Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Warriors of Sehanine $4.95
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
31 9
3 1
0 0
0 0
0 0
Warriors of Sehanine
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Warriors of Sehanine
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jay G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/03/2020 08:19:47

The two things that initially drew me to Warriors Of Sehanine were the amazing visual presentation and the all-star creative team behind the project.

The cover is beautiful and atmospheric, the rendering of the two characters on the cover reminded me of the best of 2nd edition cover art and I particularly liked the use of the firefly jar as a lantern. In addition I should point out that this module is 38 total pages and includes full colour art or maps to this same standard on 15 of those 38 pages, this is honestly one of the most visually appealing products I've gotten from DMsGuild to date.

The creative team made this an easy choice for me as well as two of the credited writers are Ashley Warren (Winter's Splendor, Labyrinth Of Thorns, Uncaged) and JVC Parry (Call From The Deep) both of whom have produced material that I have previously given 5 star reviews to on DMsGuild and have produced some absolutely fantastic material that I have enjoyed in the past.

Beyond the visual elements and the reputation of the creative team I have to say that Warriors Of Sehanine is an extremely interesting and challenging adventure where the characters are tasked with rescuing two children while overcoming a Black Dragon. While the premise of the adventure is on it's surface quite simple the layering built in with; various NPC motivations, as well as some interesting forest encounters, rival factions that can change the level of difficulty, as well as something of a ticking clock element give this adventure a lot more depth that it's page count might initially lead you to believe.

The background for the adventure is set firmly in the Forgotten Realms but it wouldn't take much effort to rework the module into another fantasy forest setting if your game takes place in a different campaign setting.

Definitely worth a purchase and if you're like me and your print your DMsGuild content splurge and get a colour copy of this one!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for your well thought out and lenghty review. I do hope you have or had tons of fun running it!
Warriors of Sehanine
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Zee R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2020 12:03:03

This adventure packs so much content and encounters into it that it has a lot of replay value! This is a wise choice for any group looking for an epic story. It's well worth your time and energy; you'll need plenty of both to make it through!

If you're not sure about purchasing this adventure, feel free to listen to our playthrough:

http://dndinbigd.buzzsprout.com/241602/2279201-it-s-marni-like-cher-warriors-of-sehanine-by-florian-emmerich

This adventure has something for everybody at your table. Heroics, treasure, random stories, and plenty of adventure for everyone to enjoy!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warriors of Sehanine
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Eric W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2019 09:33:47

Pros:

  • Excellent artwork, layout, and presentation.
  • Multiple full-color battlemaps with DM and player versions as well as grid and non-gridded.
  • The Witches Three Appendix richly expands upon the green hag encounter in the woods.

Cons:

  • The bulk of the second chapter is a mini-hex crawl of random encounters.
  • Ravenglade Keep is a bit empty, and parts of it are confusingly laid out.

THE VERDICT: THE DRAGON-HUNTING, WEREWOLF-KID RESCUING MINI-ADVENTURE STARTS OFF PROMISING, BUT GETS BOGGED DOWN WITH A HEX CRAWL IN THE WOODS.

Full review: https://roguewatson.com/2019/11/06/dms-guild-review-warriors-of-sehanine/

Video review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h7BxEdk72K0



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warriors of Sehanine
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Evan J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/11/2019 12:35:06

This adventure is, simply put, the gold-standard for adventure modules on DMsguild. The story is well-written and immersive, investing players and DM fully in the outcome. Further, that narrative is fully-supported with encounters, locations and and NPC's that are compelling and well-built. Overall, the presentation and design are extremely professional and of a level you would expect from an official WotC sourcebook.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warriors of Sehanine
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/28/2019 11:03:22

[Video Review: https://youtu.be/8zLC8db6K-I] Warriors of Sehanine is a masterfully-crafted tier 1 adventure for D&D 5e! The beautifully detailed cover by Raluca Marinescu sets an appropriately high bar for this module. Written by well-known DMs Guild greats Florian Emmerich, Ashley Warren, and JVC Parry (author of Call From The Deep), the 38 page story follows a clear 3-act structure broken into chapters, plus a one-shot epilogue quest included in the appendices! Part hex-crawl, part timed mission -- Warriors of Sehanine is a dramatic and exploratory mini-campaign, so it's great follow-up to low-level oneshots, as well as the perfect prelude to larger campaigns like Descent into Avernus (as this adventure takes place just outside Baldur’s Gate) or a great add-on to modules like the Dragon of Icespire Peak thanks to the flexibility of its location.

The creators provide multiple adventure hooks, a helpful character breakdown, multiple versions of each map for players and DMs, handouts of the character art pieces, and several gorgeous 2D Trash Mob Minis. For the flawless and thematic formatting, beautiful art, wonderful story design and flavorful concise writing, I highly recommend Warriors of Sehahine! Check out my video review linked above for an inside look!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warriors of Sehanine
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/17/2019 11:34:55

I get that many people shy away from pre-written adventures because they’re either too linear or otherwise inappropriate for the DM’s particular setting. Kick that notion to the curb with Warriors of Sehanine. There is so much rich background with this adventure that you, the DM, won’t be stuck when your players inevitably lead things off the rails. You will have enough to answer unexpected questions, allow the players to go completely sideways, revisit as a sequel of sorts, or even replay it with the same people running different characters.

Read more: https://www.nonzerosumgames.com/warriors-of-sehanine/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warriors of Sehanine
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Seb W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/09/2019 09:47:30

This adventure holds a special place in my heart as I had only just become active on twitter shortly before the previews and hype for the release began. From the moment I saw the art, style and flavour I just knew this was going to be something special, and by the starlight twinkling bow on Sehanine Moonbow's bow, this really more than lived up to the hype and knocked my knickerbockers off!

Having now seen much more of the creators' works, I'm not all surprised that this D&D dream team working together produced a truly magnificent product.

The story is fantastic and manages to give so much detail and so many options for how the DM and players can approach elements and their results without being overwhelming. The secrets and subplots are wicked and wonderful. I became so engrossed in the tale and the history of the Warriors of Sehanine that I audibly gasped in shocked sadness at some of the less than positive possible endings.

The Forest of Sharp Teeth, its inhabitants and the elves themselves truly feel alive, and it is easy to imagine their comings and goings with or without the game, that is to say they are brought to life in such a vibrant and emotionally ensnaring manner. There is just something about the writing and descriptions that gave me far more vivid mental imagery than many other adventures (even some official WOTC), so I felt as if I were reading a novel - (Hey D&D Dream Team: Please write a Warriors novel or short stories about the Forest of Sharp Teeth, please!).

Making the travel through the forest a hex crawl really allows the players to explore and experience the random and planned encounters, which is perfect as the planned encounters are detailed, exciting, have significant effect on the continuing story and are extremely adaptive. Each one could be expanded into a one shot of their own...which is exactly what the D&D Dream Team™ (this is becoming an official title for y'all) have done, so not only is there some fun with a sweet old lady in the woods as an encounter, there's a fully expanded one shot version in the appendix! The effects of doing, not doing and the results of the planned encounters are felt throughout the exploration of the keep.

The descriptions of the keep are spectacular and set out for to give the information needed, expanding upon it and the result of previous events and the NPCs the party may have with them. There are so many ways for the players to approach and explore the keep, as well as myriad options for where and how they encounter its denizens. But again the layout and understanding of how these are presented never feel overwhelming, there are simply many options for the DM to have for planning and/ or reacting to the players and the game.

The artwork, character design, maps, handouts and layouts speak for themselves, and are breathtakingly beautiful and wonderfully detailed. It begins with the cover and ends with the included TrashMobMinis, almost certainly the most beautiful artwork and sumptuous models on the market. There is just such attention to detail in the presentation that elevates and stands shoulder to shoulder with the quality of writing and the adventure.

I just can't say enough good things about this truly special product. I'm flabbergasted and in love with all of it. I cannot thank the Dream Team™© for sharing their talent and passion, creating something surprising and special.

While you're at it you really should check out everything else the members of the D&D Dream Team™©® have produced as there are so many wonderful things to see and play after this to continue your adventures!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warriors of Sehanine
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brad R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/01/2019 11:36:56

Warriors of Sehanine is an amazing adventure check out my full review here: https://youtu.be/wwWKt7WCya4 but in short you would be a fool not to pick this one up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warriors of Sehanine
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/21/2019 16:53:01

I usually am not a huge fan of prewritten adventures - I tend to rarely use them and just build my own. However, Warriors of Sehanine is so amazingly beautiful and evocative and engaging that I will definitely see me breaking that long stretch of not using adventures. There is so much that is right with this adventure: absolutely stunning art, thoroughly developed plotlines and encounters, wonderful maps, and so much replay potential.

With the powerhouse trio that Emmerich, Parry and Warren display, it is a wonder that this adventure is not a Wizards published product: their attention to detail, layout, organization, and feel is stellar - and what makes it even better is that you can use Warriors of Sehanine as either and introduction to D&D or plop it in the middle of a game when you need a little something to spice things up and then you will have all you need right there.

But I think what I love most about Warriors of Sehanine - without giving anything away - is the dedication to storytelling. The characters and scenarios feel real and believable, and harkens back to the old days of D&D when narrative storytelling and roleplaying was the core of the game rather than large stat blocks and clunky mechanical endeavors.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warriors of Sehanine
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Teos A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2019 15:13:31

This is an absolutely beautiful adventure. The art and layout are fantastic! The inclusion of art as handouts is a nice touch, and the maps are available as separate files. One of the overland maps has alternate versions with various reveals, perfect for online display or using a tablet at the table to illustrate the change.

The adventure itself has a really good story with a compelling hook. The reveals are more rich and rewarding for the DM than most, and reading the premise and opportunities is fun for the DM. Traveling to the first main adventure site includes "random" encounters, some of which are very interesting and tie into the larger narrative in clever ways. This really makes the encounters compelling. Encounter areas provide great Forgotten Realms lore that is useful and pertinent. Monsters often have interesting quirks and tactics that reveal personalities and make them feel more real.

The final foe has some options, and DMs should read over the text to ensure they understand where the foe appears (and potential foe allies) and how the maps work. I'm not sure much is gained from the complexity, but some will likely enjoy it. Otherwise, just plan on a bit of extra preparation. The NPCs are awesome, so preparation here is recommended and enjoyable to bring them to life and use all that they offer.

There are a few typos (the A Call to Arms section on page 3, for example) and some text could be streamlined (no need to mention "Warrior of Sehanine Appendix A" after every single NPC name in a paragraph, for example), but this is minor feedback compared to the really strong adventure. With the price being so low for what it offers, this is easily a 5-star adventure and is strongly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for your wonderful review. This means a ton to us. Yes, while the different options complicate a bit the preparation, we wanted a bit of replayability so the DM could even invite player's that already enjoyed the module and get thrown off by single changes and experience something new. As for the typos we fixed the "A Call to Arms" section and others we found on the way and will be on the lookout for more and update the PDF accordingly, thank you for alerting us to those!
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items