Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Devil's Advocate: A Guide to Infernal Contracts $4.95
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
41 11
6 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
Devil\'s Advocate: A Guide to Infernal Contracts
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Devil's Advocate: A Guide to Infernal Contracts
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mike G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/04/2021 10:35:26

Absolutely loved it. What a great idea for a suppliment. Deviously written!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Devil's Advocate: A Guide to Infernal Contracts
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/04/2020 16:47:56

A fantastic supplement. Quite simply, this is something every DM should get their hands on--certainly if planning to run Descent into Avernus, but really for any campaign in which devils will make an appearance. The whole conecept of devil contracts--while incredibly exciting--can seem daunting to a DM from a mechanical perspective; how exactly should I work them into a game without bogging things down or letting details slip through the cracks? The Devil's Advocate guide eliminates these concerns and provides a richly detailed yet simple framework that should make for some highly memorable in-game moments!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Devil's Advocate: A Guide to Infernal Contracts
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Spencer A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2020 14:26:22

Devil's Advocate is one of those supplements that condenses a bunch of information that you PROBABLY could have figured out on your own, but you're so grateful that you don't need to. Justice did a wonderful job of laying out the mechanics you want to bring to these sorts of deals, as well as mixing in just enough advice for table ettiquete and how to deal with player expectations that even if you somehow read his mind and already knew the mechanics, you come away with something new and useful. And while he admits he's not, himself, a lawyer this product comes with just enough genre-fitting legalese to make you sound like you can play the part. A wonderful addition to your table if you plan on dealing with devils any time soon... even if the reference to Descent Into Avernus dates the writing a little bit! Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Devil's Advocate: A Guide to Infernal Contracts
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kenneth C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/15/2019 11:51:57

Beautifully written, precisely formatted, and delightfully flavorful: Devil's Advocate is possibly one of the best additions you can make to your campaign, regardless of it's proximity to Avernus.

Adding much-needed depth to deals and bargains, this supplement brings player choice to the forefront, while allowing the DM some much needed cathartic fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Devil's Advocate: A Guide to Infernal Contracts
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Axel D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/05/2019 15:47:47

Summary: buy it.

It's a fun read. Scared my players when I ssent them a screenshot of the cover. Worth the cost right there!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Devil's Advocate: A Guide to Infernal Contracts
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Seb W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/04/2019 20:17:45

The moment you get your hands on this supplement you get the idea of what you are in for; a great understanding of devils and their lore, alongside an earnest wish to create something for DMs to get some actual use out of in their games, filling one of the Nine Neiches. Just one look at the insidiously good cover by Gwen Bassett (@gwendybee), the hellishly smart layout by Anna Urbanek (@2xproficiency), various dastardly interior arts, and the eloquent and humble preface by the author, Justice Arman (@justice_arman) you know you are in talented, bloodstained talons.

(Loch's Logbook: You know. I don't know what the big deal is. I got my ship and my crew back. Plus that bastard Frost Giant is now an, agonised, living figurehead. For half my life? I'm laughing...)

Have no fear if you aren't not a legal beagle, as the terms are clearly explained and the main components of the contract are described in detail with examples and random tables for generating enough contracts for all your friends, family and pets, whether for yourself or on behalf of an Arch-Devil.

(I'm only writing this review as part of a bargain to shave a few life-years off a contract. I'm getting on and my sea legs ain't what they were, and I only had to put my soul on the line! What a sucker! Wait a minute...)

These explanations and examples cover every aspect from the reasons for and benefits of contract, through the clauses, stipulations and fine print, all the way to collection any foolish or brave (see: foolish) attempts to break or renege on the contract and its terms.

(This is a joke, right? I was joking. Who signs their soul for a few life-years reprieve? Be reasonable!)

The considerations of how pressing the situation the contract is drafted and signed in, the level of the character being offered the contract and the appropriate denizen of the Nine Hells to facilitate the transactions, as well as the quality of the boon on offer, are all laid out and detailed so you can create the righgcontract for any and all characters, no matter their experience or the predicament they find themselves in.

(You know what, why don't you just make the rest of The Lawful Good dead again? I never did like that Torr much, anyway. I know his real name! He's wanted by the Red Sashes! Wait...)

What really matters in a roleplay game is combat. Lots and lots of combat, and while this could be an option (see: foolish), roleplay is key and an extremely important part of the process of drawing up the contract. This supplement has you covered, with ways to consider the Devil/ DM's approach to different characters and their alignment, as well as ways in which even the more lawful and pious characters can be tempted. Did you know making a deal with an evil entity for your soul can actually be a selfless act for the greater good? Marvelous! There is also a table of various ways a character's personality could be affected by bargaining their soul, from cavalier to apathetic.

(Doppelganger, I know right!? Okay, okay. What about the Dwarf? Can't hit the ugly side of an otyguh! Imagine what Marster would bargain for a deadeye? I could have phrased that better...)

There's clear advice in how to layout and create your own contracts for your game, props or otherwise, taking you through the process, as well as tables to determine the medium and devilish quirks for the contract and its administrator. Could you be signing your life away on an ancient Hag's wooly jumper, while the devil's hair swipes and snaps at insects like a Venus Flytrap? These and more eventualities are covered.

(take the fork out and put the eye back in! Okay. Okay. Breathe. What about Vey? She's all snug asleep in the arms of the Harpers. Ever taken the soul from an incapacitated Cleric from Zendikar? How much more fun does that sound...)

In the appendix we find the three new Devils mentioned, complete with description, full statblocks and some creepy cool illustrations, as. Well as Latin phrases and Infernal symbols to give your contact some flare, the ritual to summon an Infernal Ally and a complete level by level table of the new friend you can make and how long you get to play together, if that's a part of your contract, and a great looking example contract to give you clear idea of what they can look like.

(Just stop waving that fork around for a minute and listen! I know. I know! Voulan's new and noone would miss her anyway. Plus she's an Elf! Think of all those extra life-years of servitude...)

The amount of information provided in such an accessible and thoroughly amusing way that has been packed into 24 pages is no mean feat. The care, quality and panache in this supplement are seriously impressive, and a thoroughly entertaining read on its own. If you are planning to involve devil's and their contracts, especially with Descent around the corner, then this is an absolute must.

(I'm not going in the bag. I think I can see my dentist dressed as a clown in there. That's it! I'm not going without a fight...[see: foolish])

It's an absolute delight to read and now I have a mighty need to tempt and enslave my players with tantalising offers that will surely lead to their doom! It just sounds like such fun and some hellishly hilarious opportunities for roleplay, I simply can't wait for.

(sounds of breath weapons and swords getting slowly more faint as they are drowned out by the guttural braying of a pack of Bloodhounds and maniacal laughter of a Handler)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Devil's Advocate: A Guide to Infernal Contracts
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/31/2019 15:37:53

"It boils down to this: you scratch my back, and I'll scratch yours. Really, really hard." - Devil's Advocate, pg 10 Obligation

For characters desperate enough to make deals with fiends, Devil's Advocate provides everything you could want to devise diabolical contracts that your gaming group will not soon forget! This supplement is beautifully formatted with fiendish notes, quotes from infamous Forgotten Realms characters, full color paintings, classic black ink sketches, and snippets of infernal lore.

Each "consideration" from memories, to bloodlines, to one's very soul could be drawn into character story arcs and provide lasting consequences for the people of your campaign world. If your game is typically bound to the material plane, several sections like Fine Print and Collections can be easily adapted to deals with crime families, thieve's guilds, and other nefarious organizations. Finally, this supplement will obviously be a great tool for any DM running Baldurs Gate: Descent To Avernus this fall. May all your contracts be as fair as infernally possible!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Devil's Advocate: A Guide to Infernal Contracts
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Will T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/23/2019 01:57:39

I bought this looking for a little spice to my home game, and due to a curiousity about how exactly devils would go around making deals, and it has drastically improved my game. These contracts forced my players to get further in their character's heads and presented an interesting new type of conflict- Them versus their morality. The provided contract template was wonderful and absolutely stunned my players when I gave it to them, and at that point they were hooked. Beware though! Devils are awfully good at their job, and once you know how to tempt your players, theres a very real chance they'll succumb. And then you have your next storyline as they try to win their souls back.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Devil's Advocate: A Guide to Infernal Contracts
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Timothy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2019 19:12:32

Literally a flawless product. Every page of this is used with brilliant attention to detail without any overwhelming or unnecessary mechanics. I’ve stayed away from devils in my campaigns for far too long as a DM, and this publication just threw me (and soon my players) into the hells that I’ve been unprepared for. With original artwork and just that touch of dark humor we all need with the greatest evils beyond our own realm, I am beyond impressed. Thank you for this true work of art!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you, Tim! Your words are very touching. I'm glad you enjoyed the product. May your players lose their souls swiftly!
Devil's Advocate: A Guide to Infernal Contracts
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brad R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/24/2019 10:13:00

Fantastic addition to any collection especially with Avernus just around the corner come check out my full review: https://youtu.be/fUpYC_F2O6A



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
I appreciate it, Brad! I'll absolutely consider your suggestions in future products.
Devil's Advocate: A Guide to Infernal Contracts
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2019 17:43:34

Tahm Kench, Asmodeus, Lucifer, Dr. Fascille, Usrala. All of them have contracts, all of them have fine print. All of them have a cost. What Justice has done is take one of the oldest narrative plots - the infernal contract - and finally given it player/DM-friendly mechanics to easily adapt it into any D&D game. There is so much packed into just 24 pages: original art, the various types of contracts, ways to break them, a sample contract, and several useful appendices.

I especially love the little Latin conversion table at the end for adding to the contracts - cause obviously devils are highly cultured and speak Latin, duh. The other various tables for adding to the contracts also add a lot of roleplay and mechanical potential - but overall I love that there is so much fun (both dark and light) embedded in this little gem.

Overall, Justice has wowed me with a stellar and fantastic little piece that truly captures everything someone would need to add that extra layer of infernal complexity to any game.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you Cameron! I'm glad you enjoyed the product. I enjoyed the Latin phrases as well. Finally those 3 semesters in high school paid off for something!
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items