Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Paladin Subclass: Oath of the Celestial
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Zac G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/20/2019 09:40:43

Come for the excellent cover, stay for a great subclass. Well done all the way around.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Paladin Subclass: Oath of the Celestial
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL-DRW02 Blood in the Water
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Zac G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2019 16:05:43

I ran this module 5 times at GenCon, or rather I ran the framework of this module. As is, there are huge sections that are unusable. It feels like an adventure who's author knew where they wanted to go, but somewhere along the way it got chopped up, shuffled around, and over condensed. I had a lot of fun with my tables, but I'm not sure how much credit I can give to the module itself.

Other reviews already posted have voiced most of my frustrations, so I'll just notate 2 specific one's here: (A) There is a murder that happens near the PCs. No agency is allowed for in the PCs noticing or interfering. Then they are blamed for the event. Then they must use half-hearted clues to prove their own innocence. It's a rough section that's only sufferable if you cut out half of it and do a rewrite. (B) The first combat encounter is actually pretty fun! The last one leaves a lot to be desired. If your party is at the APL 8 that is recommended, they should blow through it. Additionally, the PCs have (hypothetically) spent the whole module investigating an assassin who has all the spells to make quick escapes, but only uses them once the PCs have a chance to see the creature. Heavy railroading and the potential to frustrate your characters. The final fight (to avoid spoilers) involves the assassin casting 2 high-level spells at once and instead of fighting the assassin, your party will end up fighting an odd assortment of creatures that do nothing for the story at hand.

When I saw that this adventure was taken down once from the Guild, I had high hopes that it was getting a rework. Several adjustments could lead to this being an interesting addition to the series. Unfortunately, the rerelease offered no improvement whatsoever. Do yourself a favor and hold off on this one till it gets redone.

I will also notate my frustration with our unheard feedback. These are new adventures. GenCon is a huge event and dozens of tables ran this module. In the future, please, please use that feedback before you open up these adventures to the world.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL-DRW02 Blood in the Water
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL-DRW01 Breaking Umberlee's Resolve
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Zac G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2019 10:46:31

I had the opportunity to run this module several times at a recent convention. Each table had 6-7 players and was ran for 3.5-4 hours. With only minor modifications this module fit well into those slots and my players all had a great time. From my experience, this is one of the more straight-forward AL adventures you can hope to run since the start of Season 8. Your party should never be confused about what's going on or what they need to do next. The themes (pirates, dark experimentation) play out in a satisfying way, and this works very well as a 1-shot. My only true criticism is that it is too easy as written for APL 8+, large-sized parties. For the final encounter, I had to more than double the suggested list of creatures for the party to fight. Running it as is could be a 1-round, lackluster encounter for the average party. 4/5 stars, with the one star removed for lack of combat sophistication and strength.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL-DRW01 Breaking Umberlee's Resolve
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Urchin of Camorr
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Zac G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/26/2019 17:12:38

If you've ran through David's earlier work Lights out at the Nightwatch Lighthouse, you know that he has a style all his own. What David does well is creating adventures that feel alive, where players can feel like their choices matter and there's more than one or two threads to pull. My only fear with Urchin of Camorr is that any adventuring party that comes out of this module is going to have a hard time going back to anything else. Specifically, the number of interconnected quests that are packed within these 40+ pages is staggering. I've never ran an adventure quite like it. Keep it up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Urchin of Camorr
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Druid in the Sewers
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Zac G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2019 17:28:54

Clean and smooth. Chris and Steven communicate just as well on paper as they do in podcast and blog form.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Druid in the Sewers
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creating and Leveling a Guild
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Zac G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2019 17:25:48

David makes great content and has an eye for detail. This product is no different. If you like Colville's idea of Strongholds, but you want something that's less intense, this is probably a good purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creating and Leveling a Guild
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Oath of the Aesir
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Zac G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/02/2019 16:55:27

The Aesir Paladin will be an excellent addition to any Norse-themed game. The archetype hits the theme directly and stays on track. Nothing feels out of line. Would certainly recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Oath of the Aesir
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

A Quiet Man's House
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Zachary G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/24/2019 12:40:15

A Quiet Man's House is an adventure that knows what it is and what it's doing. It moves quickly -- the house itself being a perfect size. I liked the motivations and characterizations of the NPCs and so did my players. I would recommend this as a quick insert into a campaign, or as a 1-shot adventure. The only thing I'd note is the adventure MIGHT finish somewhat open-ended, so be prepared for longer term consequences and committments for your party.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Quiet Man's House
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Lights Out at the Nightwatch Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Zachary G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/28/2018 21:49:17

I ran this as a 1-shot for a group of 3 third level adventurers. They enjoyed the mystery element and the overall mood of the adventure. As the DM, I felt like the adventure was clean, and the flavor text was on point. One of my players expressed interest in purchasing it himself to run in a seperate game. No monsters that aren't in the MM, so everything there was balanced and easy to reference.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lights Out at the Nightwatch Lighthouse
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Doorway to Darkness - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Zachary G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/11/2018 13:55:30

This was a fun little adventure for a our new party. Short and sweet -- it knows what it is and what it's trying to do. You should be able to easily finish it in an evening, especially if you shorten the intro (which can be done with little issue).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Doorway to Darkness - Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Lost Places: Sunken Tower
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Zachary G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/11/2018 13:49:52

I ran this adventure for a group of 3-4 and it took 2 evening sessions to get through. The setting and theme were interesting and I needed to drop something in a swampy area my party was traveling though.

Unfortunately this adventure falls prey to the tower being oversized for the small story they were trying to tell. There's numerous floors and rooms, but many are listed as simply "empty". Those that aren't empty most often just have 1dx of a certain type of creature, with very little story elements to draw on. This makes it slow and dull for the most part. When the players reach the top of the tower, they might find that the boss creatures are somewhat interesting, and the "epilogue" of the harpies was easily the best part of the adventure, though I removed the Shakespeare references. A side note here, the real reason the harpies were interesting was because I had them fly off the tower and then use their song to lure/force party members to walk of the ledge. It felt good on my end and it was exciting for the players.

In summary, if you choose to purchase this adventure, I would recommend downsizing the tower drastically and adding some flavor on your own. It shouldn't be ran "as is" in my opinion.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Lost Places: Sunken Tower
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Library of Biblius
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Zachary G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/11/2018 13:35:20

I ran this adventure for my group of 4-6 players (level 6-8). The adventure is unique and can be plugged in anywhere. I added it to my homebrew campaign with marginal tweaking. It has a fun-house dungeon feel once you get into it.

Pros: NPCs: Several really great characters that my party enjoyed interacting with. I think some of them will even carry over into the campaign at large. Length: It took my party 5 2+hr sessions to make it though. Nothing felt too long or too short. New Monsters: Most of these were great. All of them are high in CR, with no minions. Plenty to work with. More than I typically expect.

Cons: Monsters: Some of the monsters aren't balanced well, and one of them listed in the story wasn't even in the index. Tweak before you run. Loot: Lots of really high level rewards. I had to scale it back drastically. For example, there is a hammer that deals 5d8+8. Scaled it back to 2d8 and my player was still thrilled. I guess if you're okay with it, your party could us this dungeon to get their ultra-epic gear for the campaign. Adventure Layout: A little rough. It takes a few read throughs to make sense of the layout. A singular map would have been a nice complement, as opposed to it being broken into pieces and scattered about. The read-aloud boxes sometimes get pretty wordy as well. Combat: Almost no minions are included in the encounters (of which there are many). Almost always, your party will be fighting one creature at a time.

In summary, it's a solid story but you'll need to read through and tweak for a while. Running it as is would end up with a truly decked out party.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Library of Biblius
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items