Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Eternal Night
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2020 23:48:21

The first DMsGuild adventure from an up and comming talent! This well assembled adventure has everything you need for your single session, even if run over video chat!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eternal Night
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Daerdan's Class Feats
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2019 17:30:20

Ah, 4th level. Sure, bumping ability scores and seeing the +1 bonus cascade down the character sheet is nice... but they're just numbers! Everyone knows at 4th level, taking a feat is where its at. Too bad the selection in the PHB is so limited and you've already tried all the cool ones.

Enter Daerdan's Class Feats! A handful of feats for each class that give them that something extra special.

WELL BALANCED. This is NOT some homebrew power gamer dream world. The power level of these feats is in line with the Player's Handbook options and Xanathar's racial feats.

I'm excited to offer these options to my players about to cross the 4th level threshold. There are a lot of feats here, and they also prove a helpful template for creating new custom feats that add that bit of personal flavor without being overpowered.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Daerdan's Class Feats
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Daerdan's Tall Tales: 101 Seafaring Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/24/2019 13:51:54

WOW! What a sourcebook!

The encounters here aren't simple adventure hooks, but rather fleshed out ideas that you can drop right into your campaign whenever needed. Clocking in at around a page each, the encounters outline environments, foes and their motivations, possible courses of action for the party, and outcomes that can lead to futher adventures. These might be short diversions for your group, or could easily be entire play sessions.

The three pillars of adventure are carefully attended to, with lots of opportunites for combat, exploration, and roleplay/interaction. Spanning all tiers of play, the location (eg onboard ship, at port, on island, etc) and focus (combat, social, exploration) are helpfully denoted with tables in the first chapter of the suppliment making it easy to find something that suits where your party is tonight.

Monsters from Volo's Guide and Mordenkainen's are utilized in many but not most of the adventures, so you'll want those resources to get the most value from this suppliment. Some might see this is a complaint; I consider it a compliment.

If published individually, these encounters could easily sell for a buck each. This book is an insane value at its low price. I really hope we can look forward to a print on demand version soon!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Daerdan's Tall Tales: 101 Seafaring Encounters
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Monastic Traditions
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2019 10:37:19

4 new ways to get your monk on! Writing is clear and follows the style established by the players handbook. Power level looks reasonable, and could always be modified to fit your campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monastic Traditions
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Pregen Character: Dwarf Cleric (Life Domain)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/05/2018 18:59:26

A pregen character with a sheet per level would be a good addition to DMsGuild. This however, is a first level character sheet, and that's all.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Pregen Character: Dwarf Cleric (Life Domain)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
I respectfully disagree. If you had read the whole description you'd have known it's purpose was to only provide a level 1 sheet from the beginning so it's your own fault for that confusion. Furthermore as a free product it does not warrant the negativity you gave it. I am adamant that it would still be useful and fun to start with for new and experienced players alike despite your bias towards what you'd call "pollution".
More Giant Beasts
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/02/2018 17:46:57

Your players are near a stream, river, or lake. A CR 5 giant crocodile is too much, but reskinning something else seems boring. Here's your answer! A variety of giant beasts with interesting abilities. Also great for a Druid's wild shape!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
More Giant Beasts
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Return Of The Crown
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2018 20:50:42

A fantastic freshman outing! The production quality rivals official products. Multiple maps are provided and clearly keyed. The plot is interesting and offers player choice. The setting is familiar and could easily tie in to a campaign running the hardcover adventures.

This pdf has been polished to a fine shine. There's even a gambling game to be played - the mark of any fine adventure.

I'm having trouble finding any criticism to offer. Perhaps the author's native language isn't English, but it only comes across in that charming, better than the writing of 95% of Americans sort of way.

Stellar work. 7 stars (out of 5).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Return Of The Crown
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Wow! Words can describe how much we thank you!!! :)
Calendar of Waterdeep (Harptos)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/09/2018 22:25:08

ALMOST exactly what I was looking for but didn't want to make myself. Portrait B&W with room to write super short journals would be perfect for my use. Keeping track of the calendar in W:DH is a great idea and this is the best implimentation I've seen yet.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Calendar of Waterdeep (Harptos)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
B&W is a good idea, I'll whip up a version by tomorrow. I'll also see what I can do about a portrait version. Thanks for the review!
Eberron: Living Spells Collection
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/31/2018 13:25:48

Six new monsters created by spell effects: conversion of Glitterfire from Monster Manual III and five more based on familair spells. Unfortunately, this document does not contain a template for creating 5e living spells.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eberron: Living Spells Collection
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Gray Hands - a Waterdeep: Dragon Heist DM's Resource
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/24/2018 09:14:59

A must have resource if your Waterdeep party joins the Grey Hands!

Excellent background on the organization, the NPCs, and the tower. Missions that are actual missions, not just a kernel of an idea like the table in the book. And that sweet magic item... I'm tempted to become a Blackstaff lackey just to get my hands on one!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gray Hands - a Waterdeep: Dragon Heist DM's Resource
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Grim Grinning Gauntlet
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2018 20:43:41

COMBAT! If your group salivates like Pavlov's dog when you say "roll initative" and/or you need an easy prep night, get this pdf!

I love the idea of the classic video game GAUNTLET brought to the table. It's done simply in this adventure, but could be enhanced with random dungeons and key drops.

The adventure assumes you have access to Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes and Curse of Strahd, which is a bummer. Hopefully a future update will crib those details in accordance with DMsGuild guidelines.

Looking forward to a lazy hack and slash night soon!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grim Grinning Gauntlet
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much! There are two creatures from Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes that the group may encounter, but no content from the actual Curse of Strahd book appears, just the Tarokka deck, which is available as a standalone product (though Curse of Strahd does contain rules for using a normal deck of playing cards in place of the actual Tarokka deck). For thoroughness' sake, there's also one magic item which comes from the Tomb of Annihilation adventure, but I give an abbreviated summary of its abilities. I'll see about including statistics for the monsters I used outside the core books in an update, I wasn't 100% sure on the rules for that sort of thing and wanted to err on the side of caution. Thank you again for your kind review!
Update as of 10/21/18 - The Grim Grinning Gauntlet PDF now includes the relevant info from all non-Core books featured in the adventure. Both Mordenkainen's monster statistics, the full abilities of the Ghost Lantern item from Tomb of Annihilation, and the rules for using playing cards in place of a Tarokka Deck from Curse of Strahd. So long as you have the Core 3 books, you no longer need to own the supplemental books to get the full experience out of Grim Grinning Gauntlet.
scarebnb
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2018 18:40:38

Pros: An interesting and creative scenario.

Set in Waterdeep, but easily in any city in your campaign.

A cool villian with unique abilities and a 5e standard stat block.

Cons: Designed for a seasoned DM. I'm looking forward to having my group play this adventure, but I wouldn't recommend it if you are new to running the game.

Expanding on the first con, lack of maps and encounters beyond the boss. DMs should expect to put work into prepping this adventure.

The document seriously needs some good copyediting.

Summary: A cool horror themed adventure framework to be fleshed out by an experienced DM. Easily worth the suggested dollar.

EDIT: The title! Fantastic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
scarebnb
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Murder-Hobo Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2018 17:36:09

I had a dollar's worth of entertainment just reading this pdf!

The class on a whole and its archetypes at 3rd level seem decently balanced (without having actually played it).

I would never allow this class in any of my games... EXCEPT if it were an all murder hobo party and the point of the game were to enable this sort of sociopathology (sociopathiness?). In fact, now I sort of need to do that. And publish the adventure in dmsguild. And make literally dozens of dollars off you chumps.

Give this man a dollar. Or better yet, take the kleptomaniac uncouth behavior at level 3 and just type $0 in the pay what you want box, you filthy murder hobo.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Murder-Hobo Class
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Kraken's Gamble - a Storm King's Thunder Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/05/2018 15:31:26

I have run this adventure both as part of SKT and as a one-shot, and both groups had a lot of fun!

It nails the balance of the three pilllars - interaction, exploration, and combat. Both groups loved the challenge of getting on the boat, and each approached it in a slightly different but creative way.

The adventure has the potential to run a bit long for one session. For my group that went heavy on on the RP, I just had the sewer go straight into the boss lair.

Speaking of which, the raising and lowering water level part of that encounter is a great improvement over just hack and slash! The wizard in one party even ripped the rowboat patch of his robe of useful items.

One of my groups was only level 3, but the encounter was easily balanced by only allowing the monster one attack and not having it use its psychic ability on the players.

My SKT group is about to meet the storm giant princess, and I'm glad the golden goose coin is going to be a callback instead of the mess of boring investigation checks in the hardcover.

tldr 5 STARS! If you are running Storm Kings Thunder and can get the players near Yatar, this adventure is a must. It is also a great single session adventure for any group.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kraken's Gamble - a Storm King's Thunder Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks a lot for the review. I'm so excited that you and your players enjoyed it! Cheers.
First Level Pregens, Normal Sheets
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/24/2017 10:18:51

Exactly what I was looking for, THANK YOU!

I'm about to introduce D&D to a group of family over the holiday weekend and wanted a wider variety of class options than the starter set box (I have a strong suspicion my brother in law will want to be a bard). Like you, I find the pregen format released by wizards to be confusing for new players. I was going to make it an exercise in filling out a real character sheet, but you saved everyone a bit of work!

Just thinking aloud here as I don't expect you to make any changes to this offering... I would make the following changes for spellcasting classes to simplify things for new players:

  • put the damaging cantrips in the attacks section of the sheet
  • create a spell list that has a simplified description of the spell and its page number in the PHB
  • choose for the character which spells are initially prepared

Thanks for the time and effort putting these together for us!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
First Level Pregens, Normal Sheets
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items