Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
CCC-UK-4 Bourne of Candles
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brendon W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/21/2019 03:05:00

Having loved the UK series I was excited to run this one and had a handful of players keen to see the end of the story chain. Unfortunately I was a little let down by the design of the module. While it still features many of the same charming touches and a rich story like the previous modules it feels much more on rails than it's prequels. We ran significantly under time with this module as it didn't feel like there was a lot else to explore so the players were just going along with the prompts. In the end I felt like it was maybe missing a chapter to give it some more depth. Perhaps if there was a little town at the base of the castle with more characters to dig into and reveal information about the plot it would have felt a little less narrow focused. There are however some fun fights and great characters to play with, and still a worthy end to the story arc, I was just left feeling like I wanted a little more. Pick it up if you loved the other modules and don't mind this one being a bit more linear than it's other counterparts.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-UK-4 Bourne of Candles
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-UK-3 The Tainted Grove
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brendon W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/13/2019 21:10:53

Ran this adventure for a group of new and experienced players last night and everyone had a ball. Like the rest of the UK series it centers around a little village with a variety of fun NPCs to roleplay and fun little thematic encounters to engage the players. I had to hurry my group along a little as they were engrossed in exploring and we were running in a timed slot.

There's a good balance of roleplay and combat options, and some chances to investigate, though it seems not much in the way of useful clues until the culprits become obvious. Still a very engaging little story and the inclusion of the players fears is a really wonderful addition and played a treat.

Highly recommended either as a standalone module or run in some combination of UK-1 to UK-4



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-UK-3 The Tainted Grove
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-CIC-08 The Last Voyage of the Woolgathering Tidsoptimist
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brendon W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/05/2019 23:45:36

Very combat heavy module, there's definitely some opportunities for roleplay aboard the ship but nothing that progresses the story in a meaningful way. Still a very fun module and a great (but sometimes deadly) monster encounter for tier 1 characters. Worth potentially breaking the combat up a bit with some story events if your party doesn't revel in combat but perfect if they do.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-CIC-08 The Last Voyage of the Woolgathering Tidsoptimist
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCCGOC01-01 Tree Rot
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brendon W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/05/2019 23:34:01

Great little module with many good opportunities for role play and combat, with some skill based challenges to keep the party engaged.

Be prepared to be very descriptive in the chase scene to get the party engaged as it can get repetitive if they struggle with the checks.

There's a lot of substance to the story despite being such a fun module and my party really enjoyed it, especially the final battle. All in all a very fun little module.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCCGOC01-01 Tree Rot
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-CIC-12 Redemption at Talos Sound
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brendon W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/18/2019 08:44:26

I finished running the trilogy for my players tonight and everyone had a great time, most of them played at least two parts of the trilogy and were interested to see how it ends. Elements of this module do play out in a similar way to the second part however so my players were very supicious at times due to the deja vu. There was still a lot here for them to dig into however and they were able to piece together the puzzles fairly quickly and make light work of the combat. I ran this with a strong party but I feel like I should have bumped up the difficulty on them even more as the adjustment scale didn't seem to add much challenge. Consider if you run this adding a few more enemies in some encounters or adjusting things slightly to challenge the players for the finale. All in all a fun trilogy and a very good story award.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-CIC-12 Redemption at Talos Sound
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-CIC-11 Death at Peril Island
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brendon W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/13/2019 02:30:29

I really enjoyed running this module as part of the trilogy, the material is sparse at times but easy to expand on and flesh out with details if you're prepared. There's a good mix of elements in this one, a chance for the adventurers to make use of their skills, some fun enemies and a grand battle to cap it off. The downside is that being the middle part of a trilogy it feels at times quite on the rails and my players were a little disappointed as they felt they couldn't actually accomplish what they were sent to do because it's earmarked to be resolved at the end of the trilogy. Not a huge negative as I intend to run the third part of the trilogy but highlighted by this module ending in much the same way as the first. I can definitely recommend running this module but it will be much more satisfying if you run it as part of the trilogy, the story is not quite as strong on it's own.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-CIC-11 Death at Peril Island
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-CIC-10 Terror at Soward Manor
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brendon W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2019 01:25:11

Had a lot of fun running this adventure and there's a lot of great little details here to play into the spooky vibe of exploring a haunted house and hints for the players as they slowly work out what's going on.

Some sections are a little light on the details, especially towards the end of the module, a little more guidance may be helpful for some DMs in terms of NPC dialogue to wrap up the adventure and lead it into the next one. A lot has to be ad libbed in the final chapter of the module so some fleshing out wouldn't go astray but all the vital stuff is there if you're well prepared.

At first I thought this might finish up pretty quickly but once the adventurers started exploring the time flew and we finished in about 3.5 hours. All in all a fun adventure and I'm looking forward to running the other two parts of the trilogy shortly.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-CIC-10 Terror at Soward Manor
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-GSP01-01 A Dragon's Breath
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brendon W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/26/2019 21:59:05

I had a blast running this adventure, it features a lot of fun elements that you don't usually get in a tier 1 adventure and provides a lot of opportunities for roleplay and use of skills in the forest.

The final battle is probably not necessary to the plot and can be cut if you want to cut down on time but it's a good opportunity to give tier 1 players a taste of combat above their pay grade. I took the advice of another reviewer on here and let the players control the dragon for the final battle and they had a lot of fun rolling the dice for the breath weapon.

All in all highly recommended, a great adventure with a great reward. I can't wait for the next GSP adventures to be released.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-GSP01-01 A Dragon's Breath
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-UK-2 The Wayward Wives
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brendon W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2019 01:14:48

I really enjoyed running this adventure, there's a lot here to dig into and a lot of opportunities for roleplay depending on what catches a party's interest. There are many different ways to investigate the problem and some big decisions for the adventurers to make with perhaps no "right way" to solve all the problems.

The combat is fun and thematic and the climax scene was a blast to run with a great reward too. I will no doubt run this again in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-UK-2 The Wayward Wives
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items