Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
The Lamenting Lighthouse $4.95
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
11 11
1 5
1 0
0 0
0 0
The Lamenting Lighthouse
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
The Lamenting Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tyson P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/29/2021 11:00:28

Ran this as a October one shot with a group of friends. We had a good time. Nice addition to an existing campaign that has some coastal travel. Beware it can be pretty deadly. We lost two of the 4 players in the final battle.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lamenting Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/05/2021 12:31:51

Spliced this into a homebrew campaign I was running and it worked out really well - just had to change a few names and locations. Just be warned, if your players are level 5, this could get HARD so be a pal DM and toss a few extra healing potions in the sea cave or something. My only gripe is that there are a lot of "diary" entries and notes to be found and in the guide, they're all written in cursive and can be hard to read. I guess I just wish they were typed out in a simpler font.

Pros: Tons of cool lore, easy side adventure for any party that finds themselves at sea, and the overall story is solid and fun. Would definitely recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lamenting Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by John B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2020 04:01:26

I've now run this adventure for two separate groups, and both seemed to go down well.

I particularly appreciate:

  • The adventure effortlessly works as a miniature sandbox contained within the confines of the islands - I don't feel that the adventure railroads the party as much as one might expect for a one-shot. The constraints seem natural.
  • There are often multiple solutions present with DC checks to solve problems.
  • The timeline leading up to the adventure and the background outlined - this gives me (as a DM) good knowledge to fall back on when players ask questions about what they see can infer.
  • The clues sprinkled through exploration, the players really seemed to enjoy the flavour text they provided.

Both sessions ran the essential parts of the adventure, taking about 5 hours 30 minutes each, both skipping over an optional part of the adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lamenting Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Iv R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2020 17:27:20

I really like this adventure, I took a lot of ideas from it for a few sessions, but more over it is very clear and it has a lot of world building in some short paragraphs.

It's very efficient in it's writing, which I appreciate a lot, because it makes it very easy to read or run.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lamenting Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Dylan V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/27/2020 16:48:15

This was an excellent module to run, overall. The scenario is full of intrigue and was easy to adapt to a homebrew setting. I would only caution DMs to be extra wary with lower level parties.

I ran this for my party of five level five PC's, who are generally tougher than average. Having found that the total XP of the encounters well exceeded their daily threshhold, however, I made a number of changes. Both bosses I adjusted down to CR 9, including reducing the health more than suggested, and lowering the damage output for the wight significantly. I also removed the eels and made the hag friendly by default. Even with the changes and the dice on their side, the party ended up within a round of wiping. This was great for the tension, but relying solely on the APL guidelines would have led to drastically different session results.

The biggest change I would suggest to anyone running it regardless of level is to rework Sandy's initial response to the party. Players are generally not prone to deescalation, even when presented with the opportunity. So I would instead have her respond with frightened surprise or an attempt to hide rather than open hostility. This gives the party a better chance to get information out of her, and still affords to ability for a fight to break out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Lamenting Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/12/2020 10:42:44

This was great - ran it as a one-shot/interlude during our regular campaign.
Just enough creepy things to unsettle the characters and players. It did take 4 hour or so 2 sessions to complete. Considering the size of the island, there are lots of things to explore, clues to gather, and interactions as well as some pretty good combats that were a challenge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lamenting Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Stewart W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/20/2020 16:44:30

Ran this yesterday with a party of 4 x Level 6 players and had a blast! This is a very tight and atmospheric one-shot with a great location and backstory. However, as written a lot of this backstory can easily get lost in a series of combat encounters. Whether that's up your alley will depend on the group. Having said that, it doesn't take too much effort for a DM to push the social side of the more interesting encounters.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Lamenting Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daniel H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/03/2020 23:49:09

very well puyt together and thought out. Definitely would be interested in purchasing any more titles coming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lamenting Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Eric W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2019 09:26:18

Pros:

  • Unique haunted dungeon setting with its own backstory.
  • Excellent notes on utilizing all three pillars of D&D play (Combat, Exploration, Social) as well as sensory perceptions for each area.
  • Over a dozen NPC and monster statblocks, including two new CR 11 undead bosses.
  • Encounter adjustments from very weak to very strong for every encounter.
  • Player handouts for magic items, diary notes, and story rewards.

Cons:

  • Skips interesting potential social encounters for more combat.
  • Black and white maps are poorly annotated.

THE VERDICT: THE LAMENTING LIGHTHOUSE PROVIDES A COMBAT-HEAVY BRAWL IN AND AROUND A UNIQUE, IF TINY, DUNGEON DESIGN.

Full review: https://roguewatson.com/2019/10/26/dms-guild-review-the-lamenting-lighthouse/

Video review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yNop7ejbyYg



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Lamenting Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brendan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2019 13:20:45

A well written adventure but unfortunately will take a bit of extra work on my end as it assumes that the party is passengers on the ship and does not have any suggestions (that I found) for adapting the adventure in the case of the players already owning and crewing their own ship. I think it will be fun adventure I just won't be able to run in as soon as I would of liked.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Lamenting Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Santiago O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/13/2019 22:53:32

This is a great one shot adventure. I ran for four level 8 players (with no extra encounter adjustment) in about 3.5 hours, though we pretty much skipped the epilogue for time constraints. My players really enjoyed the mystery enhanced by the player handouts and the fantastic cover art.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lamenting Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Christopher M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/02/2019 08:25:21

I just ran this with four 6th level characters. The story ran smoothly, clocking in at about 7 hours with heavy roleplaying. My only complaint came from understanding the layout of the lighthouse. The map itself illustrated 4 levels, but was labled as 3. I took this to mean that perhaps the living quarters were a loft to the kitchen area. Also, the location of the scaffolding, ladder, and hatch was confusing to my players, even with the full scale map. More descriptive text and map abels would have helped myself and the players. Aside from these minor areas of confusing, this was a fun one-shot!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Lamenting Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jörg N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2019 04:44:27

This adventure is a great opportunity to entertain your players and give them an evening of horrors as they investigate the lamenting lighthouse. The story is well settled and adaptable to the ghosts of saltmarsh adventure hook. My players are tired from starting at first level and love to have a challenge from the beginning using spellcast and melee combat ressources from lvl. 4+. As a DM you get a rich background of the setting, advises to adjust the level of difficulty for your group, all monsters, npc's, hand outs and magic items. If your heroes stand their ground and stay alive you even get some hints to travel further to the saltmarsh. The lamenting lighthouse is well written and in such great detail that the NPC's and villains came alive for me immediately. I highly recommend this for a one shot. My preparation time as a DM was approx. 90 minutes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lamenting Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Anthony J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/05/2019 09:45:13

An in depth review can be found and read at Table Top Level Up (https://ttlevelup.com/lamenting-lighthouse/?fbclid=IwAR09-ul36WsJpos2L0aZGF48WJjdDdDrYuLqQ0qGrbqUVg12w2aAah9TxS8). Synopsis below.

Explore a haunted lighthouse inspired by real life events featuring memorable villains and a beautifully constructed mini-sandbox adventure perfect for any nautical campaign.

The Lamenting Lighthouse is a four-hour adventure for 5th – 10th level characters by Sven Truckenbrodt is best used as a one-shot or as part of a campaign when characters are traveling via ship from one location to another. The adventure begins with the characters on a ship traveling to the Moonshae Isles through the Korin Archipelago, a shipping route that is notoriously dangerous to navigate. Normally, navigators benefit from the nearby Viledel Lighthouse relying on its constant operation for safe travel but for some mysterious reason the lighthouse has gone completely dark. The characters are sent to investigate the Viledel Lighthouse and restore its beacon so they may continue to safely travel to their destination.

The characters will soon learn that the remote lighthouse and its two small islands are home to the evil and twisted Dread Pirate Roberts (a fun nod to The Princess Bride no doubt) who has been split body and soul into a wight and a wraith locked into eternal conflict with one another. As characters explore the lighthouse and its small island, they discover that the Dread Pirate Roberts recently obtained the “Dread Orb of Orcus”, a powerfully evil magic item. The Dread Pirate and his ship crashed upon the lighthouse isle causing a chain of events that causes sea hags, pirate zombies, and a tale of madness to unfurl before the characters eyes.

Highly Recommended: The Lamenting Lighthouse rates a solid 4.5 stars and makes for a fantastic adventure for any nautical campaign or one-shot.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lamenting Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2019 21:55:52

Nautical themed adventures and settings are always an instant hit with me - and while Saltmarsh wasn't exactly what I had hoped - it spawned so much amazing content, and The Lamenting Lighthouse is nothing less than an amazing piece. With concepts and homages to The Princess Bride, H.P. Lovecraft, Stephen King, and even Pirates of the Caribbean, I absolutely love what Sven has created.

This adventure is multi-layers and multi-dimensional, and while it is a linear story, a DM could branch a whole campaign arc off of this singular piece. From the two separate beings formed from Captain Roberts, to the hidden hag coven, and the haunting of the old rickety lighthouse, there is a little something for everyone - little flavors to keep everyone's roleplay meal interesting.

I almost would have liked to see some new races or class options grow from this adventure as well, cause I could see some cool potential there. But overall, this is a stunning example of a great adventure done in a concise and professional manner and appearence.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items