Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
Monster Loot Vol. 1 – Monster Manual $7.95
Average Rating:5.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
33 16
0 1
0 0
0 0
0 0
Monster Loot Vol. 1 – Monster Manual
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Monster Loot Vol. 1 – Monster Manual
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Severus H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/18/2020 05:38:33

Easy to search and exhaustive, this guide is a central part of my DM prep now. If I would have enough money, I would easily buy all of the other extensions as well! It gives me new ideas and my players find even more options to play and explore now.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Loot Vol. 1 – Monster Manual
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/27/2020 20:41:15

This series is great! I liked the somewhat similar Hamund's Harvesting Guide, but found it too slow/cumbersome to put to actual use. Monster Loot is less "crunchy"/detailed, in that it doesn't include item weight, item value/rarity, or per-monster-part DC checks (just a CR-based DC for everything). But I find that's perfect for my games. Monster Loot just flows better. The items are fun and detailed enough to give some nice flavor, without bogging the game down. For one campaign, I'm just going to skip the DC checks, put the loot right on the monsters in a ready-to-use form (no cooking/potion-making needed), and see how it goes. Possibly a little too video-gamey, but for our short 2-hour sessions, I think it'll help keep everything moving along.

These items work well in Foundry VTT, too. You can represent nearly all of the effects, saves, etc. within Foundry. Especially with the new Active Effects system added to it. Exceptions are things like "if the target is a fiend/undead" or "+1 bonus to AC if you aren't wearing any armor". But I'm sure Foundry will get there in time. Bonus, the Monster Loot PDFs are so clean you can copy-paste with only one minor hiccup where spaces after bold words seem to disappear. Far less markup noise than many other PDF books.

Monster Loot is absolutely among my favorite purchases from DMs Guild yet!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Loot Vol. 1 – Monster Manual
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/18/2020 11:07:19

I'm a big fan of the Loot series. Little details add so much to a game, and really make the post-encounter time a lot more entertaining. One of my favorite DM tools.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Loot Vol. 1 – Monster Manual
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2020 12:07:31

This is a great resource for DM's struggling with what treasure to give out to players. Love the variety of items that players can get and craft after harvesting the creatures. I bought the bundle with all of the supplements in it. Great value and great content. Both you as the DM and your players will love what this brings to your game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Loot Vol. 1 – Monster Manual
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Roger E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2020 17:47:13
Being a long time Perma DM, I was really looking forward to this book bundle. After purchasing the bundle of all these monster loot books on sale I was very hopefully, but when I read through them I was honestly a little underwhelmed but still did enjoy what I got. First the Negative. A decent amount of the Monster Manual loot of the book I will say first and foremost feels like filler. A prime example of this is the section on Mephits. Each type of Mephit (Fire, Mud, Steam, etc) are listed, and each one gives the EXACT same loot, with full description of what the loot in question does. That is five excess entries that in my opinion are filler. The book does not want to encourage the dreaded murder-hoboing of humanoids so does not give them harvestable loot for the most part (Understandable), but still goes out of its way to list "Broken (Equipment)" on every humanoid entry, which feels highly pointless for this type of book and no more than filler with how many times this loot is the only thing listed for such entries (I did come across a couple with something actually harvestable listed, I will get to that in a moment.). Also pricing for craftables of these materials I find render harvesting of mundane goods pointless quite a few tunes (To make plate armor out of X it costs the full price of plate armor that does nothing but act like plate armor). I also feel many of the monster entries are a bit underwhelming. You kill an Ancient Dragon, and apparently dragon hearts, eyes, and many more organs have no cost or function associated with them for Ancient Dragons, they are not even listed in the dragon's entry.

Now that the negative is out of the way, onto the positive.

Where this book shines best is in its interesting/creative loot. Kraken parts for example have many uses, and create some unique and fun items as well. The humanoids that do have loot are interesting enough to stoke the fires of the imagination, and having solid lists of parts for every non-humanoid creature is very useful. While I was a little underwhelmed, do not take that as disappointed, just not as fulfilled is all. I do not feel like I wasted money on these books/pdfs in the least. In fact, I still use these books as launching points when my players ask questions on loot and then make up the rest from there. These books can really help take a huge stress out of DMing. "I want to harvest the dragon, what do I get?" now has an answer just waiting for you, and nothing says you cannot tweak or make up your own results based on what this book gives you.

TL;DR: A fine book, I just wish it went further. A lack of lore filled/marketable harvestables (While not magic, surely dragon eyes, hearts, etc must hold some value) holds this back from being a perfect book, but for what you pay you're provided a strong starting point to write your own tables if you so desire or just use as is.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Loot Vol. 1 – Monster Manual
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ryan J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/02/2019 18:44:09

I consider this an essential piece to my DMing arsenal. Tons of inspiration. Versitile ideas. I can't recommend it strongly enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Loot Vol. 1 – Monster Manual
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/18/2019 20:57:49

What an absolutely fantastic product! Anne has really hit a homerun with this awesome supplement. Not only is the loot interesting and fit the theme of each monster, but encourages players to seek out monsters for the potential magical effects they can be used to create into equipment. Many of the non craftable items are more like consumables, so you don't have to worry about introducing too many different items and creating a game balance issue! Check out our episode of Crit Academy as we walk through some of our favorite monster loot in the book! Listen: https://bit.ly/2moXo3H



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Loot Vol. 1 – Monster Manual
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brendan j Q. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/16/2019 19:23:09

Frickin' brilliant. I loathe any time my players defeat some monster and say "I loot! What do I get?" and just stare blankly ahead. This will really come in handy and my players will be quite happy as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Loot Vol. 1 – Monster Manual
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2019 09:19:06

One of the biggest issues I run into as a DM is what the hell am I going to throw into a dugeon or on a monster that my players can loot - cause if they killed it, they will loot it, even if its fingers or toes or ears. But with Monster Loot, my life is now so much easier because I can skim through Anne's book, find the monster I am looking for, check out what she has under it, and boom, problem solved.

Like for instance - what the hell is someone going to get from killing an Animated Object? Well, say it is a Rug of Smothering, Anne has you covered. 1 Carpet. Can be worn as a cloak. While wearing this ragged fabric, you have advantage on Charisma checks made to pass off as a member of the lower class. Like, it's so helpful and I would never have thought of that.

Overall, for those DMs that really appreciate having handy supplements for on-the-go stuff, you should really get Monster Loot Vol 1 - Monster Manual.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Loot Vol. 1 – Monster Manual
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by John G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2019 12:22:31

Really great source book, I have always done something close to this for my games but this takes it to the next level. As you complete each monster source book count on me purchasing each one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Loot Vol. 1 – Monster Manual
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2019 00:28:11

Great organization and simple rules! I look forward to maybe getting more Loot from monsters from other sources soon and maybe an expanded list of things you can craft (which I am already working on for myself)!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Loot Vol. 1 – Monster Manual
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2019 12:07:23

I have long awaited an item such as this! My players always ask what loot creatures have and I never have anything fun/interesting to offer them until now. Not only does this product offer mundane/useless items but it has variants for most things to use them as other tools (i.e. the Hippogryph claws)

If you're a DM you should grab this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Loot Vol. 1 – Monster Manual
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joe N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2019 09:14:05

This is a wonderful product that you can easily pull into not only campaigns, but also great for one-shots when you need to come up with treasures that are unique and fun. These treasure ideas can be used also as puzzle items within deathtrap dungeons! It's easily igniting my imagination while I read it. Well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Loot Vol. 1 – Monster Manual
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Donz S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/13/2019 19:49:58

I am running something similar to Planescape and I can say that my first session using this was great. It also gives me ideas for loot on Volo's, Mordenkainen's, and Homebrewed monsters. If there are other Volumes I am going to buy them. I recommend this extremely!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Loot Vol. 1 – Monster Manual
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/13/2019 17:41:09

All Things Lich back with another review. I've given this a full review. Check it out at: https://youtu.be/wgDzHKMKx7s

Thanks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 17 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items