Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
The Shanty of Boldbeard's Pride $4.95
Average Rating:5.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
5 9
0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
The Shanty of Boldbeard\'s Pride
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
The Shanty of Boldbeard's Pride
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2020 20:40:38

This adventure has the perfect balance between Roleplay and combat. Ran it as a oneshot in between sessions, and everyone loved it. We all had a great time and the included high-res maps and audio files made for a fun session.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Shanty of Boldbeard's Pride
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Eric W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2019 09:28:52

Pros:

  • Unique setting that combines pirates themes within the Underdark and the Sunless Sea.
  • Excellent balance of combat, exploration, and role-playing.
  • Liar’s Dice is a fun way to make the PCs work for the adventure hook.
  • The monstrous crew is full of fun characters, and there are multiple methods for handling the mutiny.
  • Full color battle maps and fun, cartoonish art throughout.

Cons:

  • Darklake encounters are limited to simple combat encounters.

THE VERDICT: THE SHANTY OF BOLDBEARD’S PRIDE BEGINS WITH A GAME OF LIAR’S DICE AND ENDS WITH A MUTINY IN THE SUNLESS SEA AND A DUNGEON EXCURSION THAT WOULD MAKE THE GOONIES PROUD.

Full review: https://roguewatson.com/2019/10/30/dms-guild-review-the-shanty-of-boldbeards-pride/

Video review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UlGhD0hz8f4



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Shanty of Boldbeard's Pride
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2019 16:30:19

This little adventure pulled so many of the strings of the metaphorical mandolin I play that I can't help but adore it. While it indeed is rather morbid at points and obviously meant for an older group of players, I cannot help but see this as a perfect adventure to introduce young kids into the world of D&D with a "Yarhar!" and "A bottlarum!" to go along with it. With intrigue, high-seas swashbuckling, and a little spritz of horror - The Shany of Boldbeard's Pride has all the pirate - a unique and interesting crew that border on comedic, a terrifying ship, and the overall ancient legend of the bucaneer Boldbeard. I especailly love the fact that Jimmy created the game Liar's Dice within the adventure to add that additional layer of immersion - I am definitely stealing that to use in another game. At the end of the day, this is a fantastic product that is easy to run and easy to fall in love with.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Shanty of Boldbeard's Pride
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Zach P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/16/2019 12:25:16

This looks like a lot of fun to run. It's full of inventive ideas, from the pop-up tavern whence you learn of the Boldbeard's Pride to its crew to the dungeon it leads you to. (Special mention to the mithril golem. I love creative monster mods.) It's also got a devilish sense of humor that is super fun. I'm definitely linking this to my friend who's gearing up for a pirate-themed campign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Shanty of Boldbeard's Pride
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Leamon T. J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/15/2019 13:50:14

This is a tremendous supplement from beginning to end. Compelling characters, a killer adventure (who doesn’t love a mutiny?), eye-catching maps—all the stuff you’d expect from a Jimmy Meritt & Co release. But the little details really set it apart. What other modules contain fully rendered menus for their taverns, or provide rules for cheating in a pirate dice game, or furnish your group with an original song to play in the bar? If you’re looking for an exciting and robust maritime adventure, you can’t do better than this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Shanty of Boldbeard's Pride
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2019 20:33:32

It doesnt take a one-eyed pirate to see that this is a very well designed adventure that is guaranteed to have your players getting into the pirate spirit. Weigh anchor and hoist the Mizzen! Round up your scury players and set sail to adventure! No hornswaggling here. Just straight up adventuring fun, me hearties!

Well thought out, lots of opportunties for humorous role play, and the twist with the mostly dwarven pirate crew rounds out the quality of this adventure module. A worthy treasure at twice the pieces of eight they are asking.

P.S. Once again Jimmy and Co have written an adventure that can easily work with any edition of D&D. So my 1st edition campaign will soon be crawling with scurvy buccaneers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Shanty of Boldbeard's Pride
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Alex H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2019 13:24:57

I didn't pirate a game about piracy, and I'm perfectly happy about it because this is worth every dubloon I spent. Great layout, fun and fleshed-out NPCs, lots of depth (oceanic and otherwise), solid and interesting combats, and an absolute banger of a shanty I will play at my matelotage.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Shanty of Boldbeard's Pride
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jake W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2019 13:20:06

First time DM here - Mr. Meritt & Co. have once more struck gold (pun fuuuuully intended) with this fantastic guide full of vivid NPCs, challenges, and adventures. Highly Recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Shanty of Boldbeard's Pride
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bryan D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2019 08:24:41

Your timbers will be so shivered. Your buckels will be swashed. It's a good fun read and a good fun song. Yoho Yoho Yoho Yoho Yoho Yoho Yoho Yoho Yoho Yoho Yoho Yoho Yoho Yoho Yoho Yoho Yoho Yoho Yoho Yoho Yoho Yoho Yoho Yoho Yoho Yoho Yoho Yoho.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items