Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Restless: A Guide to Laying Incorporeal Undead to Rest
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2020 08:50:40

When V.J. approached me the other day about reviewing this, I got very very excited. First off, he should be selling it for more than $4 cause there is WAAAAAY more than $4 worth of content in here, and second - holy crap this book is useful. Any of you ever had issues with any of the lovely specters and spooklings that pop up in your games? Can't kill most of them the normal way right? Well, Restless: A Guide to Laying Incorporeal Undead to Rest helps you out right then and there. One part mechanics book and another part bestiary with loads of wraiths and ghosts ta booooooht (see what I did there?), V.J. has done an excellent job of taking what can both be a legitimately troubling mechanical and roleplay problem and solved both in one clean strike. And, every single undead spirit from the MM has an individual write-up on how to handle it. This is a fantastic book - well made and well written - and that is why I am pleased to give this book a Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Restless: A Guide to Laying Incorporeal Undead to Rest
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Incantator Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2020 08:44:33

Once again, Chris blows me out of the park with his new Incantator Class. New classes can be dangerous - unbalanced, not well developed lorewise, or just plain eh; having built my own class, I can say that. But Chris - as always - keeps an eye out for detail that constantly amazes me every time he releases something new. You have a class that feels pulled out of an old Robert E. Howard Conan title with its lore-steeped origin and four subclasses: all of which are super diverse and add a ton of new flavor and mechanics to the game. All of Chris' work is amazing, and this is no exception. I would allow the Incantator at my table any day, and with its smooth layout, awesome storytelling and just pure fun radiating from it, I am pleased to give it a Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Incantator Class
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Big & Scary Monsters - Punny Creatures Supporting Charity
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2020 08:40:05

This beautiful little charity book, full to bursting with punny creatures, is an absolute need for any DM to throw at their players or any player to want a pet from within its glorious pages. It is so so so so cute, and Anne did a stellar job in putting it together. Make sure to do you part in buying this - both for your game, and for charity. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Big & Scary Monsters - Punny Creatures Supporting Charity
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Book of Races: Gnolls
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2020 08:37:22

I am going to be honest - I read through this and it felt like a missed opportunity. I enjoy the lore that Kim added and it certainly expands on a really interesting race that I think deserves more limelight, but I think the mark was missed with this entry in the series. Beyond lore, the abilities offer nothing exciting or new beyond what one would expect a gnoll to have. Their Rampage ability is interesting, but with the amount of time that Kim spends on their demonic heritage with Yeenoghu and Gorelikk and their entire society, I was expecting more based around that, perhaps a new spin on the gnoll that delves into that dark ancestry. Unfortunately this one fell flat for me, even though it had promise in the beginning. It has the starts of something interesting, but I believe that it's back to the drawing board on this one for me. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 8



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Races: Gnolls
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Cameron, Thanks for the review, I really appreciate you taking the time to write it. I'm sorry that you feel like I missed the mark on this one, but I think it's a matter of different expectations of what I set out to do with the Gnolls. I could easily have added a number of demonic abilities, but then they regrettably would not have matched the general feel, powers and overall power level of the gnolls from the Monsters Manual. If I had added these, they would not have been the Gnolls that you'd see in the adventures elsewhere, and that would have created a marked difference between what you could expect to have as a player and as a monster. It's possible that I'll revisit the demonic heritage with an "expanded Gnoll" book at some other point though, as I have plenty of ideas noted down along those lines for a different book. But for this, it had to be the standard Gnolls. Best regards, Kim Frandsen
Deadly Dancer: Flying Claw Bardic College
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2020 08:29:09

Another of this excellent little series from the Rising Phoenix Games crew, the Deadly Dancer turns your bard from the foppish "I roll to seduce" stereotype into a freaking claw-wielding super ninja. Like, 120%, this is straight up something out of a 90s fighting game and it is wonderful, plus I am all for bards having more versatility beyond their usual Cha-based outline. Additionally, you even get some feats at the end of the book just for the Deadly Dancer. The art is good, the layout crisp and clean, and it offers a dark and murderous side to your usual bardic establishment. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadly Dancer: Flying Claw Bardic College
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Lightning Bruiser: Shocking Feral Brute Barbarian Path
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2020 08:25:24

I freaking love this little book, and I wish there was more stuff out on the Guild just radiating sheer 80s/90s arcade cheese from every orafice. It is so so so so good. The layout is crisp, the art is awesome, it's a class option that turns your barbarian into a Street Fighter character and I see nothing wrong with that. And I get some serious Static Shock vibes from the art, but maybe that is just me. Your final ability literally has you grow to Large and start smacking enemies around like a dog with a massive stick - which I think is bad ass with a capital B. At the end of the day, this is a goofy, OP, and awesome subclass that any fun-loving player worth their dice would love to use. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lightning Bruiser: Shocking Feral Brute Barbarian Path
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Wayfinder Foundation's Register of Extraordinary Individuals
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2020 08:19:25

UhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhIlovethisbook! Sven knows just how to dial all the right buttons when it comes to what gets me...ahem...compose myself. Restart: This book is absolutely amazing - from the layout that just oozes art deco beauty, the awesome cards that you can print out and have your players hold on, and just the overall quality is simply stunning. What Sven does that I really enjoy is divide the sidekicks into various sections of three: Professions, Locations, Factions and Noir - allowing you to pick and choose for your game. He also really builds on the narrative and roleplay elements of the Sidekick, rather than just focusing on the mechanical value. I could gush and gush about this book, but really, you should all just go get it for yourself and see the amazing work that makes this book earn the Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Wayfinder Foundation's Register of Extraordinary Individuals
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Wanted: Dead or Alive - A Collection of Dastardly Criminals for Fifth Edition Dungeons & Dragons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2020 08:12:34

I freaking love this book - so so so so so so much. Very often I find myself in a scenario where either I don't have any good plot villains left in my bank because my players have MURDERED ALL OF THEM, and then all I got left are some whimpy shadows of who those guys or gals or persons were. However, enter Wanted: Dead or Alive, and all my problems are solved. If you are a DM like me who struggles sometime with getting villains or antagonists made fast and well, then look no further than this awesome awesome book. 89 pages of criminal goodness, and all at your fingertups $13.00 - a steal honestly, this should be more. If you don't grab this book, then you are missing out. It is useful, needed, and vesatile, which is why it earns the Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wanted: Dead or Alive - A Collection of Dastardly Criminals for Fifth Edition Dungeons & Dragons
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Book of Races: Voadkyn
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2020 07:57:34

This one is tough for me, as I like it, but there are also problems I have with it. What I do enjoy about it is it offers more giant-based races in the lore, but also intelligent magical giant-based races. They essentially are big woodland Canadians who are friendly helpers to humans and elves. Their abilities are fine by me, but I really like how in lore they don't have gender based names, they just have names and an egalitarian society. However, this relates to the big issue I have with this book and that is the art. For me, the art completely subverts the ideas in-lore of this very equal and open society and culture amongst the voadkyn, and I find it a little excessive and unneeded to be so sexualized. It also hovers close to night elf territory for me, and I feel like that could be risky. Overall, I like the story and lore of the voadkyn as it is steeped in Celtic and Scandinavian mythology and their connection to the elves and fey magic, but the art just completely subverts everything that the voadkyn stand for and kind of ruins it for me. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 10



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Races: Voadkyn
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Tap Untap Burn 5 Color Mana Spell Point Variant Rules Knights and Tricksters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2020 07:47:30

When Fil first approached me back in December about this project, I will admit I was hesitant cause I didn't know how I felt about applying MtG's mana system into D&D, which can already have a complicated enough magic system. However, upon reading through it - and while I am still trying to wrap my head around it 100% - it adds a lot more mechanics and crunch for those players who either truly love Magic, or those folks who really like sinking their teeth into some heavy roleplay and gaming. While I myself probably wouldn't use this book just because I tend to go for a more mechanics-light playstyle, Fil's book - with his own stellar art I might add - would fit in perfectly for a Ravnica or even Eberron game where magic is so raw, ready, and available for use. A well laid out book with awesome art and many applications in-game makes this a winner for me. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tap Untap Burn 5 Color Mana Spell Point Variant Rules Knights and Tricksters
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Book of Races: Great Ogres
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2020 07:35:27

Another entry in Kim's massive series, Book of Races: Great Ogres feels like a volume out of time, dusting off the old histories between various races and showing just how murky history is. I enjoy the Great Ogre because - as always - I am a lover of "monstrous races", and prefer them far better to your average human-dwarf-elf. Great Ogres speak to me as within their history, they are shunned from both ogre and giant society, but do not let it ruin them, and instead stand up for the little guy as guardians. I deeply enjoy the lore, with my only complaint being that I think the abilities - while tapping into their more amiable side - don't really attest to their great strength or endurance. Otherwise, a good addition to anyone's table. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 16



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Races: Great Ogres
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Artificers of Eberron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2020 07:29:25

Not only do I respect a great deal of the individuals on this creative team, but I also love the variety and versaility that this little supplement brings. It reminds me of a line from a WildStar promo video: "An' engineers? Wahtheygonnado? Check me oil and tighten me screws?!?" Weeeeellll, artificers are a lot more than just magical engineers, and Artificers of Eberron does a stellar job of showing just how interesting of a class they can be. Within this book you get 8 new artificer subclasses - my favorite being the Grenadier, cause BOOM! and I 100% did NOT make a version of Tiny Tina from Borderlands for D&D do not even SUGGEST IT! - all in a really unique and interesting layout job that makes this feel like a metalbound old workshop manual lost in some recesses of an old House Cannith creation forge. Overall, I really really enjoy this book because it radiates Eberron and takes a class that really wasn't very varied, and adds so much flavor to it. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Artificers of Eberron
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Ruea's Ultimate Guide to Radiance
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2020 09:36:04

Weeehlp folks - Chris did it again. This man continues to absolutely blow me out of the water any time he sends me something to review, and I just...I can't! I could spend hours and hours pouring over why I freaking love this book so much - I really could - but it comes down to one main thing, and that is detail. No stone remained unturned, no canyon left to be unexplored, no planar deity left alone. I am not kidding, Chris has pulled out all the stops on this book just as he does with any of his other projects. Like I want this goddamn thing in PRINT ON MY SHELF! You not only get a whole new quasi-plane of radiance as a setting, but a new race (the darkling), a metric fuck ton of new class options - all of which are badass as all hell - AND a whole slew of new monster stat blocks. I cannot even show you how much I am just ooing and ahhing over this thing, but I am shaking with how fantastic this book is. Perfect for any game - and most specifically a Strahd or Avernus game, Chris has knocked it out of the part with Ruea's Ultimate Guide to Radiance and has 100% earned the Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ruea's Ultimate Guide to Radiance
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Fifty Swamp Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2020 09:23:38

If you want a goodly little batch of swampy swamp swamperton encounters - than look no further. Swamps are perfect places for horror and terror, and Ravenloft is a domain that contains LOTS of swamps. 50 swamp encounters for free is a steal, so I dunno why none of you are reading this and NOT downloading this book - which is 100% what you should be doing. Let them oozes and mists and spooklings come into your game! Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fifty Swamp Encounters
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Master of None: Multiclassing Variants and Roleplay Suggestions
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2020 09:20:49

So - as someone who often enjoys multiclassing - this book is a godsend. Like literally, I cannot tell you how many times I multiclass and then feel stuck because the mechanics get too clunky or its a pain trying to work it in roleplay-wise: all sorts of issues can come up. But what we got here - from an incredibly talented team - is a book to help solve all those problems. We open with a little history lesson on how multiclassing worked throughout the various editions of D&D - which I am not going to lie is super interesting to read and learn about. Then we get into the traditional multiclas mergers for each class, gesalt multiclassing (I am not going to try and explain it because it confuses even me) and then we break down multiclassing level by level. Now I could get into the nitty and gritty on exactly every single infinitesimal piece of this book, but I am not going to. Instead, I shall say this - WHAT A TOOL THIS BOOK IS! If you are someone like me who likes having the versatility of having two or three classes in one character, you need to have a copy of Master of None in your library. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Master of None: Multiclassing Variants and Roleplay Suggestions
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 180 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items