are even useable in combat.

Each example is given a difficulty that has to have so many success before so many failures. Depending on the result there is good and/or bad things that happen. All of the examples have a great flavor to them and can be tossed in any system with barely any modifications.

There is also fantastic ideas for unique terrain to add into combat so it livens it up some. These terrain pieces make it so either you want to stand near them or try to at least keep the enemy from standing near there maybe even move them into harmful ones. Traps are included some as well that have fun ideas to them. These last two are a fun addition but not the main focus.

Overall grab this if you want to add something more to your game than just simple fighting or simple skill check to see if the noble likes your party enough to lend aid to mission filler #35.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Challenge Accepted!
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Edward T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/05/2019 16:17:57

Very good resuorce for DMs who want to add a little something to an adventure. There are all sorts of challenges in here that can provide unique and interesting ways for a party to roleplay through. It offers numerous ways for them to complete the challenges, not just a "roll a one time check using ____ stat", but takes it a step back and allows the players to figure out their best way of getting through the problem at hand. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Challenge Accepted!
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brandon G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/04/2019 17:53:15

I was a huge fan of the skill challenges in 4e and was a little let down when 5e was missing them. This was exactly something I was looking for!!! Even the added terrain and traps was a little bit of extra sauce to this awesome book! Would absolutely recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Challenge Accepted!
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/03/2019 18:45:20

Skill Challenges are a fun aspect of earlier editions and it is nice to see them make a comeback.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Challenge Accepted!
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/03/2019 17:26:52

When the good folks over at the Crit Academy sent me Challenge Accepted! to review, I got very excited because now skill challenges were back. A bygone piece of mechanic from 3.5 and 4e, skill challenges were easy to insert into any scenario - both combat and noncombat. I think the first example that they use in the beginning of how the players could possibly woo an NPC to their cause - what the outcome would be by using various skills such as Persuasion, History, or Intimidation; their DCs; and the different outcomes that could occur. It is that "Choose Your Own Adventure" vibe that truly makes roleplaying worth it at times.

From there they only get more interesting - Blizzard, Emergency Surgery, Murder in the Streets, Rift to the Abyss, and so on. Past those you get a section on Complex Traps which really amp up the risk in any dungeon. At the end of the day, the gang at the Crity Academy did an excellent job in putting together a light (36 pages) easy-to-read supplement to enhance gameplay ten-fold. Challenge Accepted is a must have for any DM who wants to bring their game to the next level of engagement.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Challenge Accepted!
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Austin S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/02/2019 12:44:46

This product gives something that is sorely needed to give players a different kind of challenge as you give them monster encounters - skill challenges, of course! It gives a healthy plethora of great non-combat encounters (though there still is a few, don't worry!) to make your players go, "Wow, that was tough, good thing I had my stone shape, or else we may have suffocated there."

It really gives other players who aren't so combat focused time to shine, and even some of the combat focused players a way to help those players out.

A must-have for any DM who may want something more than just, "Sword guy hits Spell guy for XX damage."

Bonus: It even has some other content about difficult terrains and complex traps too, so he's got you covered for when things don't go quite as planned and they accidently steam-rolled the challenge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items