Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
The Grand Library $4.74 $3.79
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
34 9
4 3
4 0
0 0
0 0
The Grand Library
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
The Grand Library
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cindy B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/05/2021 11:16:32

I will often bring my players into studies, libraries, and other book-filled rooms, and the question inevitably is, “What kind of books do I find?” Sometimes, it’s easy to make something up on the fly, but, more often than not, it results in me spluttering and stuttering, unable to think of any plausibly entertaining or logical title. That’s why I was so excited to find Star Shine’s The Grand Library.

The Grand Library is a DnD 5e supplement that contains over 100 different books, their titles, summaries, and (in some cases) magical effects. The document is wonderfully organized with a table of contents, alphabetical and random tables, and distinct categories for the books. Categories include stories and fiction, music and songs, cookbooks and recipes, and so much more. There is also a separate document of book “cards” that you can print out and cut up. That way, when a player chooses or finds a book, you can simply hand them the corresponding card with all the book’s information on it.

I‘ve used this supplement many times with my players, and they’re always really excited by what I can give them. One of my personal favorite items is the book What To Do When You’re the Fairest in the Land, which contains the word “Die!” and casts a sleep spell on whomever opens it. It’s sheer perfection.

So I absolutely do recommend you buy this supplement! It’s a little expensive at just under $5.00, but it’s absolutely worth it. There are dozens of books, each of them with a summary and explanation, and tons of different ways you can use the books and tables. I would definitely buy this if I were you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Grand Library
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Rook H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/05/2021 10:42:12

In-depth and engaging. I often have trouble coming up with excerpts on the fly, so those are very useful! The entries are well-categorised and easy to sort through, and the books are unique yet easy to fit into any setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Grand Library
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Christian Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2020 20:49:49

This is so helpeful for DMs when faced with a library! I really like the idea and the content helps a lot to quickly provide enough information to the group!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Grand Library
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ken J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2019 09:35:38

This is a great resource. I love to have my characters find books as they explore, with some of them holding interesting lore about the adventure setting, background information for upcoming quests, or items that might be found in the campaign. But I also always need other books, and my players always want to know what every book is about and to read some of it. I would highly recommend this resource to other DM's



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Grand Library
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brother D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/15/2019 11:30:44

This was awesome! I will definitely use a bunch of these.

I love books with effects!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Grand Library
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daniel O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/19/2019 12:51:02

Love it! Wasn't expecting my PCs to visit the town library, but here we are. This was a perfect way to give them some details and depth to explore in there. There's a perfect amount of information on each book and its contents, so I can already tell I'm going to using this a lot whenever the players investigate bookshelves.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Grand Library
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Roxanne R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/13/2019 12:12:16

Wonderful resource, and I can't wait to use it. Full of creative items with just enough detail to breathe life into them. I have a scholar in my group, and in our first session she found a bookseller. I've never had to think so fast, haha.

There are a couple of things that would be fairly easy to add and would make this even more useful, though:

  • A table of contents by topic. The book is broken up into topics anyway, so why not make it easier to find them? Seems like a glaring omission, especially in a PDF-only book that doesn't allow actually "flipping" through the pages.
  • An alphabetized index by book title. I'm 100% sure my players are going to write down the title and lose the notes about what's in them, because that's how DnD goes.
  • In addition to the master random roll table, random tables for each topic. I'd like to have little more control over what my players find, without eliminating the randomness altogether.
  • A print-friendly version without the weathered background. I want to print these, cut them out, and hand them to my players if they decide to keep a book.

All that said, these quality-of-life issues don't outweigh the usefulness of this resource. Add them in, and I'd rate it 5 stars; but even without them, it's still a solid 4.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Grand Library
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jordan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/07/2019 20:08:26

I like running campaigns with wizards and other NPCs who have vast libraries, or sending players to a library in search of specific information. I used to panic a bit when they'd pick up a random book and want to know what it was, or roll really poorly and find a book unrelated to their search because I just didn't have anything good to fill in that blank with. Now I do, and with just a quick glance I know that in future campaigns I'll be able to use that tactic more without having to worry. Thank you so much for this, it looks very nice and I can't wait to use it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Grand Library
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kirsten G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/10/2019 22:41:05

I really enjoyed this product. I haven't used it in a game yet but I tend to run games for very inquisitive groups who like to read and I'm so tired of pulling out the same few options to toss at my players, who eventually get interested. I really appreciate the variety from little children's books to cookbooks and even religion and mythology related. The setting-neutral aspect is also extremely helpful. I am very satisfied with my purchase. Keep up the good work OP!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Grand Library
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Vyrginia W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2019 03:24:51

This product was extensive and well thought out with some interesting and unique information. Homever, there are several grammatical and spelling errors that I noted on the first read though.

I would also have liked a rolling option that broke up the books by subject or genre. Understandably subject would have been more difficult, but the selection of books is already organized by genre.

I also expected the rolling table in the front as per usual for referneces of this sort but that wasn't really factor in not giving it five stars, just a comment.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Grand Library
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Maximilian H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2019 20:02:39

Well done with a wide variety of creative titles. Great job!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Grand Library
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Massimo T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2019 12:19:50

Great job! Much better than others similar book lists, useful when your players aren't murderhobos



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items