Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Down Came A Blackbird $3.95
Average Rating:5.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
6 8
0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
Down Came A Blackbird
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Down Came A Blackbird
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Celeste C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/03/2020 02:35:07

WOW. I loved everything about this adventure. From the layout to the plot, everything about this module was polished. I ran through this as both a player and a DM and have nothing but positive things to say. This adventure works great as either a stand alone piece or a fun detour during a Salt Marsh campaign. You knocked this out of the park Stacey!

If you need a fun adventure that can be played in 3-5 hours, look no further.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Down Came A Blackbird
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cindy B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2019 18:14:45

Want an introductory adventure to Saltmarsh that is full of birds, birds, and a few more birds? But, wait! Do you also want engaging NPCs, intriguing backstory, unique settings, and tons of thrills, near escapes, and conflict? Then you are DEFINITELY going to want to grab Down Came a Black Bird.

In Down Came a Blackbird, the party finds itself in the sleepy seaside town of Saltmarsh as it's in the middle of a terrifying ordeal. The local birds have gone vicious and are attacking citizens, sometimes targeting teens and children. Meanwhile, someone or something is bursting into people's homes at night and ripping out their hearts. PCs must unravel this mystery and learn who is controlling the birds and killing Saltmartians, eventually setting sail to do battle in a seriously gross (but seriously cool) setting.

I freaking LOVED this adventure and so did my players. There was so much lore and atmospheric bits to play around with, and I got to do so many fun and silly voices. Players really had to put on their thinking caps to try to solve the mystery, and they loved talking to all the NPCs. We played as a party of level 1s, which was difficult, but players compensated with ingenuity (and sometimes cowardice). We had an amazing time, and it really excited the group into diving into Ghosts of Saltmarsh.

This is such a great adventure and so fun to play. The layout is also beautiful with the repeated blue/purple, red, and white and bird imagery. It was just as much fun to look at as it was to play. I recommend it to anyone that wants a good mystery with an aquatic adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Down Came A Blackbird
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Zachary S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2019 09:09:05

Had a fantastic time running this has a one shot for my girlfriend and friends, most of whom had never played before! They adored it. Some favourite moments include our elf ranger jumping from a roof onto the back of the villainous Kraggen and killing him after a long aerial battle, as well as the fight within the belly of the whale. It's an imaginative adventure that showed them what D&D could be! Highly recommend this product to any DM looking to run a fun and quick adventure!

Oh and the players adored the handouts, they're very well designed!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Down Came A Blackbird
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Teos A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/24/2019 19:07:47

This is excellent. I love the visual/artistic design of the adventure, and the writing is excellent. Cool imaginative ideas and an interesting story that pleases both the DM and the players. This is a fun and recommended adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Down Came A Blackbird
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2019 17:33:34

Totally awesome! My players had a great time pondering over all the mysteries and strategizing the combats. Wonderful way to bring the pkayers into Saltmarsh. Great writing and descriptions!!! Kudos!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Down Came A Blackbird
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/03/2019 12:32:17

Let me start off by saying I cannot believe this is Stacey's debut adventure. The quality of every single aspect of it is top notch and screams veteran publisher!

Pros: Beautiful layout, great maps, nice handouts, very helpful tables (loved the townsfolk table), super easy (and GREAT) story to follow/get the players to follow, very easy to prep (broken up in parts that are easy to follow), very fun and dynamic fights (can't stress this one enough, the fights are all so unique and FUN), handy stat blocks for all of the creatues involved at the end.

Cons: The only thing I can even think of to say is a "con" is that the handouts aren't available as their own documents so I had to use a snippet tool to screenshot for my players, not a dealbreaker what-so-ever.

I'm the DM for a podcast that plays one-shot modules from dmsguild and I ran this adventure for a few of our patrons on our Twitch channel, you can watch my playthrough here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qfhyBTG9Zf4



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Down Came A Blackbird
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Hannah S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/01/2019 23:05:11

Just finished our playthrough today! It was so much fun, the story was a blast and everything was well layed out for the DM without being too detailed. My players loved the role the kids played as well as the mystery elements of this adventure. It took our group 5-6 hours to play through the whole thing, but we had some newer players and tend to get ourselves a bit distracted by our own jokes. Highly recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Down Came A Blackbird
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Zeke G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/30/2019 14:37:27

Wow. Just... Wow! Down Came a Blackbird is an exquisite example of a D&D adventure: it has a wonderful & original story (delightfully inspired by Alfred Hitchcock's The Birds), a cast of fantastic NPCs (including two fun & sinister villains), and several interesting combat encounters with goals outside simply slaying the monsters. There's a ton of beautiful art, several fun handouts to increase immersion at the table, and a sandbox approach to the plot that gives the players tremendous agency in the adventure. My only complaint (and it's a tiny one) is that the NPC and monster stat blocks in Appendix A are broken across columns and pages. Other than that, this is an absolute steal at $3.95 and would be a phenomenal oceanic adventure for any D&D campaign, not to mention a must-buy for DMs looking to add phenomenal third-party content to their Ghosts of Saltmarsh campaign!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items