Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
DDAL00-09 Minsc & Boo's Guide to Stuff and Things $5.99 $5.39
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
16 7
3 2
2 0
3 0
0 0
DDAL00-09 Minsc & Boo\'s Guide to Stuff and Things
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
DDAL00-09 Minsc & Boo's Guide to Stuff and Things
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2019 23:41:50

The player options here are hilarious, and most definitely not suitable for play at more serious tables. In addition to player options that are simply goofy (like a Druid whose Wildshape form will always appear to be a raccoon, regardless of its actual stats) there are player options which enable and encourage disruptive behavior (such as a Rogue "Meta-Thief", who gets to keep all magic items found by the party unless another player challenges them to a game of Dungeon Mayhem .) As a player, you're more likely to draw enjoyment from this guide by reading it and laughing at it than you are to actually use any of its subclasses in play.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL00-09 Minsc & Boo's Guide to Stuff and Things
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Teos A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/24/2019 19:31:55

Minsc said there were lots of pages, but I only needed to see page 10, with the most glorious Flumph domain. This needs to be AL legal, or maybe the only playable class and domain allowed for a campaign. I think it would be very popular. Anyway, this is the best material ever written for D&D and all should purchase this! Go for the eyes with a squirt, Boo!

Wait, I also found the adventure. This was the best adventure ever written. It has the best villain plan, and the best festival. Oh, and Flumph-ale is really very tasty. When will there be an Adventurerers League Flumphapalousa battle interactive? Or maybe a D&D Open? Everyone should play Clerics of the Flumph domain. This is a great idea. It would not be the best adventure ever written... it would be just a tribute to this one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL00-09 Minsc & Boo's Guide to Stuff and Things
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lou T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2019 13:47:37

Great fun and a module that obviously isn't to be taken seriously at all. DMed this with a party of 4 of the pregens and everyone had a great time not caring about what should make sense.

Pregens are a bit on the OP side but then again, the adventure isn't here to be difficult. It guarantees that combat isn't gonna bog down the game.

One of the traps does seem a bit overelaborate, and I would have run over the time allocated if I'd included it though.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL00-09 Minsc & Boo's Guide to Stuff and Things
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/10/2019 23:12:00

I needed to rent the sound proof(~ish) room for this in my local shop, but it was worth it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL00-09 Minsc & Boo's Guide to Stuff and Things
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jesse C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/10/2019 15:55:46

You know, Im having a really hard time figuring out what I like most about this. Everything is rather witty and makes me laugh.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL00-09 Minsc & Boo's Guide to Stuff and Things
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Philippe R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2019 01:46:49

Haven't played it yet, but really looking forward to it. It needs a little more preparation than your regular AL games. And the right set of players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL00-09 Minsc & Boo's Guide to Stuff and Things
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Red P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/04/2019 17:12:10

I saw this and had to buy it. It offers an Adventurers League module along with some fun pregens which use the crazy Non-AL player options. I had 5 players and we utilized all of the pregen character sheets that are included in this pack. It was so much fun to try out these zany character options that I think it'll give some players a bit of heartburn when they come to grips that they aren't yet [fingers crossed] available for play in AL.

I found a couple minor editing issues in the adventure itself, but nothing that took more than a moment to figure out.

Here are the highlights:

  • Extra Life!
  • Great creativity
  • Fun interactive story
  • Neat award
  • Interesting combat, traps, puzzles
  • A couple of Easter Eggs in there for good measure


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL00-09 Minsc & Boo's Guide to Stuff and Things
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tom I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2019 13:10:09

This is a very quirky and fun publication, with some strong themes for subclasses and an intriguing adventure (I haven't run it yet). Given it's for charity, I would encourage anyone to grab a copy, although there would be a good argument for buying it anyway, even if that wasn't the case.

However, I would like to highlight a few things to the writers which it would be nice to see ammended.

The only significant issue is that quite a few of the subclass features are unclear (the ranger beast collector's "The Secret to Training Success" is particularly problematic). Having discussed with DM friends and looked back at a few old books, I get the impression that several of the subclasses were originally designed for a previous edition (3.5e comes to my mind, but I'm unfamiliar with 4e), and have not been fully converted to 5e. There are references to features and mechanics that don't appear in 5e which are essential to understanding a couple of the subclasses - nothing that a DM and a player couldn't puzzle out for themselves, but just might take a fair bit of effort and balancing in a few cases.

I would also suggest looking at phrasing and capitalisation - these are a bit inconstant and don't adopt Wizards' normal grammar and lexis. This rarely obscures meaning, but a bit of polishing would remove imperfections from what is otherwise a very impressively presented publication.

Obviously, this is an April Fool's release, and isn't meant to be taken seriously, but if the rules could be clarified a little, this could see far more table use than it might in its current form.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL00-09 Minsc & Boo's Guide to Stuff and Things
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Dan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2019 10:52:33

Highly humorous piece of work intended to add a little bit of goofy fun to your table's "normal" shenanigans. Worth every penny!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items